DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended to narrow the claims.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/04/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. IDS statements of previous office actions have already been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa (JP 2018147578 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery ([0139] separator for a non-aqueous battery) functional layer comprising a first filler and a second filler, wherein the first filler having an average particle diameter of not more than 0.03 micrometers, and the second filler having an average particle diameter of not less than 2 micrometers ([0033] thermoplastic layer; thermoplastic layer comprises first inorganic particles having an average particle side of 200 nm or more and 2000 nm or less that reads as the second filler having a size of 2 micrometers and a second inorganic particle being 200 nm or less, reading as the first filler having a particle that can be less than 0.03 micrometers).
Wherein an average primary particle diameter of the filler for the first and second filler overlaps with that of the claimed invention and thus renders obvious the claim limitations of claim 1. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Nakazawa discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Nakazawa further discloses a battery separator comprising a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery functional layer recited in claim 1 (Abstract separator for power storage device, see rejection of claim 1), and
A polyolefin base material ([0016-0017] polyolefin base material),
The nonaqueous electrolyte secondary functional layer and the polyolefin base material being formed on top of each other ([0033] thermoplastic layer is formed on at least one surface of the porous substrate).
Regarding claim 3, Nakazawa discloses all the claim limitations of claim 2. Nakazawa further discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery member comprising:
A positive electrode ([0010] electrode body having a positive electrode);
A nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery laminated separator recited in claim 2 ([0010] see rejection of claim 2; electrode body having a separator); and
A negative electrode ([0010] electrode body having a negative electrode),
The positive electrode, the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery laminated separator, and the negative electrode being formed on top of each other in this order ([0010,0139]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Nakazawa discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1-3. Nakazawa discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising the claim limitations of claims 1-3 (Nakazawa nonaqueous secondary battery, see rejections of claims 1-3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection of record as Kobayashi teaches away from the filler material having a particle diameter greater than 1.5 micrometers. This argument is noted, however, the rejection has been updated rendering the arguments moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsukuda (JP 2010231957-as cited in the IDS)- discloses a separator integrated electrode and is analogous with the instant invention as having a separator having a first and second inorganic material having various sizes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728