DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 3/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3- 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen US 2019/0131273.
Pertaining to claim 1, Chen teaches a three-dimensional integrated circuit structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor die 100; and
a second semiconductor die 300 disposed on the first semiconductor die 100,
wherein the first semiconductor die includes:
a plurality of through-silicon vias (TSV TSV1); and
a plurality of integrated stack capacitor (ISC) chips CA1, wherein each of the plurality of ISC chips is disposed between adjacent through-silicon vias among the plurality of through-silicon vias See Figures 13 and 16 below and [0041[.
Pertaining to claim 3, Chen teaches the three-dimensional integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of through-silicon vias is alternately arranged with the plurality of integrated stacked capacitor chips. See Figure 16 marked up above
Pertaining to claim 4, Chen teaches the three-dimensional integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein a distance between a through-silicon via of the plurality of through-silicon vias and an integrated stack capacitor chip, of the plurality of integrated stack capacitor chip, adjacent to the through-silicon via is smaller than a width of each through-silicon via of the plurality of through-silicon vias in a horizontal direction. See Figure 16 marked up below
Pertaining to claim 5, Chen teaches the three-dimensional integrated circuit structure of claim 1, wherein the second semiconductor die includes a system on chip (SOC). [0027]
Pertaining to claim 6, Chen teaches the three-dimensional integrated circuit structure of claim 1, further comprising a molding material E2 disposed on the second semiconductor die and on the first semiconductor die. See Figure 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0384073.
Pertaining to claim 2, Chen teaches the three-dimensional integrated circuit structure of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the integrated stack capacitor chip includes:
a lower plate layer;
an insulating layer disposed on the lower plate layer and including a plurality of through-holes;
a lower electrode continuously and conformally extending along an inside of the plurality of through-holes and along the insulating layer;
a dielectric film disposed on the lower electrode;
an upper electrode disposed on the dielectric film;
a conductive interconnection member disposed on the upper electrode; and
an upper plate layer disposed on the conductive interconnection member.
Lv teaches an integrated stack capacitor chip including:
a lower plate layer 101/111;
an insulating layer 102 disposed on the lower plate layer and including a plurality of through-holes 115;
a lower electrode 113 continuously and conformally extending along an inside of the plurality of through-holes and along the insulating layer 102;
a dielectric film 114 disposed on the lower electrode;
an upper electrode 115 disposed on the dielectric film;
a conductive interconnection member 103 disposed on the upper electrode; and
an upper plate layer 116 disposed on the conductive interconnection member 103.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute the capacitor as taught by Chen with the capacitor taught by Lv because such a modification represents simple substitution of one known element for another with predictable results (they are capacitors and capacitors are known in the art as energy storage elements). See MPEP 2143(B). When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR Int'l Co v. Teleflex Inc.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817