DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election without traverse on April 16, 2026, claims 3, 5, 15, and 16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes MEMORY DEVICE WITH MULTI-PART CONTACT CONNECTED TO THE CAPACITOR
Paragraph [0051] has the “second ohmic contact pattern 37,5”, which appears to be an error.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines A-A’, B-B’, C-C’, and E-E’, referenced in paragraph 19 of the specification, are not clearly visible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim, US 2022/0085026 A1.
Claim 1: Kim discloses
a substrate (100);
an active pattern array including active patterns (105) on the substrate;
a first contact structure (215, 245) on a central portion of each of the active patterns;
at least one bit line structure (325) on the first contact structure;
a second contact structure (425) on an end portion of each of the active patterns;
at least one third contact structure (475) on the second contact structure;
and a capacitor (550) electrically connected to the at least one third contact structure,
wherein:
the active pattern array includes active pattern rows spaced apart from each other in a second direction (vertical, FIG. 1) substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate,
each of the active pattern rows includes the active patterns spaced apart from each other in a first direction (horizontal, FIG. 1) substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and substantially orthogonal to the second direction,
each of the active patterns extends in a third direction having an acute angle with the first direction and the second direction,
the active patterns in each of the active pattern rows are aligned in the first direction,
and the second contact structure has a rectangular shape in a plan view (FIG. 16).
Claim 2: the second contact structure includes polysilicon doped with impurities ([0041]).
Claim 4: the at least one third contact structure (475) has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width (FIG. 2).
Claim 6: Kim discloses a spacer (385, 397, 405, 445) surrounding a sidewall of the second contact structure and including silicon oxide ([0035]).
Claim 7: Kim discloses an isolation pattern (110) covering sidewalls of the active patterns, wherein the at least one bit line structure extends in the second direction on the active patterns and the isolation pattern (FIG. 1).
Claim 9: Kim discloses gate structures (160), each of the gate structures extending in the first direction (FIG. 1) through upper portions of the active patterns and the isolation pattern, wherein the first contact structure is on an upper surface of a portion of each of the active patterns between the gate structures (FIG. 2).
Claim 10: the at least one bit line structure includes a plurality of bit line structures spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 1), the at least one third contact structure includes a plurality of third contact structures, and the semiconductor device further includes a fence pattern (500) on the substrate, the fence pattern extending in the first direction and separating the third contact structures adjacent to each other in the second direction (FIG. 2).
Claim 11: Kim discloses
a substrate (11);
an active pattern (105) on the substrate;
a first contact structure (215, 245) on a central portion of the active pattern;
a bit line structure (325) on the first contact structure;
a second contact structure (425) on an end portion of the active pattern;
a third contact structure (475) on the second contact structure;
a spacer (385, 397, 405, 445) surrounding the third contact structure and having a lower portion and an upper portion, a thickness of the upper portion being smaller than a thickness of the lower portion (FIG. 18);
a landing pad (top of 475) on the third contact structure;
and a capacitor (550) on the landing pad.
Claim 12: the second contact structure includes polysilicon doped with impurities ([0041]), and the third contact structure includes a metal ([0046]).
Claim 13: the third contact structure has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width (FIG. 2).
Claim 14: the spacer includes an oxide ([0035]).
Claim 17: Kim discloses
a substrate (11);
an active pattern array including active patterns (105) on the substrate;
an isolation pattern (110) on the substrate, the isolation pattern covering sidewalls of the active patterns;
gate structures (160) spaced apart from each other in a second direction (vertical, FIG. 1) substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (FIG. 1), each of the gate structures extending through upper portions of the active patterns and the isolation pattern in a first direction (horizontal, FIG. 1) substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and substantially orthogonal to the second direction (FIGS. 1 and 2);
bit line structures (325) on central portions of the active patterns and the isolation pattern (FIG. 2), each of the bit line structures extending in the second direction, and the bit line structures being spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 1);
a first contact structure (215, 245) on an end portion of each of the active patterns;
a second contact structure (425) on the first contact structure;
and a capacitor (550) electrically connected to the second contact structure,
wherein:
the active pattern array includes active pattern rows spaced apart from each other in the second direction,
each of the active pattern rows includes the active patterns spaced apart from each other in the first direction,
each of the active patterns extends in a third direction having an acute angle with the first direction and the second direction,
the active patterns in each of the active pattern rows are aligned in the first direction,
and the second contact structure has a rectangular shape in a plan view (FIG. 16).
Claim 18: Kim discloses a third contact structure (475) on the second contact structure, wherein the third contact structure has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width (FIG. 2).
Claim 19: Kim discloses a spacer (385, 397, 405, 445) surrounding a sidewall of the second contact structure and including silicon oxide ([0035]).
Claim 20: the spacer includes a lower portion and an upper portion, a thickness of the upper portion is smaller than a thickness of a lower portion (FIG. 2).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 11, and 13 are rejected under 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang, US 2015/0255466 A1.
Claim 1: Hwang discloses
a substrate (101);
an active pattern array including active patterns (103) on the substrate;
a first contact structure (108, FIG. 2B) on a central portion of each of the active patterns;
at least one bit line structure (109) on the first contact structure;
a second contact structure (120, 32, FIG. 2A) on an end portion of each of the active patterns;
at least one third contact (121) structure on the second contact structure;
and a capacitor (123, [0031]) electrically connected to the at least one third contact structure,
wherein:
the active pattern array includes active pattern rows spaced apart from each other in a second direction (horizontal, FIG. 1A) substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate,
each of the active pattern rows includes the active patterns spaced apart from each other in a first direction (vertical, FIG. 1A) substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and substantially orthogonal to the second direction,
each of the active patterns extends in a third direction (B-B’, FIG. 1A) having an acute angle with the first direction and the second direction,
the active patterns in each of the active pattern rows are aligned in the first direction (FIG. 1A),
and the second contact structure has a rectangular shape in a plan view (FIG. 1A).
Claim 2: the second contact structure includes polysilicon doped with impurities. “Each of the second conductive plugs 32 may include a polysilicon layer. The polysilicon layer may be doped with an impurity through a doping process, such as an implantation process.” [0068].
Claim 4: the at least one third contact structure has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width.
Claim 6: Hwang discloses a spacer (60) surrounding a sidewall of the second contact structure and including silicon oxide ([0051]).
Claim 11: Hwang discloses:
a substrate (101);
an active pattern (103) on the substrate;
a first contact structure (108) on a central portion of the active pattern;
a bit line structure (109) on the first contact structure;
a second contact structure (120) on an end portion of the active pattern;
a third contact structure (121) on the second contact structure;
a spacer (SP2) surrounding the third contact structure and having a lower portion and an upper portion, a thickness of the upper portion being smaller than a thickness of the lower portion (FIG. 2A);
a landing pad (top of 121) on the third contact structure;
and a capacitor (123) on the landing pad.
Claim 13: the third contact structure has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width (FIG. 2A).
Claims 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi, US 2022/0181329 A1.
Claim 11: Choi discloses
a substrate (21);
an active pattern (CA) on the substrate;
a first contact structure (DC) on a central portion of the active pattern;
a bit line structure (BL) on the first contact structure;
a second contact structure (BC) on an end portion of the active pattern;
a third contact structure (71) on the second contact structure;
a spacer (61) surrounding the third contact structure and having a lower portion and an upper portion, a thickness of the upper (tapered) portion being smaller than a thickness of the lower portion (FIG. 1);
a landing pad (protruding portion of 71) on the third contact structure;
and a capacitor (95) on the landing pad.
Claim 13: the third contact structure has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width (FIG. 1).
Claim 14: the spacer includes an oxide ([0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, US 2022/0181329 A1, in view of Kim.
Claim 1: Choi discloses
a substrate (21);
an active pattern array (CA) including active patterns on the substrate;
a first contact structure (DC) on a central portion of each of the active patterns;
at least one bit line structure (BL) on the first contact structure;
a second contact structure (BC) on an end portion of each of the active patterns;
at least one third contact structure (71) on the second contact structure;
and a capacitor (95) electrically connected to the at least one third contact structure,
wherein: the active pattern array includes active pattern rows spaced apart from each other in a second direction (horizontal, FIG. 2) substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate, each of the active pattern rows includes the active patterns spaced apart from each other in a first direction (vertical, FIG. 2) substantially parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and substantially orthogonal to the second direction, each of the active patterns extends in a third direction having an acute angle with the first direction and the second direction, the active patterns in each of the active pattern rows are aligned in the first direction (FIG. 2).
Claim 1 also recites that the second contact structure has a rectangular shape in a plan view. Choi does not disclose this, but it was well-known in the art. See Kim, second contact structure 425, FIG. 16. Changes in shape are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 4: the at least one third contact structure has a lower portion and an upper portion, the lower portion having a first width, and the upper portion having a second width greater than the first width (FIG. 1).
Claim 6: Choi discloses a spacer (60) surrounding a sidewall of the second contact structure and including silicon oxide ([0051]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The examiner did not find the claimed series of three buffer layers in the location and having the materials claimed, in light of the overall claimed device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang, US 20190019795 A1, which discloses rows of active regions (FIG. 1)
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897