DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first resist layer" in line 13 and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purpose, the limitataion “the first resist layer”, will be replaced by “the first of resin”.
As claims 13 and 16-18 depend on the above rejected claim 12, they are also being rejected on the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 7521770 B2, hereinafter Wu’770) in view of Kinoshita (US 20080267616 A1, hereinafter Kinoshita’616).
Regarding independent claim 12, Wu’770 teaches, “A device (fig. 1-2; related descriptions), comprising:
a support (11) having an upper surface;
an integrated circuit chip (14) mounted on the upper surface of the support (11),
wherein the integrated circuit chip (14) comprises:
a lower surface (of IC 14) facing the upper surface of the support (11),
at least one pixel arranged at an upper surface of the integrated circuit chip (14) and in a central portion of the upper surface of the integrated circuit chip (14), and
first electrical connection pads arranged at a periphery of the upper surface of the integrated circuit chip (14);
a first layer of resin (17, ‘curable adhesive’) covering the upper surface of the support (11) and the periphery of the integrated circuit chip (14) and comprising a first opening (see annotation) in front of the central portion of the integrated circuit chip (14); and
a second layer of resin (22, ‘holder’) covering a portion of the first layer of resin (17) and comprising a second opening (accommodating element 15, 30) having a central portion emerging onto the first opening (see annotation) and a peripheral portion (see annotation) emerging onto an upper surface of the first of resin (17); and
a transparent plate (15) located in the second opening, positioned for closing the first opening and wherein a periphery of a lower surface of the transparent plate (15) is supported by the upper surface of the first of resin (17); and
a third layer of resin (212, polycarbonate, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene) covering the second layer of resin (22) and a periphery of an upper surface of the transparent plate (15); and
wherein the second layer of resin (22) prevents displacements of the transparent plate (15) in a plane parallel to the upper surface of the support (11).
But Wu’770 is silent upon the provision of wherein layer 22 (‘holder’) is a resin layer.
However, Kinoshita’616 teaches a similar structure (fig. 1), wherein the ‘holder’ layer (12) is a resin layer (¶ [0081]).
Wu’770 and Kinoshita’616 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Wu’770 with the features of Kinoshita’616 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wu’770 and Kinoshita’616 to include a resin layer as a ‘holder’ according to the teachings of Kinoshita’616 with a motivation of exploiting the general advantages of resin materials e.g., high dielectric strength for electrical insulation, better thermal conductivity, design flexibility etc.
Regarding claim 16, Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 further teach, “The device according to claim 12, wherein the second layer of resin (22, fig. 1, Wu’770) comprises a laminate film layer positioned on the first layer of resin (17)”.
Regarding claim 17, Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 further teach, “The device according to claim 12, wherein the transparent plate (15, fig. 1) and the second opening (accommodating element 15, 30) have substantially (a very broad word) equal dimensions in a plane parallel to the upper surface of the support (11)”.
Regarding claim 18, Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 further teach, “The device according to claim 12, further comprising electrical connection wires (16, fig. 1) between the first electrical connection pads and second electrical connection pads (113) of the support (11) that are arranged on the side of the upper surface of the support (11), and wherein the first layer of resin (17) covers the first electrical connection pads wires and the second electrical connection pads”.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu’770 and Kinoshita’616 as applied to claim 12 as above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20170264799 A1, hereinafter Wang’799).
Regarding claim 13, Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 teach all the limitations described in claim 12.
But Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 is silent upon the provision of no glue is positioned between the upper surface of the integrated circuit chip and the lower surface of the transparent plate.
However, Wang’799 teaches a similar optical device, wherein no glue is positioned between the upper surface of the integrated circuit chip (121, fig. 10) and the lower surface of the transparent plate (20). (The element 111 covering the bonding wires 124, circuit board 122 and photosensitive sensor 121, is made of polypropylene. See ¶ [0155]. Polypropylene is a non-adhesive resin)
Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 and Wang’799 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 with the features of Wang’799 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Wu’770 modified with Kinoshita’616 and Wang’799 to include non-adhesive resins to cover the bonding wires according to the teachings of Wang’799 to exploit the advantages of the non-adhesive resins such as high-temperature resistance, and friction reduction etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being as used in the current rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817