Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification recites “a MO source,” in paragraph 61 line 33, however, the specification does not recite what subject matter being abbreviated by MO. For examination purposes, a MO source is interpretated as referring to a metal organic chemical vapor deposition source.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 contains the typographical error of a single parenthesis following the first semiconductor layers on page 2 lines 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “growing a plurality of spacing layers on the first semiconductor layer,” on page 2 lines 27 and “growing a plurality of spacing layers at intervals along an extension direction of the gate,” on page 3 lines 4-5. These limitations render claim 14 indefinite because it unclear whether the method of claim 14 grows two pluralities of spacing layers or whether claim 14 grows one plurality of spacing layers with the location of the spacing layers being at intervals along an extension direction of the gate. For examination purposes, claim 14 will be interpretated as growing one plurality of spacing layers with the location of the spacing layers being at intervals along an extension direction of the gate.
Claims 15-16 are also rejected for containing the same limitations because claims 15-16 depend from claim 14.
Claim 15 recites “a MO source,” on page 3 line 7. This limitation renders claim 15 indefinite because it is unclear what subject matter being abbreviated by MO. For examination purposes, a MO source is interpretated as referring to a metal organic chemical vapor deposition source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nongaillard et al. (FR 3078198 A1). The examiner notes that the citations to pages and line of Nongaillard refer to pages and line in the attached English language translation of Nongaillard.
Regarding Claim 1:
Nongaillard discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (channel layer, See figs. 1a-1b, 2b, ref. no. 1b and page 3 lines 1-20);
a second semiconductor layer (barrier layer, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. no. 1a and page 3 lines 1-20) disposed on the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer form a heterostructure (the channel layer and the barrier layer are formed from semiconductor materials that form a heterostructure, See page 3 lines 1-20);
a gate (gate electrode, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. no. 40 and page 3 lines 10-31) disposed in a gate region (the region of the barrier layer below the gate electrode, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. nos. 1a, 40) of the second semiconductor layer; and
a plurality of spacing layers (a plurality of bars made of p-type material, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. no. 4 and page 3 lines 22-31) arranged at intervals and between the second semiconductor layer and the first semiconductor layer along an extension direction of the gate (the plurality of bars is distributed under the gate electrode in the x-direction and each of the bars crosses the interface of the stack, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. nos. 4, 40, and page 3 lines 33-46).
Regarding Claim 2:
Nongaillard discloses wherein a length of a spacing layer of the plurality of spacing layers is greater than or equal to a length of the gate in a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the gate (a length of one bar of the plurality of bars is greater than the length of the gate electrode in the y-direction, See figs. 2a-2b, ref. nos. 4 and 40).
Regarding Claim 3:
Nongaillard discloses wherein projection area of the plurality of spacing layers in the gate region accounts for 20% to 80% of area of the gate region (the ratio of the width of the bars to the spacing between the bars will be kept below 5/2 or even below 1, See page 4 lines 22-27. The examiner notes that for a ratio of 1 50% of the area in the gate region will be occupied by the bars and 50% of the area in the gate region will be space between the bars.).
Regarding Claim 4:
Nongaillard discloses wherein patterns of the plurality of spacing layers comprise at least one of a polygon (rectangular shape, See fig. 2a-2b, ref. no. 4 and page 4 lines 11-13), a circle (circular shape, See page 4 lines 11-13), an ellipse, or a special-shaped pattern (polygonal shape other than a rectangular shape or a square shape, See page 4 lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 8:
Nongaillard discloses a substrate (support substrate, See page 5 lines 2-7) and a buffer layer (buffer layer, See page 5 lines 2-7), wherein the buffer layer is located between the substrate and the first semiconductor layer (the buffer layer is interposed between the support substrate and the channel layer 1b, See page 5 lines 2-7).
Regarding Claim 9:
Nongaillard discloses wherein the first semiconductor layer is a channel layer (channel layer, See figs. 1a-1b, 2b, ref. no. 1b and page 3 lines 1-20) and the second semiconductor layer is a barrier layer (barrier layer, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. no. 1a and page 3 lines 1-20); or the first semiconductor layer is a back barrier layer and the second semiconductor layer is a channel layer.
Regarding Claim 10:
Nongaillard discloses a source (source electrode, See figs. 1a, 2a-2b, ref. no. 20 and page 3 lines 11-20) and a drain (drain electrode See figs. 1a, 2a-2b, ref. no. 30 and page 3 lines 11-2), wherein the source and the drain are located on two sides of the gate in a direction parallel to the first semiconductor layer (See figs. 1a, 2a-2b, ref. nos. 20, 30, 40); and the source and the drain are located above the second semiconductor layer; or the source and the drain penetrate through the second semiconductor layer and are located on the first semiconductor layer (the source electrode and the drain electrode are located on the channel layer, See fig. 1a, ref. no. 1b, 20, 30).
Regarding Claim 12:
Nongaillard discloses a riser layer (insulating layer, See figs. 1a-2b, ref. no. 50 and page 3 lines 22-31) located between the gate and the second semiconductor layer.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa (US 5,726,467).
Regarding Claim 14:
Nakagawa discloses a method for preparing a semiconductor structure, comprising:
growing a first semiconductor layer (forming GaAs layer, See figs. 2(a), 3, ref. no. 3, and col. 3 lines 17-25);
growing a plurality of spacing layers (forming the insulator layers, See fig. 3, ref. no. 12 and col. 3 lines 38-54) on the first semiconductor layer;
growing a second semiconductor layer (forming n+AlGaAs layer, See figs. 2(a), 3, ref. no. 4 and col. 3 lines 17-25) on the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer form a heterostructure semiconductor materials that form a heterostructure (the examiner notes that the GaAs layer and the n+AlGaAs layer are semiconductor materials that form a heterostructure), and the plurality of spacing layers (the insulator layers cross the interface of the GaAs layer and the n+AlGaAs layer, See fig. 3, ref. no. 12) are located between the second semiconductor layer and the first semiconductor layer; and
growing a gate (forming a gate electrode, See figs. 2(d), 3, ref. no. 6 and col. 3 lines 26-33) in a gate region (the region of the n+AlGaAs layer below the gate electrode, See figs.2(d), 3, ref. no. 6) of the second semiconductor layer, and growing a plurality of spacing layers at intervals along an extension direction of the gate (the insulator layers are located at intervals along the right to left direction of the gate electrode, See figs. 2(d), 3, ref. nos. 6, 12, and col. 3 lines 38-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Work-Function Engineering in Novel High Al Composition Al0.72Ga0.28N/AlN/GaN HEMTs) in view of Morita et al. (WO 2022/230293 A1) further in view of Nakagawa (US 5,726,467). The examiner notes that the citations to paragraphs of Morita refer to paragraph of the attached English language translation.
Regarding Claim 1:
Li discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (205nm GaN layer, See figs. 2a and page 1 paragraph 2)
a second semiconductor layer (2.7nm Al0.72Ga0.28N layer, See figs. 2a and page 1 paragraph 2) disposed on the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer form a heterostructure (the GaN layer and the Al0.72Ga0.28N layer form a heterostructure with an AlN spacer, See fig.2a);
a gate (gate, See fig. 2a) disposed in a gate region (the region of the 2.7nm Al0.72Ga0.28N layer below the gate, See figs. 2a) of the second semiconductor layer; and
a spacer layer (~0.6nm AlN spacer, See fig. 2a and page 1 paragraph 2).
Li does not disclose a plurality of spacing layers arranged at intervals and between the second semiconductor layer and the first semiconductor layer along an extension direction of the gate.
Morita discloses a semiconductor device has a plurality of multiple openings arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode where the gate insulating film is in contact with the channel layer (See figs. 5-6, ref. nos. 12a, 14, 15, paragraphs 16-17 and 30-31. The examiner also notes that portions of the barrier layer 12 between the openings is also arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Li to include a plurality of multiple openings arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode where the gate insulating film in in contact with a channel as taught by Morita in order to reduce heat generate by reducing current density. (See Morita paragraphs 4 and 7).
The above stated combination of Li and Morita does not disclose a plurality of spacing layers.
Nakagawa discloses narrow line channels that extend between a source and a drain (See fig. 5, ref. nos. 21, 23, 24a-24c and col. 1 lines 16-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Li and Morita to include extending the plurality of multiple openings arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode to extend to the source and the drain as taught by Nakagawa in order to further define separate channels. (The examiner notes that portions of the barrier layer and the AlN spacer between the openings will also extend to the source and drain.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The above stated combination of Li, Morita, and Nakagawa discloses wherein a length of a spacing layer of the plurality of spacing layers is greater than or equal to a length of the gate in a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the gate (The examiner notes the remaining portions of the AlN spacer will extend from the source to the drain and thus have a length greater than a length of the gate in the direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the gate. See Li fig. 2a, gate and ~0.6nm AlN spacer).
Regarding Claim 5:
Li discloses wherein a range of a thickness of a spacing layer of the plurality of spacing layers is 0.1 to 2 nm (~0.6nm AlN spacer, See fig. 2a).
Regarding Claim 6:
Li discloses a range of thickness for spacing layers of approximately 0.6nm (~0.6nm AlN spacer, See fig. 2a). The range of thickness of provided by the disclosure of approximately 0.6 nm is so close to the range of the thickness of 0.1 to 0.3 nm that one skilled in the art would expect them to have the same properties. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding Claim 7:
Li discloses wherein a material of the plurality of spacing layers comprises AlN (~0.6nm AlN spacer, See fig. 2a).
Regarding Claim 8:
Li discloses a substrate (sapphire substrate, See fig. 2a) and a buffer layer (S.I. GaN layer, See fig. 2a), wherein the buffer layer is located between the substrate and the first semiconductor layer (the S.I. GaN layer is located between the sapphire substrate and the 205nm GaN layer, See fig. 2a).
Regarding Claim 9:
Li discloses wherein the first semiconductor layer is a channel layer (205nm GaN layer, See figs. 2a and page 1 paragraph 2. The examiner notes that the 2D electron gas is formed in the GaN layer.) and the second semiconductor layer is a barrier layer (2.7nm Al0.72Ga0.28N layer, See figs. 2a and page 1 paragraph 2); or the first semiconductor layer is a back barrier layer and the second semiconductor layer is a channel layer.
Claims 1-2 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 108417493 A) in view of Morita et al. (WO 2022/230293 A1) further in view of Nakagawa (US 5,726,467). The examiner notes that the citations to paragraphs of Sun refer to paragraph of the attached English language translation.
Regarding Claim 1:
Sun discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (GaN layer, See figs. 2 and paragraph 104)
a second semiconductor layer (AlGaN layer, See figs. 2 and paragraph 104) disposed on the first semiconductor layer, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer form a heterostructure (the GaN layer and the Al0.72Ga0.28N layer form a heterostructure with an AlN spacer in a High Electron Mobility Transistor, See fig. 2 and paragraph 104);
a gate (gate, See fig. 2, ref. no. G) disposed in a gate region (the region of the AlGaN layer below the gate, See figs. 2, ref. no. G) of the second semiconductor layer; and
a spacer layer (AlN layer between the GaN layer and the AlGaN layer, See fig. 2).
Sun does not disclose a plurality of spacing layers arranged at intervals and between the second semiconductor layer and the first semiconductor layer along an extension direction of the gate.
Morita discloses a semiconductor device has a plurality of multiple openings arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode where the gate insulating film is in contact with the channel layer (See figs. 5-6, ref. nos. 12a, 14, 15, paragraphs 16-17 and 30-31. The examiner also notes that portions of the barrier layer 12 between the openings is also arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Sun to include a plurality of multiple openings arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode where the gate insulating film in in contact with a channel as taught by Morita in order to reduce heat generate by reducing current density. (See Morita paragraphs 4 and 7).
The above stated combination of Sun and Morita does not disclose a plurality of spacing layers.
Nakagawa discloses narrow line channels that extend between a source and a drain (See fig. 5, ref. nos. 21, 23, 24a-24c and col. 1 lines 16-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Sun and Morita to include extending the plurality of multiple openings arranged at intervals under a gate electrode along the extension direction of the gate electrode to extend to the source and the drain as taught by Nakagawa in order to further define separate channels. (The examiner notes that portions of the barrier layer and the AlN spacer between the openings will also extend to the source and drain, thus, there will be multiple portions of the barrier layer and the AlN spacer separated by the openings between the source and the drain.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The above stated combination of Sun, Morita, and Nakagawa discloses wherein a length of a spacing layer of the plurality of spacing layers is greater than or equal to a length of the gate in a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the gate (The examiner notes the remaining portions of the AlN spacer will extend from the source to the drain and thus have a length greater than a length of the gate in the direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the gate. See Sun fig. 2a, gate and ~0.6nm AlN spacer).
Regarding Claim 9:
Sun discloses wherein the first semiconductor layer is a channel layer (GaN layer is a channel layer in the HEMT structure shown in figure 2, See fig. 2) and the second semiconductor layer is a barrier layer (AlGaN layer is a barrier layer in the HEMT structure shown in figure 2, See fig. 2); or the first semiconductor layer is a back barrier layer and the second semiconductor layer is a channel layer.
Regarding Claim 10:
Sun discloses a source (source, See fig. 2, ref. no. S) and a drain (drain, See fig. 2, ref. no. D), wherein the source and the drain are located on two sides of the gate in a direction parallel to the first semiconductor layer (See fig. 2, ref. nos. S, D, G); and the source and the drain are located above the second semiconductor layer (the source and the drain are located above the AlGaN layer, See fig. 2, ref. nos. S, D; or the source and the drain penetrate through the second semiconductor layer and are located on the first semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 11:
Sun discloses a p-GaN layer (p-GaN layer located between gate and AlGaN layer, See fig. 2) located between the gate and the second semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 12:
Sun discloses a riser layer (InGaN layer located between gate and AlGaN layer, See fig. 2) located between the gate and the second semiconductor layer.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nongaillard et al. (FR 3078198 A1) in view of Saptharishi (US 2020/0411663).
Regarding Claim 13:
Nongaillard discloses the above stated semiconductor devices.
Nongaillard does not disclose wherein N first semiconductor layers and N second semiconductor layers are provided, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; in a direction perpendicular to the first semiconductor layers), the first semiconductor layers and the second semiconductor layers are arranged alternately in sequence; and the gate is disposed in a gate region of a second semiconductor layer of the second semiconductor layers (20) located in an uppermost layer; and along an extension direction of the gate, a plurality of spacing layers arranged at intervals are disposed between each of the first semiconductor layers and a respective second semiconductor layer which is disposed on each of the first semiconductor layers.
Saptharishi discloses a high electron mobility transistor the includes a plurality of channel layer and barrier layer pairs that each provide a separate 2D electron gas channel with a gate terminal form located on a gate region of the upper most barrier layer (See fig. 3, ref. nos. 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, 46, 48, and paragraph 30 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device of Nongaillard to include repeatedly include the structure of the channel layer, the barrier layer, and the plurality of bars made of p-type material with the gate electrode located on the upper most barrier region as taught by Saptharishi in order to achieve high gain and high power at high frequencies. (See Saptharishi paragraph 58).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 5,726,467) in view of Chen et al. (US 10,964,788) further in Chiang et al. (US 2023/0386933).
Regarding Claim 15:
Nakagawa discloses the above stated method for preparing a semiconductor structure.
Nakagawa does not disclose wherein growing the plurality of spacing layers comprises: forming the plurality of spacing layers by passing a MO source for a time ≤ 20s.
Chen discloses depositing an insulating material by metal organic chemical vapor deposition (See col. 5 lines 43-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for preparing a semiconductor structure of Nakagawa to include depositing an insulating material by metal organic chemical vapor deposition as taught by Chen for ease of fabrication of the semiconductor structure through the use of known fabrication techniques.
The examiner now points out that the deposition time is a result effective variable because adjusting the deposition time adjusts the thickness of the layer being deposited. The examiner next points out that deposition time is recognized by the prior art as a result-effective variable (See Chiang paragraph 56). The examiner notes that optimization of result effective variables through routine experimentation is an obviousness expedient and not a patentable distinction. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deposition time of ≤ 20s to form an insulating layer of a desired thickness.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 5,726,467) in view of Naylor et al. (US 2023/0197836).
Regarding Claim 16:
Nakagawa discloses the above stated method for preparing a semiconductor structure. Nakagawa further discloses wherein growing the plurality of spacing layers comprises:
growing a spacing material layer on the first semiconductor layer, patterning and etching the spacing material layer to obtain the plurality of spacing layers arranged at intervals; or
making a patterned mask layer (making a pattern in the resist film, See fig. 2(b), ref. no. 9 and col. 3 lines 17-25 and 38-53) on the first semiconductor layer, selectively growing the plurality of spacing layers in a region not covered by the mask layer (depositing an insulator film into the openings in the resist film, See col. 3 lies 38-53), and removing the mask layer to obtain the plurality of spacing layers arranged at intervals (lift off of the resist film, See col. 3 lines 38-53); or
growing a spacing material layer on the first semiconductor layer, selectively passivating the spacing material layer, and converting part of the spacing material layer into a passivation layer, wherein part of the spacing material layer which is not passivated forms the plurality of spacing layers arranged at intervals.
Nakagawa is silent about etching the mask layer.
Naylor discloses a resist may be patterned by etching portions of the resist.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for preparing a semiconductor structure of Nakagawa to include a resist may be patterned by etching portions of the resist as taught by Naylor for ease of fabrication of the semiconductor structure through the use of known lithographic techniques.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899