DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
Claims 1, 3, 8-9, 11-13, 16, 30, 32 are amended and filed on 6/1/2026.
Claims 2, 31 are canceled and claim 33 is newly added.
Drawing’s objection and 112 rejection overcome by the amendment and cancelation of claims 2, 31.
Double patenting rejection in the action mailed on 3/19/2026 is withdrawn due to filing terminal disclaimer.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/1/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. US 11938289 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 13, 15-16, 20-22, 26, 30, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolmsjo et al. (US. 20050124852A1) (“Bolmsjo”) in view of Hoey et al. (US.20100298948A1) (“Hoey II”).
Re Claim 1, Bolmsjo discloses a method for performing a prostate surgical or medical treatment (¶0003, ¶0028, Figs. 1-6), said method comprising: - arranging a catheter (10, Figs. 1-6) comprising - an introduction unit (top portion of 10 includes top 11 and drainage hole 17) with a top (11), said introduction unit also comprising a drainage lumen hole (17) for drainage of a urinary bladder (17 is connected to 18, ¶0023); - a balloon stopper unit (14) in connection with and thus possible to fill via a balloon inflation connection (27 is the connection, 15 tube, Fig. 2 ¶0022) and balloon filling tube arranged inside of the introduction unit (tube has lumen 15, 16, Figs. 1-2, ¶0022), wherein filling of the balloon stopper unit with a fluid is intended when the balloon stopper unit is arranged inside of the bladder of a patient to provide for a stopper function of the balloon stopper unit against the bladder neck of the patient (¶0009, ¶0022, Figs. 1-3); - an injection connection (connection 25) connected to an injection tube (13, 20, ¶0024) arranged inside of the introduction unit (Figs. 5-6), which injection tube extends in a needle (20, ¶0030) arranged to be provided to extend from the introduction unit (Fig. 3); and a drainage outlet (24 , ¶0023, ¶0026); -inserting the balloon stopper unit inside of a urethra of the patient and anchoring the balloon stopper unit against the bladder neck of the patient by filling the balloon stopper unit with the fluid ( Fig. 1, ¶0033, abstract); - injecting at least one anesthetic agent and/or antibiotic agent (¶0003) to the prostate via the injection tube and said at least one outflow opening of the needle at an intended position of the prostate (injecting bulking agent by the tube 20 in desired different positions ¶0031) and changing the position of the needle in the prostate (¶0031), but it fails to disclose that at least one outflow opening being provided in a radial direction from the needle and the injection is via the injection tube and said at least one outflow opening of the needle at an intended position of the prostate and - changing the position of the hollow tip in the prostate to enable for at least injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate, wherein the needle comprises one or more markings enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned, further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate, wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle, and wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate (Fig. 1-13, abstract) and wherein a needle (needle 105, ¶0049) comprises at least one outflow opening (200 ¶0041) being provided in a radial direction from the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049) and changing the position of the hollow tip in the prostate (¶0050) one or more markings (204) enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned (¶0050), further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate (¶0050. ¶0061), wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle (Fig. 10), and wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle (Fig. 10).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that at least one outflow opening being provided in a radial direction from the needle and the injection is via the injection tube and said at least one outflow opening of the needle at an intended position of the prostate and - changing the position of the hollow tip in the prostate to enable for at least injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate, wherein the needle comprises one or more markings enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned, further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate, wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle, and wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of visualizing the needle and length extension of the needle within the tissue (Hoey II, ¶0050, ¶0061).
Re claim 3, Bolmsjo discloses wherein injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate is performed gradually when the needle is pulled out gradually from the prostate (¶0030, ¶0032).
Re Claim 4, the modified Bolmsjo discloses wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle (Hoey II, Fig. 10).
Re Claim 5, the modified Bolmsjo discloses wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle (Hoey II, Fig. 10).
Re Claim 13, Bolmsjo discloses the method involves injecting an agent sequentially to different parts of the prostate, preferably to at least two different positions of the prostate, more preferably to four different squares of the prostate (¶0032).
Re Claim 15, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the method involves means for locating a tip of the needle.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-13B) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and wherein the method involves means for locating a tip of the needle (¶0063, Fig. 13a).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves means for locating a tip of the needle as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of delivering a desired agent to treat the prostate to the target tissue (Hoey, ¶0063).
Re Claim 16, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein said means for locating is an external means, or internal means to be injected through the needle.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-13B) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and wherein said means for locating is an external means, or internal means to be injected through the needle (¶0063, Fig. 13a).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that said means for locating is an external means, or internal means to be injected through the needle as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of delivering a desired agent to treat the prostate to the target tissue (Hoey, ¶0063).
Re Claim 20, Bolmsjo discloses a kit (Figs.1-6) comprising - a catheter (10) comprising - an introduction unit (top portion of 10 include 11) with a top (11), said introduction unit also comprising a drainage lumen hole (17, ¶0023) for drainage of a urinary bladder (¶0023); - a balloon stopper unit (14) in connection with and thus possible to fill via a balloon inflation connection (15, ¶0022) and balloon filling tube arranged inside of the introduction unit (15, 16, ¶0022), wherein filling of the balloon stopper unit with a fluid is intended when the balloon stopper unit is arranged inside of the bladder of a patient to provide for a stopper function of the balloon stopper unit against the bladder neck of the patient (¶0009, ¶0022, Figs. 1-3); - an injection connection connected to an injection tube (13, 20) arranged inside of the introduction unit (Figs. 5-6), which injection tube extends in a needle (20) arranged to be provided to extend from the introduction unit (Fig. 1); and- a drainage outlet (24); wherein the needle has at least one outflow opening (opening of 20); - at least one or more syringe(s) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter (22, or 26) and containing at least one anesthetic agent and/or at least one antibiotic agent (the syringes are capable to have agents such as local anesthesia agent see ¶0003), but it fails to disclose the at least one outflow opening being provided in a radial direction from the needle and the needle comprises one or more markings enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned, further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate (Fig. 1-13, abstract) and wherein a needle (needle 105, ¶0049) comprises at least one outflow opening (200 ¶0041) being provided in a radial direction from the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049) and one or more markings (204) enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned (¶0050), further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate (¶0050)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Bolmsjo so that the at least one outflow opening being provided in a radial direction from the needle and the needle comprises one or more markings enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned, further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of visualizing the needle and length extension of the needle within the tissue (Hoey II, ¶0050).
Re Claim 21, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate (Fig. 1-13, abstract) and wherein a needle (needle 105, ¶0049) comprises at least one outflow opening (200 ¶0041) being provided in a radial direction from the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049) and wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle (Fig. 10).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Bolmsjo so that the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of visualizing the needle and length extension of the needle within the tissue (Hoey II, ¶0050).
Re Claim 22, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate (Fig. 1-13, abstract) and wherein a needle (needle 105, ¶0049) comprises at least one outflow opening (200 ¶0041) being provided in a radial direction from the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049) and wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Bolmsjo so that said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of visualizing the needle and length extension of the needle within the tissue (Hoey II, ¶0050).
Re Claim 26, Bolmsjo discloses wherein the catheter comprises an introduction unit with a top, wherein the top comprises a tiemann tip ( 11, Fig. 1).
Re Claim 30, Bolmsjo discloses wherein the injection tube has a stopper ( 14), but it fails to disclose wherein there is a distance marking provided outside of the injection tube.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate (Fig. 1-13, abstract) and wherein a needle (needle 105, ¶0049) comprises at least one outflow opening (200 ¶0041) being provided in a radial direction from the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049) and wherein there is a distance marking (204) provided outside of the injection tube (¶0050).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Bolmsjo so that there is a distance marking provided outside of the injection tube as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of visualizing the needle and length extension of the needle within the tissue (Hoey II, ¶0050).
Re Claim 33,Bolmsjo discloses a kit (Figs.1-6) comprising - a catheter (10) comprising - an introduction unit (top portion of 10 include 11) with a top (11), said introduction unit also comprising a drainage lumen hole (17, ¶0023) for drainage of a urinary bladder (¶0023); - a balloon stopper unit (14) in connection with and thus possible to fill via a balloon inflation connection (15, ¶0022) and balloon filling tube arranged inside of the introduction unit (15, 16, ¶0022), wherein filling of the balloon stopper unit with a fluid is intended when the balloon stopper unit is arranged inside of the bladder of a patient to provide for a stopper function of the balloon stopper unit against the bladder neck of the patient (¶0009, ¶0022, Figs. 1-3); - an injection connection connected to an injection tube (13, 20) arranged inside of the introduction unit (Figs. 5-6), which injection tube extends in a needle (20) arranged to be provided to extend from the introduction unit (Fig. 1); and- a drainage outlet (24); wherein the needle has at least one outflow opening (opening of 20); - at least one or more syringe(s) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter (22, or 26) and containing at least one anesthetic agent and/or at least one antibiotic agent (the syringes are capable to have agents such as local anesthesia agent see ¶0003), but it fails to disclose that the at least one opening being provided in a radial direction from the needle; wherein there is a distance marking provided on an injection connection connected to the injection tube, wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle, and wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle.
However, Hoey II discloses a method of treating a prostate (Fig. 1-13, abstract) and wherein a needle (needle 105, ¶0049) comprises at least one outflow opening (200 ¶0041) being provided in a radial direction from the needle (Fig. 10, ¶0049) and one or more markings (204) enabling for a user to perceive how far into the prostate the needle is positioned (¶0050), further simplifying injection of said at least one anesthetic agent at different positions in the prostate (¶0050)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needle of Bolmsjo so that that the at least one opening being provided in a radial direction from the needle; wherein there is a distance marking provided on an injection connection connected to the injection tube, wherein the needle has at least two outflow openings being provided in radial directions from the needle, and wherein said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle.as taught by Hoey II for the purpose of visualizing the needle and length extension of the needle within the tissue (Hoey II, ¶0050).
Claim(s) 6-9, 23-24, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolmsjo in view of Hoey II and further in view of Hoey et al. (US.20150157384A1) (“Hoey”).
Re Claim 6, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0037).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline as taught by Hoey for the purpose of delivering a desired agent to treat the prostate to the target tissue (Hoey, ¶0037).
Re Claim 7, the modified Bolmsjo discloses wherein the method involves changing the position of the needle in the prostate (¶0031, Bolmsjo) to enable for injection of at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline at different positions in the prostate (Hoey, ¶0037).
Re Claim 8, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and at least antibiotic agent.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0037).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and at least antibiotic agent , as taught by Hoey for the purpose of delivering a desired agent to treat the prostate to the target tissue (Hoey, ¶0037).
Re Claim 9, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0037).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline as taught by Hoey for the purpose of delivering a desired agent to treat the prostate to the target tissue (Hoey, ¶0037).
Re Claim 23, Bolmsjo discloses wherein said kit comprises also one or more vials or flasks ( syringe 22), but it fails to disclose that the one or more vials containing at least one of the following: an anesthetic agent, adrenaline, an antibiotic agent, botulinum toxin, a corticosteroid, an anti-inflammatory agent, or a combination thereof, which are intended to be contained in said at least one or more syringe(s) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter, preferably several vials or flasks of which there is contained a combination of an anesthetic agent, adrenaline, an antibiotic agent, botulinum toxin, a corticosteroid, an anti-inflammatory agent, or a combination thereof.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and one or more vials ( agent source, ¶0037) containing at least one of the following: an anesthetic agent, adrenaline, an antibiotic agent, botulinum toxin, a corticosteroid, an anti-inflammatory agent, or a combination thereof, which are intended to be contained in said at least one or more syringe(s) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter, preferably several vials or flasks of which there is contained a combination of an anesthetic agent, adrenaline, an antibiotic agent, botulinum toxin, a corticosteroid, an anti-inflammatory agent, or a combination thereof (108s, ¶0037).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Bolmsjo so that said at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle as taught by Hoey for the purpose of using a needle that it is capable to deliver a fluid to the tissue in a perpendicular direction to the shaft direction (Hoey, ¶0038).
Re Claim 24, Bolmsjo discloses wherein said kit comprises also one or more vials or flasks ( syringe 22), but it fails to discloses wherein said kit comprises at least individual flasks or vials for at least one anesthetic agent, adrenaline, and at least one antibiotic agent, which are intended to be contained in said at least one or more syringe(s) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) comprises the needle has at least two outflow openings are provided on opposite sides of the needle (108s, ¶0041).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Bolmsjo so that wherein said kit comprises at least individual flasks or vials for at least one anesthetic agent, adrenaline, and at least one antibiotic agent, which are intended to be contained in said at least one or more syringe(s) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter as taught by Hoey for the purpose of using a needle that it is capable to deliver a fluid to the tissue in a perpendicular direction to the shaft direction (Hoey, ¶0038).
Re Claim 29, Bolmsjo discloses wherein the kit also comprises a syringe or vial (22, Fig. 1), but it fails to discloses that the syringe is containing botulinum toxin (Botox) and/or at least one antibiotic agent.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the catheter unit (102) comprising a needle (needle 106, ¶0038) and the syringe is containing botulinum toxin (Botox) and/or at least one antibiotic agent (¶0037).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the syringe of Bolmsjo so that the syringe is containing botulinum toxin (Botox) and/or at least one antibiotic agent as taught by Hoey for the purpose of delivering a desired agent to treat the prostate to the target tissue (Hoey, ¶0037).
Claim(s) 11, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolmsjo in view of Hoey II and Hoey and further in view of Kalt.
Re Claim 11, Bolmsjo discloses injecting agent to one part of the prostate (¶0031) and then in injecting the agent to another part of the prostate (¶0031, by rotating the catheter), but it fails to disclose that injected agent to one part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and then supplying heat to the surface of the prostate at a corresponding position to that part of the prostate, then injected agent to another part of the prostate both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and then supplying heat to the surface of the prostate at a corresponding position to that other part of the prostate.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the agent injected is anesthetic to one part of the prostate (¶0037, ¶0045) and then supplying heat to the surface of the prostate at a corresponding position to that part of the prostate (¶0045), then injected agent to another part of the prostate at least one anesthetic agent (¶0037) and then supplying heat to the surface of the prostate at a corresponding position to that other part of the prostate (¶0045).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that inject the agent to the one part of the prostate and then supplying heat to the surface of the prostate at a corresponding position to that part of the prostate, then inject the agent to another part of the prostate and then supplying heat to the surface of the prostate at a corresponding position to that other part of the prostate as taught by Hoey for the purpose of using a needle that it is capable to deliver a fluid to the tissue in a perpendicular direction to the shaft direction (Hoey, ¶0038).
The modified Bolmsjo fails to disclose that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Re Claim 32, Bolmsjo discloses injecting an agent to a volume of prostate (¶0032) and injecting an agent to another volume of prostate (¶0032), but if fails to specifically disclose wherein the method involves a sequence of injecting both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline to a volume of the prostate and then performing trimming in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment or a heat treatment of a corresponding surface of the prostate within a time frame of maximum 25 minutes and then performing yet another similar sequence to another volume of the prostate.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the method involves a sequence of injecting at least one anesthetic agent to a volume of the prostate (¶0037) and then performing trimming in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment or a heat treatment of a corresponding surface of the prostate within a time frame of maximum 25 minutes, preferably maximum 20 minutes, more preferably maximum 15 minutes, and then performing yet another similar sequence to another volume of the prostate ( then thermal energy 1-3 minute to each lobe)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves a sequence of injecting at least one anesthetic agent to a volume of the prostate and then performing trimming in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment or a heat treatment of a corresponding surface of the prostate within a time frame of maximum 25 minutes and then performing yet another similar sequence to another volume of the prostate as taught by Hoey for the purpose of ablating the prostate tissue (Hoey, ¶0012).
The modified Bolmsjo fails to disclose that the agent which injected to a volume of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another volume of the prostate of is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to a volume of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another volume of the prostate of is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the agent which injected to a volume of prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another volume of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Claim(s) 14, 17-19, 25,27, 28, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolmsjo in view of Hoey II and further in view of Kalt.
Re Claim 14, the modified Bolmsjo discloses wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent to the prostate via the needle (¶0032 of Bolmsjo, Hoey ¶0037), but it injecting adrenaline to the prostate via the needle during at least a first phase of the method, wherein at least the injecting of adrenaline to the prostate is performed sequentially.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that injecting adrenaline to the prostate via the needle during at least a first phase of the method, wherein at least the injecting of adrenaline to the prostate is performed sequentially as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Re Claim 17, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the method also involves injecting adrenaline and/or one or more cytostatic agents to the prostate
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method also involves injecting adrenaline and/or one or more cytostatic agents to the prostate as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Re Claim 18, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein said at least one antibiotic agent is penicillin.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent can be at least one antibiotic agent is penicillin (¶0080).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that said at least one antibiotic agent is penicillin as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0080, ¶0083).
Re Claim 19, Bolmsjo discloses injecting at least one anesthetic agent to at least four different squares of the prostate (¶0032 of Bolmsjo, Hoey ¶0037), but it fails to disclose wherein the method involves injecting both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline sequentially to at least four different squares of the prostate.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves injecting both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline sequentially to at least four different squares of the prostate as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Re Claim 25, Bolmsjo discloses wherein said at least one or more syringe(s) (22, 26, Fig. 2) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter (Fig. 2), but it fails to disclose that syringe contains adrenaline.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Bolmsjo so that that syringe contains adrenaline as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Re Claim 27, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein said at least one antibiotic agent is penicillin.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent can be at least one antibiotic agent is penicillin (¶0080).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the agent of Bolmsjo so that said at least one antibiotic agent is penicillin as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0080, ¶0083).
Re Claim 28, Bolmsjo discloses wherein said at least one or more syringe(s) (22, 26, Fig. 2) connectable to the injection connection of the catheter (Fig. 2), but it fails to disclose that wherein said one or more syringe(s) contains also adrenaline.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the kit of Bolmsjo so that said one or more syringe(s) contains also adrenaline as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolmsjo in view of Hoey II and in view of Kalt et al. (US. 20200345976A1)(“Kalt” ) and further in view of Bolmsjo et al. (US. 20050059929A1)(“ Bolmsjo I”).
Re Claim 10, the modified Bolmsjo discloses wherein the method involves injecting at least one anesthetic agent to one first half of the prostate (right lobe, Hoey, ¶0037, ¶0044), then removing the catheter from the patient (¶0032, Bolmsjo discloses that the catheter can be removed after injection), then inserting the catheter again into the patient (Bolmsjo discloses inserting the catheter for another treatment ¶0030 of the prostate) and injecting at least one anesthetic agent to the second half of the prostate (right lobe, Hoey, ¶0037, ¶0044), and Bolmsjo further discloses that treatment can be reposition the catheter and remove the catheter after injection (¶0032), but it fails to disclose that the injecting step comprising injecting both least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline to the first half and second half, performing trimming of that first half of the prostate in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment and performing trimming of that second half of the prostate.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to one part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the agent which injected to first part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to second part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Bolmsjo in view of Hoey and Kalt fails to disclose performing trimming of that first half of the prostate in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment and performing trimming of that second half of the prostate.
However, Bolmsjo I discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-9, ¶0038) and wherein catheter unit (20) can be removed (¶0033), and performing trimming of that first half of the prostate in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment and after injection of the second half of the prostate (¶0034), and performing trimming of that second half of the prostate (¶0060)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that performing trimming of that first half of the prostate in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment and performing trimming of that second half of the prostate as taught by Bolmsjo I for the purpose of removal of affected tissue (Bolmsjo I, ¶0060, note, the catheter can be removed and treat the affected area and then repeated to a second treatment for a second affected area ¶0060).
Re Claim 12, Bolmsjo fails to disclose wherein the method involves a sequence of injecting both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline to a volume of the prostate and then performing trimming in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment or a heat treatment of a corresponding surface of the prostate within a time frame of maximum 25 minutes, and then performing yet another similar sequence to another volume of the prostate.
However, Hoey discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1-2, ¶0038) and wherein the method involves a sequence of injecting at least one anesthetic agent to a volume of the prostate (¶0037) and then performing trimming in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment or a heat treatment of a corresponding surface of the prostate within a time frame of maximum 25 minutes, preferably maximum 20 minutes, more preferably maximum 15 minutes, and then performing yet another similar sequence to another volume of the prostate ( then thermal energy 1-3 minute to each lobe)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the method involves a sequence of injecting both at least one anesthetic agent and then performing trimming in a transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP) surgical treatment or a heat treatment of a corresponding surface of the prostate within a time frame of maximum 25 minutes, and then performing yet another similar sequence to another volume of the prostate as taught by Hoey for the purpose of ablating the prostate tissue (Hoey, ¶0012).
The modified Bolmsjo fails to disclose that the agent which injected to a volume of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another volume of the prostate of is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline.
However, Kalt discloses a method of treating a prostate ( Fig. 1a, ¶0078) and that the agent which injected to a volume of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to another volume of the prostate of is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline (¶0083, anesthetic and adrenergic agonists such as estrogens).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bolmsjo so that the agent which injected to first part is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline and the agent which injected to second part of the prostate is both at least one anesthetic agent and adrenaline as taught by Kalt for the purpose of using a selected drug for specific treatment (Kalt, ¶0083).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
the applicant argues in page 14-20 with regards applied art and limitation related to the needle, marks and openings. This is found not percussive as Hoey et al. (US.20100298948A1) discloses these limitation see Fig. 11 and openings 200 and marks 204.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783