DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As to claim 7, the limitation “wherein the abrasive agent includes an unmodified abrasive agent or a modified abrasive agent” does not further limit the abrasive agent of claim 1 because it does not exclude any abrasive agents (i.e., every abrasive agent is either modified or unmodified). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220112401 A1) in view of JP ‘685 (JP 2000515685 A, Machine Translation).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a CMP slurry composition for polishing tungsten [Abstract; claim 1], the composition comprising:
a polar solvent or a nonpolar solvent [claim 1];
an abrasive agent [claim 1].
Kim discloses including a catalyst to improve the polishing rate of tungsten that comprises an iron trivalent cation-containing complex [para. 0049-53], such as Fe(III)-EDTA (ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid) [para. 0052].
Kim therefore fails to explicitly disclose:
a compound represented by Formula 3 or a complex thereof:
[Formula 3]
However, JP ‘685 teaches complexing agents [claim 1] having improved complexing effect with iron as compared with the compound EDTA [Comparative Examples].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the iron complexing agent EDTA, of Kim, to include the iron complexing agents, of JP ‘685, because they are a known alternative to EDTA and have improved complexing effects with iron as compared to EDTA, as taught by JP ‘685 [Comparative Examples; claim 1].
As to claim 2, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 3 is a compound represented by Formula 3-1 [JP ‘865, claim 1] or a salt thereof with an alkali metal cation:
[Formula 3-1]
As to claim 3, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, wherein:
the composition includes the complex [Kim, para. 0049-53] of the compound represented by Formula 3 [JP ‘685, claim 1], and
the complex is formed by coordination bonding of the compound represented by Formula 3 to a metal ion [Kim, para. 0049-53].
As to claim 4, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 3, wherein the metal ion is a divalent iron cation (Fe²⁺) or a trivalent iron cation (Fe³⁺) [Kim, para. 0049-53].
As to claim 5, discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, wherein:
the composition includes the complex of the compound represented by Formula 3 [JP ‘685, claim 1], and
the complex is a complex represented by Formula 4 [Kim, para. 0049-53; JP ‘685, claim 1]:
[Formula 4]
As to claim 6, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, wherein the compound represented by Formula 3 or the complex thereof is included in the composition in an amount of 0.001 wt% to 10 wt%, based on a total weight of the composition [Kim, para. 0053, “an amount of, e.g., about 0.001 wt % to about 10 wt %”].
As to claim 7, modified Kim discloses the discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, wherein the abrasive agent includes an unmodified abrasive agent or a modified abrasive agent [Kim, claim 1, claims 6-7].
As to claim 8, modified Kim discloses the discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 7, wherein:
the abrasive agent includes the modified abrasive agent [Kim, claims 6-7], and
the modified abrasive agent includes silica modified with an amino silane containing 1 to 5 nitrogen atoms [Kim, claims 6-7]
As to claim 9, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, further comprising an oxidant, an amino acid, or an organic acid [Kim, claim 9].
As to claim 10, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 9, wherein the composition includes:
0.001 wt% to 20 wt% of the abrasive agent [Kim, claim 9],
0.001 wt% to 10 wt% of the compound represented by Formula 3 or the complex thereof [Kim, claim 9],
0.001 wt% to 10 wt% of the organic acid [Kim, claim 9],
0.001 wt% to 10 wt% of the amino acid [Kim, claim 9], and
30 wt% to 99 wt% of the solvent [Kim, claim 9], all wt% being based on a total weight of the composition.
As to claim 11, modified Kim discloses the CMP slurry composition according to claim 1, wherein the composition has a pH of 2 to 7 [Kim, claim 1, “ pH of about 4 to about 7”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: The additionally cited references are cited to show compositions comprising nitrogen-containing macrocycle compounds or complexes thereof [Abstracts].
/CHRISTOPHER REMAVEGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1713