DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
P100 of Applicant’s filed specification states “ a first tab 122 and a second tab 124”, however, 122 is later referred to as a first electrode plate (P126) and 124 is later referred to as a second electrode plate (P161). See also P70.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the coiled center line of the cylindrical electrode assembly". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 depends on claim 10 and recites “a coiled center line of the cylindrical electrode assembly”. Therefore, it is unclear if the “coiled center line” of claim 16 is the same line as “the coiled center line” of claim 10, or a new “coiled center line”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the second electrode plate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1 as given in the 02/13/2025 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses a cylindrical electrode assembly, wherein:
the cylindrical electrode assembly is of a coiled structure (see entire disclosure and especially P36) and comprises a main body (section 120 in Fig. 1C; see entire disclosure and especially P36) and a first tab (one of first tabs 124 at the upper end of section 120 in Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B; see entire disclosure and especially P37),
the main body is provided with a first end face (upper end of section 120 in Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B), and the first tab extends out of the first end face and is bent toward the first end face (see Fig. 5B and see entire disclosure and especially P96).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses wherein: the first tab comprises a first flat part and a second flat part, the first flat part extends out of the first end face, and the first flat part and the second flat part are bent toward each other (see the annotated Fig. below wherein a flat tab is bent at a section, forming a first flat part, a bend section, and a second flat part; the Examiner notes that the “the first flat part and the second flat part are bent toward each other” limitation is shown in Applicant’s filed specification at P105 and Fig. 8).
Annotated Jeong Fig. 5B
Regarding claim 3, Jeong discloses wherein: the first tab comprises a bent part located at a root part of the first tab (see the annotated Fig. below).
Annotated Jeong Fig. 5B
Regarding claim 4, Jeong discloses wherein: the first tab is bent toward the first end face through one turn (see Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 5, Jeong discloses wherein: the first tab is one of a plurality of first tabs of the cylindrical electrode assembly (see Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B; see entire disclosure and especially P37).
Regarding claim 6, Jeong discloses wherein: the plurality of first tabs do not overlap with each other before being bent (in Fig. 5A, the plurality of tabs stand straight up and do not touch/cover over each other before being bent, therefore they do not touch/cover/overlap with each other).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong discloses wherein: the main body is provided with a second end face, and the second end face is disposed opposite to the first end face in a direction of the coiled center line of the cylindrical electrode assembly (lower end of section 120 in Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B); and the cylindrical electrode assembly further comprises a second tab, and the second tab extends from the second end face and is bent toward the second end face (one of second tabs 125 at the lower end of section 120 in Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B; the bending of the first tabs 124 is the same for second tabs 125; see entire disclosure and especially P37, 54, 96).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong discloses wherein: the second tab comprises a first flat part and a second flat part, the first flat part extends out of the second end face, and the first flat part and the second flat part are bent toward each other (see the annotated Fig. below wherein a flat tab is bent at a section, forming a first flat part, a bend section, and a second flat part; the Examiner notes that the “the first flat part and the second flat part are bent toward each other” limitation is shown in Applicant’s filed specification at P105 and Fig. 8; the bending of the first tabs 124 in Fig. 5B is the same for second tabs 125; see entire disclosure and especially P37, 54, 96).
Annotated Jeong Fig. 5B
Regarding claim 12, Jeong discloses wherein: the second tab comprises a bent part located at a root part of the second tab (see the annotated Fig. below; the bending of the first tabs 124 in Fig. 5B is the same for second tabs 125; see entire disclosure and especially P37, 54, 96).
Annotated Jeong Fig. 5B
Regarding claim 13, Jeong discloses wherein: the second tab is bent toward the second end face through one turn (see Fig. 5B; the bending of the first tabs 124 in Fig. 5B is the same for second tabs 125; see entire disclosure and especially P37, 54, 96).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong discloses wherein: the second tab is one of a plurality of second tabs of the cylindrical electrode assembly (see Fig. 1C; see entire disclosure and especially P37).
Regarding claim 15, Jeong discloses wherein: the plurality of second tabs do not overlap with each other before being bent (in Figs. 1C and 5A, the plurality of tabs 125 stand straight up and do not touch/cover over each other before being bent, therefore they do not touch/cover/overlap with each other; the structure of the first tabs 124 in Fig. 5A is the same for second tabs 125; see entire disclosure and especially P37, 54, 96).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong discloses a cylindrical battery cell (secondary battery 100 in Fig. 1A-1C; see entire disclosure and especially P32), comprising: a housing assembly (cylindrical can 110 in Figs. 1A-1C; see entire disclosure and especially P32) comprising a first electrode lead-out part configured to input or output electric energy (first current collecting structure 130 or cap assembly 150 in Fig. 1C; see entire disclosure and especially P38, 40, 51, 60, 66); and
the cylindrical electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1),
wherein the first tab is electrically connected to the first electrode lead-out part (see entire disclosure and especially P38, 40, 51, 60, 66).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong discloses a manufacturing method for a cylindrical battery cell (secondary battery 100 in Fig. 1A-1C; see entire disclosure and especially P32, 35), comprising:
providing a housing assembly (cylindrical can 110 in Figs. 1A-1C; see entire disclosure and especially P32), wherein the housing assembly comprises a first electrode lead-out part configured to input or output electric energy (first current collecting structure 130 or cap assembly 150 in Fig. 1C; see entire disclosure and especially P38, 40, 51, 60, 66);
providing a cylindrical electrode assembly, wherein the cylindrical electrode assembly is of a coiled structure (see entire disclosure and especially P36) and comprises a main body (section 120 in Fig. 1C; see entire disclosure and especially P36) and a first tab,
the main body is provided with a first end face (upper end of section 120 in Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B), and the first tab extends from the first end face (one of first tabs 124 at the upper end of section 120 in Figs. 1C, 5A, and 5B; see entire disclosure and especially P37);
bending the first tab toward the first end face (see Fig. 5B and see entire disclosure and especially P37, 43, 45, 54, 56, 96); and
electrically connecting the bent first tab to the first electrode lead-out part (see entire disclosure and especially P38, 40, 51, 60, 66, 93).
Claims 1, 7, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (CN212136495U using the machine English translation provided in the 10/27/2023 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Ju discloses a cylindrical electrode assembly (see Figs. 1-3), wherein:
the cylindrical electrode assembly is of a coiled structure (wound; see Figs. 1-3) and comprises a main body (electrode sheet 1 in Figs. 1-3) and a first tab (one of positive or negative tabs 2 that would be located at the upper end of electrode sheet 1 in Figs. 1-3),
the main body is provided with a first end face (upper end of electrode sheet 1 when coiled in Fig. 2), and the first tab extends out of the first end face and is bent toward the first end face (“The positive and negative tabs 2 at both ends of each turn of the electrode sheet 1 are bent towards the center of the cylindrical structure”, P21; see Fig. 2; see entire disclosure and especially P21).
Regarding claim 7, Ju discloses wherein: the first tab is bent toward a coiled center line of the cylindrical electrode assembly (as seen in Figs. 1-2, the tabs 2 are bent and overlap at a center of the coiled cylindrical electrode assembly; “The positive and negative tabs 2 at both ends of each turn of the electrode sheet 1 are bent towards the center of the cylindrical structure”, P21; see entire disclosure and especially P21).
Regarding claim 10, Ju discloses wherein: the main body is provided with a second end face, and the second end face is disposed opposite to the first end face in a direction of the coiled center line of the cylindrical electrode assembly (lower end of electrode sheet 1 when coiled in Fig. 2); and
the cylindrical electrode assembly further comprises a second tab (one of positive or negative tabs 2 that would be located at the lower end of electrode sheet 1 in Figs. 1-3), and the second tab extends from the second end face and is bent toward the second end face (“The positive and negative tabs 2 at both ends of each turn of the electrode sheet 1 are bent towards the center of the cylindrical structure”, P21; see entire disclosure and especially P21).
Regarding claim 16, Ju discloses wherein: the second tab is bent toward a coiled center line of the cylindrical electrode assembly (as seen in Figs. 1-2, the tabs 2 are bent and overlap at a center of the coiled cylindrical electrode assembly; “The positive and negative tabs 2 at both ends of each turn of the electrode sheet 1 are bent towards the center of the cylindrical structure”, P21; see entire disclosure and especially P21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1 as given in the 02/13/2025 IDS) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Li et al (US 20200373546 A1).
Regarding claims 8-9, Jeong discloses an electrode plate, wherein the electrode plate comprises a current collector and an active material layer, the active material layer is coated on a surface of the current collector (“a first electrode plate 121 coated with a first electrode active material (e.g., a cathode active material such as a transition metal oxide”, P36; see Fig. 1B).
Jeong discloses wherein the tabs are “base material punched” tabs (see entire disclosure and especially P18-19, 37, 66), therefore, the first tab is formed/punched from an area that is of the current collector and that is not coated with the active material.
However, Jeong does not disclose wherein the first tab is die-cut from the area that is of the current collector and that is not coated with the active material layer (as drawn to claim 8) or wherein the current collector is a composite current collector (as drawn to claim 9).
In a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches to improve the safety performance of a lithium-ion battery while reducing the weight of the battery, a composite current collector including a polymer layer and metal layers located on the surfaces of the polymer layer is adopted to implement the electron conduction (P4).
Li further teaches a positive current collector can be composed of a polymer layer made of PET (polyethylene terephthalate, PET) with a thickness of about 12 µm and a metal layer made of Al with a thickness of about 0.5 µm (P48). Li teaches the positive electrode current collector is uniformly coated with the slurry with a about 15 cm blank region reserved on the edge of each of the two sides of the positive electrode current collector (P48). Li teaches laser die-cutting can be used to cut the excess empty foil area, and an electrode sheet with five tabs that are 10 mm wide and about 14 mm, about 12 mm, about 10 mm, about 8 mm and about 6 mm long respectively is obtained (P48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the current collector of Jeong with the positive current collector of Li that is made of a composite material and has tabs formed from die-cutting a blank region, given Li teaches their composite current collector can improve the safety performance of a lithium-ion battery while reducing the weight of the battery, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1 as given in the 02/13/2025 IDS) as applied to claim 10, further in view of Yotsumoto (US 20130019732 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Jeong discloses an electrode plate, wherein the second electrode plate comprises a current collector and an active material layer, the active material layer is coated on a surface of the current collector (“a second electrode plate 122 coated with a second electrode active material (e.g., an anode active material such as graphite, carbon or silicon)”, P36; see Fig. 1B).
Jeong discloses wherein the tabs are “base material punched” tabs (see entire disclosure and especially P18-19, 37, 66), therefore, the second tab is formed/punched from an area that is of the current collector and that is not coated with the active material.
However, Jeong does not disclose wherein the second tab is die-cut from the area that is of the current collector and that is not coated with the active material layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yotsumoto teaches an electrode tab can be formed from die-cutting an uncoated portion of a collector of an electrode plate (P51-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Yotsumoto and chosen to die-cut the second tab from the area that is of the current collector and that is not coated with the active material layer, given this is known method Yotsumoto teaches to form an electrode tab and the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 20200235369 A1 as given in the 02/13/2025 IDS) in view of Yotsumoto (US 20130019732 A1) as applied to claim 17, further in view of Liang et al (US 20190173090 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong does not disclose wherein the current collector is a composite current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Liang teaches a negative current collector can include a negative insulation layer and two negative conductive layers arranged above two opposite surfaces of the negative insulation layer (P56). Further, a protective layer is provided on a surface of each negative conductive layer facing away from the negative insulation layer (P56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the current collector of Jeong with the negative current collector of Liang that includes a negative insulation layer, negative conductive layers, and protective layers, thereby making it a composite negative current collector, given Liang teaches their negative current collector as a known current collector, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1729