DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on August 7, 2026 was received. The specification was amended. Claim 1 was amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2011/0146575) on claims 1-11 are maintained. The rejections are restated below.
Regarding claim 1: Choi et al. discloses an evaporation apparatus for manufacturing a display device including an evaporation source (130) which has nozzles (134) that spray the deposition material, a crucible (132) having a plurality of frame walls such that it includes a first frame defining a trench therein arranged in a lengthwise direction along the crucible (132) walls (see figure 2A), and where each nozzle, which can be considered to be arranged within the trench, includes a plurality of angle limiting walls which extend from the base of the nozzle section (134) up above the nozzle opening to an inclined section which is a diagonal slit provided in the angle limiting wall, such that nozzle walls can be considered an angle limiting plate, as it is meant to limit the angle of deposition spray (pars. 43-44, 52-54, figures 2-3). The angle limiting walls can be considered separate and therefore spaced apart from the actual nozzle openings, and clearly surrounding the nozzle openings themselves (see annotated figure 3 below).
Regarding claim 2: Choi et al. shows that the trench defined by the crucible walls (132) extends through a thickness of the crucible (132) such that it can be considered to pass through the wall in its thickness direction (see figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3: Choi et al. shows that the nozzle (134a) walls have a smaller thickness (t) at the top end, such that the walls of the crucible (132) are thicker than the smaller thickness at the top of the slit region of the nozzle (134a) walls (figures 2-3).
Regarding claims 4-6: Choi et al. discloses that the nozzle (134a) wall which forms the angle limiting plate has diagonal slits in each wall section, totaling four slits, and where the slits extend from what can be considered a central or side portion towards a side or central portion, each of the slits can be considered to be on a different surface of the nozzle (134a) wall and each slit approaches its neighboring surface of the nozzle (134a) wall (par. 54, 58-59, figure 3).
Regarding claim 7: Choi et al. discloses that the slits are all inclined diagonally with respect to a thickness of the nozzle (134a) wall, such that they pass through it in a diagonal direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8: Choi et al. discloses that the crucible (132) has two opposing sidewalls, each of which can be considered a first frame and a second frame, each defining the elongated trench between them, and where multiple nozzles (134a) are provided in the device (130) such that one of the other nozzles can be the second angle limiting plate arranged in the trench of the second wall of the crucible (132), which has the same inclined slit design as the other nozzle (134a) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 9: Choi et al. shows that the nozzle (134a) walls are linear shaped in a certain direction (i.e. see figure 3), and that the evaporation source (130) is provided in plurality, delineated by partitions (133) and the nozzles (134a) corresponding to each partition (133) which are arranged in the lengthwise direction of the crucible (132) walls and the evaporation nozzle (134a) openings all arranged between the first and second angle limiting plates (nozzle walls) (par. 48-53, figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 10: Choi et al. discloses the crucible (132) as discussed above, arranged below the nozzles (134), heaters (135) adjacent to the crucible (132), and a nozzle section (134) which is a cover arranged on the crucible (132) and defining an opening overlapping the nozzles (134a) (pars. 48-50, figure 2).
Regarding claim 11: Choi et al. discloses that the nozzle section (134) which is the cover is spaced apart from the nozzle openings (134a) (see figures 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Han et al. (US 2020/0035920).
Regarding claim 1: Choi et al. discloses an evaporation apparatus for manufacturing a display device including an evaporation source (130) which has nozzles (134) that spray the deposition material, a crucible (132) having a plurality of frame walls such that it includes a first frame defining a trench therein arranged in a lengthwise direction along the crucible (132) walls (see figure 2A), and where each nozzle, which can be considered to be arranged within the trench, includes a plurality of angle limiting walls which extend from the base of the nozzle section (134) up above the nozzle opening to an inclined section which is a diagonal slit provided in the angle limiting wall, such that nozzle walls can be considered an angle limiting plate, as it is meant to limit the angle of deposition spray (pars. 43-44, 52-54, figures 2-3). Choi et al. describes the walls as being part of the nozzles (134a), and when they are considered as being part of the nozzle Choi et al. fails to teach that they are spaced apart from the nozzle.
However, Han et al. discloses a similar display manufacturing apparatus (100) in which the nozzle units (140, 240, 340, 440, 540, 640, 730, 830, 930) are provided with similar angle restriction units (161, 261, 361, 461, 561, 661, 761, 861, 961) which are angle limiting plates, all spaced apart from their respective nozzles (141a, 141b, etc.) of the nozzle units (e.g. pars. 104-110, figures 2-15). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space apart the angle restriction units from the nozzles like those of Han et al. instead of being part of the nozzle walls like in Choi et al. because Han et al. shows this to be a functionally equivalent mechanism for restricting nozzle spray angles for a device like this (see figures 2-15), and simple substitution of functional equivalents is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143, 2144.06) and using a known element to improve a known device is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2143), and simple rearrangement of parts is not considered to be a patentable advance (MPEP 2144.04). In the above combination the shape of the walls, i.e. the diagonal slits, would not be changed, just the location of the walls relative to the nozzle openings.
Regarding claim 2: Choi et al. shows that the trench defined by the crucible walls (132) extends through a thickness of the crucible (132) such that it can be considered to pass through the wall in its thickness direction (see figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3: Choi et al. shows that the nozzle (134a) walls have a smaller thickness (t) at the top end, such that the walls of the crucible (132) are thicker than the smaller thickness at the top of the slit region of the nozzle (134a) walls (figures 2-3).
Regarding claims 4-6: Choi et al. discloses that the nozzle (134a) wall which forms the angle limiting plate has diagonal slits in each wall section, totaling four slits, and where the slits extend from what can be considered a central or side portion towards a side or central portion, each of the slits can be considered to be on a different surface of the nozzle (134a) wall and each slit approaches its neighboring surface of the nozzle (134a) wall (par. 54, 58-59, figure 3).
Regarding claim 7: Choi et al. discloses that the slits are all inclined diagonally with respect to a thickness of the nozzle (134a) wall, such that they pass through it in a diagonal direction (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8: Choi et al. discloses that the crucible (132) has two opposing sidewalls, each of which can be considered a first frame and a second frame, each defining the elongated trench between them, and where multiple nozzles (134a) are provided in the device (130) such that one of the other nozzles can be the second angle limiting plate arranged in the trench of the second wall of the crucible (132), which has the same inclined slit design as the other nozzle (134a) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 9: Choi et al. shows that the nozzle (134a) walls are linear shaped in a certain direction (i.e. see figure 3), and that the evaporation source (130) is provided in plurality, delineated by partitions (133) and the nozzles (134a) corresponding to each partition (133) which are arranged in the lengthwise direction of the crucible (132) walls and the evaporation nozzle (134a) openings all arranged between the first and second angle limiting plates (nozzle walls) (par. 48-53, figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 10: Choi et al. discloses the crucible (132) as discussed above, arranged below the nozzles (134), heaters (135) adjacent to the crucible (132), and a nozzle section (134) which is a cover arranged on the crucible (132) and defining an opening overlapping the nozzles (134a) (pars. 48-50, figure 2).
Regarding claim 11: Choi et al. discloses that the nozzle section (134) which is the cover is spaced apart from the nozzle openings (134a) (see figures 2-3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues that Choi et al. does not teach the angle limiting plate being spaced apart from the nozzles, or being within the trench.
In response:
Applicant is reading the claims far too narrowly. Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the phrase “spaced apart” is extremely broad, and the claimed “nozzle” can simply be understood as the opening at the bottom of where the walls begin, such that the nozzle walls are indeed spaced apart from this opening, while they surround the opening. Further, the phrase “in the trench” is broad enough to allow for the bottoms of the nozzle to extent from within the trench, which figure 2B of Choi et al. shows is still the case. Applicant is encouraged to use much more specific language to more specifically claim the positional relationships of each of the claimed elements, as the claims are currently extremely broad in that respect.
Additionally, an alternative 103 rejection has now been added which Applicant’s arguments do not refer to, where Han et al. does teach spacing these angle limiting walls apart from the nozzles as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.K/
Stephen KittExaminer, Art Unit 1717
8/22/2026
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717