DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/06/2023 has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species I, claims 1-8, 11, 12, 14, 16 and 17, without traverse in a response on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9, 10, 13, 15 and 18-20 are withdrawn since Claims 9, 10, 13, 15 and 18-20 belong to an unelected Species. Further, Claim 14 is withdrawn since Claim 14 also belongs to an unelected Species.
In this Office Action, Claims 9, 10, 13-15 and 18-20 are withdrawn, and Claims 1-8, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are examined.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features “wherein: a) the magnetic element comprises N groups of inner cores, the inner cores being arranged side by side, wherein N is a positive integer greater than 2; b) the N lower magnetic core cover plates corresponding to the N inner cores are integrally formed into a first structural member, and the N middle magnetic core cover plates corresponding to the N inner cores are integrally formed into a second structural member; and c) N upper magnetic core cover plates corresponding to the N inner cores are integrally formed into a third structural member” of claim 16, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s), since only N equal to 2 is only shown. If the features are shown they require labeling. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, the phrase “the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate”, is not well defined, since the phrase lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding Claims 7-11, the claims 7-11, are indefinite since claims 7-11 are directly or indirectly dependent on claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (hereinafter Liu), Chinese Patent CN113257531A.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches, a magnetic element (Fig. 4), comprising:
a) at least one group of inner cores (10, 20, 30);
b) wherein each group of inner cores comprises a lower magnetic core cover plate (20), a first winding (not labeled, Fig. 4), at least one middle magnetic core cover plate (30), a second winding (not labeled), and an upper magnetic core cover plate (10) that are stacked in sequence;
c) wherein the first winding and the second winding are spaced by the at least one corresponding middle magnetic core cover plate (id.); and
d) wherein materials of the upper magnetic core cover plate, the middle magnetic core cover plate, and the lower magnetic core cover plate comprise a metal magnetic powder core material (“any one of iron powder core, iron-silicon-aluminum magnetic core, iron-nickel magnetic powder core, iron-silicon magnetic core, molybdenum-permalloy magnetic powder core or iron-nickel high flux magnetic core” [0063]). (Liu: Figs. 1-12, machine translation, para. [0060], [0063], [0064], [0066]).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu further teaches, wherein the first winding and the second winding are respectively embedded in correspondingly one of the lower, middle, and upper magnetic core cover plates (id.). (Liu: Figs. 1-12, machine translation, para. [0060], [0063], [0064], [0066]).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu further teaches, wherein the first winding and the second winding are metal wound coils (302). (Liu: Fig. 10, machine translation, para. [0071], [0072]).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu further teaches, wherein:
a) the magnetic element comprises N groups of inner cores (Fig. 10), the inner cores being arranged side by side (id.), wherein N is a positive integer greater than 2;
b) the N lower magnetic core cover plates (20) corresponding to the N inner cores are integrally formed into a first structural member (id.), and the N middle magnetic core cover plates (30) corresponding to the N inner cores are integrally formed into a second structural member (id.); and
c) N upper magnetic core cover plates (10) corresponding to the N inner cores are integrally formed into a third structural member (id.). (Liu: Figs. 9-12, machine translation, para. [0069], [0071], [0072]).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu further teaches, wherein the magnetic element is a coupling inductor or a transformer (id.). (Liu: Figs. 1-12, machine translation, para. [0060], [0063], [0064], [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claim 1, in view of Abe et al. (hereinafter Abe), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0221360.
Regarding Claim 3 and similarly claim 4, Liu is silent on including further comprising an encapsulation layer encapsulating all the inner cores, wherein at least one surface of the encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of openings for exposing head and tail terminals of each of the first windings and the second windings. (Liu: Figs. 1-12, machine translation, para. [0060], [0063], [0064], [0066]).
Liu does not explicitly teach, further comprising an encapsulation layer encapsulating all the inner cores, wherein at least one surface of the encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of openings for exposing head and tail terminals of each of the first windings and the second windings.
However, Abe (Fig. 1) teaches, further comprising an encapsulation layer (400, 600) encapsulating all the inner cores (300), wherein at least one surface of the encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of openings (openings for 234, 244) for exposing head and tail terminals (234, 244) of each of the first windings and the second windings (230, 240). (Abe: Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0023], [0024], [0026], [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the magnetic core unit Liu to include the encapsulation layer encapsulating all the inner cores, and at least one surface of the encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of openings of Abe, the motivation being “[a]ccordingly, a coupling coefficient of the first coil and the second coil can be easily adjusted by adjusting a distance between the first coil body and the second coil body” [0010]. (Abe: Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0010]). Therefore, the limitations of Claim 3 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Liu in view of Abe further teaches, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a resin material (“resin” [0056]), the motivation being “[a]ccordingly, a coupling coefficient of the first coil and the second coil can be easily adjusted by adjusting a distance between the first coil body and the second coil body” [0010]. (Abe: Figs. 1 and 2, para. [0010], [0056]).
Claims 6-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claim 1, in view of Li et al. (hereinafter Li), U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0360844.
Regarding Claim 6, Liu is silent on including wherein the first winding and the second winding are respectively located in the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate, and the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate are respectively embedded in one of the adjacent magnetic core cover plates. (Liu: Figs. 1-12, machine translation, para. [0060], [0063], [0064], [0066]).
Liu does not explicitly teach, wherein the first winding and the second winding are respectively located in the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate, and the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate are respectively embedded in one of the adjacent magnetic core cover plates.
However, Li (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the first winding and the second winding (1242, 1244) are respectively located in the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate (“the primary winding 1244 and the secondary winding 1242 may be arranged on a printed circuit board (PCB)” [0039]), and the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate are respectively embedded in one of the adjacent magnetic core cover plates (1226). (Li: Figs. 1-4 and 19-21, para. [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second windings of Liu to include the first and second windings respectively located in the first winding substrate and the second winding substrate of Li, the motivation being to improve the productivity. Therefore, the limitations of Claim 6 would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 7 and similarly claims 8 and 11, the combination of Liu in view of Li further teaches (Fig. 1), wherein:
a) the magnetic core cover plate (1226) embedded by the first winding substrate or the second winding substrate (1242, 1244) is configured as an E-shaped cover plate, and other adjacent magnetic core cover plate is configured as a flat cover plate (110);
b) the E-shaped cover plate comprises a magnetic core center column (id.), a cross section of the E-shaped cover plate presents a shape of letter E (id.), and one side surface of the E-shaped cover plate comprises two openings (Fig. 1) for exposing the head and tail terminals of the first winding or the second winding (id.), the motivation being to improve the productivity. (Li: Figs. 1-4 and 19-21, para. [0039]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 20180138801) and Yang et al. (CN110504088A).
Conclusion
/MALCOLM BARNES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
10/14/2026