Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims recite ‘the aforementioned” which is inconsistent with the US practice; ‘the aforementioned’ should be replaced with –said--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose (US 2005/0130490) in view of Sypolt et al. (US 2015/0201514).
Regarding Claim 1, Rose figure 1, discloses a cable connector for interconnecting predetermined devices, comprising:
a first connector section (2), which has a first connector (6, plug) comprising multiple terminals (not numbered, visible in figure 1, 3) and a first connector substrate (7) having said first connector attached thereto, and in which multiple wires (traces on PCB 7 for connector 6-plug. are referred to as wires) electrically connected to the multiple terminals of the aforementioned first connector are placed on the aforementioned first connector substrate;
a second connector section (3), which has a second connector (6, socket) comprising multiple terminals (not numbered) and a second connector substrate (7) having said second connector attached thereto, and in which multiple wires (traces on PCB 7 for connector 6-socket, are referred to as wires) electrically connected to the multiple terminals of the aforementioned second connector are placed on the aforementioned second connector substrate;
a cable section (8a, 8b) for respectively electrically connecting the multiple wires placed on the aforementioned first connector substrate and the multiple wires placed on the aforementioned second connector substrate.
Rose discloses claimed invention except for multiple capacitors for DC blocking provided in at least one of the aforementioned first connector section or the aforementioned second connector section. Sypolt et al. discloses placing multiple capacitor (16, figure 11) for DC blocking [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of claimed invention to provide DC blocking capacitor in one of the connector section of Rose as suggested by Sypolt et al. to reduce the noise (filter) in the circuit.
Regarding Claim 2, Rose and Sypolt et al. disclose the cable connector according to claim 1. Sypolt teaches use of capacitor in the traces of the substrate, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide multiple capacitors only in the first connector section, and the multiple capacitors are respectively provided on the multiple wires or traces on the first connector substrate, so as reduce the noise.
Regarding Claim 3, Rose and Sypolt et al. disclose the cable connector according to claim 2. Sypolt teaches use of capacitor in the traces of the substrate, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide multiple capacitors adjacent to the first connector on the multiple wires on the first connector substrate so as reduce the noise.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose (US 2005/0130490) in view of Sypolt et al. (US 2015/0201514) as applied to claim 1-2 above, and further in view of Sloey et al. (US 20150031221).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Rose and Sypolt et al discloses the claimed invention including AC coupling circuit, except for a counterpart connector for a first and second device. Sloey et al. figure 1, discloses first and second connectors (24, 24) connected to counterpart connectors (22, 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of claimed invention to connect the first and second connectors of first and second connector section of Rose and Sypolt and connect to first and second counterpart connectors of first and second devices to make further electric connections to the first and second devices.
Conclusion
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834