Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 12, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 113206098 A).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a chip-package structure, comprising:
a first chip (602 or 402) comprising at least a peripheral circuit comprising a first transistor (611 or 411) [Fig. 2-4 and page 14, first two paragraphs, in Machine English Translation];
a second chip (604, 606 or 404) comprising at least a column decoder comprising a second transistor (631) [Fig. 4 and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation]; and
a third chip (606, 30 or 302) comprising at least a control circuit comprising a third transistor (661) [Fig. 4; and page 13, paragraph starting with “In some embodiments, the 3D NAND channel structure 318….,” and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation];
wherein the first chip (602 or 402), the second chip (604, 606 or 404), and the third chip (606, 30 or 302) form a stacked structure [Figs. 4-5], and
wherein a first channel length of the first transistor (611 or 411), a second channel length of the second transistor (631, 661 or 431), and a third channel length of the third transistor (661 or 318) are different [Figs. 3-5, and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses wherein: the peripheral circuit comprises at least a word line driver and a page buffer each comprising the first transistor (611),
the second chip (604) further comprises a power management circuit comprising the second transistor (631), and the third chip (606) further comprises an input/output (I/O) interface circuit comprising the third transistor (661) Figs. 4-5, and page 14, fourth paragraph, in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses wherein: one chip (404 or 606) of two adjacent chips in the stacked structure comprises a first dielectric layer (490) on one of its surfaces and a first conductive pattern (491) penetrating the first dielectric layer [Figs. 2-3],
another chip (302 or 30) of the two adjacent chips in the stacked structure comprises a second dielectric layer (360) on one of its surfaces and a second conductive pattern (362) penetrating the second dielectric layer [Fig. 3],
the first conductive pattern (491) is bonded (hybrid bonded) with the second conductive pattern (362) [Fig. 3, and page 11, last paragraph, in Machine English Translation], and
the first dielectric layer (490) is bonded (hybrid bonding) with the second dielectric layer (360) [Figs. 3 and 5, and page 11, last paragraph, in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses wherein:
one chip (604) of two adjacent chips in the stack structure comprises a first dielectric layer (ILD layer 630 embedding device/wiring) on one of its surfaces and a first conductive pattern (642) penetrating the first dielectric layer (630) [Fig. 4 and pages 8-9 and 18 in Machine English Translation],
another chip (606) of the two adjacent chips in the stack structure comprises a second dielectric layer (660) on one of its surfaces and a second conductive pattern (672) penetrating the second dielectric layer (660) [Fig. 4 and pages 8-9 and 18 in Machine English Translation], and
the chip-package structure further comprises a connection structure (641/655/671) through which the first conductive pattern (642) is electrically connected with the second conductive pattern (672) [Fig. 4 and page 18 in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses wherein the connection structure comprises
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses a fifth chip (604) comprising a three-dimensional memory array, wherein the fifth chip (604) is stacked with the first chip (602), the second chip (606) and the third chip (30), and wherein the fifth chip (604) is disposed adjacent to the first chip (602) [Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses a method of fabricating a chip-package structure comprising:
forming a first chip (602) comprising at least a peripheral circuit comprising a first transistor (611) [Fig. 4 and page 14, first two paragraphs, in Machine English Translation];
forming a second chip (604) comprising at least a column decoder comprising a second transistor (631) [Fig. 4 and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation];
forming a third chip (606) comprising at least a control circuit comprising a third transistor (661) [Fig. 4 and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation]; and
stacking the first chip, the second chip, and the third chip to form a stack structure (60/30) [Fig. 5],
wherein a first channel length of the first transistor, a second channel length of the second transistor, and a third channel length of the third transistor are different [Fig. 4, and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses wherein: the first chip, the second chip, and the third chip each comprise a plurality of circuits (410/430 or 610/630/660), and the method further comprises: forming the plurality of circuits on a same chip using the same process, or forming the plurality of circuits on different chips with different process parameters [page 16, last two paragraphs, and page 17, last two paragraphs, in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses wherein surfaces of two adjacent chips (30/606) in the stack structure are connected using a bonding process (“hybrid bonding”, 360/690) [Figs. 3 and 5, and page 11, last paragraph, in Machine English Translation].
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses wherein two adjacent chips of the stack structure (30/690) are connected using a connection structure (491/691 and 362) [Figs. 2-5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113206098 A) in view of Baik (US 2020/0013767).
Regarding claims 5-6, Liu does not disclose a volatile memory.
In regards to claims 5 and 16, Baik teaches a fourth chip (500) comprising a volatile memory (DRAM), wherein the fourth chip (500) is stacked with the first chip (210), the second chip (210), and the third chip (210) [Fig. 4 and paragraphs 0036-0037].
In regards to claim 6, Baik teaches a fourth chip (400a) comprising a volatile memory (DRAM), wherein the first chip (210), the second chip (210), and the third chip (210) are stacked in a first direction (vertical), and wherein the fourth chip (400a) is placed adjacent to the stack structure (200) in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (horizontal) [Fig. 2 and paragraph 0029].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Liu by including a volatile memory as taught by Baik because it helps to increase the capacity, functionality and performance of the semiconductive package [paragraph 0003].
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113206098 A) in view of Takenaka et al. (US 12183401).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses a memory system comprising:
a chip-package structure comprising:
a first chip (602) comprising at least a peripheral circuit comprising a first transistor (611) [Fig. 2-4 and page 14, first two paragraphs, in Machine English Translation];
a second chip (604) comprising at least a column decoder comprising a second transistor (631) [Fig. 4 and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation]; and
a third chip (606) comprising at least a control circuit comprising a third transistor (661) [Fig. 4; and page 13, paragraph starting with “In some embodiments, the 3D NAND channel structure 318….,” and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation],
wherein the first chip (602), the second chip (604), and the third chip (606) form a stacked structure [Fig. 4], and
wherein a first channel length of the first transistor (611), a second channel length of the second transistor (604), and a third channel length of the third transistor (606) are different [Fig. 4, and page 14, second paragraph, in Machine English Translation]; and
However, Liu does not disclose a circuit board.
Takenaka teaches that it is well known in the art to electrically connect a circuit board (MSB) with the chip-package structure (MD) [Figs. 1-2].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Liu by including a circuit board as taught by Takenaka because it helps to provide support and electrical connectivity for various components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-11, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815