DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims set filed 01/12/2026 following the Non-Final Rejection of 10/10/2025. Claims 1, 15 and 18 were amended; claims 11-13 were cancelled. Claims 1-10 and 15-21 are currently pending with claims 10, 16-17 and 20 withdrawn from consideration as being party to a non-elected species.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/12/2026, with respect to claims rejected under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. These rejections of 10/10/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/12/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) rejected under 35 USC § 102 and claims 1 and 11 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections as previously present have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments made to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/12/2026, with respect to claim 15 rejected under 35 USC § 103 over Mackin (US 2021/0122478) in view of Hield (US 5694765) has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections as previously present have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further consideration of the claims.
Regarding Applicant's point on page 9 of Remarks that “page 3 of the Office Action indicates the features of "the layshaft gear is arranged between and meshed with the inner gearing connection and the outer gearing connection, and the layshaft gear couples the inner gearing connection and the outer gearing connection" in amended claim 18 above would "overcome the 35 USC§ 102 rejection over Sheridan. "For at least this reason, this rejection of claim 18 and, thus, the rejections of its dependent claims should be withdrawn”.
Sheridan fails to anticipate claim 18, specifically the limitation of “the layshaft gear is arranged between and meshed with the inner gearing connection and the outer gearing connection”. It is also noted that the amendments made to claim 18 are not the same as Examiner’s remarks stated in the Office Action of 10/10/2025 which were particular to introducing specific gears and discussing how they intermesh with each other; such as in prior claim 11 as Remarking in the prior Office Action. Instead, claim 18 as amended recites of gearing connections and how they would interface with the layshaft gear; “gearing connection” having a broader “Broadest reasonably interpretation” than simply “gear” as it can broadly comprise a mechanical linkage between gears that enables controlled transmission of rotational motion.
Applicant's point on page 10 of Remarks that “Paragraph [0048] of Mackin discloses "the SA compressor 238, the YC compressor 246, the gearbox 257 and or the gearbox 263a are disposed within the nacelle 206 (e.g., an upper bifurcation) of the aircraft engine 110. "Paragraph [0049] of Mackin further discloses "[unlike known systems, the SA compressor system 237 extracts the fan air 205a (e.g., having a lower pressure and is relatively cooler) instead of, for example, bleed air from the LPC 210 and uses the power from the engine shaft 218 to boost the pressure of the air an appropriate amount for the aircraft systems (e.g., the ECS 201, the TAI 202, the other aircraft system(s) 203). As a result, the SA compressor system 237 does not utilize a precooler or intercooler to reduce a temperature of the air which wastes energy that was used to produce the relatively higher pressurized bleed air in the LPC 210. "Thus, Mackin discloses the alleged outer tower shaft (element 260) is coupled with the alleged gearbox (263 a) within the upper bifurcation of the aircraft engine to provide cooling to its SA compressor system 237 without need for a precooler or intercooler” and that “in contrast, paragraph [0010] of Sheridan discloses "[flan bypass 46 is positioned between main accessory gearbox 54 and second accessory gearbox 68. "Applicants submit therefore a skilled practitioner in the art would not be motivated to combine the teachings of Mackin with Sheridan as alleged in the Office Action. The resulting combination would render the SA compressor system of Mackin unsuitable for its intended purpose of extracting fan air without utilizing a precooler / intercooler. Further, the proposed combination of Makin with Sheridan would change the principle of operation of Mackin's assembly such that a rejection under Section 103 is improper” is not found persuasive by Examiner.
While the disclosure of Mackin presents an alleged tower shaft element coupled with a gearbox within the upper bifurcation. This is only an exemplary location of the broader stated possible location of “within the nacelle 206” in pr. 48. As such, the modification of Mackin with the teachings Sheridan would not change the principle of operation of Mackin’s disclosure nor would it render the SA compressor system 237 of Mackin unsuitable for its intended purpose. The aspect in pr. 49 related to the SA compressor system extracting fan air 205a does not necessitate that the gearbox 263A be only in the upper bifurcation as the fan air passageway 240 which feeds into the SA compressor system 237 can be routed such that it extracts from the fan air 205a. Mackin does not state any particular reason why the combination of Mackin and Sheridan would teach away or why it renders it unsuitable for the intended purpose of Mackin. The combination of Mackin and Sheridan can still avoid utilizing a precooler/intercooler since air can still be extracted from the relatively cooler fan air 205a.
Applicant's point on pages 12-13 of Remarks relating to rejection of claim 15 as previously presented was found persuasive, the rejection as previously presented has been withdrawn. However, a new grounds of rejection is presented below following further consideration. See rejection of claim 15 below for further details.
Examiner Note: since a new rejection is being presented for claim 15 and the scope of claim 15 was not amended to necessitate this new grounds of rejection, this Office Action is Non-Final. Examiner apologies for any inconvenience that this may cause.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0122478, herein referenced as Mackin, in view of US 2013/0098058, herein referenced as Sheridan.
Cropped version of Figure 2 of Mackin
Regarding Claim 1, Mackin discloses an assembly for a turbine engine (aircraft engine 110), comprising:
an engine housing including an inner case (see casing for engine core 204 in fig. 6B) and an outer case (see fan case or radially inner surface of nacelle 206 fig. 2, shown in fig. 6B as well);
an inner tower shaft (primary driveshaft 256 fig. 2) rotatable about an inner shaft axis (see axis of primary driveshaft 256 fig. 2);
a layshaft (second driveshaft 262 fig. 2) rotatable about a layshaft axis (axis of shaft 262 fig. 2), the layshaft coupled to the inner tower shaft (256 fig. 2; see connection between second bevel gear 258b and bevel gear 262a in fig. 2);
an outer tower shaft (first driveshaft 260 fig. 2) rotatable about an outer shaft axis (see axis of 260 fig. 2), the outer tower shaft coupled to the layshaft (262 fig. 2; see connection between bevel gear 260a and bevel gear 262a fig. 2);
an intermediate gear system (comprised of gears 258b, 262a and 260a in fig. 2) configured to transfer mechanical power from the inner tower shaft (256 fig. 2; “the primary driveshaft 256 drives or rotates the second driveshaft 262 via engagement with the gear 262 a, which drives or rotates the first driveshaft 260 via engagement with the gear 260 a of the first driveshaft 260” pr. 46) to the layshaft (262 fig. 2) and the outer tower shaft (260 fig. 2), the intermediate gear system including an inner shaft bevel gear (bevel gear 258b fig. 2), an outer shaft bevel gear (bevel gear 260a fig. 2) and a layshaft bevel gear (bevel gear 262a fig. 2) arranged between and meshed with the inner shaft bevel gear and the outer shaft bevel gear (bevel gear 262a shown to be meshed with bevel gears 258a and 260a in fig. 2), the inner shaft bevel gear rotatably fixed to the inner tower shaft (see bevel gear 258b fixed to primary driveshaft 256 in fig. 2), the outer shaft bevel gear rotatably fixed to the outer tower shaft (see bevel gear 260a fixed to shaft 260 in fig. 2), and the layshaft bevel gear rotatably fixed to the layshaft (see bevel gear 262a fixed to shaft 262 in fig. 2);
an inner gearbox coupled to the intermediate gear system (see gearbox 257 fig. 2) through the layshaft (“The VC compressor 246 operates at the same speed as the primary driveshaft 256 and/or the second driveshaft 262. However, in some examples, a transmission (e.g., a continuous variable speed transmission) can be provided to vary (e.g., increase or decrease) a speed of the VC compressor 246 relative to a speed of the aircraft engine 110 (e.g., the engine shaft 218 and/or the primary driveshaft 256)” pr. 48; this transmission would be provided similarly to gearbox/transmission 237a), the inner gearbox mounted with the inner case (see VC compressor 246 disposed within the casing of the engine core 204 in fig. 6B, this location of VC compressor 246 would mean that its associated transmission, disclosed in pr. 48, would be mounted with the inner case or casing of the engine core 204; while pr. 72 states that “for example, the VC compressor 246 and the condenser 248 are located in an upper bifurcation 602”, fig. 6B does show that it is provided within the inner case. As such, it can be understood that the VC compressor and its associated transmission can be provided in a section of the upper bifurcation within the casing of the engine core 204); and
an outer gearbox (263a fig. 2) coupled to the intermediate gear system (257 fig. 2) through the outer tower shaft (260 fig. 2).
However, Mackin fails to anticipate the outer gearbox disposed in an outer region located radially outboard of the outer case.
Mackin and Sheridan are analogous art since they both relate to the field of endeavor of gas turbine engines.
Figure 2 of Sheridan
Sheridan teaches an outer gearbox (see secondary accessory gearbox 68 in figs. 1-3) coupled to the intermediate gear system through the outer tower shaft (72 fig. 2), the outer gearbox disposed in an outer region (68 shown to be provided within nacelle 52 in fig. 1-2) located radially outboard of the outer case (secondary accessory gearbox 68 shown to be radially outboard from the fan case 50, which is part of the radially inner surface 52B, in figs. 1-2). Sheridan further teaches that (“like second accessory gearbox 68, each of supply pump 82, oil tank 84, filter 86, deoiler 92, permanent magnet generator 102, and electronic engine controller 104 are positioned on fan case 50, substantially inside fan nacelle 52 (shown in FIG. 1), allowing for relatively easy access to each for repair and maintenance. In alternative embodiments, more or fewer components can be mounted on fan case 50” in pr. 15 and that “accessories that benefit from being positioned in a relatively cool environment can be positioned in the nacelle” in pr. 19.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mackin such that the outer gearbox is disposed in an outer region located radially outboard of the outer case, such as on the radially outer side of the fan case, as disclosed by Sheridan so as to obtain the benefit of ‘allowing relatively easy access to component for repair and maintenance’ as taught by Sheridan.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan comprises the assembly of claim 1, further comprising:
an engine rotating assembly (see HPC 212, engine shaft 218 and high-pressure turbine 222 in fig. 2 of Mackin) comprising a turbine rotor (see high-pressure turbine 222 fig. 2 of Mackin; “the engine shaft 218 is operatively coupled to a high-pressure turbine 222” pr. 34 of Mackin), the engine rotating assembly rotatable about an engine axis (shown in fig. 2 of Mackin); and
an inner gear system configured to transfer the mechanical power from the engine rotating assembly to the inner tower shaft (see gears 259 and 258a which transfer mechanical power from the rotor assembly to shaft 256 in fig. 2 of Mackin; “first gear 258 a is engaged with a second gear 259 (e.g., a spool) of the aircraft engine 110 that is operatively coupled to the engine shaft 218 of the HPC 212” pr. 45 of Mackin) to drive operation of the inner gearbox (the transmission, such as a continuous variable speed transmission, configured with VC compressor 246 fig. 2 disclosed in pr. 48 of Mackin) and the outer gearbox (263a fig. 2 of Mackin as modified by Sheridan in the combination above).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan comprises the assembly of claim 2, further comprising:
a high pressure turbine section (high-pressure turbine 222 fig. 2 of Mackin); and a low pressure turbine section (low-pressure turbine 220 in fig. 2 of Mackin);
the turbine rotor disposed in the high pressure turbine section (the engine shaft 218, which is coupled with shaft 256, is coupled with the high-pressure turbine 222 in fig. 2 of Mackin, as disclosed in pr. 34 and 45 of Mackin).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan comprises the assembly of claim 2, wherein at least two of the inner shaft axis (axis of shaft 256 fig. 2 of Mackin), the layshaft axis (axis of shaft 262 fig. 2 of Mackin), the outer shaft axis or the engine axis are disposed in a common reference plane (a common reference plane can be defined for the axis of shaft 256 and the axis of shaft 262 since they are directly connected together via bevel gears 258b and 262a in fig. 2 of Mackin).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan comprises the assembly of claim 1, wherein at least two of the inner shaft axis (axis of shaft 256 fig. 2 of Mackin), the layshaft axis (axis of shaft 262 fig. 2 of Mackin), the outer shaft axis or the engine axis are disposed in a common reference plane (a common reference plane can be defined for the axis of shaft 256 and the axis of shaft 262 since they are directly connected together via bevel gears 258b and 262a in fig. 2 of Mackin).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan comprises the assembly of claim 1, wherein the inner shaft axis is angularly offset from the outer shaft axis by an inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle (see angle defined between shaft 256 and shaft 260 in fig. 2 of Mackin).
However, Mackin fails to disclose that the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle is an obtuse angle.
Since the only difference between the prior art and the claim is a recitation of a relative dimension and/or position of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension/position would not perform differently than the prior art device or modify the operation of the device, the instant specification does not discloses that the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle being an obtuse angle solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it would have been an obvious matter of rearrangement of parts to modify the combination of Mackin and Sheridan such that the shaft 260 is obtuse relative to shaft 256 (see fig. 2 of Mackin). This could be accomplished by one of ordinary skill in the art by possibly modifying the axis of shaft 260 and gear 260a to be inclined relative to shaft 256, instead of parallel. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. “Rearrangement of Parts” for more details.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan comprises the assembly of claim 1, but fails to anticipate wherein the inner shaft axis is non-parallel with the outer shaft axis.
Since the only difference between the prior art and the claim is a recitation of a relative dimension and/or positioning of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension/position would not perform differently than the prior art device or modify the operation of the device, the instant specification does not discloses that the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle being an obtuse angle solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it would have been an obvious matter of rearrangement of parts to modify the combination of Mackin and Sheridan such that the shaft 260 is obtuse relative to shaft 256 (see fig. 2 of Mackin). This could be accomplished by one of ordinary skill in the art by possibly modifying the axis of shaft 260 and gear 260a to be inclined relative to shaft 256, instead of parallel. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. “Rearrangement of Parts” for more details.
Regarding Claim 8, Mackin discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of
the inner shaft axis is angularly offset from the layshaft axis by an inner shaft-layshaft offset angle (see angle defined between the axis of shaft 256 and the axis of shaft 262 in fig. 2 of Mackin), and the inner shaft-layshaft offset angle is equal to or greater than ninety degrees (see fig. 2, angle shown to be 90 degrees; additionally, an angle defined between the axes of shaft 256 and shaft 262 would inherently include an angle defined between them that is 90 degrees or greater since the angular offset on each side of an axis relative to the other axis would together add up to 180 degrees; for example, a first axis angularly offset from a second axis by 60 degrees could also be described as being offset by 120 degrees); or
the outer shaft axis is angularly offset from the layshaft axis by an outer shaft-layshaft offset angle (an angle defined between the axis of shaft 260 and the axis of shaft 262 in fig. 2 of Mackin), and the outer shaft-layshaft offset angle is equal to or greater than ninety degrees (see fig. 2 of Mackin, angle shown to be 90 degrees; additionally, an angle defined between the axes of shaft 260 and shaft 262 would inherently include an angle defined between them that is 90 degrees or greater since the angular offset on each side of an axis relative to the other axis would together add up to 180 degrees; for example, a first axis angularly offset from a second axis by 60 degrees could also be described as being offset by 120 degrees).
Regarding Claim 9, Mackin discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the inner shaft axis is angularly offset from the layshaft axis by an inner shaft-layshaft offset angle (angle defined between shaft 256 and shaft 262 in fig. 2 of Mackin);
the outer shaft axis is angularly offset from the layshaft axis by an outer shaft-layshaft offset angle (angle defined between shaft 260 and shaft 262 in fig. 2 of Mackin); and
the outer shaft-layshaft offset angle is equal to the inner shaft-layshaft offset angle (angle defined between shafts 260 and 262 is shown to be same as an angle defined between shafts 256 and 262 in fig. 2 of Mackin; the shafts 256,262,260 are also described as rotating at the same speed which would mean that the angled as recited in the claim would be equal, “gearbox 257 provides a one-to-one speed ratio such that the first driveshaft 260 operatively coupled to the SA compressor 238 and the second driveshaft 262 operatively coupled to the VC compressor 246 rotate at a substantially similar speed as the primary driveshaft 256” pr. 46 of Mackin).
Regarding Claim 15, Mackin discloses an assembly for a turbine engine (aircraft engine 110), comprising:
an engine housing including an inner case (see casing for engine core 204 in fig. 6B) and a fan case (see fan case or inner surface of nacelle 206 fig. 2 and shown in fig. 6B as well);
an inner tower shaft (primary driveshaft 256 fig. 2) rotatable about an inner shaft axis (see axis of primary driveshaft 256 fig. 2);
a layshaft (second driveshaft 262 fig. 2) rotatable about a layshaft axis (axis of shaft 262 fig. 2), the layshaft directly coupled to the inner tower shaft (256 fig. 2) through a first gearing connection (see connection between second bevel gear 258b and bevel gear 262a which directly couple 262 and 256 together in fig. 2);
an outer tower shaft (first driveshaft 260 fig. 2) rotatable about an outer shaft axis (see axis of 260 fig. 2), the outer tower shaft coupled to the inner tower shaft through a second gearing connection (see gearing connection between shafts 260 and 256 which is comprised of bevel gear 260a, bevel gear 262a and bevel gear 258b in fig. 2);
a gear system (see gearbox 257 fig. 2) configured to transfer mechanical power from the inner tower shaft (256 fig. 2; “the primary driveshaft 256 drives or rotates the second driveshaft 262 via engagement with the gear 262 a, which drives or rotates the first driveshaft 260 via engagement with the gear 260 a of the first driveshaft 260” pr. 46) to the layshaft (262 fig. 2) and the outer tower shaft (260 fig. 2), the gear system (257 fig. 2) including the first gearing connection (gears 262a and 258b shown to be included in gearbox 257 fig. 2) and the second gearing connection (gears 260a, 262a and 258b are shown to be included in gearbox 257 fig. 2);
an inner gearbox coupled to the intermediate gear system (see gearbox 257 fig. 2) through the layshaft (“The VC compressor 246 operates at the same speed as the primary driveshaft 256 and/or the second driveshaft 262. However, in some examples, a transmission (e.g., a continuous variable speed transmission) can be provided to vary (e.g., increase or decrease) a speed of the VC compressor 246 relative to a speed of the aircraft engine 110 (e.g., the engine shaft 218 and/or the primary driveshaft 256)” pr. 48; this transmission would be provided similarly to gearbox/transmission 237a); and
an outer gearbox (263a fig. 2) coupled to the intermediate gear system (257 fig. 2) through the outer tower shaft (260 fig. 2);
wherein the inner shaft axis (see axis of shaft 256 fig. 2) is angularly offset from the outer shaft axis (see axis of shaft 260 fig. 2) by an inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle (angle defined between the axis of 256 and axis of 260 in fig. 2).
While Mackin discloses that “the gearbox 263 a are disposed within the nacelle 206 (e.g., an upper bifurcation) of the aircraft engine 110” in pr. 48, Mackin fails to anticipate the outer gearbox mounted to the fan case, and wherein the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle between 120° and 160°.
Mackin and Sheridan are analogous art since they both relate to the field of endeavor of gas turbine engines.
Sheridan teaches of the outer gearbox (see secondary accessory gearbox 68 in figs. 1-3) mounted to the fan case (secondary accessory gearbox 68 shown to be inside the fan nacelle 52 in fig. 1 and to be mounted to the fan case 50, which is part of the radially inner surface 52B, in fig. 2). Sheridan further teaches that (“like second accessory gearbox 68, each of supply pump 82, oil tank 84, filter 86, deoiler 92, permanent magnet generator 102, and electronic engine controller 104 are positioned on fan case 50, substantially inside fan nacelle 52 (shown in FIG. 1), allowing for relatively easy access to each for repair and maintenance. In alternative embodiments, more or fewer components can be mounted on fan case 50” in pr. 15 and that “accessories that benefit from being positioned in a relatively cool environment can be positioned in the nacelle” in pr. 19.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mackin such that the outer gearbox is disposed in an outer region and mounted to the fan case, as disclosed by Sheridan, so as to obtain the benefit of ‘allowing relatively easy access to component for repair and maintenance’ as taught by Sheridan.
However, the combination of Mackin and Sheridan fails to teach the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle between 120° and 160°.
Since the only difference between the prior art and the claim is a recitation of a relative dimension and/or positioning of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension/position would not perform differently than the prior art device or modify the operation of the device, the instant specification does not discloses that the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle being an obtuse angle between 120° and 160° solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it would have been an obvious matter of rearrangement of parts to modify the combination of Mackin and Sheridan such that the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle between shaft 260 and shaft 256 (see fig. 2 of Mackin) is between 120° and 160°. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. “Rearrangement of Parts” for more details.
Claim(s) 18-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin.
Regarding Claim 18, Mackin discloses an assembly for a turbine engine (aircraft engine 110), comprising:
an inner tower shaft (primary driveshaft 256 fig. 2) rotatable about an inner shaft axis (see axis of primary driveshaft 256 fig. 2);
a layshaft (second driveshaft 262 fig. 2) rotatable about a layshaft axis (axis of shaft 262 fig. 2);
an outer tower shaft (first driveshaft 260 fig. 2) rotatable about an outer shaft axis (see axis of 260 fig. 2);
an intermediate gear system (see gearbox 257 fig. 2) coupled to the inner tower shaft (256 fig. 2), the layshaft (262 fig. 2) and the outer tower shaft (260 fig. 2), the intermediate gear system including an inner gearing connection (see connection between second bevel gear 258b and bevel gear 262a which directly couple 262 and 256 together in fig. 2), an outer gearing connection (see gearing connection between shafts 260 and 256 which is comprised of bevel gear 260a, bevel gear 262a and bevel gear 258b in fig. 2) and a layshaft gear (see bevel gear 262a attached to shaft 262 in fig. 2), the intermediate gear system configured to transfer mechanical power from the inner tower shaft to the layshaft and the outer tower shaft (see shaft 256 mechanically coupled to shafts 262 and 260 via the gearbox 257 in fig. 2);
an inner gearbox coupled to the intermediate gear system through the layshaft (“The VC compressor 246 operates at the same speed as the primary driveshaft 256 and/or the second driveshaft 262. However, in some examples, a transmission (e.g., a continuous variable speed transmission) can be provided to vary (e.g., increase or decrease) a speed of the VC compressor 246 relative to a speed of the aircraft engine 110 (e.g., the engine shaft 218 and/or the primary driveshaft 256)” pr. 48; this transmission would be provided similarly to gearbox/transmission 237a); and
an outer gearbox (263a fig. 2) coupled to the intermediate gear system (257 fig. 2) through the outer tower shaft (260 fig. 2);
wherein the layshaft is coupled to the inner tower shaft through the inner gearing connection (shaft 262 shown to be coupled to shaft 256 via the interface between gears 262a and 258b in fig. 2), the layshaft is coupled to the outer tower shaft through the outer gearing connection (shaft 262 shown to be coupled to shaft 260 through the gearing interface between gears 262a and 260a in fig. 2), and the layshaft gear (262a fig. 2) is arranged between and meshed with the inner gearing connection and the outer gearing connection (gear 262a shown to be arranged between and meshed with gear 258b and gear 260a in fig. 2), and the layshaft gear couples the inner gearing connection and the outer gearing connection (the gear 262a are shown to form a mechanical connection between gear 258b and gear 260a in fig. 2).
However, Mackin fails to anticipate that the outer shaft axis of the outer tower shaft is non-parallel with the inner shaft axis and the layshaft axis.
Since the only difference between the prior art and the claim is a recitation of a relative dimension and/or positioning of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension/position would not perform differently than the prior art device or modify the operation of the device, the instant specification does not discloses that the inner shaft-outer shaft offset angle being an obtuse angle solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it would have been an obvious matter of rearrangement of parts to modify Mackin such that the shaft 260 is at an obtuse angle relative to shaft 256. This could be accomplished by one of ordinary skill in the art by possibly modifying the axis of shaft 260 and gear 260a to be inclined relative to shaft 256, instead of parallel. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. “Rearrangement of Parts” for more details.
Regarding Claim 19, Mackin as modified above comprises the assembly of claim 18, wherein the inner shaft axis, the layshaft axis and the outer shaft axis are disposed in a common reference plane (a common reference plane can be defined for the axes of shafts 256, 262 and 260 as presented in fig. 2, as modified above).
Regarding Claim 21, Mackin as modified above comprises the assembly of claim 18, wherein the outer tower shaft extends radially between the layshaft and the outer gearbox (the shaft 260 is shown to extend radially between shaft 262 and the gearbox 263a in fig. 2 of Mackin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12215631 – discloses a gas turbine engine with an accessory gearbox mechanically coupled to the engine rotor via a drive shaft, the drive shaft extending generally radially, and stated at an angle between 0 to 30 degrees relative to the radial axis.
/W.L.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745