DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xiao et al, US Patent Pub. 20250078812 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al, ‘DQ-BART: Efficient Sequence-to-Sequence Model via Joint Distillation and Quantization’, in view of Gerard et al, US Patent Pub. 20240411798 A1, in view of Xiao et al, US Patent Pub. 20250078812 A1. (The Zhang et al reference is cited in IDS filed 01/22/2025)
Re Claim 1, Zheng et al discloses a method comprising: accessing a trained large language model (“LLM”), the trained LLM comprising a first set of parameters (abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model); generating a reduced LLM, the reduced LLM comprising a second set of parameters, the second set of parameters smaller than the first set of parameters (abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model; and thereafter trained via distillation in section 2.2 to produce smaller parameters than even the first set of quantization parameters since the distillation training is carried out sequentially after the quantization training); accessing a training data set and the trained LLM (section 2.3: distillation-aware quantization further trains the quantization and distillation trained BART/BERT large language model to produce fine-tuned and further reduced parameters, where the distillation0aware quantization utilizes the trained quantization and distillation BART/BERT large language model along with inherent training data sets that are utilized when training models); training the reduced LLM based on the trained LLM and the training data set (section 2.3: distillation-aware quantization further trains the quantization and distillation trained BART/BERT large language model to produce fine-tuned and further reduced parameters, where the distillation0aware quantization utilizes the trained quantization and distillation BART/BERT large language model along with inherent training data sets that are utilized when training models); but fails to disclose receiving a request for the trained reduced LLM from a remote client device; and transmitting the trained reduced LLM to the remote client device. However, Gerard et al discloses a system that teaches the concept of a client device requesting large language model training at a remote server location and then transmitting said trained large language model back to the client device (Gerard et al, fig. 1: client device 110, large language model 120; para 0020: LLM processing is carried out remotely where request for remote LLM processing is wirelessly sent to the LLM processor from the client device via bi-directional wireless communication 199 and processed LLM is wirelessly transmitted back to the client device; wherein bi-directional wireless communication implies bi-directional wireless transmission between client device and LLM processor). It would have been obvious to modify the Zheng et al system such that its large language model training can be carried out remotely and transmitted back to the requesting client device as taught in Gerard et al for the purpose of reducing processing burden on the client device. The combined teachings of Zheng et al and Gerard et al fail to explicitly disclose the trained LLM being stored on the server of a device to be accessed by another remote device. However, Xiao et al discloses a system that teaches the concept of a cloud-based device which includes a server with LLMs stored therein (Xiao et al, para 0001: ML model either stored on local client device server or stored remotely on remote server; para 0072), whereby the LLMs could be accessed by a remote client device, trained and transmitted back to the device (Xiao et al, para 0005). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Gerard et al such that the LLMs are stored on both the client device and the remote device as taught in Xiao et al for the purpose of making the LLMs easily accessible.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings of Zheng et al, Gerard et al and Xiao et al disclose the method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced LLM comprises reducing a precision of one or more parameters of the first set of parameters (Zheng et al, abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model; and thereafter trained via distillation in section 2.2 to produce smaller parameters than even the first set of quantization parameters since the distillation training is carried out sequentially after the quantization training).
Re Claim 3, the combined teachings of Zheng et al, Gerard et al and Xiao et al disclose the method of claim 2, wherein reducing the precision of the one or more parameters of the first set of parameters comprises converting at least one parameter to an integer value (Zheng et al, abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model; and thereafter trained via distillation in section 2.2 to produce smaller parameters than even the first set of quantization parameters since the distillation training is carried out sequentially after the quantization training; whereby quantization training aims to reduce numerical precision of model parameters from floating point numbers to lower bit-width integers).
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings of Zheng et al, Gerard et al and Xiao et al disclose the method of claim 3, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the converting the at least one parameter comprises comparing a difference from the integer value to a predetermined threshold, and determining the difference satisfies the predetermined threshold. However, Zheng et al includes quantization training (Zheng et al, abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model; and thereafter trained via distillation in section 2.2 to produce smaller parameters than even the first set of quantization parameters since the distillation training is carried out sequentially after the quantization training) and as such, it would have been obvious to modify the quantization training such that it can reduce from higher floating-point numbers to lower precision data types that include lower floating-point numbers, along with lower bit integers since reducing floating-point numbers to other lower floating-point numbers is a regular processing for quantization training; whereby the desired lower floating-point number and/or integer is regarding as the threshold whereby the lowered floating-point number and/or integer has to be at least the desired threshold or lower for the purpose of reducing memory footprint and computational costs.
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings of Zheng et al, Gerard et al and Xiao et al disclose the method of claim 2, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein reducing the precision of the one or more parameters of the first set of parameters comprises converting a first parameter from a first floating-point representation to a second floating-point representation, the first floating-point representation having more bits than the second floating- point representation. However, Zheng et al includes quantization training (Zheng et al, abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model; and thereafter trained via distillation in section 2.2 to produce smaller parameters than even the first set of quantization parameters since the distillation training is carried out sequentially after the quantization training) and as such, it would have been obvious to modify the quantization training such that it can reduce from higher floating-point numbers to lower precision data types that include lower floating-point numbers, along with lower bit integers since reducing floating-point numbers to other lower floating-point numbers is a regular processing for quantization training for the purpose of reducing memory footprint and computational costs.
Re Claim 6, the combined teachings of Zheng et al, Gerard et al and Xiao et al disclose the method of claim 2, wherein reducing the precision of the one or more parameters of the first set of parameters comprises converting a first parameter portable Large Language Models from a floating-point representation to an integer representation, the floating-point representation having more bits than the integer representation (Zheng et al, abstract: BART/BERT is a large language model, where BART/BERT is trained via quantization in section 2.1 to produce first set of parameters that are smaller than the initial BART/BERT large language model; and thereafter trained via distillation in section 2.2 to produce smaller parameters than even the first set of quantization parameters since the distillation training is carried out sequentially after the quantization training; whereby quantization training aims to reduce numerical precision of model parameters from floating point numbers to lower bit-width integers).
Re Claim 7, the combined teachings of Zheng et al, Gerard et al and Xiao et al disclose the method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced LLM comprises selecting a second LLM having fewer parameters than the trained LLM (Zheng et al, section 2.3: distillation-aware quantization further trains the quantization and distillation trained BART/BERT large language model to produce fine-tuned and further reduced parameters, where the distillation0aware quantization utilizes the trained quantization and distillation BART/BERT large language model along with inherent training data sets that are utilized when training models).
Claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 2.
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 3.
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 4.
Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 5.
Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 6.
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 7.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 2.
Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 3.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 4.
Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 5.
Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 6.
Contact
/GEORGE C MONIKANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 07/25/2026