Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohammed et al (US PUB. 20170070073, herein Mohammed).
Regarding claim 1, Mohammed teaches A processor-implemented method for a battery management system comprising:
configuring a plurality of battery units (0009), wherein each battery unit of the plurality of battery units is connected in series to a power bus through a switch in each anode power connection of each battery unit and through a switch in each cathode power connection of each battery unit (0019 “a bypass switch 150 that is emplaced so as to selectively maintain the continuity of the system load bus 105 through a bypass circuit while bypassing the connection through the energy storage device 100. When the bypass switch 150 is closed, the system load bus 105 maintains connectivity, bypassing the energy storage device 100, even while the positive and negative bus switches (110, 120) remain open. When the bypass switch 150 is closed, the energy storage device 100 can be charged or maintained without, for example, impacting the connectivity of a series-connected system load bus 105”), wherein the switch in the anode power connection of each battery unit and the switch in the cathode power connection of each battery unit comprise a battery unit switch pair (0017 “The energy storage device 100 is emplaced on the energy system load bus 105, to which the energy storage device is connected via a positive bus switch 110 and a negative bus switch 120. This pair of bus switches (110, 120) creates electrical continuity across the system load bus 105 when the switches are closed (e.g., enabled/ON). When the pair of bus switches (110, 120) are both closed, the energy storage device 100 is connected to the energy system load bus 105 so that loads emplaced elsewhere on the bus can draw energy from the energy storage device 100. When the pair of bus switches (110, 120) are both open, the energy storage device 100 is disconnected from the system load bus 105 and other functions may be performed (e.g., charging, maintenance)”), and wherein each battery unit switch pair is electronically controlled by a master controller (0012 “A regulator controller may receive sensor or measurement data from the ESRUs under the control of the energy storage regulator, and may also issue control instructions that control the switches of the individual ESRUs. Measurement data can include, for example, voltage, current, or temperature information relating to a specific ESRU”);
connecting a power shunt switch across each battery unit switch pair, wherein each power shunt switch is electronically controlled by the master controller, and wherein each power shunt switch enables the power bus to bypass a selected battery unit (0033 “FIG. 3C shows the state of an energy storage regulation unit in a bypass modality. In a bypass modality, the bypass switch 350C is closed in order to offer an alternative path for current flow to and from the remainder of the devices on the system load bus. The path of the power flow through the bypass circuit is indicated by the line 380C. The charging switches 330C and the positive load bus switch 310C and negative load bus switch 320C remain open, disconnecting the energy storage device from the system load bus and the charging bus.”);
providing a signal communication path between the master controller and each battery unit (0033 “FIG. 3C shows the state of an energy storage regulation unit in a bypass modality. In a bypass modality, the bypass switch 350C is closed in order to offer an alternative path for current flow to and from the remainder of the devices on the system load bus. The path of the power flow through the bypass circuit is indicated by the line 380C. The charging switches 330C and the positive load bus switch 310C and negative load bus switch 320C remain open, disconnecting the energy storage device from the system load bus and the charging bus.”);
and effecting an in situ battery unit reconfiguration, using the master controller (0011, 0019 “ESRU includes a bypass switch 150 that is emplaced so as to selectively maintain the continuity of the system load bus 105 through a bypass circuit while bypassing the connection through the energy storage device 100. When the bypass switch 150 is closed, the system load bus 105 maintains connectivity, bypassing the energy storage device 100, even while the positive and negative bus switches (110, 120) remain open”).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
Mohammed teaches wherein the in situ battery unit reconfiguration enables real-time power capability adjustment for the plurality of battery units (0019 “ESRU includes a bypass switch 150 that is emplaced so as to selectively maintain the continuity of the system load bus 105 through a bypass circuit while bypassing the connection through the energy storage device 100. When the bypass switch 150 is closed, the system load bus 105 maintains connectivity, bypassing the energy storage device 100, even while the positive and negative bus switches (110, 120) remain open”).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 2.
Mohammed teaches wherein the real-time power capability adjustment provides matching between battery unit performance and battery management system load requirements (fig. 5, 0042).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
wherein a to-be-replaced battery unit, from the plurality of battery units, is controlled such that the switch pair of the to-be-replaced battery unit is opened and the shunt switch of the to-be-replaced battery unit is closed (0019 “ESRU includes a bypass switch 150 that is emplaced so as to selectively maintain the continuity of the system load bus 105 through a bypass circuit while bypassing the connection through the energy storage device 100. When the bypass switch 150 is closed, the system load bus 105 maintains connectivity, bypassing the energy storage device 100, even while the positive and negative bus switches (110, 120) remain open”, 0033 “this technical feature enables the ability for an individual energy storage device to undergo maintenance such as removal, replacement, or diagnostics that benefit from the storage device being isolated from the rest of the energy system”).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 4.
Mohammed teaches further comprising reconfiguring the plurality of battery units to remove the to-be-replaced battery unit(0019 “ESRU includes a bypass switch 150 that is emplaced so as to selectively maintain the continuity of the system load bus 105 through a bypass circuit while bypassing the connection through the energy storage device 100. When the bypass switch 150 is closed, the system load bus 105 maintains connectivity, bypassing the energy storage device 100, even while the positive and negative bus switches (110, 120) remain open”, 0033 “this technical feature enables the ability for an individual energy storage device to undergo maintenance such as removal, replacement, or diagnostics that benefit from the storage device being isolated from the rest of the energy system”).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 5.
Mohammed teaches further comprising additionally reconfiguring the plurality of battery units to add a new battery unit (0033 “This technical feature enables the ability for an individual energy storage device to undergo maintenance such as removal, replacement, or diagnostics that benefit from the storage device being isolated from the rest of the energy system”).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 6.
Mohammed teaches wherein the new battery unit is controlled such that the switch pair of the new battery unit is closed and the shunt switch of the new battery unit is opened (0031 “FIG. 3A shows the state of an energy storage regulation unit in a normal modality. The positive load bus switch 310A and the negative load bus switch 320A are closed so that the system load bus is connected to the energy storage device as a power source. The bypass switch 350A is open so that the energy flows to the system load bus through the energy storage device and energy is provided to demand devices from the energy storage device”).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 6.
Mohammed teaches wherein the signal communication path of the new battery unit is physically engaged such that the new battery unit anode power connection and cathode power connection can be enabled by the master controller (0031 “FIG. 3A shows the state of an energy storage regulation unit in a normal modality. The positive load bus switch 310A and the negative load bus switch 320A are closed so that the system load bus is connected to the energy storage device as a power source. The bypass switch 350A is open so that the energy flows to the system load bus through the energy storage device and energy is provided to demand devices from the energy storage device”).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 8.
Mohammed teaches wherein the new battery unit anode power connection and cathode power connection are physically enabled or prevented under control of the master controller (0031 “FIG. 3A shows the state of an energy storage regulation unit in a normal modality. The positive load bus switch 310A and the negative load bus switch 320A are closed so that the system load bus is connected to the energy storage device as a power source. The bypass switch 350A is open so that the energy flows to the system load bus through the energy storage device and energy is provided to demand devices from the energy storage device”).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 8.
Mohammed teaches wherein the master controller enables battery unit swap operation (0033 “this technical feature enables the ability for an individual energy storage device to undergo maintenance such as removal, replacement, or diagnostics that benefit from the storage device being isolated from the rest of the energy system”).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 10.
Mohammed teaches wherein the battery unit swap operation comprises a hot swap battery unit replacement (0033 “this technical feature enables the ability for an individual energy storage device to undergo maintenance such as removal, replacement, or diagnostics that benefit from the storage device being isolated from the rest of the energy system”).
Regarding claim 21, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
Mohammed teaches wherein each battery unit of the plurality of battery units includes a local controller for communicating with the master controller (0034)
Regarding claim 22, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 21.
Mohammed teaches wherein the local controller senses battery unit performance characteristics (0012 “A regulator controller may receive sensor or measurement data from the ESRUs under the control of the energy storage regulator, and may also issue control instructions that control the switches of the individual ESRUs. Measurement data can include, for example, voltage, current, or temperature information relating to a specific ESRU”).
Regarding claim 23, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 22.
Mohammed teaches wherein the battery unit performance characteristics are communicated in real time with the master controller using the signal communication path (0034 0035).
Regarding claim 24, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 23.
Mohammed teaches wherein the master controller initiates the effecting, based on the battery unit performance and a software-defined system goal (0034 0035).
Claims 25-27 are rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 1-24 due to reciting similar limitations but directed towards a processor implemented method, a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium and a computer system for battery management.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed et al (US PUB. 20170070073, herein Mohammed) in view of Rodriguez et al (US PUB. 20200152950, herein Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
The cited prior art do not explicitly teach further comprising physically interlocking each battery unit of the plurality of battery units as part of the configuring.
Rodriguez teaches further comprising physically interlocking each battery unit of the plurality of battery units as part of the configuring (0008 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Mohammed with the teachings of Rodriguez since Rodriguez teaches a means for easily and simply installed safety system to prevent ambiguity in the state of the power circuit (0002).
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 12.
Rodriguez teaches wherein the physical interlock is performed electromechanically (0008 0075)..
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 13.
Rodriguez teaches wherein the electromechanical interlock is controlled by the master controller (0077).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 13.
Rodriguez teaches wherein the electromechanical interlock enables battery unit physical removal and/or replacement (0033 “the present disclosure is directed to a MSD that must be removed prior to being able to remove a battery system cover. For example, the MSD may be installed using a sequence of assembly, such that the cover, lid, or access panel physically cannot be removed without the removal of the MSD. In an illustrative example, the battery cover is bolted down, and includes a small pass-through hole for the MSD. The MSD has a flange around the perimeter that engages with the battery cover such that once inserted, overlaps the battery cover. The MSD is then bolted down, to something other than the cover, to seal the battery case. In this illustrative example, even if all the battery cover bolts were removed, the cover would not be removable without taking out the MSD”).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 13.
Rodriguez teaches wherein the electromechanical interlock prevents battery unit physical removal and/or replacement (0033 “the present disclosure is directed to a MSD that must be removed prior to being able to remove a battery system cover. For example, the MSD may be installed using a sequence of assembly, such that the cover, lid, or access panel physically cannot be removed without the removal of the MSD. In an illustrative example, the battery cover is bolted down, and includes a small pass-through hole for the MSD. The MSD has a flange around the perimeter that engages with the battery cover such that once inserted, overlaps the battery cover. The MSD is then bolted down, to something other than the cover, to seal the battery case. In this illustrative example, even if all the battery cover bolts were removed, the cover would not be removable without taking out the MSD”).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 13.
Rodriguez teaches wherein the electromechanical interlock enables and/or prevents adding a new battery unit (0033 “the present disclosure is directed to a MSD that must be removed prior to being able to remove a battery system cover. For example, the MSD may be installed using a sequence of assembly, such that the cover, lid, or access panel physically cannot be removed without the removal of the MSD. In an illustrative example, the battery cover is bolted down, and includes a small pass-through hole for the MSD. The MSD has a flange around the perimeter that engages with the battery cover such that once inserted, overlaps the battery cover. The MSD is then bolted down, to something other than the cover, to seal the battery case. In this illustrative example, even if all the battery cover bolts were removed, the cover would not be removable without taking out the MSD”).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed et al (US PUB. 20170070073, herein Mohammed) in view of Kamijima (US PUB. 20220101247, herein Kamijima)
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein a master controller replacement sequence is initiated by a manual action on a battery unit to be replaced.
Kamijima teaches wherein a master controller replacement sequence is initiated by a manual action on a battery unit to be replaced (0020 “the user 12 transmits a battery replacement request to the replacement request receiver 230 via the terminal device 11. The reception management server 231 that has received the replacement request via the replacement request receiver 230 inquires of the contract management server 240 whether or not the user 12 who has made the replacement request has registered for a replacement service”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Mohammed with the teachings of Kamijima teaches replacement method which requires less labor of a user (0005).
Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 18.
Kamijima teaches wherein the manual action comprises pressing a button integrated in the battery unit to be replaced (0020 “the user 12 transmits a battery replacement request to the replacement request receiver 230 via the terminal device 11. The reception management server 231 that has received the replacement request via the replacement request receiver 230 inquires of the contract management server 240 whether or not the user 12 who has made the replacement request has registered for a replacement service”).
Regarding claim 20, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 18.
Kamijima teaches wherein the manual action is communicated to the master controller using the signal communication path of the battery unit to be replaced (0020 “the user 12 transmits a battery replacement request to the replacement request receiver 230 via the terminal device 11. The reception management server 231 that has received the replacement request via the replacement request receiver 230 inquires of the contract management server 240 whether or not the user 12 who has made the replacement request has registered for a replacement service”).
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116