Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 11/08/23. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information disclosure statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 11/08/23 and 02/10/26 have been received and are being considered.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20210296424 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a display device comprising: a display panel including a display area and a non-display area (see fig 15, disclosing DA and NDA), wherein the non-display area has a first area and a second area (see fig. 15, NDA);
a plurality of first lines and a plurality of second lines both disposed in the display area and extending in a first direction (first and second vertical lines see 136/146 extending horizontally);
a plurality of third lines and a plurality of fourth lines both disposed in the second area (see horizontal and vertical portions of 146);
a plurality of fifth lines connecting the plurality of first lines and the plurality of third lines to each other (see line connection between 136 and 146), respectively; and
a plurality of sixth lines (60a) and a plurality of seventh lines connecting the plurality of second lines (60b)and the plurality of fourth lines to each other, respectively (see fig 15, element 30 disclosing also in fig 16, where 136/146 are connected together via 60a/b and 40), wherein the plurality of sixth lines and the plurality of seventh lines are respectively connected to each other (see 60a/b are bussed together at 40), wherein each of the plurality of sixth lines extends in a second direction different from the first direction, and wherein each of the plurality of seventh lines extends in the first direction (see fig 16, where each 60a/b have horizontal and vertical components and are shaped differently from each other).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of fifth lines extends in the first area (see fig 15), or wherein the plurality of fifth lines are respectively connected to the plurality of first lines (see 136, connected to 146 at line connection), while each of the plurality of fifth lines and each of the plurality of first lines are disposed in the same layer (see fig 15, disclosing same layer).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of fifth lines are respectively connected to the plurality of third lines (see fig 15, disclosing 136 connected to 146), while each of the plurality of fifth lines and each of the plurality of third lines are disposed in the same layer(see fig 15, disclosing same layer, having horizontal and vertical components in same layer).
Regarding claim 4, Cho disclosing the display device of claim 1, wherein: each of the plurality of sixth lines is disposed in the display area (see elements 136/146), and the plurality of sixth lines respectively connect the plurality of second lines and the plurality of seventh lines to each other (see connections in 31 and 32 through 40), or wherein the plurality of sixth lines and the plurality of second lines are disposed in different layers (see fig 16, disclosing ), and are respectively connected to each other via respective contact holes (see fig 15 and 16 disclosing contact holes).
Regarding claim 5, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sixth lines have the same length, or different lengths (see fig 15 and 16 disclosing 136/146 having same or different lengths).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein one portion of each of the plurality of seventh lines is disposed in the display area and the other portion thereof is disposed in the non-display area (see fig 16 disclosing lines are both in DA and NDA).
Regarding claim 7, Cho discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein: the plurality of seventh lines are respectively connected to the plurality of sixth lines in the display area (see fig 15, 136/146 are connected together), and the plurality of seventh lines are respectively connected to the plurality of fourth lines in the non-display area (see fig 16, disclosing areas 31/32 disclosing connection), or wherein the plurality of seventh lines and the plurality of sixth lines are disposed in different layers (see fig 16 disclosing different layers), and are respectively connected to each other via respective contact holes (see fig 15 and 16 disclosing contact holes), or wherein the plurality of seventh lines and the plurality of sixth lines are disposed in the same layer (see fig 15, disclosing 136/146 in same layer)and are respectively connected to each other, or wherein the plurality of seventh lines and the plurality of fourth lines are disposed in the same layer and are respectively connected to each other(see fig 15, disclosing 136/146 in same layer).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seventh lines have different lengths (see fig 15 disclosing different lengths).
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of third lines and the plurality of fourth lines are disposed in different layers and in the second area, and respectively intersect each other (see figs 15 and 16 disclosing different layers connected by via hole contacts).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein an order in which the plurality of third lines and the plurality of fourth lines are arranged in one side of the second area is different from an order in which the plurality of third lines and the plurality of fourth lines are arranged in the other side of the second area (see figs 15 and 16 disclosing different groupings of lines/ order of lines.).
Regarding claim 11, Cho discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the plurality of third lines and the plurality of fourth lines are respectively connected to a data driver circuit at the other side of the second area (see fig 16 disclosing external connection to 40).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of first lines and each of the plurality of second lines have the same length, or wherein lengths of the plurality of second lines are different from each other (see figs 15 and 16 disclosing different lengths).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the display device further comprises: an eighth line disposed in the display area (see fig 16, disclosing at least two additional line connections with 60a/b); a ninth line disposed in the first area(see fig 16, disclosing at least two additional line connections with 60a/b); and a tenth line disposed in the second area, wherein the eighth line, the ninth line, and the tenth line are connected to each other, and are disposed in the same layer, and extend in the first direction(see fig 16, disclosing at least two additional line connections with 60a/b having angular turns, wherein each turn is a distinct linear line).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses to display device comprising: a display panel including a display area and a non-display area (see fig 15 disclosing DA and NDA), wherein the non-display area has a first area and a second area (see fig 16 disclosing 31/30); and a first continuously-connected line and a second continuously-connected line disposed in the display panel (see dm and D5 i.e. connecting in NDA), wherein the first continuously-connected line and the second continuously-connected line intersect each other in each of the display area and the second area of the non-display area (see section 31 disclosing intersection of lines).
Regarding claim 15, Cho the display device of claim 14, wherein in the first area, the first continuously- connected lines and the second continuously-connected lines are alternately arranged with each other (see fig 15, 16 where the lines criss-cross).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein an insulating layer is disposed between the first continuously-connected line and the second continuously-connected line(see fig 15, 16 where the lines criss-cross).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the display device further comprises a third continuously-connected line adjacent to the second continuously-connected line (see line connections in fig 15 and 16, disclosing at least a third continuous line, i.e. right angle line turns).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein: the first continuously-connected lines are symmetrically arranged with each other around the third continuously-connected line, and the second continuously-connected lines are symmetrically arranged with each other around the third continuously-connected line (see fig 15 and 16, disclosing symmetric arrangement around the center line), or wherein an order in which the first continuously-connected line, the second continuously- connected line, and the third continuously-connected line are arranged in one end thereof is identical with an order in which the first continuously-connected line (see symmetry along the center line), the second continuously- connected line, and the third continuously-connected line are arranged in the other end thereof, or wherein the second continuously-connected line and the third continuously-connected line are disposed in the same layer and in the display area, the first area, and the second area (see fig 16 disclosing symmetry).
Regarding claim 19, Cho discloses a display device comprising: a display panel including a display area and a non-display area (see fig 15 and 16, DA/NDA); a plurality of first lines and a plurality of second lines both disposed in the display area and extending in a first direction (see fig 15, disclosing 136/146 extending horizontally); a plurality of third lines and a plurality of fourth lines both disposed in the non-display area (see fig 15, 16, disclosing 136/146 in elements 30/31); a plurality of fifth lines disposed in the non-display area and extending in the first direction, and connecting the plurality of first lines and the plurality of third lines to each other (see element 31, see connection at 40), respectively; a plurality of seventh lines extending from the display area into the non-display area in the first direction (see DM and D5-8); and a plurality of sixth lines in the display area and extending in a second direction that intersects the first direction (see line connection at 146 having horizontal direction), the plurality of sixth lines and the plurality of seventh lines connecting the plurality of second lines and the plurality of fourth lines to each other (see connection between 146/136 and element 40 connecting lines), respectively.
Regarding claim 20, Cho discloses the display device of claim 19, wherein the plurality of third lines extend in a third direction and the plurality of fourth lines extend in a fourth direction (see fig 16, disclosing right angle line formation and connections to 40), the third and fourth directions being different from the first and second directions, and wherein the third direction and the fourth direction intersect(see fig 16, disclosing right angle line formation and connections to 40).
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893