DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument in the first paragraph on page 10 that the latch
components are positioned outside the main housing and operate upon the external post 60 resulting in a bulky, multi-component structure, whereas the instant invention eliminates the need for an external post to provide a self-contained, compact configuration, it is noted that the claims does not require the locking assembly to be positioned inside the main housing or integrated therewith. The claims merely require the locking assembly comprise ‘a plurality of protrusions positioned on the outer surface of the plunger’ and ‘an engaging member attached to the housing’, wherein the claims are silent to any internal post. Therefore, the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a self-contained, compact configuration) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that the claimed invention requires a locking assembly having a plurality of protrusions positioned n the outer surface of the plunger itself whereas the prior art discloses the notches are recesses formed along an external post extending beyond the housing, the projections between recesses 61 on the plunger 60 of Tarrats define a plurality of protrusions (as shown and indicated in the image below), wherein they are formed on an outside surface of the plunger, as shown in figure 2. Applicant further argues that the engaging member of Tarrats does not engage radially with the protrusions, however, since the plunger 60 is a cylindrical post, the engagement of the engaging member 62 resting between the protrusions on either side of notch 61 to hold the plunger 60 in place, they are radially engaged with the protrusions. Additionally, it is noted that the claims do not recite a radial engagement. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a self-contained, compact configuration) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tarrats (US 4971053).
Regarding claim 1, Tarrats discloses a device to remove obstruction from throat of a user, comprising: a suction assembly, comprising: a housing (12) configured as a hollow cylindrical body and defining an inner surface and an outer surface, wherein the housing comprises: a housing proximal end (14); and a housing distal end (13); a plunger (16, 60) configured to be housed and move within the housing, the plunger defining an outer surface, wherein the plunger comprises: a plunger proximal end; and a plunger distal end (figure 2); wherein the plunger is configured to move within the hollow cylindrical body between a first position and a second position; wherein in the first position, the plunger distal end is positioned near the housing distal end; and wherein in the second position (C:4, L:5-20), the plunger distal end is positioned farther from the housing distal end; a biasing member (31) positioned between the plunger distal end and the housing distal end and configured to bias the plunger in the second position; and a locking assembly (32), comprising: a plurality of protrusions (see image below) positioned on the outer surface of the plunger; and an engaging member (63, 62, 64) attached to the housing, wherein the engaging member is configurable between a hold position and a release position (figure 2, and depression of 63, C:4, L:15-20); wherein in the hold position, the engaging member is engaged with one of the plurality of protrusions to hold the plunger distal end near the housing distal end (figure 2); and wherein in the release position, the engaging member is disengaged from the one of the plurality of protrusions, to allow the plunger distal end to move farther from the housing distal end (C:4, L:15-20), to thereby create vacuum with the housing in a region between the plunger distal end and the housing distal end (C:4, L:20-25).
Regarding claim 2, Tarrats discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the biasing member is one of: a compression spring (C:2, L:52).
Regarding claim 3, Tarrats discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the engaging member comprises: a lever (63) pivoted to the outer surface of the housing and comprising: a first lever end (62); and a second lever end (63); wherein the first lever end is configured to engage with one of the plurality of protrusions positioned on the outer surface of the plunger, and wherein the second lever end is configured to be manipulated by a user to thereby disengage the engaging member from the one of the plurality of protrusions (C:4, L:5-35).
Regarding claim 4, Tarrats discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein at least a part of the plunger forms an air-tight contact with the inner surface of the housing (C:2, L:39-41).
Regarding claim 5, Tarrats discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1 further comprising: a face mask (21) defining an opening at its center, wherein the face mask is configured to be positioned at the face of a user, to enclose mouth and nose of the user.
Regarding claim 6, Tarrats discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the housing distal end defines a hole (15); and wherein the housing distal end further comprises: a throat tube defining (24): a first end connected to the housing distal end, via the hole; and a second end, wherein the second end of the throat tube is configured to pass through an opening associated with a face mask and enter into mouth of a user (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarrats (US 4971053) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deluca et al (US 20120221010).
Regarding claim 7, Tarrats discloses all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the locking assembly comprises: a first-level protrusion; and a second-level protrusion (61); wherein each of the first-level protrusion and the second-level protrusion, is positioned on the outer surface of the plunger, wherein in the hold position, the engaging member is configured to be engaged with one of the first-level protrusion and the second- level protrusion, to hold the plunger distal end near the housing distal end (C:4, L:5-35), wherein suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with the first-level protrusion is less than when the engaging member is engaged with the second-level protrusion to accommodate different sized victims and reduce the chance of drawing too much air into the chamber from the victims mouth and lungs and collapsing the victim’s lungs and that the size and shape of the cylinder or housing may vary as desired. DeLuca et al (hereafter Deluca) teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention to vary the vacuum pressure for various displacements of the piston to known values to create the desired measured amount of vacuum pressure for a particular sized victim (paragraphs 0061-0062, table 1). Therefore, it would have been within the skill of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to specifically configure the device of Tarrats to have the suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with the first-level protrusion in a range of 10 kilopascal (KPa) to 13 KPa, and wherein suction pressure generated when the engaging member is engaged with the second-level protrusion is in a range of 13 KPa to 16 KPa, in order to vary the vacuum pressure for various displacements of the piston to known values to create the desired measured amount of vacuum pressure for a particular sized victim since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771