DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 17 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/5/2026. Applicant argues that no undue burden of search or other consideration is placed on the Examiner. However, the Examiner maintains that the searchable subject matter of claim 17 does not overlap with searchable subject matter of invention of claims 1-16. Serious search burden would be required to find the structure and the method of manufacturing, especially given that the structure does not require the specifics of the method. The restriction requirement has been made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first through fourth resistors electrically connected with the upper and lower parts of the pressure sensing element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Considering claim 7, after a review of the originally filed specification, the Examiner finds that the disclosure fails to provide adequate written description, aside from the verbatim statement at [0052], for the claimed features of the pressure sensing element having first, second, third and fourth resistors electrically connected to the upper and lower wire groups. The specification supports the idea of wheatstone bridge (Figure 7, [0051]), and suggests electrically connecting the resistors of a wheatstone bridge to the first and second upper wire groups ([0052]).
However, in accordance with MPEP 2163(II)(A) and Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1371, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376-1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the specification does not support the particular claimed combination of elements, even though applicant’s specification listed each and every element in the claimed combination. It has not been adequately disclosed how the wire groups are electrically connected to first through fourth resistors when the pressure sensing element itself has upper and lower parts. There is no showing that the upper and lower parts each contain a number of resistors, are complimented by, or substituted by said resistors. The Examiner finds that the Applicant lacks sufficient written description for the claimed subject matter in accordance with MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3). Nothing is shown that would indicate that the Applicant actually reduced the invention to practice. Applicant has not shown a clear depiction of the invention in drawings. Furthermore, there is no showing by description of sufficient, relevant, identifying characteristics that allows a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Simply put, there is no description of how the wheatstone bridge arrangement of Figure 7, upon which Applicant purports to show the claimed first through fourth resistors connected to the upper and lower parts of the pressure sensing element, is configured to be connected with the existing pressure sensing unit of Figure 1. Furthermore, at best, Figure 1 illustrates that there are two pressure-sensitive parts, but they never described as pressure-sensitive resistors.
Claims 8-11 are rejected based on their dependency upon claim 7.
Considering claim 15, after a review of the originally filed specification, the Examiner finds that the disclosure fails to provide adequate written description, aside from the verbatim statement at [0052], for the claimed feature of the pressure sensing element having an internal voltage deviation less than 3 mV/V. The specification supports the idea of wheatstone bridge (Figure 7, [0051]), and suggests electrically connecting the resistors of a wheatstone bridge to the first and second upper wire groups ([0052]), with the provided internal voltage deviation.
However, in accordance with MPEP 2163(II)(A) and Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1371, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376-1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the specification does not support the particular claimed combination of elements, even though applicant’s specification listed each and every element in the claimed combination. It has not been adequately disclosed how the wire groups are electrically connected to first through fourth resistors when the pressure sensing element itself has upper and lower parts. There is no showing that the upper and lower parts each contain a number of resistors, are complimented by, or substituted by said resistors. The Examiner finds that the Applicant lacks sufficient written description for the claimed subject matter in accordance with MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3). Nothing is shown that would indicate that the Applicant actually reduced the invention to practice. Applicant has not shown a clear depiction of the invention in drawings. Furthermore, there is no showing by description of sufficient, relevant, identifying characteristics that allows a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Simply put, there is no description of how the wheatstone bridge arrangement of Figure 7, upon which Applicant purports to show the claimed internal voltage deviation providing structure, is configured to be connected with the existing pressure sensing unit of Figure 1.
Considering claim 16, after a review of the originally filed specification, the Examiner finds that the disclosure fails to provide adequate written description, aside from the verbatim statement at [0052], for the claimed feature of the pressure sensing element having a voltage offset standard deviation less than 5 μV/V. The specification supports the idea of wheatstone bridge (Figure 7, [0051]), and suggests electrically connecting the resistors of a wheatstone bridge to the first and second upper wire groups ([0052]), with the provided voltage offset standard deviation.
However, in accordance with MPEP 2163(II)(A) and Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1371, 83 USPQ2d 1373, 1376-1377 (Fed. Cir. 2007), the specification does not support the particular claimed combination of elements, even though applicant’s specification listed each and every element in the claimed combination. It has not been adequately disclosed how the wire groups are electrically connected to first through fourth resistors when the pressure sensing element itself has upper and lower parts. There is no showing that the upper and lower parts each contain a number of resistors, are complimented by, or substituted by said resistors. The Examiner finds that the Applicant lacks sufficient written description for the claimed subject matter in accordance with MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3). Nothing is shown that would indicate that the Applicant actually reduced the invention to practice. Applicant has not shown a clear depiction of the invention in drawings. Furthermore, there is no showing by description of sufficient, relevant, identifying characteristics that allows a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Simply put, there is no description of how the wheatstone bridge arrangement of Figure 7, upon which Applicant purports to show the claimed voltage offset standard deviation providing structure, is configured to be connected with the existing pressure sensing unit of Figure 1.
The Examiner is unable to make an art rejection on claims 7-11 and 15-16, at this time, because no reasonable interpretation can be made as to how first through fourth resistors would be connected with upper and lower parts of the pressure sensing element of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (CN 109374158 A) in view of Liu et al. (US 2012/0125113 A1).
Considering claim 1, Miao discloses a sensing module, comprising:
- a temperature sensing element, comprising a first temperature sensing part 50, a second temperature sensing part 50, a third temperature sensing part 50 and a fourth temperature sensing part 50, wherein the first temperature sensing part and the second temperature sensing part are arranged in a first direction, the third temperature sensing part and the fourth temperature sensing part are arranged in a second direction, wherein the first direction is different from the second direction (Figure 4, annotated below, [0061]; [0042]); and
- a pressure sensing element (plurality of elements 30 arranged in a wheatstone bridge), surrounded by the temperature sensing element (Figure 4; [0042-43]); and
- a thermal conductive film 80, covering the temperature sensing element (Figures 6-7; [0072-73], protective layer 80 is an insulating layer of silicon nitride thin film).
The invention by Miao fails to explicitly disclose that the pressure sensing element comprises a pressure sensing upper part and a pressure sensing lower part, wherein the pressure sensing upper part and the pressure sensing lower part are arranged in a third direction, and a first acute angle is formed between the third direction and the first direction.
However, the invention by Liu teaches a pressure sensing element that comprises a pressure sensing upper part 19 and a pressure sensing lower part 15 (Figure 2; [0017]; [0019]), wherein the pressure sensing upper part and the pressure sensing lower part are arranged in a third direction (line intersecting center of upper part 19 and center of lower part 15, although other lines connecting the parts could be configured as well), and an acute angle is formed between the third direction and the first direction (Figure 2; Annotated below, dashed line indicates second direction, whereby third direction is not parallel to second and not perpendicular to first, thus forming an acute angle between third and first direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize upper and lower parts of the pressure sensing element that are aligned along a third direction that forms an acute angle with the first direction, as taught by Liu, in the invention by Miao. The motivation for doing so, as is understood in the art, is to provide more sensitivity to bending modes and less on lateral force by providing an angular offset to the orientation of the resistors with respect to a horizontal or vertical axis.
Considering claim 2, Miao discloses that the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, and the first temperature sensing part, the second temperature sensing part, the third temperature sensing part and the fourth temperature sensing part are arranged in a rectangular shape (Figure 1).
Considering claim 3, Miao discloses that the first temperature sensing part and the second temperature sensing part extend in the second direction, and the third temperature sensing part and the fourth temperature sensing part extend in the first direction (Figure 1, Annotated above).
Considering claim 4, Miao fails to disclose that the pressure sensing element further comprises an upper pad group and a lower pad group, the upper pad group is electrically connected to the pressure sensing upper part, the lower pad group is electrically connected to the pressure sensing lower part, wherein the upper pad group and the lower pad group are arranged in a fourth direction different from the third direction, and a second acute angle is formed between the fourth direction and the second direction.
However, Liu teaches a pressure sensing element having an upper pad group 28,27 and a lower pad group 20,24 ([0017]), the upper pad group is electrically connected to the pressure sensing upper part 19, the lower pad group is electrically connected to the pressure sensing lower part 15, wherein the upper pad group and the lower pad group are arranged in a fourth direction (line extending between center of bonding pad connections) different from the third direction, and a second acute angle is formed between the fourth direction and the second direction (Figure 2; Annotated above, dashed line indicates second direction, whereby fourth direction is not parallel to third direction, not parallel to second, thus forming an acute angle between second and fourth directions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize upper and lower pad groups of the pressure sensing element that are aligned along a fourth direction that forms a second acute angle with the second direction, as taught by Liu, in the invention by Miao. The motivation for doing so, as is understood in the art, is, as a result of the orientation of the offset pressure sensing elements connected to the bonding pads, to provide more sensitivity to bending modes and less on lateral force by providing an angular offset to the orientation of the resistors with respect to a horizontal or vertical axis.
Considering claim 5, the invention by Miao fails to disclose that the pressure sensing element further comprises a connecting wire, and the connecting wire is electrically connected to the upper pad group and the lower pad group.
However, Liu teaches the use of at least one connecting wire (38 connects lower group 20,24, electrically with upper group 28,27 through 25,21,31,26 and unlabeled wire or 36 connects lower group 20,24, electrically with upper group 28,27 through 30,17,33,29 and unlabeled wire).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a connecting wire that is electrically connected to the upper pad group and the lower pad group, as taught by Liu, in the invention by Miao. The motivation for doing is to provide a conventional bridge circuit for detecting bending modes, as is understood in the art.
Considering claim 6, Miao fails to disclose an upper wire group and a lower wire group, the upper wire group is electrically connected to the pressure sensing upper part and the upper pad group, and the lower wire group is electrically connected to the pressure sensing lower part and the lower pad group.
However, Liu teaches the use of an upper wire group 35 and a lower wire group 22, the upper wire group 35 is electrically connected to the pressure sensing upper part 19 and the upper pad group 28,27, and the lower wire group 22 is electrically connected to the pressure sensing lower part 15 and the lower pad group 20,24 (Figure 2; [0017]; [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an upper and lower wire group electrically connected to the respective upper part, upper pad group and the lower part, lower pad group, as taught by Liu, in the invention by Miao. The motivation for doing so, as suggested by Liu, is to maintain the electrical connections needed for a bridge circuit ([0017]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (CN 109374158 A) in view of Liu et al. (US 2012/0125113 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuura et al. (WO 03/052355 A1).
Considering claim 12, the invention by Miao already discloses a thermally conductive thin film silicon nitride protective layer, but fails to disclose that the thermal conductive film has a thermal conductivity coefficient greater than 1 W/mK.
However, it is known from Matsuura to utilize a thermal conductive film 12 (Figures 1-2, specifically 2(e); Page 6, lines 8-10, 1 μm thick sputtered silicon nitride protective layer), covering a temperature sensing element 1,4, where the thermal conductivity coefficient of the film is greater than 1 W/mK (thermal conductivity k of silicon nitride film is 2.79 W/mK; Page 8, lines 20-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a thermal conductive film covering a temperature sensing element where the thermal conductivity coefficient of the film is greater than 1 W/mK, as taught by Matsuura, in the invention by Miao, as modified by Liu. The motivation for doing so is provide environmental protection to the sensors without inhibiting their ability to detect heat (Page 6, lines 8-10).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (CN 109374158 A) in view of Liu et al. (US 2012/0125113 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0102868 A1).
Considering claim 13, the invention by Miao generally discloses the use of temperature sensing parts, but fails to explicitly disclose that they comprise silicon carbide.
However, Chen discloses the use of silicon carbide temperature sensors (Figures 2-3; [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize temperature sensing parts having silicon carbide, as taught by Chen, in the invention by Miao, as modified by Liu. The motivation for doing so, as suggested by Chen, is to provide a sensor that is relatively sensitive to temperature changes and features a variation rate that is relatively high in a certain range of temperature changes ([0030]), overall increasing the sensitivity of measurements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art made of record fails to disclose, suggest or otherwise render obvious the subject matter of the temperature sensing element disposed on a first substrate, and the pressure sensing element further comprises a second substrate, a material of each of the first substrate and the second substrate comprises a flexible film material. All cited prior art features the temperature sensing elements on the same substrate as the pressure sensing elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 117782413 A discloses the use of a protective film covering temperature sensing elements.
CN 111426413 A, CN 102759326 A, CN 1670488 A, and CN 118936694 A all disclose positioning a pressure sensitive wheatstone bridge arrangement on a diaphragm or membrane, whereby a temperature-compensation wheatstone bridge arrangement is positioned surrounding the pressure sensing elements on the frame of the sensor structure.
US 2018/0224348 A1 and US 6422088 B1 disclose angularly offset wheatstone bridge arrangements.
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 May 30, 2026