DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13,15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Donderici et al. (US20160168974), hereinafter referred to as ‘Donderici’ and in further view of Bittar et al.(US20130054145), hereinafter referred to as ‘Bittar’.
Regarding Claim 1, Donderici discloses a tool for monitoring an integrity of a well tubular comprising (Some wellbores include multiple concentric pipes or strings of casing secured within the wellbore with an innermost pipe that exhibits a relatively narrow diameter. As will be appreciated, the diameter of the innermost pipe limits the size of the monitoring and intervention system that can be deployed to monitor the integrity of all of the concentric pipes [0004]): at least one transmitter station comprising at least one transmitter coil configured to excite eddy currents in the well tubular (The electromagnetic sensors 118 may include one or more electromagnetic coil antennas that may be used as transmitters, receivers, or a combination of both (i.e., transceivers) for obtaining in situ measurements of the pipe(s) 108 and thereby determining the structural integrity or condition of each pipe 108 [0026]; The signals that are generated at the transmitters 806.sub.a-n are coupled electromagnetically to the features or characteristics of the wellbore pipes that are next to the transmitter antennas 802.sub.a-n and generate eddy currents, which generate secondary currents [0066]); at least one receiver station comprising at least one receiver coil configured to measure an electromagnetic field that is generated in part by the eddy currents and is sensitive to a thickness of the well tubular (The electromagnetic sensors 118 may include one or more electromagnetic coil antennas that may be used as transmitters, receivers, or a combination of both (i.e., transceivers) for obtaining in situ measurements of the pipe(s) 108 and thereby determining the structural integrity or condition of each pipe 108 [0026]; The signals that are generated at the transmitters 806.sub.a-n are coupled electromagnetically to the features or characteristics of the wellbore pipes that are next to the transmitter antennas 802.sub.a-n and generate eddy currents, which generate secondary currents [0066]); and one or more processors configured to generate tool measurements in a first dimension that is axial depth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular (The method 900 may be undertaken using any of the pipe inspection tools described herein within a wellbore having at least a first pipe and a second pipe (i.e., the first and second pipes 108a,b of FIGS. 2 and 6) positioned therein. According to the method 900, an excitation signal is transmitted from a transmitter antenna of an electromagnetic sensor, as at 902. A first response signal derived from the excitation signal is then received and measured by an azimuthal antenna array of the electromagnetic sensor at a first axial position and at a first azimuth, as at 904 [0072]), a second dimension that is azimuth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular (The method 900 may be undertaken using any of the pipe inspection tools described herein within a wellbore having at least a first pipe and a second pipe (i.e., the first and second pipes 108a,b of FIGS. 2 and 6) positioned therein. According to the method 900, an excitation signal is transmitted from a transmitter antenna of an electromagnetic sensor, as at 902. A first response signal derived from the excitation signal is then received and measured by an azimuthal antenna array of the electromagnetic sensor at a first axial position and at a first azimuth, as at 904 [0072]), and a third dimension that is radial depth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular based on the measured electromagnetic field (Embodiments of the present disclosure provide new and improved electromagnetic inspection methods for wellbore pipes, such as strings of casing or production pipes extended into a wellbore. The presently described methods rely on azimuthal arrays of elongated z-coil or separated x- and y-coil antennas. As compared to conventional coil antennas and conventional electromagnetic inspection methods, the coil antennas of the present disclosure and related methods can provide azimuthal sensing of wellbore pipes that lie radially beyond the first or innermost wellbore pipe, that is, the ability to sense second, third, and further wellbore pipes concentrically arranged about the first wellbore pipe [0021]); wherein: at least one of the transmitter coil and the receiver coil has a polarization axis orthogonal to an axis of the well tubular (Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of one or both of the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, magnetic fields (not shown) may be generated that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 200 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b. Because of their mutually orthogonal orientation, the magnetic fields generated by the x- and y-coils 208a,b and 210a,b may also be mutually orthogonal to each other [0036]); and one of the transmitter station and the receiver station (as discussed above).
However, Donderici does not explicitly disclose one of the transmitter station and the receiver station comprises only non- azimuthal sensors.
Nevertheless, Bittar discloses non- azimuthal sensors (Such apparatus and methods provide enhanced capabilities as compared to classical non-azimuthal resistivity measurements, used in the instances of high angle wells being drilled though a reservoir, that may be affected by nearby beds generally overlaying or underlying the reservoir [0038]; In reviewing the responses in FIG. 4B, it can be observed that the deep curve 403 is very affected by the overlaying formation, while the medium curve 402 is affected to a lesser degree and the shallow curve 401 is not affected at all. Though it may appear that the shallowest curve should be used to provide a formation resistivity, the shallowest curve 401 is likely to be affected by borehole effect and/or invasion. In contrast to non-azimuthal resistivity array sensors, azimuthal resistivity sensors [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donderici with the teachings of Bittar to obtain resistivity measurements significantly affected by formation boundaries and improve accuracy of azimuthal sensor data.
Regarding Claim 2, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the receiver station comprises a plurality of radially- oriented receiver coils arranged at different azimuthal directions to span a circumference defined with respect to the tool (The x-coils 208a,b may be oriented in a first direction 212, and the y-coils 210a,b may be oriented in a second direction 214, where the second direction 214 is orthogonal to the first direction 212. The first direction 212 may constitute the x-direction with respect to the central axis 207 and the second direction 214 may constitute the y-direction with respect to the central axis 207, which is 90° offset from the first direction 212 [0035]; In the illustrated embodiment, the first azimuthal antenna array 606a may operate as a transmitter antenna and the second azimuthal antenna array 606b may operate as a receiver antenna. Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of the first azimuthal antenna array 606a, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, the first azimuthal antenna array 606a may generate magnetic fields 608 that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 600 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b. The magnetic fields 608 may be subsequently received by the second azimuthal antenna array 606b acting as the receiver antenna [0052]; Fig. 5a-5f).
Regarding Claim 3, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the receiver station comprises a plurality of azimuthally oriented receiver coils arranged at different azimuthal directions to span a circumference defined with respect to the tool (In the illustrated embodiment, the first azimuthal antenna array 606a may operate as a transmitter antenna and the second azimuthal antenna array 606b may operate as a receiver antenna. Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of the first azimuthal antenna array 606a, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, the first azimuthal antenna array 606a may generate magnetic fields 608 that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 600 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b. The magnetic fields 608 may be subsequently received by the second azimuthal antenna array 606b acting as the receiver antenna [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the transmitter station comprises a plurality of radially oriented transmitter coils arranged at different azimuthal directions to span a circumference defined with respect to the tool and the transmitter coils are excited either independently or simultaneously (Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of one or both of the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, magnetic fields (not shown) may be generated that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 200 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b. Because of their mutually orthogonal orientation, the magnetic fields generated by the x- and y-coils 208a,b and 210a,b may also be mutually orthogonal to each other. In some embodiments, the first azimuthal antenna array 206a may operate as a transmitting antenna [0036]; As illustrated, the data acquisition and control systems 800a,b may each include at least one transmitter antenna 802.sub.a-802.sub.n [0059]; Figs. 5a-5f).
Regarding Claim 5, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the transmitter station comprises a plurality of azimuthally oriented transmitter coils arranged at different azimuthal directions to span a circumference defined with respect to the tool and the transmitter coils are excited either independently or simultaneously (A pipe inspection tool that includes a body having a central axis, and one or more azimuthal antenna arrays operatively coupled to the body, each azimuthal antenna array including a plurality of antenna coils arranged circumferentially about the central axis and comprising at least one of an azimuthal array of z-coils, an azimuthal array of separated x-coils, and an azimuthal array of separated y-coils, wherein the separated x-coils are oriented in a first direction with respect to the central axis, the separated y-coils are oriented in a second direction with respect to the central axis, and the z-coils are oriented in a third direction with respect to the central axis, and wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction, and the third direction is orthogonal to both the first and second directions [0089]; Figs. 5a-5f).
Regarding Claim 6, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the transmitter station comprises two axial coils and the two axial coils are either: excited with the same polarity to provide an equivalent axial transmitter; or excited with opposite polarity to provide an equivalent radial transmitter (Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of one or both of the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, magnetic fields (not shown) may be generated that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 200 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b [0036];More particularly, FIGS. 5A-5C depict azimuthal antenna arrays 504a-504c, respectively, that are mounted to the body 502 about the central axis 503, and FIGS. 5D-5F depict azimuthal antenna arrays 504d-504f that are mounted on deployable sensor pads 506 about the central axis 503 [0044]).
However, Donderici does not explicitly disclose excited with the same polarity to provide an equivalent axial transmitter; or excited with opposite polarity to provide an equivalent radial transmitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donderici with the teachings of Bittar to ensure the output of the transmitter connects directly to the input of the receiver and improve accuracy of azimuthal sensor data.
Regarding Claim 7, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the transmitter station comprises one axial coil mounted on a body of the tool (More particularly, FIGS. 5A-5C depict azimuthal antenna arrays 504a-504c, respectively, that are mounted to the body 502 about the central axis 503, and FIGS. 5D-5F depict azimuthal antenna arrays 504d-504f that are mounted on deployable sensor pads 506 about the central axis 503 [0044]).
Regarding Claim 8, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the transmitter station and the receiver station are disposed at different axial positions such that the tool measurements can be generated at multiple radial depths (In cases where the transmitter and receiver antennas are collocated, or where only a single antenna exists for both transmitting and receiving, as in the case of the transceiver antenna 700, the depth of investigation is proportional to the average distance between any combination of windings of transmitter and receiver that could be considered, which is effectively proportional to the length of the transceiver antenna 700 [0057]; When applied at different depths, the inversion algorithm may yield various pipe characteristics 1304, such as thickness, magnetic permeability, conductivity and diameter of the pipe as a function of depth and azimuth in the wellbore [0085]).
Regarding Claim 9, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Donderici discloses the well tubular is an innermost tubular of a plurality of tubulars and the tool measurements generated at multiple radial depths comprise a shallow depth of investigation sensitive to anomalies on the innermost tubular (The wireline system 100 may include a derrick 110 supported by the surface platform 102 and a wellhead installation 112 positioned at the top of the wellbore 104. A pipe inspection tool 114 may be suspended into the wellbore 104 on a cable 116. In some embodiments, the pipe inspection tool 114 may alternatively be suspended within a production pipe (not shown) positioned within the pipes 108 that line the wellbore 104 (i.e., casing);Fig. 1) and the tool measurements generated at multiple radial depths comprise a deeper depth of investigation in relation to the shallow depth of investigation that is sensitive to anomalies on an outer tubular of the plurality of tubulars with respect to the innermost tubular (The pipe inspection tool 114 may comprise an electromagnetic, non-destructive inspection tool. Its operation may be based on either the flux-leakage principle or the eddy-current principle, or a combination thereof, and may be insensitive to non-magnetic deposits and is operable irrespective of the nature of the fluid mixture flowing into/out of the wellbore 104. The pipe inspection tool 114 can be used for the detection of localized damage or defects in the pipes 108;Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses at least one of the transmitter station and the receiver station comprises extendable arms, spring-loaded pads, or packers coupled to a body of the tool to move one or more coils of either or both the transmitter station and the receiver station towards an inner wall of the tubular (FIGS. 5A-5F show axial end views of different configurations and embodiments of a pipe inspection tool 500, in accordance with the present disclosure. The pipe inspection tool 500 may be the same as or similar to the pipe inspection tool 200 of FIG. 2. For instance, the pipe inspection tool 500 may include a body 502 that has a central axis 503 (shown coming out of the page) and at least one azimuthal antenna array 504 operatively coupled to the body 502 about the central axis 503. More particularly, FIGS. 5A-5C depict azimuthal antenna arrays 504a-504c, respectively, that are mounted to the body 502 about the central axis 503, and FIGS. 5D-5F depict azimuthal antenna arrays 504d-504f that are mounted on deployable sensor pads 506 about the central axis 503. The deployable sensor pads 506 may be configured to move the azimuthal antenna arrays 504d-504f radially outward from the body 502 and toward the inner wall of an innermost pipe (i.e., the first pipe 108a of FIG. 2 [0044]).
Regarding Claim 10, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the transmitter station is disposed on the a mandrel of the tool (While not expressly shown in the enlarged views of FIG. 2, the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b may each include a bobbin or core about which the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b are wound. More particularly, the core may have a central hole that extends between axial ends of the core, and the windings of the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b may be wound about the periphery of the core and through the central hole in their respective azimuthal directions [0034]) and the receiver station is disposed on one of extendable arms, spring-loaded pads, or packers to move one or more coils of the receiver station towards an inner wall of the tubular (as discussed above).
Regarding Claim 12, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses the tool comprises a plurality of transmitter stations and corresponding first and second transmitters stations of the plurality of transmitter stations are disposed symmetrically on opposing sides of the receiver station (Figs. 5B-5C, 5E-5F).
Regarding Claim 13, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses transmitter and receiver coils are wound around cores made of high magnetic permeability material (…The core may be made of a magnetically permeable material and may help amplify or boost electromagnetic signals emitted by the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b [0034]).
Regarding Claim 15, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses at least one of the transmitter station and the receiver station further comprises at least one radially oriented coil placed within an electromagnetic shield and mounted on a rotating head (as discussed above).
However, Donderici does not explicitly disclose at least one of the transmitter station and the receiver station further comprises at least one radially oriented coil placed within an electromagnetic shield and mounted on a rotating head.
Nevertheless, Brandly discloses at least one of the transmitter station and the receiver station further comprises at least one radially oriented coil placed within an electromagnetic shield and mounted on a rotating head (A device which uses RFEC for inspection will include a unit housing an exciter means. The exciter means generates the requisite time-varying electromagnetic field, for example a sinusoidally varying field or pulsed field, for use in RFEC inspection. Suitable exciter means can be, for example, a permanent magnet disposed to be rotated or, preferably, an exciter coil, Col. 5, Lines 42-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donderici with the teachings of Brandly to remove a portion of the background field and improve accuracy of the prediction model.
Regarding Claim 16, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses at least one transmitter coil is excited with continuous-wave current with at least one frequency (Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of one or both of the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, magnetic fields (not shown) may be generated that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 200 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b [0036];The system control center 816 may also control the timing of the transmitters 806.sub.a-n. For instance, the system control center 816 may cause the transmitters 806.sub.a-n to operate such that a time-varying signal is generated at the transmitter antennas 802.sub.a-n. The time-varying signal may be sinusoidal with the phase and amplitude of it controlled to a desired value [0065]).
Regarding Claim 18, Donderici discloses A method for monitoring an integrity of a well tubular comprising (Some wellbores include multiple concentric pipes or strings of casing secured within the wellbore with an innermost pipe that exhibits a relatively narrow diameter. As will be appreciated, the diameter of the innermost pipe limits the size of the monitoring and intervention system that can be deployed to monitor the integrity of all of the concentric pipes [0004]): disposing a tool in proximity to the well tubular, the tool comprising: at least one transmitter station comprising at least one transmitter coil configured to excite eddy currents in the well tubular (The electromagnetic sensors 118 may include one or more electromagnetic coil antennas that may be used as transmitters, receivers, or a combination of both (i.e., transceivers) for obtaining in situ measurements of the pipe(s) 108 and thereby determining the structural integrity or condition of each pipe 108 [0026]; The signals that are generated at the transmitters 806.sub.a-n are coupled electromagnetically to the features or characteristics of the wellbore pipes that are next to the transmitter antennas 802.sub.a-n and generate eddy currents, which generate secondary currents [0066]); at least one receiver station comprising at least one receiver coil configured to measure an electromagnetic field that is generated in part by the eddy currents and is sensitive to a thickness of the well tubular (The electromagnetic sensors 118 may include one or more electromagnetic coil antennas that may be used as transmitters, receivers, or a combination of both (i.e., transceivers) for obtaining in situ measurements of the pipe(s) 108 and thereby determining the structural integrity or condition of each pipe 108 [0026]; The signals that are generated at the transmitters 806.sub.a-n are coupled electromagnetically to the features or characteristics of the wellbore pipes that are next to the transmitter antennas 802.sub.a-n and generate eddy currents, which generate secondary currents [0066]); and one or more processors configured to generate tool measurements in a first dimension that is axial depth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular, (The method 900 may be undertaken using any of the pipe inspection tools described herein within a wellbore having at least a first pipe and a second pipe (i.e., the first and second pipes 108a,b of FIGS. 2 and 6) positioned therein. According to the method 900, an excitation signal is transmitted from a transmitter antenna of an electromagnetic sensor, as at 902. A first response signal derived from the excitation signal is then received and measured by an azimuthal antenna array of the electromagnetic sensor at a first axial position and at a first azimuth, as at 904 [0072]), a second dimension that is azimuth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular (The method 900 may be undertaken using any of the pipe inspection tools described herein within a wellbore having at least a first pipe and a second pipe (i.e., the first and second pipes 108a,b of FIGS. 2 and 6) positioned therein. According to the method 900, an excitation signal is transmitted from a transmitter antenna of an electromagnetic sensor, as at 902. A first response signal derived from the excitation signal is then received and measured by an azimuthal antenna array of the electromagnetic sensor at a first axial position and at a first azimuth, as at 904 [0072]), and a third dimension that is radial depth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular based on the measured electromagnetic field (Embodiments of the present disclosure provide new and improved electromagnetic inspection methods for wellbore pipes, such as strings of casing or production pipes extended into a wellbore. The presently described methods rely on azimuthal arrays of elongated z-coil or separated x- and y-coil antennas. As compared to conventional coil antennas and conventional electromagnetic inspection methods, the coil antennas of the present disclosure and related methods can provide azimuthal sensing of wellbore pipes that lie radially beyond the first or innermost wellbore pipe, that is, the ability to sense second, third, and further wellbore pipes concentrically arranged about the first wellbore pipe [0021]); wherein: at least one of the transmitter coil and the receiver coil has a polarization axis orthogonal to an axis of the well tubular; recording voltages at the at least one receiver coil at different axial locations, azimuthal locations, and multiple depths of investigation of the well tubular based on the measured electromagnetic field that is generated by the eddy currents (Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of one or both of the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, magnetic fields (not shown) may be generated that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 200 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b. Because of their mutually orthogonal orientation, the magnetic fields generated by the x- and y-coils 208a,b and 210a,b may also be mutually orthogonal to each other [0036]); and one of the transmitter station and the receiver station (as discussed above); generating the tool measurements based on the voltages recorded at the at least one receiver coil (Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of one or both of the azimuthal antenna arrays 206a,b, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, magnetic fields (not shown) may be generated that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 200 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b [0036]); and displaying the measurements as 2-D images with the first dimension of the axial depth and the second dimension of the azimuth in relation to the tool disposed in the well tubular, and each 2-D image of the 2-D images has a different depth of investigation (Element 11: further comprising generating a two-dimensional (2D) image of the second pipe based on the azimuthal characteristic of the second pipe. Element 12: wherein a first dimension of the 2D image is derived from azimuth angle and a second dimension of the 2D image is derived from one of depth within the wellbore, frequency, and time [0093]).
However, Donderici does not explicitly disclose one of the transmitter station and the receiver station comprises only non- azimuthal sensors.
Nevertheless, Bittar discloses non- azimuthal sensors (Such apparatus and methods provide enhanced capabilities as compared to classical non-azimuthal resistivity measurements, used in the instances of high angle wells being drilled though a reservoir, that may be affected by nearby beds generally overlaying or underlying the reservoir [0038]; In reviewing the responses in FIG. 4B, it can be observed that the deep curve 403 is very affected by the overlaying formation, while the medium curve 402 is affected to a lesser degree and the shallow curve 401 is not affected at all. Though it may appear that the shallowest curve should be used to provide a formation resistivity, the shallowest curve 401 is likely to be affected by borehole effect and/or invasion. In contrast to non-azimuthal resistivity array sensors, azimuthal resistivity sensors [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donderici with the teachings of Bittar to obtain resistivity measurements significantly affected by formation boundaries and improve accuracy of azimuthal sensor data.
Regarding Claim 19, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 18.
Donderici discloses the receiver station comprises a first receiver coil and a second receiver coil disposed 180 degrees apart and differential voltage measurements between the first receiver coil and the second receiver coil are made based on excitation of the transmitter station with a known and controlled signal (The azimuthal antenna arrays 504a-f each depict at least three antenna coils 508 wrapped about corresponding cores (not labeled). More particularly, each antenna coil 508 is shown as either an x-coil (i.e., the x-coils 208a,b of FIGS. 2 and 3A) or a y-coil (i.e., the y-coils 210a,b of FIGS. 2 and 3A). No z-coils are shown in the azimuthal antenna arrays 504a-f of FIGS. 5A-5F [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 18.
Donderici disclose the receiver station comprises a first receiver coil and a second receiver coil adjacent to the first receiver coil and differential voltage measurements between the first receiver coil and the second receiver coil are made based on excitation of the transmitter station with a known and controlled signal (In the illustrated embodiment, the first azimuthal antenna array 606a may operate as a transmitter antenna and the second azimuthal antenna array 606b may operate as a receiver antenna. Upon exciting the x- and y-coils 208a,b, 210a,b of the first azimuthal antenna array 606a, such as through the influx of an alternating current or a voltage, the first azimuthal antenna array 606a may generate magnetic fields 608 that extend radially away from the pipe inspection tool 600 and penetrate at least one of the pipes 108a,b [0052]).
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donderici and Bittar, and further in view of Brandly et al. (US6087830) hereinafter referred to as ‘Brandly’.
Regarding Claim 14, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses at least one receiver coil (as discussed above).
However, Donderici does not explicitly disclose at least one receiver coil is coupled to an electromagnetic shield made of a material with an electrical conductivity or magnetic permeability to affect azimuthal focusing.
Nevertheless, Brandly discloses at least one receiver coil is coupled to an electromagnetic shield made of a material with an electrical conductivity or magnetic permeability to affect azimuthal focusing (FIG. 6 shows a sectional view through a detector unit 160 having another detector coil arrangement according to the present invention. The unit includes a plurality of spot coils 162 spaced apart adjacent outer circumferential wall 113a. While only two coils are shown in order to simplify the drawing, any number of coils can be used in a detect on unit. Each spot coil 162 has windings 163 around a U-shaped core 164. Such a detector coil arrangement increases the sensitivity of the device to field perturbations caused by defects over detectors not having coils with U-shaped cores. Each coil 162 has disposed thereabout a shielding cup 166 formed of metal which acts to remove a portion of the background field, Col. 16, Lines 35-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donderici and Bittar with the teachings of Brandly to remove a portion of the background field and improve accuracy of monitoring integrity of a well.
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donderici and Bittar, and further in view of Barolak et al. (US20060202700) hereinafter referred to as ‘Barolak’.
Regarding Claim 17, Donderici and Bittar disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Donderici discloses a navigation module comprising a tri-axial accelerometer or gyroscope to detect an azimuth of the tool with respect to a reference and the one or more processors configured to generate display data images indicative of a true azimuth determined based on the azimuth of the tool.
However, Donderici does not explicitly a navigation module comprising a tri-axial accelerometer or gyroscope to detect an azimuth of the tool with respect to a reference and the one or more processors configured to generate display data images indicative of a true azimuth determined based on the azimuth of the tool.
Nevertheless, Barolak discloses a navigation module comprising a tri-axial accelerometer or gyroscope (The electronics module also includes a battery pack 132, that may be a lithium battery, for non-powered memory applications, an orientation sensor package 133 to determine the tool/sensor circumferential orientation relative to gravity, a depth control card (DCC) 134 to provide a tool-based encoder interrupt to drive data acquisition. With the use of the depth control card, tool movement rather than wireline movement or time may control the acquisition protocol. A 3-axis accelerometer module 135 may also be provided [0052]; At the very minimum, an axial accelerometer is used: two additional components may also be provided on the accelerometer. The accelerometer data is then used derive tool velocity and position changes during logging [0056])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Donderici and Bittar with the teachings of Barolak to derive tool velocity and position changes during logging improve accuracy of monitoring integrity of a well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burkay Donderici (US20150276969) discloses a fracture sensing system and include positioning a transmitter and a receiver in a borehole and magnetizing a casing disposed within the borehole to magnetically saturate the casing.
Gong Wang (US20150276966) discloses the field of electromagnetic well logging for formation evaluation and characterization and to using multiaxial electromagnetic well logging measurements to resolve formation resistivity anisotropy and formation structures such as cross bedding.
Peter Wu (US20130335092) discloses a method for estimating fracture aperture from multi-axial electromagnetic induction measurements made in a wellbore includes determining a fracture indicator and a fracture orientation indicator.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863