DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims filed 7/30/26 are allowable over the prior art. This basis for this relies on the remarks supplied by applicants in their response. An updated review of the prior art did not unearth any references that teaches or suggests the amended claims. However, upon further consideration, new claim 19 is rejected for reasons noted below.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. 2019/0203083.
Lee et al. teach a curable petroleum resin and the preparation thereof. See for
instance the abstract and paragraph 46.
Paragraph 47 teaches a petroleum resin that contains units from a petroleum resin and a cyclic anhydride. See more specifically paragraphs 54 to 56 and 79 and 80. The silane component in this resin is not excluded from the claimed modified polyolefin resin.
Paragraphs 101 and 102 teach a polyolefin resin to which the petroleum resin is added. Furthermore paragraphs 104 and on teach the addition of a curing catalyst such that the polyolefin resin and the petroleum resin react. This reaction product meets the claimed modified polymer olefin resin.
Various fillers can be added including gold, silver or copper powder, alumina, magnesium hydroxide and boron nitride, among others. These fillers are all conductive. Note that both thermal and electric conductivity are included by the term “conductive” in the claim.
Thus this reference differs from that claimed only in that it does not specifically teach an amount of filler. However, adjusting the amount of filler in an effort to optimize the properties and benefits thereof, determine the deleterious amount and optimal physical properties would have been well within the skill of het ordinary artisan. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As such one having ordinary skill in the art would have found a composition containing each of the required components in their claimed amount to have been obvious over the teachings in Lee et al. In this manner claim 19 is rendered obvious.
Regarding the “primer adhesive” language, note that the composition in Lee et al. is an adhesive. See the abstract and paragraph 26. This can be used in electric and electronic fields (paragraph 39) which generally embraces an electrode.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Mgm
10/5/26
/MARGARET G MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765