DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment/arguments filed on 8/26/2026 which was in response to the office action mailed on 5/26/2026 (hereinafter the prior office action).
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 8 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are independent.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome prior Claim objection(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 8/26/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in Pg. 5-6 in “Remarks” regarding claim 9 that Soucy and Horner do not teach witness lines providing a visual indicator as to whether AM component has met its target profile.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Soucy discloses in Fig. 1 and Para. 20 that a computer used to design an additive manufactured component, where component has a nominal, i.e. target, physical profile and the expected deflection, i.e. deformation, of target that is expected is predicted in model; further Para. 14 discloses that deformation is predicted. Further, it is Horner, and not Soucy, that teaches witness marks/lines (Para. 11), thus providing a visual indicator. Thus, it is the combination of Soucy and Horner, and neither art alone, that teaches the claimed limitations.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horner et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0052946) (hereinafter “Horner”) in view of Soucy et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0271221) (hereinafter “Soucy”).
Regarding claim 9, Horner teaches an additive manufactured (AM) component (Fig. 1, Para. 20 - - computer used to design an additive manufactured component)
comprising: a target area expected to realize deformation during an AM build process; (Fig. 1, Para. 20 - - expected deflection, i.e. deformation, of target that is expected is predicted in model; Para. 14 - - deformation is predicted)
and a plurality of…lines formed in the target area, (Fig. 1, Para. 20 - - computer used to design an additive manufactured component, where component has a nominal, i.e. target, physical profile)
the plurality of…lines having a pre-deformed profile configured to undergo deformation in response to build process to form deformed…lines that match a target profile of target define…following deformation of the AM component. (Fig. 1, Para. 20 - - expected deflection, i.e. deformation, of target that is expected is predicted in model; Para. 14 - - deformation is predicted)
But Horner does not explicitly teach witness lines
However, Soucy teaches witness lines (Para. 11 - - witness mark/lines are formed during an additive manufacturing)
Horner and Soucy are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain additive manufacturing processes where parts of the manufactured object/component are identified.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Horner, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Soucy.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide a visual indicator to determine where parts are separated from other portion of the additive manufactured component, as suggested by Soucy (Para. 11).
Regarding claim 10, Horner teaches wherein the deformation of the AM component includes deformation of the target area. (Fig. 1, Para. 20 - - expected deflection, i.e. deformation, of target that is expected is predicted in model)
Regarding claim 11, Horner teaches wherein each of the pre-deformed witness lines includes layers of AM material deposited at a first target region of the target area which are separated by a space that excludes the AM material. (Fig. 3, 4 - - additive manufactured component includes areas where AM material is deposited, and space that excludes the AM material in order to build the AM material with a certain shape)
Regarding claim 12, Horner teaches wherein the AM material is a low- density material. (Para. 20 - - composite, i.e. low-density material, can be used)
Regarding claim 13, Horner teaches wherein the low-density material includes one or a combination of a thermoplastic material, polylactic acid, and a microsphere composite material. (Para. 20 - - composite material can be used)
Regarding claim 14, Horner teaches wherein the AM material is a high- density material. (Para. 20 - - metal, i.e. high-density material, can be used)
Regarding claim 15, Horner teaches wherein the high-density alloy material includes one or a combination of Incone1625(IN625), Incone1718 (IN718), Hastelloy X (Hast-X), a nickel-base (Ni-base) superalloy, 17-4PH stainless steel, and Titanium (Ti). (Para. 20 - - metal can be used)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are allowed.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0238755 by Hovis et al., which discloses making and monitoring components with integral strain indicators (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0088881 by Kim et al., which discloses simulation-assisted additive manufacturing (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119