Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20170346202 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Goto teaches an electrical connection structure, comprising: a substrate comprising a through hole (Figs 4-6; 10/34/36; Goto [0028] states “press fit terminals 10 (i.e., the terminal)… are inserted through through-holes 36 of a printed circuit board 34”) and at least one electrical contact provided at a wall of the through hole (Fig 6; Goto [0028] states “conductors arranged at inner surfaces of the through-holes 36” i.e., the wall); and a terminal comprising two elastic arms spaced from each other (Fig 3; 24/22; Goto [0026] states “a pair of elastic pressure contact pieces 24… which are separated… by the through-opening 22” and “base ends 28… are separated from each other… via the through-opening 22” i.e., the elastic arms), and a connection portion connected with the two elastic arms (Fig 3; 28/26; Goto [0026] states “base ends 28, which become connecting portions to a center portion 26”); the two elastic arms being abutted against the wall of the through hole (Fig 6; pressure contact parts 16/ through-holes 36; Goto [0028] states “pressed into contact with the insides of the through-holes 36”) and electrically connected with the at least one electrical contact (Fig 6; Goto [0028] states “electrically conductive with… conductors arranged at inner surfaces of the through-holes 36 via the pressure contact parts 16”).
Regarding Claim 6 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the terminal further comprises two second arc guiding portions; each of the second arc guiding portions is provided at a terminal end of one of two elastic arms (Figs 4-6; tip ends 30 of elastic contact pieces 24; Goto [0028] states “The tip ends 30 of the pairs of elastic pressure contact pieces 24, 24 have a tapered shape”); the two second arc guiding portions are configured to facilitate insertions of the two elastic arms into the through hole (Figs 4-6; Goto [0028] states “the tip ends 30 become guides, and an operation of inserting the press fit terminals 10 through the through-holes 36 can be stably and efficiently performed”).
Regarding Claim 8 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the terminal is formed of a sheet piece (Figs 1-3; 12; Goto [0026] states “The terminal metal fitting 12 has a flat plate shape and is formed such that a metal plate is press-punched”).
Regarding Claim 9 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the two elastic arms are compressed to deform in a way that at least one of the two elastic arms is elastically pressed against the at least one electrical contact (Figs 5-6; 24/16/36; Goto [0028] states “the center portions of the pairs of elastic pressure contact pieces 24… are elastically deformed inward” and “the pressure contact parts 16… are pressed into contact with the insides of the through-holes 36 due to elastic recovery force” and further states “electrically conductive with… conductors arranged at inner surfaces of the through-holes 36 via the pressure contact parts 16”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20170346202 A1) in view of Olsson (US 3681744 A)
Regarding Claim 2 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the connection portion of the terminal has an arched shape; the two elastic arms of the terminal extend parallel to each other from two ends of the connection portion.
Olsson teaches the connection portion of the terminal has an arched shape; the two elastic arms of the terminal extend parallel to each other from two ends of the connection portion (Fig 2; bight portion 30, legs 32 and 34; Olsson states “generally U-shaped member having a bight portion and a pair of legs extending away from the bight portion in generally the same direction”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto with the connection portion of the terminal has an arched shape; the two elastic arms of the terminal extend parallel to each other from two ends of the connection portion as taught by Olsson because Olsson teaches that its spring geometry provides resilient deflection for reliable connection, Olsson states “contact portions being bowed away… whereby upon insertion of a lead… the lead engages the contact portions to force them apart and form an electrical connection” (Fig 2; 30/32/34).
Claims 3, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20170346202 A1) in view of Chen (US 7377823 B2)
Regarding Claim 3 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the terminal further comprises two first arc guiding portions; each of the first arc guiding portions is provided at an outer edge of one of two conjunctions where the connection portion is connected with the two elastic arms; the two first arc guiding portions are configured to facilitate insertions of the two elastic arms into the through hole.
Chen teaches the terminal further comprises two first arc guiding portions; each of the first arc guiding portions is provided at an outer edge of one of two conjunctions where the connection portion is connected with the two elastic arms (Figs 2-3; outer edge portions/corners 23 on arm portions 22; Chen states “outer edge portions or corners 23… The outer edge portions 23 may be chamfered or rounded”); the two first arc guiding portions are configured to facilitate insertions of the two elastic arms into the through hole (Chen states “configured in a tapered shape in order to reduce excessive interference with the through-hole 3 at an early stage of the insertion process”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto with the terminal further comprises two first arc guiding portions; each of the first arc guiding portions is provided at an outer edge of one of two conjunctions where the connection portion is connected with the two elastic arms; the two first arc guiding portions are configured to facilitate insertions of the two elastic arms into the through hole as taught by Chen because Chen expressly teaches shaping features to “reduce excessive interference… at an early stage of the insertion process” and similarly Goto values guiding features for insertion (Goto [0028] quoted above).
Regarding Claim 7 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (Fig 4; 34/38; Goto [0029] states “contact a surface 38 of the printed circuit board 34”); the terminal further comprises two stop portions (Fig 3; 32; Goto [0026] states “abutment protruding parts 32”); each of the two stop portions extends outwardly from one of the two elastic arms (Fig 3; 32; Goto [0026] states “abutment protruding parts 32… formed by the outer circumferential surfaces facing outwardly and protruding”); the two stop portions are stopped at the second side (Fig 4; 32/38; Goto [0029] states “the amount by which the press fit terminals 10 are inserted… is defined by having the abutment protruding parts 32 contact the surface 38”).
Goto does not explicitly disclose the two elastic arms are inserted through the through hole from the first side toward the second side.
Chen teaches the two elastic arms are inserted through the through hole from the first side toward the second side (Fig 1; 12/3; Chen states “prevents the press-fit pin 1 from passing through the through-hole 3… engaging with the opening 3b”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto with the two elastic arms are inserted through the through hole from the first side toward the second side as taught by Chen because Chen expressly teaches a stop arrangement that “prevents the press-fit pin 1 from passing through the through-hole” and similarly Goto [0029] teaches the controlling insertion depth by having stop features contact the substrate surface.
Regarding Claim 10 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising a terminal mount to which the terminal is mounted.
Chen teaches a terminal mount to which the terminal is mounted (Fig 1; Chen states “The contact portion forms a terminal of a male connector to be mounted on the printed circuit board by inserting into a housing of the male connector” Chen further states “by being inserted along with the shoulder portion 12 into a housing of the male connector that will be mounted on the printed circuit board 2”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto with a terminal mount to which the terminal is mounted as taught by Chen because Chen expressly describes the terminal as part of a male connector by inserting the terminal “into a housing of the male connector”, thereby providing a mount structure for supporting the terminal.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20170346202 A1) in view of Takase et al. (US 6280230 B1)
Regarding Claim 4 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the terminal further comprises two suspension arms and two contact ends; each of the two suspension arms extends from an end of one of the two elastic arms; each of the two contact ends is provided at a terminal end of one of the two suspension arms (Goto [0026] states “a pair of elastic pressure contact pieces 24, 24… separated… by the through-opening 22” and “respective base ends 28… become connecting portions to a center portion 26”).
Takase teaches two suspension arms and two contact ends; each of the two suspension arms extends from an end of one of the two elastic arms; each of the two contact ends is provided at a terminal end of one of the two suspension arms (Fig 1; 2/21/22/24; Takase states “the terminal having two contact portions extending generally parallel with each other” and further states “the second contact portion of the terminal includes a suspension portion… and a contact beam… This contact beam terminates in a contact end”; Takase states “the second contact beam 2 has a leg or suspension portion 21” and “A curved entry surface 24 may be provided at the free end, or tip, 22”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto with the terminal further comprises two suspension arms and two contact ends; each of the two suspension arms extends from an end of one of the two elastic arms; each of the two contact ends is provided at a terminal end of one of the two suspension arms as taught by Takase because Takase expressly teaches terminal end shaping “to facilitate mating” and also teaches the terminal end surface “serves as a guide surface for assisting the insertion”.
Regarding Claim 5 – Goto teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the terminal further comprises two suspension arms extending from the connection portion, and two contact ends; each of the two contact ends is provided at a terminal end of one of the two suspension arms.
Takase teaches two suspension arms extending from the connection portion, and two contact ends; each of the two contact ends is provided at a terminal end of one of the two suspension arms (Fig 1; 2/21/22/24; Takase states “the terminal having two contact portions extending generally parallel with each other” and further states “the second contact portion of the terminal includes a suspension portion… and a contact beam… This contact beam terminates in a contact end”; Takase states “leg or suspension portion 21” and “curved entry surface 24 may be provided at the free end, or tip, 22”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto with the terminal further comprises two suspension arms extending from the connection portion, and two contact ends; each of the two contact ends is provided at a terminal end of one of the two suspension arms as taught by Takase because Takase expressly teaches terminal end shaping “to facilitate mating” and also teaches the terminal end surface “serves as a guide surface for assisting the insertion”.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20170346202 A1) in view of Chen (US 7377823 B2) and in further view of Po-Jung (US 8545273 B1)
Regarding Claim 11 – Goto in view of Chen teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 10, but fails to disclose further comprising a retaining mount connected with the terminal mount in a way that the substrate is sandwiched between the retaining mount and the terminal mount.
Po-Jung teaches a retaining mount connected with the terminal mount in a way that the substrate is sandwiched between the retaining mount and the terminal mount (Figs 1-4; Po-Jung states “holder member 1 comprises a holder base 11… and a partition block 13” and “signal module 2 comprises a… circuit board 21”; Po-Jung further states “circuit board horizontally supported on said holder base” and “a partition block… attached to a bottom side of said circuit board”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto in view of Chen with a retaining mount connected with the terminal mount in a way that the substrate is sandwiched between the retaining mount and the terminal mount as taught by Po-Jung to secure/retain the board relative to the holder member because Po-Jung states “a partition block… attached to a bottom side of said circuit board” and “Thus, the signal module 2 is positively positioned”.
Regarding Claim 12 – Goto in view of Chen and in further view of Po-Jung teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 11, wherein the terminal mount comprises a plurality of elastic hook arms anchored with the retaining mount (Figs 1-4; Po-Jung states “The holder base 11” having “two inside retaining flanges 111” and “The partition block 13” having “two coupling flanges 132” and further states “the coupling flanges 132 be respectively forced into engagement with the inside retaining flanges 111”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (US 20170346202 A1) in view of Chen (US 7377823 B2) and Po-Jung (US 8545273 B1) and in further view of Amann et al. (US 8938179 B2)
Regarding Claim 13 – Goto in view of Chen and Po-Jung teaches the electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 11, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the retaining mount is installed on a toner cartridge.
Amann teaches the retaining mount is installed on a toner cartridge (Figs 3-9, 8; Amann states “mounted on… toner cartridge 35 is a retainer 82”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the electrical connection structure of Goto in view of Chen and Po-Jung with the retaining mount is installed on a toner cartridge as taught by Amann because Amann expressly teaches the retainer being mounted on toner cartridge 35.
Conclusion
/ADITYA SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847