DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“a lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer is spaced apart from the anode electrode by a portion of the bank that is disposed between the lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer and the anode electrode.” of Claim 4
“a portion of the anode that is disposed on the inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer is thinner than the portion of the anode electrode that extends along the bottom of the concave portion of the first planarization layer.” of Claim 9
“a size of each of the plurality of openings in the planarization layer ( is smaller than a size of each of the plurality of openings in the bank, and the size of each of the plurality of openings in the bank is smaller than a size of each of the plurality of openings in the black matrix.” Of Claim 25
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “second planarization layer disposed between the first planarization layer and the substrate, wherein a transmittance of the second planarization layer is lower than a transmittance of the bank and a transmittance of the first planarization layer.”
Originally filed specifications discloses
“a cathode electrode disposed on the light emitting layer, in which a transmittance of the second planarization layer is lower than a transmittance of the bank.” [0009].
“The transmittance of the third planarization layer PLN3 can be different than the transmittances of the first and second planarization layers PLN1 and PLN2.” [0097].
“Specifically, the transmittance of the third planarization layer PLN3 can be lower than the transmittances of the first and second planarization layers PLN1 and PLN2. For example, the third planarization layer PLN3 can be formed in a black color and absorb light.” [0098]
And
The third planarization layer PLN3 can include at least one concave portion 210. [0099]
Examiner notes that the third planarization layer PLN3 is black material according to originally filed specifications and limitations of Cliam 10 contradict [0098-0098] of Specifications.
Therefore, it is not clear how can transmittance of the second planarization layer is lower than the one of the of the first planarization layer (black material)
For the purposes of examination, the limitations of Claim 10 are considered to be met as long as transmittance of the first planarization layer is lower than a transmittance of the bank and a transmittance of the second planarization layer.
The Examiner further notes that nomenclature for structural items (i.e planarization layers) between Specification and Figures do not match the nomenclature for structural items in the Claims. (i.e. first planarization layer in the Claims corresponds to third planarization layer in Specification and Figures since third planarization layer is the only one with concave portion according to Specifications)
Examiner recommends to use single nomenclature between Spec, Figs and Claims to avoid confusion.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " the second planarization layer " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “the second planarization layer” as--a second planarization layer--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 10-12, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2020/0075699 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (Fig. 4) discloses a subpixel, comprising:
a transistor (120) disposed on a substrate (110);
a first planarization layer (114) disposed on the transistor (120), the first planarization layer (114) including a concave portion (see concave portion in annotated Fig. 4) that corresponds to an emission area (A1) of the subpixel (SP);
an anode electrode disposed (331) in the concave portion (see concave portion in annotated Fig. 4) of the first planarization layer (114);
a light emitting layer (132) disposed on the anode electrode (331); and
a bank (415) disposed on the anode electrode (331), wherein
a portion of the bank (415) is disposed in the concave portion (see concave portion in annotated Fig. 4) of the first planarization layer (114) in an area between a portion of light emitting layer (132) and a portion of an inclined side surface of the anode electrode (331) (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
the first planarization layer (114) is configured to block or absorb light. [0081]
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 2, wherein the first planarization layer includes a black material. [0065]
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
the bank (415) includes a transparent material configured to allow light emitted from the light emitting layer to pass through the bank. [0094]
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
the concave portion of the first planarization layer is a hole that extends all the way through the first planarization layer. (See annotated Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, further comprising:
a second planarization layer (113) disposed between the first planarization layer and the substrate (110), wherein
a transmittance of the second planarization layer (113) is lower than a transmittance of the bank (415) and a transmittance of the first planarization layer (114).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
the second planarization layer (113) includes an additional concave portion (see concave portions corresponding to waves) overlapping with the concave portion of the first planarization layer, and wherein
a portion of the anode electrode (331) is disposed in the additional concave portion of the second planarization layer.(112) (Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 11, wherein a portion of the first planarization layer (114) is disposed in the additional concave portion of the second planarization layer (113).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, further comprising
a contact hole (hole for 331) in the first planarization layer 114), wherein
the anode electrode (331) is electrically connected to the transistor (120) via the contact hole. (Fig. 4)
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel configured to display an image, wherein
the display panel (100) includes the subpixel of claim 1. (Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0075699 A1) in view of Beak et al. (US 2020/0194509 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
Kim does not explicitly disclose the emission area of the subpixel includes a first emission area, a second emission area, and a first non-emission area between the first emission area and the second emission area.
Beak (Fig. 4, 5 and 7B) discloses an emission area of a subpixel includes a first emission area (LEA1), a second emission area (LEA2), and a first non-emission area (NEA2) between the first emission area (LEA1) and the second emission area (LEA2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Kim in view of Beak such that the emission area of the subpixel includes a first emission area, a second emission area, and a first non-emission area between the first emission area and the second emission area in order to improve the luminous efficiency of the display panel [0151].
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Beak discloses the subpixel of claim 7, wherein
a portion of the anode electrode (331) (ANO Beak) that extends along a bottom of the concave portion of the first planarization layer (114) (OC Beak) corresponds to the first emission area (LEA1 BEAK), wherein
an area corresponding to the portion of the bank (415) (BNK Beak) that is disposed in the concave portion of the first planarization layer (114) (OC Beak) corresponds to the first non-emission area (NEA2 Beak), and wherein
an area between an inclined side surface of concave portion (see inclined side surface of the concave portion) in (Kim and Beak) of the first planarization layer (114) (OC Beak) and an included side surface of the anode electrode (331) (Ano Beak) corresponds to the second emission area. (LEA2, Beak)
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Beak discloses the subpixel of claim 8, wherein
a portion of the anode (331) (ANO Beak) that is disposed on the inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer (331) (OC) is thinner than the portion of the anode electrode (331) (ANO Beak) that extends along the bottom of the concave portion of the first planarization layer. (331) (OC)
Kim in view of Beak does not explicitly disclose the a portion of the anode (that is disposed on the inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer is thinner than the portion of the anode electrode that extends along the bottom of the concave portion of the first planarization layer.
However, Kim shows variable thickness of a portion of the anode that that extends along the bottom of the concave portion of the first planarization layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Kim in view of Beak to select thickness for the anode such that a portion of the anode that is disposed on the inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer is thinner than the portion of the anode electrode that extends along the bottom of the concave portion of the first planarization layer in order to improve the luminous efficiency of the display panel [0133].
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0075699 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
Kim in the current embodiment does not explicitly disclose a lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer is spaced apart from the anode electrode by a portion of the bank that is disposed between the lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer and the anode electrode..
However, in a different embodiment Kim (Fig. 6) discloses a lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer (532) is spaced apart from a anode electrode (531A) by a portion of the bank (616) that is disposed between the lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer (532) and the anode electrode (531A). (Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Kim to select a lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer is spaced apart from the anode electrode by a portion of the bank that is disposed between the lowermost inclined portion of the light emitting layer and the anode electrode so that the process cost and the process time or the tack time can be reduced. [0116]
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 12, wherein
a slope of an inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer (114) and a slope of an inclined side surface of the additional concave portion of the second planarization layer. (113)
Kim does not explicitly disclose that a slope of an inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer is steeper than a slope of an inclined side surface of the additional concave portion of the second planarization layer.
However, Kim discloses varying a slope of an inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer [ 20 degrees to 80 degrees.0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Kim to select a slope of an inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer such that a slope of an inclined side surface of the concave portion of the first planarization layer is steeper than a slope of an inclined side surface of the additional concave portion of the second planarization layer in order to enhance color sense difference depending on the viewing angle [0079]
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0075699 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0211979 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 14, further comprising
Kim does not explicitly disclose a spacer disposed on the bank and overlapping with the contact hole in the first planarization layer.
Lee (Fig. 1) discloses a spacer (362) disposed on a bank (130) and overlapping with a contact hole opening in 110 for 125) in a first planarization layer (110)
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Kim in view of Lee such that a spacer disposed on the bank and overlapping with the contact hole in the first planarization layer in order to prevent color mixture [0098]
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2020/0075699 A1) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20150113422 A) hereinafter Lee/422)
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses the subpixel of claim 1, wherein
Kim does not explicitly disclose the anode electrode includes: a first transparent conductive material layer; a second transparent conductive material layer; and a reflective electrode layer disposed between the first transparent conductive material layer and the second transparent conductive material layer.
Lee/422 (Fig. 7) discloses an anode electrode includes: a first transparent conductive material layer (ITO1); a second transparent conductive material layer (ITO2); and a reflective electrode layer (Ag) disposed between the first transparent conductive material layer (ITO1) and the second transparent conductive material layer (ITO2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Kim in view of Lee/422 such that the anode electrode includes: a first transparent conductive material layer; a second transparent conductive material layer; and a reflective electrode layer disposed between the first transparent conductive material layer and the second transparent conductive material layer in order to luminous efficiency of the other sub-pixels and the luminous efficiency of the red sub-pixels can be adjusted to almost the same level. (Lee/422)
Regarding Claim 17, Kim in view of Lee/422 discloses the subpixel of claim 16, wherein a thickness of the first transparent conductive material layer (about 600 Å; Lee/422 ) is greater than a thickness of the second transparent conductive material layer (about 100 Å; Lee/422).
Claim(s) 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2020/0194509 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2021/0118962 A1)
Regarding Claim 19, Beak (Fig. 4-7) discloses a display device, comprising:
a plurality of subpixels (SP) disposed on a substrate (Sub),
each of the plurality of subpixels (SP) including a first emission area (LEA1), a second emission area (LEA2), and a first non-emission area (NEA2) between the first emission area and the second emission area; and
a plurality of openings (Opn) corresponding to the plurality of subpixels (SP), wherein
the first emission area (LEA1), the first non-emission area (NEA2) and the second emission area (LEA2) of a corresponding subpixel among the plurality of subpixels is located inside of an opening (OPN) among the plurality of openings. (NOP, NEA1) [0164-0165].
Shin (Fig. Fig. 1-2) discloses a black matrix (152) including a plurality of openings (openings in 152A, OA) corresponding to the plurality of subpixels (SP), wherein an emission area (EA), a corresponding subpixel among the plurality of subpixels is located inside of an opening (openings in 152A) among the plurality of openings in the black matrix (152).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Beak in view of Shin such that a black matrix including a plurality of openings corresponding to the plurality of subpixels and the first emission area, the first non-emission area and the second emission area of a corresponding subpixel among the plurality of subpixels is located inside of an opening among the plurality of openings in the black matrix in order to improve a reflective visibility [0006] and minimize the luminance deterioration and color distortion in accordance with a viewing angle. [0007].
Regarding Claim 20, Beak in view of Shin discloses the display device of claim 19, further comprising:
a bank (BNK) including a plurality of openings for the plurality of subpixels, wherein
each of the plurality of openings in the bank (BNK) corresponds to the first emission area (LEA1) of one of the plurality of subpixels (SP).
Regarding Claim 21, Beak in view of Shin discloses the display device of claim 20, wherein
an area of the black matrix (152 Shin) is greater than an area of the bank (114 Shin).
Regarding Claim 22, Beak in view of Shin discloses the display device of claim 20, wherein
a size of each of the plurality of openings (opening in 152) in the bank (114) is smaller than a size of each of the plurality of openings (OA) in the black matrix (152 Shin).
Regarding Claim 23, Beak in view of Shin discloses the display device of claim 19, wherein
the first non-emission area (NEA2) surrounds the first emission area (LEA1), and the second emission area (LEA2) surrounds the first non-emission area (NEA2), and wherein
an outer edge of the second emission area (NEA1) corresponds to an edge of one of the plurality of openings in the black matrix (OA, EA; Shin).
Regarding Claim 24, Beak in view of Shin discloses the display device of claim 23, further comprising:
a planarization layer (OC) including a plurality of openings (A1, SA) for the plurality of subpixels (SP), wherein
the first emission area (LEA1) and the first non-emission area (NEA2) of each of the plurality of subpixels (SP) are included in one of the plurality of openings (A1, SA) in the planarization layer (OC).
Regarding Claim 25, Beak in view of Shin discloses the display device of claim 24, further comprising:
a bank (BNK) including a plurality of openings (OPN) for the plurality of subpixels (SP), wherein
each of the plurality of openings in the bank corresponds to the first emission area (LEA1) of one of the plurality of subpixels (SP), and wherein
a size of each of the plurality of openings in the planarization layer is smaller than a size of each of the plurality of openings in the bank, and the size of each of the plurality of openings in the bank is smaller than a size of each of the plurality of openings in the black matrix. (See Fig. 4-9 Beak and 7 of Shin)
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beak et al. (US 2020/0194509 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2021/0118962 A1) and further in view of Gil et al. (US 2019/0189957 A1).
Regarding Claim 26, Beak in view of Shin discloses display device of claim 24, further comprising:
Beak in view of Shin does not explicitly disclose a dam disposed in a non-emission area of the substrate, wherein the dam and the planarization layer include a same black material.
Gil (Fig. 5) discloses a dam (220) disposed in a non-emission area (NA) of the substrate (100), wherein the dam (220) and a planarization layer (141,161) include a same black material. (Fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optoelectronic semiconductor device in Beak in view of Shin such that a dam disposed in a non-emission area of the substrate, wherein the dam and the planarization layer include a same black material in order to block a path for moisture penetration [0083]
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891