ETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-23 and 56-65 in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-23, 81-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the limitation of “a synthesis/division part configured to...synthesize...and to divide and emit..” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the recited synthesis/division part is the same physical structure, or different from the previous recited division part. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kohl (U.S.Pat. 8,805,382 B2).
With respect to claim 2, Kohl discloses an illumination optical system comprising all features of the instant claim such as: a plurality of light sources (2) each configured to emit a pulsed beam; an optical (9) emitted from each of the plurality of light sources and to divide and emit the synthesized pulse light beam and an illumination system (5, 29, 12-18) configured to illuminate patterning elements by guiding the divided pulse light beams emitted from the optical system to the respective patterning elements (19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 83-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohl (U.S.Pat. 8,805,382 B2) in view of Yashiki (U.S.Pat. 11,537,051 B2).
As to claim 83-84, Kohl discloses an illumination optical system comprising substantially all features of the instant claims as discussed above including the respective patterning elements. Kohl does not expressly disclose that the patterning elements are a spatial light modulator having a plurality of elements each capable of being in a plurality of states, as recited in the instant claims. This feature is well known per se. For example, Yashiki discloses an illumination system having a photomask/patterning elements (14) being a spatial light modulator with a plurality of element each capable of being in a plurality of states (see figures 2A-D). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the patterning elements as suggested by Yashiki into the illumination optical system of Kohl for the purpose of generating any desired pattern and thereby improving the throughput of the optical system as intended by Kohl.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-23, 81-82 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 56-63, 65-66 and 85 are allowed.
The above mentioned claims have been found allowable since the prior art of record, either alone or in combination neither discloses nor makes obvious a combination of an illumination optical system comprising among other features, a plurality of light sources; an optical system having a division part, a delay optical system, a synthesis part, an illumination system with particular functions and a specific arrangement between those elements as recited in the claims.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Godfried et al (U.S.Pat. 11,569,628); Fujii (U.S.Pat. 10,591,824) disclose illumination optical systems and have been cited for technical background.
HUNG HENRY NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
Hvn
7/13/26
/HUNG V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882