DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (2022/0285657).
Re claim 1, Hong et al. disclose first, second and third subpixels (PX) (Fig. 6) disposed on a substrate (BS); first, second and third light emitting diodes (PX1/PX2/PX3) disposed in the first, second and third subpixels, respectively; a black matrix (BM2) disposed in boarder regions of the second subpixel (PX2) and the third subpixel (PX3); a first color filter (CF-1) disposed in the first subpixel (PX1) and overlapping with the first light emitting diode; and a transparent layer (CF-2/CF-3) disposed in at least one of the second and third subpixels between portions of the black matrix (CF-2/CF-3 are made of a photosensitive resin which are known to be transparent [0157]) (See Fig. 6 annotated below), and configured to transmit light having second and third main peaks corresponding to the second and third colors, respectively (filters are known to transmit the specific color light of its correspondent color pixel and desired wavelengths).
Re claim 2, Hong et al. disclose wherein the first subpixel (PX1) excludes any portion of the black matrix (BM).
Re claim 3, Hong et al. disclose wherein a first width of a first portion of the black matrix (BM2) disposed between the second (PX2) and third subpixels (PX3) is greater than a second width of a second portion of the black matrix (BM1) disposed between the first (PX1) and second (PX2) subpixels (Fig. 6) ([0053-0054]).
Re claim 5, Hong et al. disclose further comprising a third color filter (CF-3) disposed in the third subpixel (PX3) between portions of the black matrix (BM) (Fig. 6).
Re claim 6, Hong et al. disclose wherein the black matrix (BM) is disposed in the first subpixel (PX1) and in border regions between the first (PX1), second (PX2) and third (PX3) subpixels (Fig. 6).
Re claim 15, Hong et al. disclose wherein portions of the black matrix (BM2/BM3) surrounding four sides of the third subpixel (PX3) have a first width in a plan view, wherein portions of the black matrix (BM2) surrounding three sides of the second subpixel (PX2) have the first width and a portion of the black matrix (BM 1) surrounding one side of the second subpixel (PX2) has a second width that is less than the first width in the plan view (Fig. 6), and wherein two portions of the black matrix surrounding two opposites of the first subpixel have the first width in the plan view ([0053-0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 15 above, and further in view of Jo et al. (2023/0006007).
Re claim 7, Hong et al. does not disclose wherein the transparent layer covers the black matrix and the first color filter to planarize the black matrix and the first color filter.
Jo et al. disclose wherein the transparent layer (630) covers the black matrix (610) and the first color filter (620) to planarize the black matrix and the first color filter (Fig. 9) ([0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hong et al. and Jo et al. to dispose a transparent layer that covers the black matrix and the first color filter as taught by Jo et al. into the teachings of Hong et al. to planarize the structure as taught in [0149] by Jo et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4, 16, 17 and 19-21 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., selectively omitting the color filter in specific subpixels and replacing it with a structurally distinct transparent layer disposed between portions of the black matrix in the second and third subpixels) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 1 recites having a transparent layer disposed in at least one of the second and third subpixels between portions of the black matrix, which is encompassed by Hong et al. There is no specific position of the transparent layer other than between portions of the black matrix in the respective pixel which is disclosed by Hong et al. in Fig. 6. The claims are not limited to a specific position of the transparent layer in the vertical direction or orthographic projection of its respective pixel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 May 29, 2026