DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “light--nontransmissive” to “light-nontransmissive”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,417,864) in view of Zhai U.S. Patent No. 11,217,575).
Regarding to claim 1, Choi teaches a display panel, comprising a display region (Figs. 17-18, element DA) and a non-display region (Figs. 18-19, element OA/MA), wherein the display region surrounds at least part of the non-display region (Fig. 18);
the non-display region comprises an element disposition region (Figs. 17-18, element OA; column 4, lines 66-67) and a bank disposition region surrounding at least part of the element disposition region (Figs. 17-18, element MA), and the bank disposition region is provided with a bank (Figs. 17-18, element 510); and
the display panel further comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 17, element 101), wherein the bank is disposed on a side of the substrate (Fig. 17);
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 17, element 222; column 11, lines 28-33) located on a side of the bank facing away from the substrate and comprising a first light-emitting portion located in the bank disposition region (Fig. 17, portion of layer 222 in the bank region).
Choi does not disclose a first light-shielding structure located in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate, wherein the first light-emitting portion and the first light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along a thickness direction of the display panel.
Zhai discloses a first light-shielding structure located in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate (Fig. 5, element 0162, column 8, line 64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Zhai to locate a first light-shielding structure in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate in order to prevent interference. Choi as modified having the first light-shielding structure overlap the bank along a thickness direction of the display panel. As a result, the first light-emitting portion and the first light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along a thickness direction of the display panel, because the first light-emitting portion is on top of the bank (Fig. 17).
Regarding to claim 2, Choi as modified discloses the non-display region further comprises a barrier structure disposition region provided with a barrier structure, the light-emitting layer is located on a side of the barrier structure facing away from the substrate and comprises a second light-emitting portion located in the barrier structure disposition region (Fig. 17), and at least part of the second light-emitting portion is disconnected at the barrier structure (Fig. 17); and the display panel further comprises a second light-shielding structure located in the barrier structure disposition region and on a side of the second light-emitting portion facing the substrate (Fig. 17, as being modified, the light-shielding structure covers the non-display region, the portion of the light-shielding structure covering the barrier structure disposition region is second light-shielding structure), and the second light-emitting portion and the second light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 17).
Regarding to claim 11, Choi as modified discloses the first light-shielding structure comprises a first overall light-shielding structure, and the second light-shielding structure comprises a second overall light-shielding structure (Fig. 17, as being modified, the light-shielding structure cover the non-display region, the portion of the light-shielding structure covering the bank disposition region is first light-shielding structure, the portion of the light-shielding structure covering the barrier structure disposition region is second light-shielding structure).
Regarding to claim 12, Choi as modified discloses the first light-shielding structure comprises at least one first light-shielding layer, and the second light-shielding structure comprises at least one second light-shielding layer; and the at least one first light-shielding layer and the at least one second light-shielding layer are in a same layer (Fig. 17, as being modified, the light-shielding structure cover the non-display region, the portion of the light-shielding structure covering the bank disposition region is first light-shielding structure, the portion of the light-shielding structure covering the barrier structure disposition region is second light-shielding structure, The first and second light-shielding structures are same layer).
Regarding to claim 13, Choi as modified discloses the display region comprises a plurality of sub-pixels, and a sub-pixel of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element and a pixel circuit that are interconnected (Figs. 17-18, element P); the light-emitting element comprises an anode (Fig. 17, element 223), the pixel circuit comprises a transistor, and the transistor comprises an active layer, a gate and a source/ drain electrode (Fig. 17, element PC); the display panel further comprises a shield protection structure located between a film in which the substrate is located and a film in which the pixel circuit is located; and the first light-shielding structure is in a same layer as at least one of the anode, the active layer, the gate, the source/drain electrode, or the shield protection structure (Choi as modified results in a shield protection structure), wherein the first light-shielding structure is at least in a same layer as a structure having a minimum film thickness among the anode, the active layer, the gate, the source/drain electrode and the shield protection structure (Fig. 17).
Regarding to claim 16, Choi as modified is silent as to a fixed potential terminal. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to connect the first light-shielding structure electrically to a fixed potential terminal, in order to secure the shielding structure, known as a common practice in the art.
Regarding to claim 17, Choi as modified discloses an encapsulation structure located on a side of the light-emitting layer facing away from the substrate (Fig. 17, element 310/320/330; column 17, lines 7-12), wherein the encapsulation structure comprises an organic encapsulation layer located between two inorganic encapsulation layers, and the organic encapsulation layer ends at a location of the bank (Fig. 17, the encapsulation structure comprises organic encapsulation layer 320 located between two inorganic encapsulation layers 310/330, and the organic encapsulation layer ends at a location of the bank).
Regarding to claim 18, Choi teaches a display panel, comprising a display region (Figs. 17-18, element DA) and a non-display region (Figs. 18-19, element OA/MA), wherein the display region surrounds at least part of the non-display region (Fig. 18);
the non-display region comprises an element disposition region (Figs. 17-18, element OA; column 4, lines 66-67) and a barrier structure disposition region surrounding at least part of the element disposition region (Figs. 17-18, element MA), and the barrier structure disposition region is provided with a barrier structure (Figs. 17-18, please see the attached figure); and
the display panel further comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 17, element 101), wherein the barrier structure is disposed on a side of the substrate (Fig. 17);
a light-emitting layer located on a side of the barrier structure facing away from the substrate (Fig. 17, element 222; column 11, lines 28-33) and comprising a second light-emitting portion located in the barrier structure disposition region (Fig. 17, portion of layer 222 in the MA region), wherein at least part of the second light-emitting portion is disconnected at the barrier structure (Fig. 17).
Choi does not disclose a second light-shielding structure located in the barrier structure disposition region and on a side of the second light-emitting portion facing the substrate, wherein the second light-emitting portion and the second light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along a thickness direction of the display panel.
Zhai discloses a light-shielding structure located in the barrier disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate (Fig. 5, element 0162, column 8, line 64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Zhai to locate a second light-shielding structure in the barrier disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate in order to prevent interference. Choi as modified having the second light-shielding structure overlap the barrier structure along a thickness direction of the display panel. As a result, the first light-emitting portion and the first light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along a thickness direction of the display panel, because the first light-emitting portion is on top of the barrier structure (Fig. 17).
Regarding to claim 19, Choi teaches a display device, comprising a display panel wherein the display panel comprises display region (Figs. 17-18, element DA) and a non-display region (Figs. 18-19, element OA/MA), wherein the display region surrounds at least part of the non-display region (Fig. 18);
the non-display region comprises an element disposition region (Figs. 17-18, element OA; column 4, lines 66-67) and a bank disposition region surrounding at least part of the element disposition region (Figs. 17-18, element MA), and the bank disposition region is provided with a bank (Figs. 17-18, element 510); and
the display panel further comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 17, element 101), wherein the bank is disposed on a side of the substrate (Fig. 17);
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 17, element 222; column 11, lines 28-33) located on a side of the bank facing away from the substrate and comprising a first light-emitting portion located in the bank disposition region (Fig. 17, portion of layer 222 in the bank region).
Choi does not disclose a first light-shielding structure located in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate, wherein the first light-emitting portion and the first light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along a thickness direction of the display panel.
Zhai discloses a first light-shielding structure located in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate (Fig. 5, element 0162, column 8, line 64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Choi in view of Zhai to locate a first light-shielding structure in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate in order to prevent interference. Choi as modified having the first light-shielding structure overlap the bank along a thickness direction of the display panel. As a result, the first light-emitting portion and the first light-shielding structure at least partially overlap along a thickness direction of the display panel, because the first light-emitting portion is on top of the bank (Fig. 17).
Regarding to claim 20, Choi teaches a photosensitive element, wherein the photosensitive element overlaps the element disposition region of the display panel along a thickness direction of the display panel (Fig. 15, element 40; column 24, lines 8-14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 3, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the barrier structure comprises metal barrier structures; and the second light-shielding structure comprises a plurality of independent second light-shielding portions, and along the thickness direction of the display panel, a second light-shielding portion of the plurality of second light-shielding portions overlaps a gap between two adjacent metal barrier structures of the metal barrier structures” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2.
Regarding to claim 5, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the second light-shielding structure covers the barrier structure and a gap between the barrier structure and an adjacent barrier structure along the thickness direction of the display panel” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2.
Regarding to claim 6, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the barrier structure disposition region comprises a first barrier structure disposition region and a second barrier structure disposition region, the first barrier structure disposition region is located between the bank disposition region and the display region, and the second barrier structure disposition region is located between the bank disposition region and the element disposition region; and at least the first barrier structure disposition region is provided with the second light-shielding structure, wherein the second barrier structure disposition region is provided with the second light-shielding structure” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2.
Regarding to claim 8, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the wire portion satisfies at least one of: the wire portion serves as the first light-shielding structure, or the wire portion serves as the second light-shielding structure” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 8.
Regarding to claim 10, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “an area of the bank disposition region is S5, a coverage area of the first light-shielding structure is S6, an area of the barrier structure disposition region is S7, and a sum of a coverage area of the barrier structure and a coverage area of the second light-shielding structure is S8, wherein |(S6/S5) - (S8/S7)|/{[(S6/S5) + (S8/S7)]/2} ≤ 20%” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2.
Regarding to claim 14, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the first light-shielding structure comprises a third light-shielding layer and a fourth light-shielding layer that are stacked, the third light-shielding layer comprises a plurality of first light-shielding patterns, and the fourth light-shielding layer comprises a plurality of second light-shielding patterns; and orthographic projections of the plurality of first light-shielding patterns on a plane on which the substrate is located and orthographic projections of the plurality of second light-shielding patterns on the plane on which the substrate is located are staggered, and an orthographic projection of the third light-shielding layer on the plane on which the substrate is located and an orthographic projection of the fourth light-shielding layer on the plane on which the substrate is located cover an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting portion on the plane on which the substrate is located” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 15, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the bank comprises light-nontransmissive banks; and the first light-shielding structure overlaps a gap between two adjacent light-nontransmissive banks of the light-nontransmissive banks along the thickness direction of the display panel” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-12295217-B2, US-12514057-B2, US-10998391-B2, US-10026793-B2, US-12279494-B2, and US-11335745-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including “the display region surrounds at least part of the non-display region, a first light-shielding structure located in the bank disposition region and on a side of the first light-emitting portion facing the substrate”.
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897