DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0143185) and further in view of Hatta et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0285064).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte battery functional layer (i.e., separator) (paragraph [0039]) wherein:
the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery functional layer has an internal void volume of not less than 2.5 mL/m2 (see figure 2 where 2.5 mL/m2 is included) (paragraph [0110]-[0111]).
Nishikawa does not explicitly teach the nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery functional layer has a surface having an uneven space volume of not less than 0.5 mL/m2. However, since the layer is porous it is reasonably to interpret that the surface is uneven.
Hatta, also directed to a nonaqueous electrolyte battery functional layer (i.e., separator) (abstract), teaches a layer with a surface having an uneven space volume (i.e., concavo-convex shape) (see figure 2) (paragraph [0054], [0058]). Hatta teaches the layer having a porosity of 25-40% and a thickness of 7-20 µm (paragraphs [0050]-[0051]) which results for example, in a volume of 1.75 mL/m2 (e.g., 7µm x 0.25). Hatta teaches this configuration function satisfactorily as sites that permeate ions (paragraph [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nishikawa layer to have an uneven surface with a space volume of 1.75 mL/m2 as suggested by Hatta, in order to create areas for effective ion permeability.
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa teaches a battery with the separator having the functional layer and a polyolefin base material (paragraph [0039], [0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa teaches a battery having a positive electrode (paragraph [0100]), a negative electrode (paragraph [0101]), and a separator (as described above).
Regarding claims 4-6, Nishikawa teaches a nonaqueous secondary battery comprising the separator as described above in claims 1-3 (see paragraphs [0100]-[0104]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kajita et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0059192). Kajita teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte battery functional layer (i.e., separator) (abstract) with an uneven surface (see figure 2) (paragraph [0078]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723