DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l). The drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Figs. 1A-7B do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. The drawings appear to be multi-generation copies of computer or hand drawn figures. Some of the lines appear digitized and distorted and not all solid. Further, some of the smaller/finer elements are not clear due to the darkness or lightness of the elements.
Further, regarding Figs. 2, 3, and 7B, it is not clear what the horizontal dashed lines signify. It appears that “M” designates a mat and “C” designates the carper. In Figs. 2 and 3, there appears to be a space between the carpet and the mat. In Fig. 7B, the middle space is designated with a “C” indicating carpet. Does that mean that Figs. 2, 3, and 7B illustrate 2 layers of carpet.
Further, regarding Fig. 4A, it appears that element 300 passes through the mat hole “H”.
Further, regarding Fig. 5, it is not clear why two element 300’s are shown and it is not clear what the dashed circle on the bottom illustration represents. It appear that elements 200 and 300 mate with the mat substantially between the two elements (except for protrusions 310 which reside in hole “H” when mated.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4E do not appear to have proper sectional views. It is noted that the cross sections may be cross hatched but such is not clear from the drawings (see above). The plane upon which a sectional view is taken should be indicated on the view from which the section is cut by a broken line. The ends of the broken line should be designated by Arabic or Roman numerals corresponding to the view number of the sectional view, and should have arrows to indicate the direction of sight. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. Hatching should not impede the clear reading of the reference characters and lead lines. If it is not possible to place reference characters outside the hatched area, the hatching may be broken off wherever reference characters are inserted. Hatching must be at a substantial angle to the surrounding axes or principal lines, preferably 45°. A cross section must be set out and drawn to show all of the materials as they are shown in the view from which the cross section was taken. The parts in cross section must show proper material(s) by hatching with regularly spaced parallel oblique strokes, the space between strokes being chosen on the basis of the total area to be hatched. The various parts of a cross section of the same item should be hatched in the same manner and should accurately and graphically indicate the nature of the material(s) that is illustrated in cross section. The hatching of juxtaposed different elements must be angled in a different way. In the case of large areas, hatching may be confined to an edging drawn around the entire inside of the outline of the area to be hatched. Different types of hatching should have different conventional meanings as regards the nature of a material seen in cross section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 8 recites “a soft portion (121)” . This recitation is indefinite as it is not clear or understood as to what portion of element 121 is “soft” or what is meant by the term “soft’ as applied to the instant claim. It appears that the recited “soft portion (121) is the same as the joint illustrated in Fig. 2. As Fig. 2 is described as prior art, it appears that “soft portion (121)” is well known in the art and therefore not novel.
Claim Objections
Claim1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
lines 4-5 recite “a carpet clip (100) mounted on a floor carpet (C), and mounted on the floor carpet for a vehicle”. This recitation is cumbersome and could cause confusion as to where the clip (100) is mounted. It is suggested that the recitation be amended so as to not be repetitive and confusing (a suggestion would be “a carpet clip (100) mounted on a floor carpet (C) for a vehicle”); and
line 6 recites “to finish the mounting hole (H)”. this recitation is cumbersome as it is not clear what meaning is trying to be conveyed. It seems like the term “finish” should be “cover” (or a similar term).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausprung (EP 1980444) in view of Fiedler (US 20120291227).
Regarding claim 1 Ausprung discloses a vehicle floor mat fixture comprising an upper member 9 and a lower member 8, which are installed in a mounting hole 11 formed in a floor mat 7 (Fig. 1; [0009] of the translation). Ausprung discloses that the floor mat is hooked and mounted on a hooking protrusion 3, 5 formed to protrude from one surface of a carpet clip 16 mounted on a floor carpet 17 for a vehicle (Fig. 1; [0009], [0012] of the translation). Ausprung discloses that the upper member 9 is formed wider than the mounting hole 11 to finish the mounting hole (Fig. 1). Ausprung discloses a column 12 which passes through and is fitted into the mounting hole and is formed in a center of the upper member 9 to surround the hooking protrusion 3, 5 (Fig. 1; [0009] of the translation). Ausprung discloses an elastic step ( 13 - bottom part of 12) is formed to protrude from an outer edge of the column 12 (Fig. 1; [0009] of the translation). Ausprung discloses the lower member 8 is formed wider than the mounting hole 11 so that the hooking protrusion is formed to pass through the lower member (Fig. 1; [0009], [0012] of the translation). Ausprung discloses a hooking step 10 is formed in a center of the lower member to be partially fitted into the mounting hole to a partial thickness of the mounting hole (Fig. 1; [0009], [0012] of the translation). Ausprung discloses the elastic step is hooked on the hooking step while the column is forcibly fitted to the hooking step (Fig. 1; [0009], [0012-[0014] of the translation).
Ausprung is silent regarding magnets and does not explicitly disclose that a second permanent magnet is installed inside the column to face a first permanent magnet mounted on the hooking protrusion. Fiedler discloses that a second permanent magnet 11a is installed inside the column to face a first permanent magnet 10a mounted on the hooking protrusion (Fig. 1B; [0076]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the system of Ausprung so that a second permanent magnet is installed inside the column to face a first permanent magnet mounted on the hooking protrusion as taught by Fiedler. As Ausprung and Fiedler are both directed to attaching a vehicle floor mat to vehicle carpet, as the fastening of vehicle mats to vehicle carpets is very well known in the art, as Ausprung is silent regarding magnets but does not preclude such use, and as Fiedler explicitly discloses the use of magnets, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific attachment configuration from a finite selection of attachment configurations (i.e. with magnets or without magnets). Such a selection and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2: Ausprung, as modified by Fiedler, discloses that the carpet clip (Ausprung – 16) includes a base having a predetermined area, that the hooking protrusion Ausprung – 3, 5) formed to protrude from one surface of the base and having a protruding end portion on which the first permanent magnet (Fiedler - 10a, 11a ) is mounted (Ausprung – Fig. 1; [0012]-[0013] of the translation; Fielder - Fig. 1B; [0076]). Ausprung, as modified by Fiedler, discloses a pressing member integrally formed with the base on the other surface of the base to be rotated around a soft portion (Ausprung – 18), passing through and fitted to the floor carpet and having an end portion which protrudes outward and on which an elastic protrusion is integrally formed (Ausprung – Fig. 1; [0012]-[0014] of the translation). Ausprung, as modified by Fiedler, discloses a stopper which is formed on a surface facing the elastic protrusion and to which the elastic protrusion is forcibly fitted to perform a hooking operation (Ausprung – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3: Ausprung, as modified by Fiedler, discloses that a pressing protrusion 26 is formed to protrude from a surface of the carpet clip in contact with the floor carpet (Ausprung – Fig. 1; [0014]-[0018] of the translation).
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
12/17/2025