DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more terminals being configured to bias to a shunted position” / “the one or more terminals being held open during normal operation and biased to a shunted position” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “one or more terminals being configured to bias to a shunted position, in response to the battery being fully discharged or the power failure”, claim 10 recites “the one or more terminals being configured to bias to a shunted position, in response to the battery being fully discharged or a power failure” and claim 17 recites “the one or more terminals being held open during normal operation and biased to a shunted position, in response to the battery being fully discharged or a power failure”; these recitations are indefinite because the definition of a “shunted position” is that when a motor’s shunt field windings are connected in parallel with the armature windings, allowing them to share the same voltage source and maintain constant speed under varying loads, Therefore, since it is an arrangement of wiring i.e., a permanent configuration, it is not clear how it can be attained in “response to the battery being fully discharged or a power failure”. Claims 7-8 and 10-20 are currently only rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph pending clarification by applicant.
Dependent claims are rejected at least for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahern, US (2017/0081162) in view of Kuribayashi, US (2006/0138979).
In regards to claim 1 Ahern discloses:
A fully-electric lift vehicle (100; fig. 1; being fully electric per excerpt of paragraph [0021] “The battery compartment includes a power source configured to supply a total electrical requirement of the scissors lift vehicle”) comprising:
a base (116, 102, 132; fig. 1);
a battery (680; fig. 6B) arranged within the base (as described in highlighted excerpt of paragraph [0021] below);
a drive motor (674 and 676; fig. 6B) powered by the battery and configured to drive a wheel (as shown in fig. 6B and described in paragraph [0059] below);
a scissor lift (scissors assembly 112) including a first end (bottom end) coupled to the base (as shown in fig. 1), the scissor lift being movable between an extended position and a retracted position (per normal operation of the plurality of scissors linkages 118; fig. 1);
a work platform (113) supported on a second end of the scissor lift (top end of the scissors assembly); and
a linear actuator (300; fig. 3) including a motor (310) powered by the battery (the battery described in paragraph [0021] as “configured to supply a total electrical requirement of the scissors lift vehicle”),
wherein the linear actuator (300) is coupled to the scissor lift (112) so that rotation of the motor moves the scissor lift between the extended position and the retracted position (motor 310 attached to the lift control as shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 1 Ahern does not disclose the motor of the linear actuator being a DC shunt motor includes a rotor and a permanent magnet.
Kuribayashi teaches a DC shunt motor (motor in fig. 1, 10) includes a rotor and a permanent magnet (as taught in claim 8; see excerpt below), the DC shunt motor being configured to act like a generator and reduce a speed of the rotor (as described at least for startup speed being low; excerpt paragraph [0054] below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the DC shunt motor taught by Kuribayashi for the linear actuator of Ahern for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to improve the efficiency of the motor as motivated by Kuribayashi in paragraph [0013]; see highlighted excerpt below.
Ahern and Kuribayashi do not explicitly teach that the reduction in speed is in response to the battery being fully discharged or a power failure.
Examiner takes Official Notice that ATS (Automatic Transfer Switch) and AGS (Automatic Generator Start) modules are old and well known in the art to switch the motor into a generator mode upon detection of the power dropping below a certain threshold level. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an ATS or an AGS module onto the motor of Ahern as modified by Kuribayashi for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to ensures continuous power supply in case of sudden loss of power.
In regards to claim 9 Ahern discloses the linear actuator is arranged between the base and the work platform (inherent in order to operate the scissors lift also as evidenced in fig. 1 where fluid cylinder assembly 300 is not and cannot be placed above the platform or underneath the base; fig. 1).
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahern and Kuribayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KAI, WO (2013035506).
In regards to claims 2 and 3 Ahern and Kuribayashi do not teach an electromagnetic brake including a friction disk, an armature and a wire coil.
KAI teaches an electromagnetic brake (15) includes a friction disk (18), an armature (17), and a wire coil (20) configured to selectively receive electrical power from the battery (intended use) and, in response, generate a force on the armature to bias the armature out of engagement with the friction disk (as described in English translation text highlighted below) (as described in English translation text highlighted below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the electromagnetic brake including a friction disk, an armature and a wire coil taught by KAI onto the motor of Ahern as modified by Kuribayashi to provide for a secure, controlled and electrically operated braking system via the electromagnet which delivers an automated braking system in case power is lost as described and motivated by KAI in excerpt above and to provide a system that provide protection from the possibility of dropping due to the weight of the load increases as described in excerpt below. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look at other linear actuators for safety and braking protocols.
In regards to claim 5 KAI teaches the armature (17) is configured to be biased (via spring 19) into engagement with the friction disk, in the event of the power failure, to prevent rotation of the rotor and, thereby, prevent the scissor lift from moving between the extended position and the retracted position (as described in English translation text highlighted below).
In regards to claim 6 KAI teaches one or more springs (spring 19) configured to bias the armature (17) into engagement with the friction disk when the wire coil is de- energized.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note that in light of the indefiniteness issues associated with claims 7-8 and 10-20, those claims cannot be indicated allowable pending clarification by applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to PTO-892 form for list of cited references.
/S.M.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634