DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species I (claims 1, 3, and 5-11) in the reply filed on 4/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 2, 4, and 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/24/26. Also, claim 10 is further withdrawn as the claim is directed to Species IV (i.e. hollow holding pin accommodating a terminal element); however, the applicant is reminded that any claim dependent on an allowed claim is subject to rejoinder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bayerer US 2014/0035118 A1. Bayerer discloses (see, for example, FIG. 3) a power semiconductor module arrangement comprising a housing 7/10, substrate 2, holding pins 4, first end 42, holding elements 71, and sleeve 72. The holding pins 4 extends from the substrate 2 in a vertical direction perpendicular to a top surface of the substrate 2 towards a different one of the one of more holding elements 71 such that the free end 42 of each of the one or more holding pins 4 is arranged inside the respective holding element 71. In paragraph [0044], Bayerer discloses the holding pin 4 being connected by the free end 42 by a press-fit contact (i.e. force-fitting).
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Bayerer discloses two holding
elements 71 arranged on opposing sides of the housing 7/10.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Bayerer discloses additional holding elements 83 as well as holding elements 71, which are more than the holding pins 4.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Bayerer discloses the holding elements 71 having a sleeve 72, which are contact holes that receive the free end 42 of one of the holding pins 4.
Regarding claim 11, see, for example, paragraph [0043] wherein Bayerer discloses sheet metal (i.e. connection layer) on the upper metallization layer 21 and/or the semiconductor component 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 thru 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least a power semiconductor module arrangement comprising: further comprising a plurality of ribs extending from inner diameter of the sleeve towards a center of an opening defined by the sleeve, the ribs defining a reduced diameter in defined sections of the sleeve, wherein the reduced diameter is smaller than the inner diameter.
Regarding claim 8, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of record, either singularly or in combination, do not teach or suggest at least a power semiconductor module arrangement comprising: wherein at least one of the one or more holding pins comprises a collar arranged at the free end of the respective holding pin, an outer diameter of the holding pin is smaller than a smallest diameter of the holding element, and the collar is bent in a direction towards the substrate and smoothly adapts to an inner contour of the holding element.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
May 5, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815