DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the claimed invention requires a locking assembly having a plurality of protrusions positioned on the outer surface of the plunger itself whereas the prior art discloses the notches are recesses formed along an external post extending beyond the housing, as stated in the previous Office Action, the projections between recesses 61 on the plunger 60 of Tarrats define a plurality of protrusions (as shown and indicated in the image below), wherein they are formed on an outside surface of the plunger, as shown in figure 2. Applicant further argues that the engaging member of Tarrats does not engage radially with the protrusions, however, since the plunger 60 is a cylindrical post, the engagement of the engaging member 62 resting between the protrusions on either side of notch 61 to hold the plunger 60 in place, they are radially engaged with the protrusions. Additionally, it is noted that the claims do not recite a radial engagement. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a self-contained, compact configuration) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s arguments with respect to Deluca are directed to the claimed inventions “predefined calibrated therapeutic pressure architecture” with general statements to how Deluca discusses selectable vacuum levels, without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Deluca teaches the general concept of measuring and calibrating a specific suction value to the different ‘settings’ of the device, which correlate to the protrusions of Tarrats. Therefore, the combination of Tarrats in view of Deluca teaches all of the claimed limitations and applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarrats (US 4971053) in view of Deluca et al (US 20120221010).
Regarding claim 1, Tarrats discloses a device to remove obstruction from throat of a user, comprising: a suction assembly, comprising: a housing (12) configured as a hollow cylindrical body and defining an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the housing comprises: a housing proximal end (14); and a housing distal end (13); a plunger (16, 60) configured to be housed and move within the housing, the plunger defining an outer surface, wherein the plunger comprises: a plunger proximal end; and a plunger distal end (figure 2); wherein the plunger is configured to move within the hollow cylindrical body between a first position and a second position; wherein in the first position, the plunger distal end is positioned near the housing distal end; and wherein in the second position (C:4, L:5-20), the plunger distal end is positioned farther from the housing distal end; a biasing member (31) positioned between the plunger distal end and the housing distal end and configured to bias the plunger in the second position; and a locking assembly (32), comprising: a plurality of protrusions (see image below) positioned on the outer surface of the plunger; and an engaging member (63, 62, 64) attached to the housing, wherein the engaging member is configurable between a hold position and a release position (figure 2, and depression of 63, C:4, L:15-20); wherein in the hold position, the engaging member is engaged with one of the plurality of protrusions to hold the plunger distal end near the housing distal end (figure 2); and wherein in the release position, the engaging member is disengaged from the one of the plurality of protrusions, to allow the plunger distal end to move farther from the housing distal end (C:4, L:15-20), to thereby create vacuum with the housing in a region between the plunger distal end and the housing distal end (C:4, L:20-25), wherein the locking assembly comprises: a first-level protrusion; and a second-level protrusion (61); wherein each of the first-level protrusion and the second-level protrusion, is positioned on the outer surface of the plunger, wherein in the hold position, the engaging member is configured to be engaged with one of the first-level protrusion and the second- level protrusion, to hold the plunger distal end near the housing distal end (C:4, L:5-35), wherein suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with the first-level protrusion is less than when the engaging member is engaged with the second-level protrusion to accommodate different sized victims and reduce the chance of drawing too much air into the chamber from the victims mouth and lungs and collapsing the victim’s lungs and that the size and shape of the cylinder or housing may vary as desired (C:4, L:20-33). Tarrats does not specifically disclose the suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with each of the protrusions.
However, DeLuca et al (hereafter Deluca) teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention to vary the vacuum pressure for various displacements of the piston to known values to create the desired measured amount of vacuum pressure for a particular sized victim (paragraphs 0061-0062, table 1). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to specifically configure the device of Tarrats to have the suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with the first-level protrusion in a range of 10 kilopascal (KPa) to 13 KPa, and wherein suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with the second-level protrusion is in a range of 13 KPa to 16 KPa, in order to vary the vacuum pressure for various displacements of the piston to known values to create the desired measured amount of vacuum pressure for a particular sized victim since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, Tarrats in view of DeLuca teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the biasing member is one of: a compression spring (C:2, L:52).
Regarding claim 3, Tarrats in view of DeLuca teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the engaging member comprises: a lever (63) pivoted to the outer surface of the housing and comprising: a first lever end (62); and a second lever end (63); wherein the first lever end is configured to engage with one of the plurality of protrusions positioned on the outer surface of the plunger, and wherein the second lever end is configured to be manipulated by a user to thereby disengage the engaging member from the one of the plurality of protrusions (C:4, L:5-35).
Regarding claim 4, Tarrats in view of DeLuca teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein at least a part of the plunger forms an air-tight contact with the inner surface of the housing (C:2, L:39-41).
Regarding claim 5, Tarrats in view of DeLuca teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1 further comprising: a face mask (21) defining an opening at its center, wherein the face mask is configured to be positioned at the face of a user, to enclose mouth and nose of the user.
Regarding claim 6, Tarrats in view of DeLuca teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the housing distal end defines a hole (15); and wherein the housing distal end further comprises: a throat tube defining (24): a first end connected to the housing distal end, via the hole; and a second end, wherein the second end of the throat tube is configured to pass through an opening associated with a face mask and enter into mouth of a user (figure 2).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771