DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 06 May 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seo (US 2021/0066418).
Regarding independent claim 1, Seo teaches a display device comprising a substrate (Fig. 4, Element 100; ¶ [0057]); a via insulating layer (Fig. 4, Element 111; ¶ [0095]) disposed on the substrate and defining a groove; a lower electrode (Fig. 4, Element ES1; ¶ [0146]) disposed on the via insulating layer and spaced apart from the groove in a plan view; a pixel defining layer (Fig. 4, Elements 113; ¶ [0091]) disposed on the via insulating layer, defining an opening (Fig. 4, Element TH1; ¶ [0091]) exposing at least a part of an upper surface of the lower electrode, and filling the groove; and a light-emitting layer (Fig. 4, Element 320; ¶ [0125]) disposed in the opening of the pixel defining layer.
Regarding claim 2, Seo teaches the lower electrode including a first part including an upper surface exposed by the opening; and a second part spaced apart from the first part and surrounded by the groove in the plan view (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Seo teaches the pixel defining layer including a first area defining the opening and covering at least a part of the first part of the lower electrode; and a second area overlapping the second part of the lower electrode in the plan view (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches with respect to the upper surface of the lower electrode, a height of an upper surface of the pixel defining layer in the second area is greater than a height of the upper surface of the pixel defining layer in the first area (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 6, Seo teaches a surface of the pixel defining layer having liquid repellency (¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches the pixel defining layer including an inorganic material including a light blocking material with black color or an organic material including the light blocking material with the black color (¶ [0124]).
Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches an upper surface of the light-emitting layer having a concave cross-sectional shape toward the substrate (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Seo teaches the via insulating layer including a positive photosensitive material (¶ [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2021/0066418).
Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches the limitations of claim 3 discussed earlier. Seo also teaches the height of the pixel defining layer having a varying thickness (¶ [0094]) but fails to exemplify, with respect to the upper surface of the lower electrode, a height of an upper surface of the pixel defining layer in the first area is less than about 1.0 micrometer.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Seo with a height of an upper surface of the pixel defining layer in the first area being less than about 1.0 micrometer, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 2022/0181410) teaches a display apparatus with a bank disposed on pixel defining layer. Zhang (US 2021/0210515) teaches an array substrate with a protrusion disposed a planarization layer. Lang (US 2021/0091149) teaches a display substrate. Choi (US 2020/0043998) teaches an organic light-emitting diode with pixel-defining layer including an opening exposing a pixel electrode. Park (US 2019/0214601) teaches an electroluminescent device with a buffer region. Bang (US 2018/0366524) teaches a display device with a pixel defining layer including a convex portion.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 8 August 2026