DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howard et al. (US 2020/0058856 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Howard”).
With respect to claim 1, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (102) (see Par.[0017]-[0018] wherein RF switch 200 includes substrate 102, lower dielectric 104, heating element 106, thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108, PCM 110 having active segment 112 and passive segments 114, contact dielectric 116, and contacts 118); a phase change switching device (200, 300, 400, 500, 600) formed over the semiconductor substrate (102), the phase change switching device (400) comprising a strip of phase change material (110-111) connected between an RF input contact (118) and an RF output contact (118), and a heating element (106) thermally coupled to the strip of phase change material (111) (see Par.[0039]-[0040] wherein PCM RF switch 400 with stressed PCM 111 is Ge.sub.XTe.sub.Y; see Par.[0025] wherein contacts 118 extend through contact dielectric 116 and partially into passive segments 114 of PCM 110; contacts 118 provide RF input and output signals to/from PCM 110); and a silicon adhesion layer (136) that forms a direct interface with a first surface/(upper surface of PCM) of the strip of phase change material (110-111) and separates the first surface/(upper surface PCM) from a dielectric material (116) formed thereon (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 4, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the dielectric material (116) that the silicon adhesion layer (136) separates the first surface from comprises any one of: SiN, SiO2 and SiOxNy (see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 5, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor device comprises a capping structure (136, 132) that is locally formed on the strip of phase change material (110-111), wherein the capping structure (132) comprises the silicon adhesion layer (136) and a dielectric capping layer (132), and wherein the silicon adhesion layer (136) separates the first surface/(upper surface of 110-111) from the dielectric capping layer (132) (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 6, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the dielectric capping layer (132) is a layer of SiN (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 7, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor device further comprises an encapsulation layer/(another upper layer of 132) of dielectric material formed over the capping structure/(lower layer of 132) and laterally surrounding the phase change switching/(PCM) device (see Par.[0036]-[0037] wherein stressor layer may be formed of multiple layers :stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132. Stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 8, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the phase change switching device is a lateral device that is configured to conduct parallel to a main surface/(lower surface of PCM) of the semiconductor substrate (see Par.[0039]-[0040] wherein PCM RF switch 400 with stressed PCM 111 is Ge.sub.XTe.sub.Y; see Par.[0025] wherein contacts 118 extend through contact dielectric 116 and partially into passive segments 114 of PCM 110; contacts 118 provide RF input and output signals to/from PCM 110; it is also submitted that PCM conduct current parallel to any of its surfaces).
With respect to claim 9, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the first surface of the strip of phase change material (110-111) is an upper surface of the strip of phase change material that faces away from the main surface/(lower surface) (see Fig.7; see Par.[0017]-[0018] wherein RF switch 200 includes substrate 102, lower dielectric 104, heating element 106, thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108, PCM 110 having active segment 112 and passive segments 114, contact dielectric 116, and contacts 118).
With respect to claim 10, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the semiconductor device, wherein the RF input contact (118), the RF output contact (118), and the heating element (106) area each disposed below the strip of phase change material (110-111) (see Fig.7; see Par.[0017]-[0018] wherein RF switch 200 includes substrate 102, lower dielectric 104, heating element 106, thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108, PCM 110 having active segment 112 and passive segments 114, contact dielectric 116, and contacts 118).
With respect to claim 11, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, a method of forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: providing a semiconductor substrate (102); forming a phase change switching device over the semiconductor substrate (100), the phase change switching device comprising a strip of phase change material (110-111) connected between an RF input contact (118) and an RF output contact (118), and a heating element (106) thermally coupled to the strip of phase change material (110-111) (see Par.[0017]-[0018] wherein RF switch 200 includes substrate 102, lower dielectric 104, heating element 106, thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108, PCM 110 having active segment 112 and passive segments 114, contact dielectric 116, and contacts 118); and forming a silicon adhesion layer (136) that forms a direct interface with a first surface of the strip of phase change material (110-111) and separates the first surface from a dielectric material (116) formed thereon (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 14, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the dielectric material that the silicon adhesion layer (136) separates the first surface from comprises any one of: SiN, SiO2 and SiOxNy (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 15, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the semiconductor device comprises a capping structure (136, 132) that is locally formed on the strip of phase change material (110-111), wherein the capping structure (132) comprises the silicon adhesion layer (136) and a dielectric capping layer (132), and wherein the silicon adhesion layer (136) separates the first surface/(upper surface of 110-111) from the dielectric capping layer (132) (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 16, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the dielectric capping layer (132) is a layer of SiN (see Par.[0041] wherein transition layer(s) 134 and encapsulation layer 136 improve adhesion between stressor layer 132 and stressed PCM 111; see Par.[0024] wherein contact dielectric 116 is situated over PCM 110 and over thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108; contact dielectric 116 is Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, boron-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, phosphorous-doped Si.sub.XO.sub.Y, Si.sub.XN.sub.Y, or another dielectric; see Par.[0035]-[0036] wherein stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132; stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 17, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the semiconductor device further comprises an encapsulation layer/(another upper layer of 132) of dielectric material formed over the capping structure/(lower layer of 132) and laterally surrounding the phase change switching/(PCM) device (see Par.[0036]-[0037] wherein stressor layer may be formed of multiple layers :stressor layer 132 in FIG. 3 generally illustrate the directions of stresses provided by stressor layer 132. Stressor layer 132 can be, for example, stressed silicon nitride (Si.sub.XN.sub.Y) or stressed silicon oxynitride (Si.sub.XO.sub.YN.sub.Z)).
With respect to claim 18, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the phase change switching device is a lateral device that is configured to conduct parallel to a main surface/(lower surface of PCM) of the semiconductor substrate (see Par.[0039]-[0040] wherein PCM RF switch 400 with stressed PCM 111 is Ge.sub.XTe.sub.Y; see Par.[0025] wherein contacts 118 extend through contact dielectric 116 and partially into passive segments 114 of PCM 110; contacts 118 provide RF input and output signals to/from PCM 110; it is also submitted that PCM conduct current parallel to any of its surfaces).
With respect to claim 19, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the first surface of the strip of phase change material (110-111) is an upper surface of the strip of phase change material that faces away from the main surface/(lower surface) (see Fig.7; see Par.[0017]-[0018] wherein RF switch 200 includes substrate 102, lower dielectric 104, heating element 106, thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108, PCM 110 having active segment 112 and passive segments 114, contact dielectric 116, and contacts 118).
With respect to claim 20, Howard discloses, in Figs.1-7, the method, wherein the RF input contact (118), the RF output contact (118), and the heating element (106) area each disposed below the strip of phase change material (110-111) (see Fig.7; see Par.[0017]-[0018] wherein RF switch 200 includes substrate 102, lower dielectric 104, heating element 106, thermally conductive and electrically insulating material 108, PCM 110 having active segment 112 and passive segments 114, contact dielectric 116, and contacts 118).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 1 and 11 respectively, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818