DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (hereinafter Suzuki) WO 2020/235253 A1 in view Liang et al. (hereafter Liang) CN 109085224 A.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a cell culture device (sorting device 100) comprising: a substrate (substrate 11); a wire (reference wiring 23, measurement contact 31 and measurement wiring 33) disposed on a main surface of the substrate as shown in Fig.1; an insulating film (insulating film 13) disposed on the main surface of the substrate and having a part that overlaps the wire as shown in Figs. 1 and 3; and an electrode (measurement electrode 30) disposed on the insulating film and having a part that overlaps the wire, wherein: the insulating film has a contact hole (hole 43a) at a position overlapping the wire and the electrode, as shown in at least Figs.1 and 4 and discussed in at least paragraphs [0040-0056]. Also see whole document.
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose a plurality of grooves formed on at least a surface of a part of the electrode that overlaps the contact hole.
Liang discloses a sensitive microelectrode comprising an insulating layer 1, a wire 22, a second conductive layer 4 fixed on electrode 21, the second conductive layer 4 is a conductive base layer 41, and the upper surface of the second conductive layer 4 is embedded with a pit array (plurality of grooves), as discussed on pages 3-4. Also see whole document.
Therefore, Liang discloses a plurality of grooves formed on at least a surface of a part of the electrode that overlaps the contact hole.
Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki with the pit array as taught by Liang to provide a plurality of grooves formed on at least a surface of a part of the electrode that overlaps the contact hole in order to efficiently collect and measure activity at a single cell level while enabling highly sensitive detection.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses wherein the substrate is made of glass [0041] and the insulating film is made of a photosensitive acrylic resin [0049].
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose the wire is made of a light-shielding conducting material, and the electrode is made of a light-transmissive conducting material.
Suzuki discloses in paragraph [0161] that the present disclosure also includes a mode obtained by applying various modifications conceived by a person skilled in the art to the embodiment and the like, or a form realized by arbitrarily combining the constituent elements and functions in the embodiments and the like without departing from the gist of the present disclosure.
Therefore, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a wire made of a light-shielding conducting material, and an electrode is made of a light-transmissive conducting material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 7 of Liang shows that the plurality of grooves (nano-hole array structure /pit arrays 5) has a depth smaller than a thickness of the electrode.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 7 (reproduced below) of Liang shows an electrode (second conductive layer 4 is a conductive base layer 41) that includes a plurality of island portions divided by the plurality of grooves.
However, Liang does not expressly disclose that the plurality of grooves (nano-hole array structure /pit arrays 5) has depth equal to a thickness of the electrode.
Suzuki discloses in paragraph [0161] that the present disclosure also includes a mode obtained by applying various modifications conceived by a person skilled in the art to the embodiment and the like, or a form realized by arbitrarily combining the constituent elements and functions in the embodiments and the like without departing from the gist of the present disclosure. Similarly Liang discloses on page 5 The above embodiments are only a preferred solution of the present disclosure, but are not intended to limit the present disclosure. Those skilled in the art can make various changes and modifications without departing from the spirit and scope of the present disclosure. Therefore, all technical solutions obtained by equivalent replacement or equivalent transformation fall within the protection scope of the present disclosure.
Therefore, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of grooves having a depth equal to a thickness of the electrode, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 7 of Liang shows that the plurality of grooves (nano-hole array structure /pit arrays 5) are formed over an entirety of a surface of the electrode.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 7 of Liang shows that the plurality of grooves (nano-hole array structure /pit arrays 5) are capable of communicating with each other.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 7 of Liang shows that the plurality of grooves (nano-hole array structure /pit arrays 5) are arranged on a surface of the electrode in a mesh manner.
Regarding claim 8, Liang discloses wherein a groove width of the plurality of grooves is greater than 10 nm and less than 10 µm (the pit array structure, the size of each pit is hundreds of nanometers). See pages 2-3.
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki in view of Liang does not expressly disclose a width of the contact hole. Suzuki discloses in paragraph [0161] that the present disclosure also includes a mode obtained by applying various modifications conceived by a person skilled in the art to the embodiment and the like, or a form realized by arbitrarily combining the constituent elements and functions in the embodiments and the like without departing from the gist of the present disclosure. Similarly Liang discloses on page 5 The above embodiments are only a preferred solution of the present disclosure, but are not intended to limit the present disclosure. Those skilled in the art can make various changes and modifications without departing from the spirit and scope of the present disclosure. Therefore, all technical solutions obtained by equivalent replacement or equivalent transformation fall within the protection scope of the present disclosure.
Therefore, absent unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a groove width of the plurality of grooves that is equal to or less than 1/10 of a width of the contact hole, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.05 (II-A).
Conclusion
/LYDIA EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796