Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/21/2023 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p) (5) because they do not include the following reference signs “19b”, “19c” and “19f” mentioned in the description [0102], [0108] and [0110], however specification does not mention them.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “other electronic components, such as, for example PCB components” in Claim 10, and “another electronic component” in Claim 24 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10-12, 17-19, 24, 26 and 28 are objected to because of the following antecedent bases and unintelligible content informalities:
● In Claim 1, Lines 7 and 13, “objects” should be changed to read - - the objects - -.
● In Claim 1, Line 9, “cooling fluid” should be changed to read - - the objects - -.
● In Claim 2, Line 2, “objects” should be changed to read - - the objects - -.
● In Claim 4, Line 5, “such a transverse member” should be changed to read - - the transverse member - -.
● In Claim 8, Line 2, “claim 1” should be changed to read - - claim 7 - -.
● In Claims 10-11, Lines 4, “objects” should be changed to read - - the objects - -.
● In Claim 12, Line 2, “the heat sinks of the heat sink portions” should be changed to read - - the heat sinks of heat sink portions - -.
● In Claims 17-18, Lines 2, “claim 1” should be changed to read - - claim 15 - -.
● In Claim 17, Line 2, “each of the spatially separate cooling zones” should be changed to read - - each of spatially separate cooling zones - -.
● In Claim 18, , Line 1, “claim 1” should be changed to read - - claim 15 - -.
● In Claim 18, , Line 6, “cooling medium” should be changed to read - - the cooling medium - -.
● In Claim 18, , Lines 7 and 9 “cooling zone” should be changed to read - - the cooling zone - -.
● In Claim 19, Line 5, “the connecting joints” should be changed to read - - connecting joints - -.
● In Claim 19, Line 7, “cooling medium” should be changed to read - - the cooling medium - -.
● In Claim 24, Line 2, “the feed” should be changed to read - - feed - -.
● In Claim 24, Line 4, “cooling zone” should be changed to read - - the cooling zone - -.
● In Claim 26, Lines 2-3 , “the or each base body” should be changed to read - - the base body - -.
● In Claim 28, Line 5, “an electrical contacting element” should be changed to read - - the electrical contacting element - -.
● In Claim 28, Line 5, “an object” should be changed to read - - the objects - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11-26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teysseyre et al (US 2019/0341327).
Regarding Claim 1, Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) discloses a cooling device (100) for dissipating heat from objects to cooled (1310A-1310C), such as, for example, from power electronic modules (1310A-1310C), (Fig 13), having a first hybrid cooling component (120A) through which cooling fluid can be guided and which has a heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) of (optionally coated) metal or of a (optionally coated) metal alloy (¶ 22, II. 1-6), which is connected in a fluid-tight manner to a base body (body of 120A) of plastics material (¶ 48, II. 1-2) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) and which is to be arranged on objects to be cooled (1310A-1310C), (Fig 13), and having a second hybrid cooling component (120B) which is connected to the first hybrid cooling component (120A) and through which cooling fluid can be guided (Fig 13), and which has a plurality of cooling component portions (portions of 120B accommodating 1734B-1-1734B-3), (Fig 17), which are connected together (in pairs) (Fig 17) in an articulated manner and each have a heat sink (130B-1-130B-3), (Fig 13) of (optionally coated) metal or of a (optionally coated) metal alloy (¶ 22, II. 1-6) which is to be arranged on objects to be cooled (1310A-1310C) and which is connected in a fluid-tight manner to a base body (body of 120B) of plastics material (¶ 48, II. 1-2) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B), (Fig 13), wherein the two hybrid cooling components (120A/120B) are positioned at a distance from one another and are connected together with the formation of a holding space (space accommodating 1310A-1310C) arranged between them for objects to be cooled (1310A-1310C), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 11, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein each heat sink (130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3) of each hybrid cooling component (120A/120b) has a heat absorption surface, for contact with or arrangement on an object to be cooled (1310A-1310C), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 12, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 11, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the heat sinks (130B-1-130B-3) of the heat sink portions (1734B-1-1734B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) are connected in an articulated manner to one another (Figs 13, 17).
Regarding Claim 13, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein each heat sink (130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3) of each hybrid cooling component (120A/120B), with the base body (body of 120A/120B) connected thereto in a fixed and fluid-tight manner (Fig 13), in completely or partially encloses or delimits to the outside a cooling fluid space (space accommodating 1310-A-1310-C), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 14, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) and/or the heat sinks (130B-1-130B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) have cooling fluid line portions (fluid lines through (130A-1-130A-3-130B-1-130B-2 ) which are delimited by cooling fins (fins forming channels in 130B-1-130B-3), (Fig 13) and have been introduced into the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 15, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the first and/or the second hybrid cooling component (120A/120B) each has a plurality of cooling zones (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3) which are spatially separate from one another and which are connected in a fluid-conducting manner to a feed (121A) of the cooling device (100), which feed is in common to the hybrid cooling components (120A/120B), (Fig 13), in such a manner that a cooling medium supplied by way of the feed (121A) flows through the cooling zones of the first hybrid cooling component in parallel in a parallel flow and/or that a cooling medium supplied by way of the feed (121A) flows through the cooling zones (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120A) in succession in a serial flow (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 16, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein each cooling component portion (portions of 120B accommodating 1734B-1-1734B-3), (Fig 17) of the second hybrid cooling component (120A) has its own associated cooling zone (Fig 17), which is formed by a region of the heat sink (130B-1-130B-3) of the cooling component portion (portions of 120B accommodating 1734B-1-1734B-3), (Fig 17) in which the heat sink (130B-1-130B-3) has cooling fluid line portions (portions forming channels in 130B-1-130B-3) introduced into the heat sink (130B-1-130B-3) and delimited by cooling fins (fins forming channels in 130B-1-130B-3), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 17, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein each of the spatially separate cooling zones (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) is formed by a region of the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) thereof in which the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) has cooling fluid line portions (portions forming channels in 130A-1-130A-3) introduced into the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) and delimited by cooling fins (fins forming channels in 130A-1-130A-3), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 18, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the cooling zones (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3, 130B-1-130B-3) of the first (120A) and of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) are configured and connected in a fluid-conducting manner to the feed (121A), of the cooling device (100) in such a manner that the cooling medium volume flow through the cooling zones (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) through which cooling medium can flow in parallel, becomes greater from cooling zone (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) to cooling zone (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) as the distance of the cooling zone (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) from the feed (121A) of the cooling device (100) increases, (Fig 13), in order to compensate for a decreasing cooling capacity from cooling zone (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) to cooling zone (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) - as the distance of the cooling zone(zones accommodating 130B-1-130B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) from the feed (121A) increases - due to the cooling medium serial flow in the second hybrid cooling component (120B), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 19, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the heat sinks of the cooling component portions (portions of 120B accommodating 1734B-1-1734B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) are each connected to a common (elongate) base body (body of 120B) of plastics material (¶ 48, II. 1-2) which has flexible, connecting portions which form the connecting joints between adjacent cooling component portions (portions of 120B accommodating 1734B-1-1734B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) and connect them together in a fluid-conducting manner, so that cooling medium is able to flow through them between the adjacent cooling component portions (portions of 120B accommodating 1734B-1-1734B-3), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 20, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the common base body (body of 120A) has in the region of each cooling component portion (portions of 120A accommodating 1734A-1-1734A-3) a depression (depressions in 120A accommodating 130A-1-130A-3) into which the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) of the corresponding cooling component portion (portions of 120A accommodating 1734A-1-1734A-3) is inserted at least partially (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 21, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the base body (body of 120B) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) has fluid line portions (portions forming channels in 130B-1-130B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) which are each closed in a fluid-tight manner on a side facing the holding space (space accommodating 1310A-1310C) by the heat sinks (130B-1-130B-3) of the second hybrid cooling component (120B), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 22, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the base body (body of 120A) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) has fluid line portions (portions forming channels in 130A-1-130A-3) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) which are closed in a fluid- tight manner on a side facing the holding space (space accommodating 1310A-1310C) by the heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 23, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the base body (body of 120A) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) has fluid line portions (channel portions in 130A-1-130A-3) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) which are closed on the side remote from the holding space (space accommodating 1310A-1310C) by a heat sink (130A-1-130A-3) of (optionally coated) metal or of a (optionally coated) metal alloy (¶ 22, II. 1-6) which is connected in a fluid-tight manner to the base body(body of 120A), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 24, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the feed (121A) of the cooling device (100) and/or a drain (121B) of the cooling device (100), through which the cooling medium is able to flow away after it has flowed through the cooling device (100), through the cooling zones (zones accommodating 130A-1-130A-3-130B-1-130B-3) of the two hybrid cooling components (120A/120B), comprises a portion which is formed by the base body (body of 120A) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) (or is integrally connected to this base body (body of 120A), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 25, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the feed (121A) and/or the drain (121B) is arranged on the side of the base body (body of 120A) that is remote from the holding space (space accommodating 1310A-1310C), (Fig 13).
Regarding Claim 26, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses wherein the or each base body (body of 120A) of the first hybrid cooling component (120A) and/or the or each base body of the second hybrid cooling component (120B) is an injection-molded part of plastics material (¶ 48, II. 3-5).
Regarding Claim 32, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, However Teysseyre (In Figs 13, 17) further discloses where a plurality of power electronics components (1310A-1310C) which, for the cooling thereof, are arranged in the holding space (space accommodating 1310A-1310C) of the cooling device (100), (Fig 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Teysseyre in view Hwang et al (US 2021/0243923).
Regarding Claim 2, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Teysseyre does not disclose wherein the holding space is divided into a plurality of separate partial holding spaces for objects to be cooled by means of a frame part of the cooling device that is arranged between the two hybrid cooling components.
Instead, Hwang (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the holding space (space accommodating 111) is divided into a plurality of separate partial holding spaces (spaces accommodating 111a-111c) for objects to be cooled (111a-111c) by means of a frame part (110) of the cooling device (100) that is arranged between the two hybrid cooling components (120/130), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Hwang with the holding space being divided into a plurality of separate partial holding spaces for objects to be cooled by means of a frame part of the cooling device that being arranged between the two hybrid cooling components to benefit from improving the cooling performance of the power module (Hwang 4, II. 1-8).
Regarding Claim 3, Teysseyre in view of Hwang discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein each partial holding space is delimited by lateral delimiting members of the frame part, by a pair of transverse members situated opposite and at a distance from one another and by a pair of longitudinal members situated opposite and at a distance from one another.
Instead Hwang (In Fig 2) further teaches wherein each partial holding space (spaces accommodating 111a-111c) is delimited by lateral delimiting members (end portions of 110 accommodating 110b/110c) of the frame part (110), by a pair of transverse members (transverse members in between pair of 111a/111b/111c) situated opposite and at a distance from one another and by a pair of longitudinal members (longitudinal members in between adjacent transverse members in between pair of 111a/111b/111c) situated opposite and at a distance from one another (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Hwang with each partial holding space being delimited by lateral delimiting members of the frame part, by a pair of transverse members situated opposite and at a distance from one another and by a pair of longitudinal members situated opposite and at a distance from one another to benefit from improving the cooling performance of the power module (Hwang 4, II. 1-8).
Regarding Claim 4, Teysseyre in view of Hwang discloses the limitations of Claim 3, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein adjacent partial holding spaces share the same transverse members, or are delimited on one side by the same transverse member arranged between the adjacent partial holding spaces, and/or wherein each connecting joint of the second hybrid cooling component is arranged next to and at a (small) distance from such a transverse member without any lateral offset.
Instead Hwang (In Fig 2) further teaches wherein adjacent partial holding spaces (spaces accommodating 111a-111c) share the same transverse members, or are delimited on one side by the same transverse member (transverse members in between pair of 111a/111b/111c) arranged between the adjacent partial holding spaces (spaces accommodating 111a-111c), (Fig 2), and/or wherein each connecting joint of the second hybrid cooling component is arranged next to and at a (small) distance from such a transverse member without any lateral offset.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Hwang with adjacent partial holding spaces sharing the same transverse members to benefit from improving the cooling performance of the power module (Hwang ¶4, II. 1-8).
,Regarding Claim 6, Teysseyre in view of Hwang discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein the frame part is fastened to the first hybrid component.
Instead, Hwang (In Fig 2) further teaches wherein the frame part (110) is fastened to the first hybrid component (120), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Hwang with the frame part being fastened to the first hybrid component to benefit from improving the cooling performance of the power module (Hwang ¶4, II. 1-8).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Teysseyre in view Hwang and further in view of Lee at (US 11,357,139).
Regarding Claim 5, Teysseyre in view of Hwang discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein each cooling component portion of the second hybrid cooling component has an associated partial holding space into which the cooling component portion, has been inserted at least partially and also fitted, in such a manner that longitudinal members of the frame part that are situated opposite and at a distance from one another and that laterally delimit the partial holding space each run adjacent, to associated longitudinal sides of the cooling component portion and limit or prevent any movements of the cooling component portion that run transverse thereto, and/or wherein transverse members of the frame part that are situated opposite and at a distance from one another and that laterally delimit the partial holding space each run adjacent to associated transverse sides of the cooling component portion and limit or prevent any movements of the heat sink that run transverse thereto.
Instead, Lee (In Fig 3) teaches wherein each cooling component portion (300) of the second hybrid cooling component (110) has an associated partial holding space (410) into which the cooling component portion (300) has been inserted at least partially and also fitted, in such a manner that longitudinal members (longitudinal members of 400) of the frame part (400) that are situated opposite and at a distance from one another and that laterally delimit the partial holding space (410) each run adjacent, to associated longitudinal sides of the cooling component portion (300) and limit or prevent any movements of the cooling component portion (300) that run transverse thereto (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Hwang and further with Lee with each cooling component portion of the second hybrid cooling component having an associated partial holding space into which the cooling component portion has been inserted at least partially and also fitted, in such a manner that longitudinal members of the frame part that are situated opposite and at a distance from one another and that laterally delimit the partial holding space each running adjacent, to associated longitudinal sides of the cooling component portion and limit or prevent any movements of the cooling component portion that run transverse thereto to benefit from minimizing heat resistance between the upper portion of cooling tube and power conversion devices, improving the cooling performance of the power conversion devices (Lee ¶4, II. 1-8).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Teysseyre in view Knapp (Ep1672692).
For the purpose of citation, Examiner used machine translation of Ep1672692, said translation has been provided herewith to the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 7, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Teysseyre does not disclose wherein the cooling device has a clamping device for clamping the first hybrid cooling component to the second hybrid cooling component, so that the heat sinks of the hybrid cooling components are each able to apply pressure forces, effected by the clamping device, to objects to be cooled which can be arranged between them.
Instead, Knapp (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the cooling device (1) has a clamping device (23) for clamping the first hybrid cooling component (21) to the second hybrid cooling component (22), so that the heat sinks (5/5’) of the hybrid cooling components (21/22) are each able to apply pressure forces, effected by the clamping device (23), to objects to be cooled (3/3’) which can be arranged between them (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Knapp with the cooling device having a clamping device for clamping the first hybrid cooling component to the second hybrid cooling component, so that the heat sinks of the hybrid cooling components being each able to apply pressure forces, effected by the clamping device, to objects to be cooled which can be arranged between them to benefit from optimally dissipating from heat semiconductor modules (Knapp ¶ 2, II. 13-17).
Claims 10 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Teysseyre in view Lenniger (US 2013/0062750).
Regarding Claim 10, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Teysseyre does not disclose wherein the frame part has electrical contacting connected thereto for contacting electrical contacting elements of objects to be cooled and/or of other electronic components, such as, for example, PCB component.
Instead, Lenniger (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the frame part (134) has electrical contacting (136) connected thereto for contacting electrical contacting elements (130) of objects to be cooled (128) and/or of other electronic components, such as, for example, PCB component (¶ 33, II. 11-13), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Lenniger with the frame part having electrical contacting connected thereto for contacting electrical contacting elements of objects to be cooled and/or of other electronic components, such as, for example, PCB component to benefit from providing external electrical connection to power electronic module (Lenniger ¶ 33, II. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 27, Teysseyre in view of Lenniger discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein each electrical contacting element is connected to the frame part in a non-releasable and fixed manner.
Instead, Lenniger (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein each electrical contacting element (136) is connected to the frame part (134) in a non-releasable and fixed manner (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Lenniger with each electrical contacting element being connected to the frame part in a non-releasable and fixed manner to benefit from providing external electrical connection to power electronic module (Lenniger ¶ 33, II. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 28, Teysseyre in view of Lenniger discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein the electrical contacting element has a first connecting portion, with which it can be connected to an electrical contacting element of an object to be cooled, and a second connecting portion, with which the electrical contacting element can be electrically conductively connected to another electronic component.
Instead, Lenniger (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the electrical contacting element (136) has a first connecting portion, with which it can be connected to an electrical contacting element of an object to be cooled (128), (Fig 1), and a second connecting portion, with which the electrical contacting element (136) can be electrically conductively connected to another electronic component (¶ 33, II. 11-13), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Lenniger with the electrical contacting element having a first connecting portion, with which it can be connected to an electrical contacting element of an object to be cooled, and a second connecting portion, with which the electrical contacting element can be electrically conductively connected to another electronic component to benefit from providing external electrical connection to power electronic module (Lenniger ¶ 33, II. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 29, Teysseyre in view of Lenniger discloses the limitations of Claim 27, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein the electrical contacting element is integrated non-releasably into the frame part that it is overmolded at least in some regions by the injection-molded plastics material of the frame part.
Instead, Lenniger (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the electrical contacting element (136) is integrated non-releasably into the frame part (134) that it is overmolded at least in some regions by the injection-molded plastics material (¶ 34, II. 3-4) of the frame part (134), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Lenniger with the electrical contacting element being integrated non-releasably into the frame part that it is overmolded at least in some regions by the injection-molded plastics material of the frame part to benefit from providing external electrical connection to power electronic module (Lenniger ¶ 33, II. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 30, Teysseyre in view of Lenniger discloses the limitations of Claim 27, however Teysseyre as modified does not disclose wherein the or each connecting portion of the electrical contacting element has a press-fit geometry or is configured as a solder contact.
Instead, Lenniger (In Fig 14) further teaches wherein the or each connecting portion of the electrical contacting element (136) has a press-fit geometry (¶ 56, II. 3-5) or is configured as a solder contact (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Lenniger with the or each connecting portion of the electrical contacting element having a press-fit geometry or is configured as a solder contact.to benefit from providing external electrical connection to power electronic module (Lenniger ¶ 33, II. 11-13).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Teysseyre in view Song et al (US 2019/0335608).
Regarding Claim 31, Teysseyre discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Teysseyre does not disclose wherein the frame part has at least one positioning aid for positioning an electronic component.
Instead, Song (In Fig 3) teaches wherein the frame part (330) has at least one positioning aid (positioning aids at four corners of 330) for positioning an electronic component (315), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Teysserer with Song with the frame part having at least one positioning aid for positioning an electronic component to benefit from providing a heat sink for thermal dissipation from components (Song ¶ 30, II. 8-12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claim 8, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 8 and at least in part because Claim 8 recites, “the clamping device comprises a spring component which is arranged on, and applies pressure forces in the direction of the first hybrid cooling component to, the face of each cooling component portion of the second hybrid cooling component that is situated opposite the face on which the heat sink of the cooling component portion is arranged, and wherein this spring component is clamped to the first hybrid cooling component, to the frame part fastened to the first hybrid cooling component”.
The aforementioned limitation in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 8 are believed to render said Claim 8 and all Claims dependent therefrom (Claim 9) patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Teysseyre et al (US 2019/0341327) – hereafter “Teysseyre”).
While Teysseyre Figs 13 and 17 teaches limitations of base Claim 1, however neither Teysseyre nor any other art of record, either alone or in a combination teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Electronic Controller Unit US 2023/0413486, Systems for a Heat Exchanger US 2023/0380103, Cooling Device for Dissipating Heat US 12,048,130, Sub-Cooling Components Using Thermoelectric Cooling US 2024/0114646. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835