DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant submits the prior art does not disclose the following limitations of the claimed invention:
wherein the central axis of the camera device is a central axis of a cylindrical engagement surface of one of the first or second engagement parts and is parallel to or coincides with a focal axis of the camera sensor, wherein the engagement parts are shaped so as to allow the first engagement part and the second engagement part to slide axially in relation to each other along the central axis of the camera device and to rotate spherically in relation to each other, and wherein the engagement parts are shaped such that they rotate spherically in relation to each other about an adjustment point along the central axis, but not to allow any other movement of the first engagement part in relation to the second engagement part, wherein the three adjustment points are arranged to define the points of a triangle in a plane perpendicular to the central axis of the camera device, the central axis of the camera device passing through the triangle, as stated in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Re claim 1) The Nukamura reference discloses a camera device wherein the central axis of the camera device is a central axis of a cylindrical engagement surface of one of the first or second engagement parts and is parallel to or coincides with a focal axis of the camera sensor (see figures 1 and 2: the central axis of the camera is the optical axis of lens 3a which goes through goes through the engagement hole 1d and the sensor 51), wherein the engagement parts are shaped so as to allow the first engagement part and the second engagement part to slide axially in relation to each other along the central axis of the camera device and to rotate spherically in relation to each other (see para 109-112: the engagement parts 1 and 5 slides along the axis along adjustments screws 6a-c and rotates spherically about the central axis when ), and wherein the engagement parts are shaped such that they rotate spherically in relation to each other about an adjustment point along the central axis (see para 109-112: the engagement parts 1 and 5 slides along the axis along adjustments screws 6a-c and rotates spherically about the central axis when ), but not to allow any other movement of the first engagement part in relation to the second engagement part (see para 109-112: when adjustment screws are tightened no other movement is allowed), wherein the three adjustment points are arranged to define the points of a triangle in a plane perpendicular to the central axis of the camera device, the central axis of the camera device passing through the triangle (see figure 1 and 2: elements 6a-c form a triangle around the optical axis). Therefore, the Nukamura reference discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura, US 2020/0225439.
In regard to claim 1, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses a camera device comprising a camera lens (see para 9) and a camera sensor (see figure 2, element 51), the camera lens being adjustable in relation to the camera sensor, the camera device being associated with an axial direction, a radial direction and an angular direction, the camera device further being associated with a central axis (optical axis), running through both the camera lens and the camera sensor (see para 100-107), the camera device comprising:
a spring (see figure 2, element 2) axially pressing the camera lens towards the camera sensor (see para 45, 95, and 99);
three adjustment screws (see figure 2, elements 6a-c) defining a respective minimum axial distance between the camera lens and the camera sensor at three respective adjustment points, the three adjustment points each being radially displaced from the central axis and being angularly distributed around the central axis (see para 98 and 107); and
engagement parts that mutually engage with each other, the engagement parts comprising a first engagement part (see figure 2, element 1) being rigidly connected to the camera lens and a second engagement part (see figure 2, element 5) being rigidly connected to the camera sensor (see para 95-98);
wherein the central axis of the camera device is a central axis of a cylindrical engagement surface of one of the first or second engagement parts and is parallel to or coincides with a focal axis of the camera sensor (see figures 1 and 2: the central axis of the camera is the optical axis of lens 3a which goes through goes through the engagement hole 1d and the sensor 51),
wherein the engagement parts are shaped so as to allow the first engagement part and the second engagement part to slide axially in relation to each other along the central axis of the camera device and to rotate spherically in relation to each other (see para 109-112: the engagement parts 1 and 5 slides along the axis along adjustments screws 6a-c and rotates spherically about the central axis when ), and
wherein the engagement parts are shaped such that they rotate spherically in relation to each other about an adjustment point along the central axis (see para 109-112: the engagement parts 1 and 5 slides along the axis along adjustments screws 6a-c and rotates spherically about the central axis when ), but not to allow any other movement of the first engagement part in relation to the second engagement part (see para 109-112: when adjustment screws are tightened no other movement is allowed),
wherein the three adjustment points are arranged to define the points of a triangle in a plane perpendicular to the central axis of the camera device, the central axis of the camera device passing through the triangle (see figure 1 and 2: elements 6a-c form a triangle around the optical axis).
In regard to claim 3, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 2, wherein the central axis passes through a center of the triangle (see figure 1- optical axis).
In regard to claim 5, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 4, wherein the central axis coincides with a focal axis of the camera lens (see para 95 and 111).
In regard to claim 6, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 1, wherein either the first or the second engagement part comprises two or more disjoint pads (see figure 2, elements 4a and 4b) each of the two or more disjoint pads comprising a pad surface shaped to match a common sphere having a sphere diameter, either the second or first engagement part has an engagement surface shaped to match a cylinder having a diameter equal to the sphere diameter, and the pad surfaces of the two or more disjoint pads are in contact with the engagement surface (see para 95, 98, and 104).
In regard to claim 7, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 6, wherein one or more of the two or more disjoint pads is or are angularly aligned with a respective one of the three adjustment screws (see figures 2 and 3).
In regard to claim 8, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 7, wherein each of one or more of the two or more disjoint pads is or are arranged on a respective axially extended arm (see figures 2 and 3).
In regard to claim 9, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 8, wherein the axially extended arm or arms is or are configured to flex radially so as to exert a pressure against the engagement surface as a result of the two or more disjoint pads engaging with the engagement surface (see para 98 and 104).
In regard to claim 10, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 1, wherein the first engagement part comprises two or more disjoint pads (see figure 2, element 4a and 4b), and the second engagement part comprises an engagement surface (see figure 3).
In regard to claim 11, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 1, wherein the engagement parts comprise a support surface (see figure 2, element 1 – front surface) configured to engage with each of the three respective adjustment screws (see figure 2, element 6a-c), the three adjustment screws define the respective minimum axial distance by abutting against the support surface, the support surface being arranged to be pushed axially by an adjustment screw as the adjustment screw is turned further into engagement with a threaded part, and at least two of the three adjustment screws can slide radially and/or angularly in relation to the support surface (see para 98).
In regard to claim 12, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 11, wherein each of the at least two of the three adjustment screws comprises a flat surface arranged to abut against the support surface and to slide against the support surface (see figures 1 and 2 and 98 and 107).
In regard to claim 13, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 11, wherein the support surface defines an indentation (see figure 2, elements 1a-c) configured to receive one of the three adjustments screws at one of the three adjustment points, which prevents the engagement parts from rotating around the central axis with respect to each other when the one of the three adjustments screws is engaged with the indentation (see figures 1 and 2 and para 95).
In regard to claim 15, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 1, wherein the first engagement part comprises a first plate (see figure 3, element 1- back surface), the second engagement part comprises a second plate (see figure 3, element 5- front surface), and the first and second plates are associated with a respective general plane of extension being substantially perpendicular to the central axis (see para 94-95).
In regard to claim 16, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 15, wherein the first plate and the second plate are both arranged between the camera lens and the camera sensor (see figure 3).
In regard to claim 17, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 16, wherein each of the three adjustment screws is arranged radially outside of a radial periphery of a housing of the camera sensor (see figure 1).
In regard to claim 18, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses the camera device of claim 17, wherein the camera sensor is mounted in the second plate (see figure 2).
In regard to claim 19, Nakamura, US 2020/0225439, discloses a method for operating the camera device of claim 1 to adjust the camera lens in relation to the camera sensor, the method comprising:
adjusting at least one of the three adjustment screws so as to achieve a desired angle between the camera lens and the camera sensor, and thereafter adjusting all of the adjustment screw an axial distance so as to achieve a desired axial distance between the camera lens and the camera sensor (see para 98 and 107-109).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs