DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-18 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Zakhidov et al. (US 2013/0240847; hereinafter Zakhidov).
Regarding claim 1, Zakhidov, in fig. 15, discloses an organic emissive device comprising: a substrate (SUBSTRATE); a first non-inverted organic light emitting device OLED (the bottom OLED comprises ANODE1-CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed over the substrate; a first inverted OLED (the top OLED comprises CNT COMMON CATHODE-ANODE 2) disposed over the substrate and arranged in a stack with the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED); wherein the first inverted OLED (the top OLED) and the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) have a common cathode (CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed between the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) and the first inverted OLED (the top OLED).
Regarding claim 2, Zakhidov discloses wherein the device comprises a plurality of non-inverted OLEDs ([0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Zakhidov discloses wherein each non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) in the organic emissive device has a common cathode (CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed between the each non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) and an adjacent inverted OLED (the top OLED) in the organic emissive device (fig. 15).
Regarding claim 4, Zakhidov discloses wherein the device comprises a plurality of inverted OLEDs ([0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Zakhidov discloses wherein each inverted OLED in the organic emissive device has a common anode or a common cathode disposed between the each inverted OLED and an adjacent non-inverted OLED in the organic emissive device ([0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Zakhidov discloses wherein the device comprises a plurality of inverted OLEDs ([0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Zakhidov discloses wherein each inverted OLED in the organic emissive device has a common anode or a common cathode disposed between the each inverted OLED and an adjacent non-inverted OLED in the organic emissive device ([0008]).
Regarding claim 8, Zakhidov discloses wherein wherein the device comprises m non- inverted OLEDs and n inverted OLEDs, and wherein m≥ 2 and/or n ≥ 2 ([0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Zakhidov discloses wherein the common cathode (CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed between the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) and the first inverted OLED (the top OLED) is transparent ([0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Zakhidov discloses wherein the common cathode (CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed between the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) and the first inverted OLED (the top OLED) is externally addressable (fig. 15).
Regarding claim 11, Zakhidov discloses wherein two outermost electrodes of the device are electrically connected to one another so that the first non-inverted OLED and the first inverted OLED are electrically arranged in parallel with each other ([0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Zakhidov discloses wherein, during operation of the device, the voltage of the organic emissive device is not more than 120-150% of the voltage of the first non-inverted OLED or the first inverted OLED ([0044]).
Regarding claim 13, Zakhidov discloses wherein the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) is closer to the substrate than the first inverted OLED (the top OLED) (fig. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Zakhidov discloses wherein the first inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) is closer to the substrate than the first non-inverted OLED (the top OLED) (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 15, Zakhidov discloses wherein the device emits monochrome light ([0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Zakhidov discloses wherein: the first non-inverted OLED comprises a first emissive material; the first inverted OLED comprises a second emissive material; and the first emissive material is different than the second emissive material (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 17, Zakhidov discloses wherein each of the first and second emissive materials are independently selected from a group consisting of: a phosphorescent emitter, a phosphor-sensitized fluorescent emitter, a thermally-activated delayed fluorescence (TADF) emitter, and a fluorescent emitter (fig. 10 & [0052]).
Regarding claim 18, Zakhidov discloses wherein: the first non-inverted OLED comprises a first emissive material; the first inverted OLED comprises a second emissive material; and the first emissive material is the same as the second emissive material ([0056]).
Regarding claim 29, Zakhidov, in fig. 15, discloses a consumer electronic device comprising: a device comprising: a substrate (SUBSTRATE); a first non-inverted organic light emitting device OLED (the bottom OLED comprises ANODE1-CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed over the substrate; a first inverted OLED (the top OLED comprises CNT COMMON CATHODE-ANODE 2) disposed over the substrate and arranged in a stack with the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED); and wherein the first inverted OLED (the top OLED) and the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) have a common cathode (CNT COMMON CATHODE) disposed between the first non-inverted OLED (the bottom OLED) and the first inverted OLED (the top OLED).
Regarding claim 30, Zakhidov discloses wherein two outermost electrodes of the device are electrically connected to one another so that the first non-inverted OLED and the first inverted OLED are electrically arranged in parallel with each other.
12. (Original) The organic emissive device of claim 10, wherein, during operation of the device, the voltage of the organic emissive device is not more than 120-150% of the voltage of the first non-inverted OLED or the first inverted OLED ([0033]).
Conclusion
2. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818