DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/387647. Although the claims at issue are not identical, except for the terminology of such as a receiving chamber of claim 1 of the instant application is equivalent to a mating slot the US patent. they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claim limitation of claim 1, of the instant application broader than and equivalent to the claims 1 and 4 of US co-pending application.
The claimed limitation of claim 2 of the instant application is equivalent to claims 3 and 4 of US co-pending application.
Claim 3 of the instant application is equivalent claim 2 of US co-pending application.
Claim 4 of the instant application is equivalent to claim 2 of the US co-pending application.
Claim 7 of the instant application is equivalent claim 7 of US co-pending application.
Claim 8 of the instant application is equivalent to claim 2 of the US co-pending application.
Claims 9-17 of the instant application is equivalent claims 11-18 of US co-pending application.
Claim limitations of claims 17-20 of the instant application are equivalent to claims the US co-pending application, as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/229222. Although the claims at issue are not identical, except for the terminology of such as a receiving chamber of claim 1 of the instant application is equivalent to a mating slot the US patent. they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claim limitations of claim 1, of the instant application is broader than and equivalent to the claims 1, 3 4 and 19 of US co-pending application.
Claims 2-6 of the instant application are equivalent claims 2-6 of US co-pending application.
Claims 7-16 of the instant application are equivalent claims 9-16 of US co-pending application.
Claim limitation of claims 17-20 are similar to claims 1-16 of the instant application, which are equivalent to claims 1-20 of the US copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/229339 (which is recently allowed). Although the claims at issue are not identical, except for the terminology of such as a receiving chamber of claim 1 of the instant application is equivalent to a mating slot the US patent. they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claimed limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application are equivalent to the allowed claimed of the US application 18/229,339.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-915, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Szczesny (US 20150029667).
Regarding claim 1, Szczesny disclose, a connector assembly 10, comprising: an electrical connector 14 comprising an insulating body (see fig. 3) (of) 14 and a plurality of conductive terminals 34a, the plurality of conductive terminals 34a being configured to be mounted to a circuit board]) 26 (not shown, see paragraph [0016], [0017]); a metal shielding cage 36 shielding a periphery of the electrical connector, the metal shielding cage 36 comprising a receiving chamber 44 configured to receive a mating connector 12 along a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the circuit board 26; and a heat dissipation element 62 comprising a first heat sink 66 mounted on one side of the metal shielding cage, the first heat sink 66 comprising a plurality of first heat dissipation fins 66b and a plurality of first heat dissipation channels of which each is located between two adjacent first heat dissipation fins (gap between two fins 66b).
Regarding claim 2, Szczesny disclose, the metal shielding cage comprises a first end wall, a first side wall, a second side wall opposite to the first side wall, and a second end wall opposite to the first end wall; and wherein the receiving chamber is jointly enclosed by the first end wall, the first side wall, the second side wall and the second end wall.
Regarding claim 3, Szczesny disclose, the first end wall defines a first opening communicating with the receiving chamber; the first heat sink comprises a first body portion fixed to the first end wall, the plurality of first heat dissipation fins protrude sidewardly from the first body portion; the first body portion at least partially extends into the first opening, and is exposed in the receiving chamber.
Regarding claim 4, Szczesny discloses, the second end wall defines a second opening communicating with the receiving chamber; the second heat sink comprises a second body portion fixed to the second end wall, the plurality of second heat dissipation fins protrude sidewardly from the second body portion; the second body portion at least partially extends into the second opening, and is exposed in the receiving chamber (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Szczesny discloses, the heat dissipation element comprises a second heat sink mounted on another side of the metal shielding cage; the second heat sink comprises a plurality of second heat dissipation fins and a plurality of second heat dissipation channels of which each is located between two adjacent second heat dissipation fins; and wherein an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction, (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Szczesny discloses, the heat dissipation element comprises a second heat sink mounted on another side of the metal shielding cage; the second heat sink comprises a plurality of second heat dissipation fins and a plurality of second heat dissipation channels of which each is located between two adjacent second heat dissipation fins; and wherein an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is parallel to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is parallel to the first direction (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Szczesny discloses, the metal shielding cage comprises an inner metal shell (formed by) 70, 72,74,76 fixed to the first side wall and the second side wall (through upper wall 72,74,76); the inner metal shell divides the receiving chamber 44 into a first receiving chamber 44a, 44b,and a second receiving chamber 44c, 44d located on two sides of the inner metal shell, respectively; the mating connector comprises a first mating connector configured to be received in the first receiving chamber and a second mating connector configured to be received in the second receiving chamber.
Regarding claim 15, Szczesny discloses, a first terminal module 34; wherein the first terminal module 34a, 34b comprises a first insulating block 34 (see fig. 3), a plurality of first conductive terminals (upper row of) 34a fixed to the first insulating block 34, and a plurality of second conductive terminals (lower row of) 34a fixed to the first insulating block 34; the plurality of conductive terminals (within) 34a comprise the plurality of first conductive terminals (upper row within) 34a and the plurality of second conductive terminals (lower row within) 34a; each first conductive terminal comprises a first fixing portion (rear portion of terminal which are fixed within the receptacle 34a), a first elastic contact arm (front portion of terminal, at which the edge of a circuit board 28 is connecting) extending from one end of the first
fixing portion, and a first tail portion (which is electrically connect to the host circuit board (not shown), see paragraph [0019] extending from another end of the first fixing portion; the first fixing portion is fixed to the first insulating block; the first tail portion extends beyond the first insulating block; each second conductive terminal comprises a second fixing portion, a second elastic contact arm extending from one end of the second fixing portion, and a second tail portion extending from another end of the second fixing portion; the second fixing portion is fixed to the first insulating block; the second tail portion extends beyond the first insulating block; and the first tail portion and the second tail portion are configured to be mounted on the circuit board.
Regarding claim 17, Szczesny discloses, a connector assembly 10, comprising: an electrical connector 14 comprising an insulating body of (see fig. 3) 14 and a plurality of conductive terminals (within receptacle) 34a, the plurality of conductive terminals being configured to be mounted to a circuit board 26 (not shown, see paragraph [0016], [0017]; a metal shielding cage 36 shielding a periphery of the electrical connector; the metal shielding cage 36 comprising a first end wall, a first side wall, a second side wall opposite to the first side wall, a second end wall opposite to said first end wall, and a receiving chamber 44 jointly enclosed by the first end wall, the first side wall, the second side wall and the second end wall; the receiving chamber comprising a first receiving chamber 44 configured to receive a first mating connector 12 along a first direction, and a second receiving chamber configured to receive a second mating connector 12 along the first direction (see figs. 2 and 3); the first end wall defining a first opening communicating with the first receiving chamber; the second end wall defining a second opening communicating with the second receiving chamber; the first direction being perpendicular to the circuit board 26; and a heat dissipation element 62 comprising a first heat sink 66 and a second heat sink 68 (see fig. 1); the first heat sink comprising a first body portion fixed to the first end wall and at least partially protruding inwardly into the first opening, a plurality of first heat dissipation fins 66b protruding sidewardly from the first body portion, and a plurality of first heat dissipation channels (gap between two adjacent fins) of which each is located between two adjacent first heat dissipation fins 66b; the second heat sink comprising a second body portion fixed to the second end wall and at least partially protruding inwardly into the second opening, a plurality of second heat dissipation fins 68b protruding sidewardly from the second body portion, and a plurality of second heat dissipation channels (between two adjacent fin 68b) of which each is located between two adjacent second heat dissipation fins; the first body portion protruding inwardly into the first opening is configured to abut against the first mating connector (upon plugging mating connector) 12; the second body portion protruding inwardly into the second opening is configured to abut against the second mating connector (upon plugging mating connector) 12.
Regarding claim 19, Szczesny discloses, a first terminal an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is parallel to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is parallel to the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szczesny.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Szczesny discloses all the claimed limitations except for the metal shielding cage has a first height H1 along the first direction; the metal shielding cage has a first length L1 along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, where H1>L1, and the metal shielding cage has a first width W1 along a third direction which is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, where H1>W1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the dimensions of height, length and width are such that, where H1>L1, and H1>W1, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 18, Szczesny discloses all the claimed limitations except for an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have for an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction, since, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have for an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction, since applicant has not disclose that od having an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction; and an extending direction of each second heat dissipation channel is perpendicular to the first direction solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose (this feature is a critical, patentably distinguishing feature)and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with of having an extending direction of each first heat dissipation channel is parallel to the first direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831