DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
In Figure 6E, change STB1 to STB2. Compare with Figure 6D.
The description of low potential voltage line VSSL as being disposed on gate insulating layer 113a is not shown in Figure 7. Instead, VSSL is disposed directly on substrate 110.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 16, paragraph 97, line 7: Change 6F to 6E. There is no Figure 6F in the drawings.
Pages 21-22, paragraphs 119-120: There is an inconsistency in the reference to the high potential voltage line VDDL and the low potential voltage line VSSL. For instance, paragraph 120 describes the high potential voltage line VDDL as being connected to n-electrode 135, but in Figure 7, the n-electrode 135 is connected to low potential voltage VSSL. Note that is the VSSL at right in Figure 7 is changed to VDDL, the discussion of Figure 7 should be reviewed to ensure that all places where VSSL is mentioned are confirmed to be for VSSL and not VDDL.
Page 23, paragraph 128, line 1: Change “dispose” to “disposed”.
Page 34, paragraph 169, first line of the page: Change “shoring” to “shorting”.
Page 34, paragraphs 172-178: There is an inconsistency in the reference to the high potential voltage line and the low potential voltage line in these paragraphs. The problem begins in paragraph 172 when the second shorting bar is described as being connected to the first side line connected to the plurality of low potential power lines, and insulated from the first shorting bar. The first shorting bar is described as being connected to the first side line connected to the high potential power line. Beginning in paragraph 174, the description states that the first shorting bar is connected to the low potential power line and the second shorting bar is connected to the high potential power line. In other words, the shorting bars are reversed. Please review paragraphs 172-178 and correct to make them consistent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 4: Change “shoring” to “shorting”.
Claim 10 is objected to for depending from objected-to base claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 12, which depends from claim 11, which depends from claim 1: Claim 12 defines the second shorting bar as being connected to the plurality of first side lines connected to the plurality of low potential power lines and insulated from the first shorting bar, and defines the first shorting bar as being connected to the plurality of first sides lines connected to the high potential power line. Claim 14 defines the first shorting bar as having a plurality of parts spaced apart from each other, and the each part of the first shorting bar is connected to a part of the plurality of first side lines connected to the low potential power line, not the high potential power line. Because the claim requirements conflict, claim 14 is rejected as indefinite.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 12, which depends from claim 11, which depends from claim 1: Claim 12 defines the second shorting bar as being connected to the plurality of first side lines connected to the plurality of low potential power lines and insulated from the first shorting bar, and defines the first shorting bar as being connected to the plurality of first sides lines connected to the high potential power line. Claim 15 defines the second shorting bar as having a plurality of parts spaced apart from each other, and the each part of the second shorting bar is connected to a part of the plurality of first side lines connected to the high potential power line, not the low potential power line. Because the claim requirements conflict, claim 15 is rejected as indefinite.
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 12: Claim 12 defines the second shorting bar as being connected to the plurality of first side lines connected to the plurality of low potential power lines and insulated from the first shorting bar, and defines the first shorting bar as being connected to the plurality of first sides lines connected to the high potential power line. Claim 16 requires:
a fourth insulating layer covering the plurality of first side lines respectively connected to the plurality of driving lines and the plurality of high potential power lines, wherein the second shorting bar is disposed on the fourth insulating layer, the fourth insulating layer includes a first opening that exposes a part of each of the plurality of first side lines connected to the plurality of high potential power lines, and the first opening does not overlap the first shorting bar.
(emphasis added).
This arrangement would connect the second shorting bar, which is defined as connected to the low potential power lines and as being insulated from the first shorting bar (which is connected to the high potential power lines), to the first side lines connected to the plurality of high potential power lines. Because claim 16’s requirements conflict with claim 12, claim 16 is rejected as indefinite.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected for depending from rejected base claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 16: Claim 16 includes a requirement that the first opening in the fourth insulating layer not overlap the first shorting bar. Claim 17 requires the following: “a fifth insulating layer covering the fourth insulating layer and the second shorting bar, wherein the first shorting bar is disposed on the fifth insulating layer, and the fifth insulating layer includes a second opening at a position corresponding to the first opening.” This language is confusing because the location of the first shorting bar appears to be underneath the fourth insulating layer, per claim 16, but then the first shorting bar is on the fifth insulating layer. Because the language is confusing, claim 17 is rejected as indefinite.
Claim 18 is rejected for depending from rejected base claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 17: This claim requires: “a sixth insulating layer covering the fifth insulating layer and the first shorting bar, wherein the first shorting bar is electrically connected to the first side line connected to the plurality of high potential power lines through the first opening and the second opening.” However, the first shorting bar does not overlap the first opening, per claim 16. Because claim 18’s requirements conflict with claim 16, claim 18 is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0238394, Figures 13-16 (published July 27, 2023).
Regarding claim 1: Lee Figures 13-16 disclose a display device, comprising: a substrate (SUB) on which a plurality of light emitting diodes (diodes in subpixels (SP)) are disposed; a plurality of first upper lines (FPD1, FPD2) disposed at one side on a top surface (FS) of the substrate (SUB); a plurality of first lower lines (BCL1/BPD1; BCL2/BPD2) disposed at one side on a rear surface (BS) of the substrate (SUB); a plurality of first side lines (SCL1; FSP, CSP1, SSP1, CSP2 portions of SCL2) disposed on a side surface (SS1, CS1, CS5) of the substrate (SUB) and electrically connected to the plurality of first upper lines (FPD1, FPD2) and the plurality of first lower lines (BCL1/BPD1; BCL2/BPD2); and a first shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2) disposed on the side surface (SS1, CS1, CS5) of the substrate (SUB) and electrically connecting at least some (FSP, CSP1, SSP1, CSP2 portions of SCL2) of the plurality of first side lines (SCL1, SCL2). Lee specification ¶¶ 183-196.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 1: To the extent that Lee’s shorting bar (SSP2 as a whole or individual portions of SSP2 between SSP1; SSP1, for purposes of the second alternative, are considered to be continuous, front-to-back) is required to be an additional metal bar that is disposed on the side surface of the substrate and electrically connecting at least some of the plurality of first side lines, claim 1 is an obvious variant over Lee because claim 1 makes separate what is integral in Lee. MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C); In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, and further in view of Ban, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0202685, Figures 8 and 9.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Lee is silent as to the presence of a plurality of second upper lines disposed at another side on the top surface of the substrate; a plurality of second lower lines disposed at another side on the rear surface of the substrate; a plurality of second side lines disposed on another side surface of the substrate and electrically connected to the plurality of second upper lines and the plurality of second lower lines; and a second shorting bar disposed on the another side surface of the substrate and electrically connecting at least some of the plurality of second side lines. Lee discloses that the power lines can be high potential power lines or low potential power lines, Lee specification ¶ 110, but is silent as to the presence of both.
Ban Figures 8 and 9, directed to similar subject matter, disclose a plurality of first upper lines (VSS VDD) disposed at one side (lower side, Ban Figure 8) of the top surface of the substrate (SUB), and a second upper lines (VDD, VSS) disposed at another side (upper side, Ban Figure 8) on the top surface of the substrate (SUB). Ban specification ¶¶ 110-117. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Lee to include the Ban wiring arrangement because the Ban wiring arrangement lower voltage drop. Id. ¶¶ 114-117. Once this arrangement is used to modify Lee, the combination discloses a plurality of second lower lines (BCL1/BPD1; BCL2/BPD2) disposed at another side on the rear surface (BS) of the substrate (SUB); a plurality of second side lines (SCL1; FSP, CSP1, SSP1, CSP2 portions of SCL2) disposed on another side surface of the substrate (side opposite to (SS1, CS1, CS5)) and electrically connected to the plurality of second upper lines (FPD1, FPD2) and the plurality of second lower lines (BCL1/BPD1; BCL2/BPD2); and a second shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2) disposed on the another side surface of the substrate (SUB) and electrically connecting at least some of the plurality of second side lines (SCL1, SCL2). Lee specification ¶¶ 183-196.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: The combination discloses the plurality of first upper lines includes a plurality of high potential power lines (Ban VDD portion of VDD, VSS lines on the one side) and a plurality of driving lines (Lee), and the plurality of second upper lines includes a plurality of low potential power lines (Ban VSS portion of VSS, VDD lines on the opposite side), and the plurality of driving lines includes at least one or some of a plurality of gate lines, a plurality of data lines, a plurality of reference voltage lines, and a plurality of emission signal lines. Ban specification ¶¶ 110-117; Lee specification ¶¶ 182-196.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 3: The combination discloses a first insulating layer (Lee overcoat (OC)), in another embodiment, covering the plurality of second side lines. Lee specification ¶ 167 (acryl resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polyamide resin, polyimide resin, which are known insulating materials). One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the first insulating layer in the combination because the first insulating layer would protect the underlying wiring. Once combined, the combination discloses a first insulating layer (Lee overcoat (OC)), in another embodiment, covering the plurality of second side lines (SCL1; FSP, CSP1, SSP1, CSP2 portions of SCL2) and the second shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 3: The combination discloses the second shorting bar (SSP2) is connected to all of the plurality of second side lines (VSS). Lee’s wiring arrangement would be used for the low potential voltage lines and would thus have a similar arrangement as shown in Lee Figure 13. For purposes of this rejection, the second shorting bar is considered to be the common metal portion (SSP2). See Lee Figure 13.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 3: The combination discloses the second shorting bar (SSP2) includes a plurality of parts (individual portions of SSP2 between SSP1; SSP1, for purposes of this rejection, are considered to be continuous, front-to-back) spaced apart from each other, and each of the plurality of parts of the second shorting bar (SSP2) is connected to some of the plurality of second side lines (SSP1). See id.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 3: The combination discloses the first shorting bar (SSP2) is connected to all the first side lines (VDD) connected to the plurality of high potential voltage lines among the plurality of first side lines. For purposes of this rejection, the first shorting bar is considered to be the common metal portion (SSP2). See id.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 3: The combination discloses the first shorting bar (SSP2) includes a plurality of parts (individual portions of SSP2 between SSP1; SSP1, for purposes of this rejection, are considered to be continuous, front-to-back) spaced apart from each other, and each of the plurality of parts of the first shorting bar (SSP2) is connected to a part of the first side line (SCL1; FSP, CSP1, SSP1, CSP2 portions of SCL2) connected to the plurality of high potential power lines (VDD) among the plurality of first side lines. See id.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, and further in view of Choi, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0237937, Figures 8-13B.
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1: Lee Figures 13-16 disclose that the plurality of first upper lines (FPD1, FPD2) includes a plurality of power lines (FPD2), and a plurality of driving lines (FPD1), and the plurality of driving lines (FPD1) includes at least one or some of a plurality of gate lines, a plurality of data lines, a plurality of reference voltage lines, and a plurality of emission signal lines. Lee specification ¶¶ 184-186. Lee discloses that the power lines can be high potential power lines or low potential power lines, id. ¶ 110, but is silent as to the presence of both.
Choi Figures 8-13B, directed to similar subject matter, discloses similar upper lines (PAD, connected to fanout lines) which can be a data line, power line, a clock line, and the power line may include power lines for supplying various suitable power for the gate driver and the pixel SP. Choi specification ¶¶ 160-161; see generally id. ¶¶ 135-264. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Lee to include power lines of a different voltage among the side wirings because the modification provides additional suitable power lines that are needed for the display device to function.
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 11: The combination discloses a second shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2) connected to the plurality of first side lines (FSP, CSP1, SSP1, CSP2 portions of SCL2) connected to the plurality of low potential power lines (the additional set of voltage lines from Choi) and insulated from the first shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2, as a part of SCL2, which is connected to the high potential voltage lines of Choi), wherein the first shorting bar is connected to the plurality of first side lines connected to the high potential power line, and the first shorting bar and the second shorting bar extend in a direction intersecting an extension direction of the plurality of first side lines (SCL1, SCL2).
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses the first shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2, high potential voltage) and the second shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2, low potential voltage) do not overlap each other. The high voltage power lines that are joined by the first shorting bar are grouped together and the low voltage power lines that are joined by the second shorting bar are grouped together, therefore, the first and second shorting bars will not overlap.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses the first shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2, high potential voltage) includes a plurality of parts (individual portions of SSP2 between SSP1; SSP1, for purposes of this rejection, are considered to be continuous, front-to-back) spaced apart from each other, and each of the plurality of parts of the first shorting bar is connected to a part of the plurality of first side lines connected to the [high] potential power line.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses the second shorting bar (SSP2 portion of SCL2, low potential voltage) includes a plurality of parts (individual portions of SSP2 between SSP1; SSP1, for purposes of this rejection, are considered to be continuous, front-to-back) spaced apart from each other, and each of the plurality of parts of the second shorting bar is connected to a part of the plurality of first side lines connected to the [low] potential power line.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and in the case of claims 9 and 10, if the informality in claim 9 were addressed.
Claims 16-18 may be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, but would require further review to determine whether they are in condition for allowance. At this time, the Office is unprepared to identify specific language that indicates the claims as allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 9: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a second insulating layer covering the first side lines connected to the plurality of driving lines among the plurality of first side lines, wherein the first [shorting] bar is disposed on the second insulating layer”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 10: The claim has have been found allowable due to its dependency from claim 9 above.
With regard to claim 19: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a seventh insulating layer covering the plurality of first side lines respectively connected to the driving line and connected to the plurality of low potential power lines, wherein the first shorting bar is disposed on the seventh insulating layer, the seventh insulating layer includes a third opening that exposes a part of each of the plurality of first side lines connected to the plurality of low potential power lines, and the third opening does not overlap the first shorting bar”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 20-21: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 19 above.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897