DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 8. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9 12-13, 15-16, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KANTAROVSKY et al [US 2022/0165853] IDS.
With respect to claim 1, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose a structure comprising:
a gate structure (112, pp [0012]);
a first barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) under and adjacent to the gate structure; and
a second barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) over the first barrier layer and which is adjacent to the gate structure, the second barrier layer positioned outside of the gate structure such that a combination of the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer forms a thicker region adjacent to the gate structure than the first barrier layer under the gate structure, and the second barrier layer is absent directly beneath the gate structure. It is noted that, as interpreting the claim in a broad scope, the first barrier layer can also be the same as the second barrier layer since the claim do not recite the different material between the first and second barrier layers.
With respect to claim 3, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that further comprising a field plate (118, 120, pp [0012]) above the thicker region.
With respect to claim 4, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that further comprising a gate metal (112, pp [0015]) connecting to the gate structure (112, pp [0012]). It is noted that the gate metal can be also the same as the gate structure since the claim do not recite the material different between the gate metal and the gate structure.
With respect to claim 5, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the field plate (118, 120, pp [0012]) surrounds the gate metal and is isolated from the gate structure by a spacer (126, pp [0035]) on vertical sidewalls of the gate metal.
With respect to claim 6, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the field plate (118, 120, pp [0012]) is adjacent to the gate structure on a same device level and further straddles over the thicker region.
With respect to claims 7-8, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the second barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) is symmetrically positioned about the gate structure.
With respect to claim 9, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the first barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) and the second barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) comprise a same material.
With respect to claim 12, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the second barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) is spaced away from the gate structure (112, pp [0015]) by a gap structure comprising an insulator material (142, pp [0040]).
With respect to claim 13, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that
a gate structure (112, pp [0012]);
at least one metal contact (112, pp [0015]) connecting to the gate structure; It is noted that the gate metal can be also the same as the gate structure since the claim do not recite the material different between the gate metal and the gate structure.
a channel region (106, pp [0017]) under the gate structure which comprises at least one semiconductor material that extends into a drain region (116, pp [0012]) and a source region (114, pp [0012]) adjacent to the gate structure, wherein the at least one semiconductor material in the drain region comprises a thicker region compared to the at least one semiconductor material under the gate structure, the thicker region comprising a first semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) and a second semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) over the first semiconductor material, the second semiconductor material being positioned outside of the gate structure and absent directly beneath the gate structure; and
a field plate (118, 120, pp [0012]) over the thicker region, adjacent to the gate structure.
It is noted that, as interpreting the claim in a broad scope, the first semiconductor material can also be the same as the second semiconductor material since the claim do not recite the different material between the first and second semiconductor materials.
With respect to claim 15, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the first semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) and the second semiconductor (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) material comprise AIGaN.
With respect to claim 16, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the second semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) is symmetrically positioned about the gate structure.
With respect to claim 19, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the second semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) is separated from the gate structure by a gap structure comprising an insulator material (142, pp [0040]).
With respect to claim 21, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the second barrier layer (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) is a semiconductor layer and the thicker region has a thickness that is from about 5% to about 100% greater than a thickness of the first barrier layer (pp [0020]) under the gate structure.
With respect to claim 22, KANTAROVSKY et al (fig. 1F) disclose that wherein the second semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) directly contacts the first semiconductor material (108, pp [0017]-[0018]) in the drain region and, together with the first semiconductor material, forms the thicker region adjacent to the gate structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANTAROVSKY et al [US 2022/0165853] IDS in view of Saunier et al [US 2013/0320349].
KANTAROVSKY et al do not mention wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material comprise a same material with different material compositions or different materials. However, Saunier et al (fig. 1) disclose that wherein the first semiconductor material (107, AlxIn1-x N, pp [0066]) and the second semiconductor material (108, AlyGa1-y N, pp [0066]) comprise a same material (AlN) with different alloy compositions (In and Ga) or different materials (AlxIn1-x N and AlyGa1-y N). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have the material at taught by Saunier et al into the device of KANTAROVSKY et al in order to provide suitable design function for a device structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOAI V PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892