DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The Action below reflects the discussed claim amendments of the Examiner Initiated Interview dated 4/24/26 during which the Examiner contacted Applicant’s representative Arlene Neal to discuss clarifying amendments such that compact prosecution could be served.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12, 13 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (US 10,199,085) in view of Villemin (US 2018/0276914) and Pasala (US 11,621,049).
Regarding claim 1, Nomura discloses a storage device to identify a die with a defective temperature sensor (intended use), the storage device comprises: (see Figure 3, slices) a memory device including multiple dies, wherein each die includes a temperature sensor; and a controller (1) to obtain a temperature for a first die in the memory device, compare the first die temperature against a benchmark (see Figure 8 for example). Nomura fails to teach determining that the first die includes a defective temperature sensor if there is a temperature variance in the first die temperature and the benchmark and if the temperature variance is greater than a die temperature variation threshold and excluding the first die temperature from thermal calculations.
However, it was known at the time of filing to perform such a comparison to test temperature sensors for defects by comparing the variance between the temperature output of the sensor and a local device temperature and determining a defect with the sensor when the variance is greater than a threshold (see Villemin paragraphs 0018-0033).
Further, Pasala teaches a sensor testing configuration wherein when a faulty sensor is detected, it is excluded from thermal calculations (see Figure 3, 350) such as a shutdown (see column 2, lines 12+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide such a sensor defect determination with the device of Nomura in order to remove faulty temperature readings which would incorrectly affect the temperature based operations.
Regarding claim 2, Nomura discloses the storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller executes the defective temperature sensor scheme during initialization of the storage device (see Villemin, paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 3, Nomura discloses the storage device of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach the die temperature variation threshold is a configurable value based on at least one hardware value. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to configure the variation threshold based on a hardware variable (e.g. distance to sensitive components) in order to protect the sensitive components and/or the calculations for their optimal performance.
Regarding claim 4, Nomura as modified above discloses the storage device of claim 1, but fails to teach excluding from thermal calculations wherein the thermal calculations include thermal shut down calculations (see Pasala, Figure 3, 350).
Regarding claim 8, Nomura discloses the storage device of claim 1, wherein the defective temperature sensor scheme includes a third defective temperature sensor scheme wherein the controller: determines that temperatures of dies in the memory device are within the die temperature variation threshold, compares a temperature of each die against a temperature of an internal temperature sensor, determines that there is a temperature variance between a die temperature and the temperature of an internal temperature sensor, and that the temperature variance is greater than the die temperature variation threshold; and determines that a die with a temperature variance that is greater than the die temperature variation threshold includes the defective temperature sensor (in view of the modification above, Nomura includes multiple sensors and it would have been obvious to expand the testing to all the sensors of Nomura in order to prevent faulty sensor readings).
Regarding claim 9, Nomura discloses the storage device of claim 8, wherein the controller determines that no single die on the memory device has a temperature variance outside the die temperature variation threshold when compared to die temperature of another die on the memory device (see Figures 1, 2 of Villemen—Output diagnostic).
Regarding claim 10, Nomura discloses the storage device of claim 8, wherein the internal temperature sensor is set to provide an ambient temperature of the storage device (see Villemen, paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 12, Nomura discloses a method in a storage device for identifying a die with a defective temperature sensor, the storage device includes a controller for executing the method comprising: executing a defective temperature sensor scheme to obtain a temperature for a first die in a memory device; at least one of: comparing the first die temperature against a benchmark and determining that the first die includes a defective temperature sensor if there is a temperature variance in the first die temperature and the benchmark and if the temperature variance is greater than a die temperature variation threshold; and obtaining information from a firmware to determine if the first die includes the defective temperature sensor; and excluding the first die temperature from thermal calculations (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Nomura discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising executing the defective temperature sensor scheme one of before performing thermal calculations, during initialization of the storage device, and at other predefined times (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 16, Nomura discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising executing a third defective temperature sensor scheme wherein: the comparing comprises determining that temperatures of dies in the memory device are within the die temperature variation threshold and comparing a temperature of each die against a temperature of an internal temperature sensor, and the determining comprises determining that there is a temperature variance between a die temperature and the temperature of an internal temperature sensor, that the temperature variance is greater than the die temperature variation threshold, and that a die with a temperature variance that is greater than the die temperature variation threshold includes the defective temperature sensor (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Regarding claim 18, Nomura discloses a method in a storage device for identifying a die with a defective temperature sensor, the storage device includes a controller for executing the method comprising: executing at least one defective temperature sensor scheme to obtain a temperature for a first die in a memory device; at least one of: comparing the first die temperature against temperatures of other dies in the memory device ,determining that temperatures of dies in the memory device are within a die temperature variation threshold and one of comparing a temperature of each die against an integrated circuit temperature and comparing a temperature of each die against a temperature of an internal temperature sensor (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (US 10,199,085), Villemin (US 2018/0276914), Pasala and further in view of Oden (US 6,223,817).
Regarding claim 11 and 17, Nomura discloses the storage device of claim 1, but fails to teach the defective temperature sensor scheme includes a fourth defective temperature sensor scheme wherein the controller checks a firmware to determine if the first die includes the defective temperature sensor.
However, as Oden teaches, it was known at the time of filing to store in memory a flag indicating that a sensor is faulty as a signal for other circuitry to know of the fault (see column 6, lines 30+). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing provide for the storing of a fault information in a memory area and for the controller to check for the flag in order to avoid using a faulty thermal sensor.
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (US 10,199,085), in view of Pasala and Oden (US 6,223,817).
Regarding claim 1, 12 and 18, Nomura discloses a storage device to identify a die with a defective temperature sensor, the storage device comprises: a memory device including multiple dies (see Figure 3, slices), wherein each die includes a temperature sensor; and a controller (1) to execute a defective temperature sensor scheme (see Figure 8 for example).
But Nomura fails to teach wherein in executing the defective temperature scheme, the controller obtains information from a firmware to determine if a first die includes the defective temperature sensor and excludes the first die temperature from thermal calculations.
However, as Oden teaches, it was known at the time of filing to store in memory a flag indicating that a sensor is faulty as a signal for other circuitry to know of the fault (see column 6, lines 30+).
Further, Pasala teaches a sensor testing configuration wherein when a faulty sensor is detected, it is excluded from thermal calculations (see Figure 3, 350) such as a shutdown (see column 2, lines 12+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing provide for the storing of a fault information in a memory area and for the controller to check for the flag in order to avoid using a faulty thermal sensor and to exclude said sensor temperature from calculations in order to prevent erroneous calculations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and are thought to be fully addressed by the modified rejections above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824