DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uneme (US 10798855 B2) in view of Zhou (US 20170055378 A1).
As to Claim 1, Uneme discloses:
A power module cooling apparatus (power conversion device 1; see Fig. 2) comprising:
a manifold cover (case 64) including:
an internal space in which a cooling fluid is circulated (col. 10, Lines 51-53 “The heat dissipation case 64 includes a refrigerant flow channel 66 through which a refrigerant circulates”), wherein a plurality of power modules (power modules 21) are disposed in the internal space (21 are disposed within 64); and
a plurality of cooling channel portions 73 being formed to match with respective power modules 21 (col. 11, Lines 39-44 “the branching flow channel 73 includes three first branching flow channels 73a corresponding to the three phases of the first power conversion circuit portion 31 and the second power conversion circuit portion 32, and one second branching flow channel 73b corresponding to the third power conversion circuit portion 33”),
a fin plate (heat dissipation plate 65; col. 12, Lines 47-51 “The heat dissipation plate 65 includes a plurality of fins (not shown) functioning as a heat sink on a surface 65B on the side opposite to the mounting surface 65A in the thickness direction E”) disposed in the manifold cover 64 to abut the plurality of power modules 21 (col. 12, Lines 45-47 “A surface facing the side opposite to the heat dissipation case 64 in the heat dissipation plate 65 configures a mounting surface 65A on which the power module 21 is mounted”), and including cooling fins facing the plurality of cooling channel portions 73 so that the cooling fluid which has flowed into the first channels flows between the cooling fins and then flows out (col. 12, Lines 51-52 “The plurality of fins are disposed within each branching flow channel 73”),
Uneme does not disclose:
wherein each of the plurality of cooling channel portions includes a first channel open in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows in and a second channel open in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows out; and
including cooling fins facing the plurality of cooling channel portions so that the cooling fluid which has flowed into the first channels flows between the cooling fins and then flows out through the second channels,
wherein the plurality of cooling channel portions corresponding to the respective power modules have different number of channels,
wherein the plurality of power modules are disposed in series in the internal space of the manifold cover so that the plurality of cooling channel portions are disposed in series in a direction in which respective power modules are aligned, and
wherein a direction of extension of the plurality of cooling channel portions and a direction of extension of the cooling fins intersect perpendicularly.
However, Zhou discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of cooling channel portions (manifold inserts 140) includes a first channel (inlet branch channels 142; see Fig. 4A) open in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows in and a second channel (outlet branch channels 144; see Fig. 4A) open in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows out; and
including cooling fins (fins 174; see Fig. 5) facing the plurality of cooling channel portions so that the cooling fluid which has flowed into the first channels 142 flows between the cooling fins 174 and then flows out through the second channels 144 (Par. 0059 “heat transfer plate 170 may be positioned within the heat transfer plate receiving portion 132 of the distribution recess 130 and the impingement surface 172, including the array of fins 174, extends towards the manifold insert 140 such that the array of fins 174 are positioned proximate the impinging slots 152 and the collecting slots 154 of the manifold insert 140, forming an impingement chamber therebetween”; Par. 0055 “the impinging slots 152 may facilitate jet impingement from the manifold inserts 140 to the heat transfer plates 170”; coolant flows in via 142, through slots 152 toward fins 174 and then through slots 154 and out through 144),
wherein the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 corresponding to the respective power modules 290 have different number of channels (Par. 0054 “the plurality of manifold inserts 140 may include an uneven number of inlet branch channels 142 and outlet branch channels 144”; “the plurality of manifold inserts 140 may comprise an even number of inlet branch channels 142 and outlet branch channels 144”; “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”),
wherein a direction of extension of the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 and a direction of extension of the cooling fins 174 intersect perpendicularly (see Fig. below, extension of 140, including 142, 144, extend and intersect perpendicular to the extension direction of fins 174);
in order to facilitate uniform heat transfer and/or targeted heat transfer from the heat generating devices to the coolant fluid thereby removing heat flux from the heat generating devices and increasing the operating life of the heat generating devices (Par. 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Uneme as further suggested by Zhou e.g., providing:
wherein each of the plurality of cooling channel portions includes a first channel open in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows in and a second channel open in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows out; and
including cooling fins facing the plurality of cooling channel portions so that the cooling fluid which has flowed into the first channels flows between the cooling fins and then flows out through the second channels,
wherein the plurality of cooling channel portions corresponding to the respective power modules have different number of channels,
wherein a direction of extension of the plurality of cooling channel portions and a direction of extension of the cooling fins intersect perpendicularly;
in order to facilitate uniform heat transfer and/or targeted heat transfer from the heat generating devices to the coolant fluid thereby removing heat flux from the heat generating devices and increasing the operating life of the heat generating devices.
Further, Zhou discloses (in another embodiment):
wherein the plurality of power modules (290 correspond to 190) are disposed in series in the internal space of the manifold cover (290 of Zhou corresponds to 21 disposed within 64 of Uneme) so that the plurality of cooling channel portions (240 correspond to 140) are disposed in series in a direction in which respective power modules 290 are aligned (see Fig. 12, Par. 0085 “the fluid flow path 203 is configured in a series flow pattern. In the series flow pattern, all coolant fluid that enters the fluid inlet 202 flows through each of the modular manifolds 210A-210C iteratively”);
in order to direct all the coolant fluid through each individual manifold in series (Par. 0085) to facilitate uniform heat transfer and/or targeted heat transfer from the heat generating devices to the coolant fluid (Par. 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Uneme in view of Zhou as further suggested by Zhou e.g., providing:
wherein the plurality of power modules are disposed in series in the internal space of the manifold cover so that the plurality of cooling channel portions are disposed in series in a direction in which respective power modules are aligned;
in order to direct all the coolant fluid through each individual manifold in series to facilitate uniform heat transfer and/or targeted heat transfer from the heat generating devices to the coolant fluid.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein respective cooling channel portions (140 of Zhou) include a smaller number of the first channels 142 formed therein than the second channels 142 therein (Par. 0054 “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the number of first and second channels for effecting fluid flow) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456; 105 USPQ 233.
Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the number of first and second channels for effecting fluid flow) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein respective cooling channel portions (140 of Zhou) include a same number of the first channels 142 formed therein as a number of the second channels 144 therein (Par. 0054 “the plurality of manifold inserts 140 may comprise an even number of inlet branch channels 142 and outlet branch channels 144”; “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
See case law in rejection of claim 3 above.
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein a last cooling channel portion (140 of Zhou) among the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 includes a smaller number of first channels 142 or second channels 144 formed therein than first channels 142 or second channels 144 of remaining channel portions among the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 (Par. 0054 “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
See case law in rejection of claim 3 above.
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein a number of the first channels (142 of Zhou) in the last cooling channel portion among the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 is smaller than a number the second channels 144 formed in the last cooling channel 140 (Par. 0054 “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
See case law in rejection of claim 3 above.
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein a number of the first channels (142 of Zhou) formed in the last cooling channel portion among the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 is smaller than to a number of the first channels 142 or a number of the second channels 144 formed in the remaining cooling channels 140 (Par. 0054 “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
See case law in rejection of claim 3 above.
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein a number of the second channels (144 of Zhou) formed in the last cooling channel portion among the plurality of cooling channel portions 140 is smaller than or equal to a number of the first channels 142 formed in the remaining cooling channels 140 (Par. 0054 “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
See case law in rejection of claim 3 above.
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of power modules (21 of Uneme) include a first power module (PU1, PU2), a second power module (PV1, PV2), and a third power module (PW1, PW2),
wherein the plurality of cooling channel portions (73 of Uneme) include a first cooling channel portion 73a, a second cooling channel portion 73a, and a third cooling channel portion 73a (col. 11, Lines 39-42 “the branching flow channel 73 includes three first branching flow channels 73a corresponding to the three phases of the first power conversion circuit portion 31 and the second power conversion circuit portion 32”; see Fig. 2 of Uneme), and
wherein the third cooling channel portion includes a smaller number of first channels 142 or second channels 144 formed therein than first channels 142 or second channels 144 of the first cooling channel portion and the second cooling channel portion (each 140 of Zhou corresponds to a 73a of Uneme; Par. 0054 “It should be understood that manifold inserts 140 with any number of inlet and outlet branch channels 142, 144 are contemplated”; Zhou).
See case law in rejection of claim 3 above.
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of cooling channel portions (140 of Zhou; corresponds to 73 of Uneme) include a plurality of first barrier portions (see attached Fig. below) extending to delimit the first channels 142 and the second channels 144, a plurality of second barrier portions (see attached Fig. below) connected to the plurality of first barrier portions on first and second sides at end portions of the first channels 142 in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows out, and a plurality of third barrier portions (see attached Fig. below) connected to the plurality of first barrier portions on first and second sides at end portions of the second channels 144 in a direction in which the cooling fluid flows in.
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of second barrier portions and the plurality of third barrier portions (see attached Fig. in rejection of claim 10 above) are disposed alternately to connect the plurality of first barrier portions (see attached Fig. in rejection of claim 10 above) so that the first channels (142 of Zhou) and the second channels (144 of Zhou) are disposed alternately (highlighted second and third barrier portions are alternately disposed, and therefore 142 and 144 are alternately disposed).
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein a direction of extension of the plurality of first barrier portions (see attached Fig. in rejection of claim 10 above; highlighted barriers extend in a horizontal direction) and the direction of extension of the cooling fins (174 of Zhou; corresponds to fins of plate 65 of Uneme) intersect perpendicularly (fins 174 extend from plate 170 toward 140 in a vertical direction and are perpendicular to extension of highlighted barrier which extend in a horizontal direction; Zhou).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein the manifold cover (64 of Uneme) includes a first manifold cover and a second manifold cover (top and bottom covers 64 of Fig. 2) including an inlet 68a and an outlet 68b therein (col. 10, Lines 56-59 “refrigerant supply port 68a and a refrigerant discharge port 68b which are formed in the heat dissipation case 64 of the first heat dissipation portion 61a”), and wherein the fin plate 65 includes a first fin plate and a second fin plate (top and bottom plates 65) disposed to abut first and second side surfaces of the plurality of power modules 21 (col. 12, Lines 45-47 “A surface facing the side opposite to the heat dissipation case 64 in the heat dissipation plate 65 configures a mounting surface 65A on which the power module 21 is mounted”), respectively, the first fin plate (either top or bottom 65) including a first circulation hole (through-holes 65a) formed therein and the second fin plate (either top or bottom 65) including a second circulation hole (through-holes 65a) formed therein so that the cooling fluid is circulated between respective first and second manifold covers (top and bottom 64), cooling the first and second surfaces of the plurality of power modules 21 (col. 12, Lines 40-44 “Two through-holes 65a facing and communicating with the refrigerant supply port 68a and the refrigerant discharge port 68b, respectively, of the heat dissipation case 64 are formed on the end of the heat dissipation plate 65”; Uneme).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uneme (US 10798855 B2) in view of Zhou (US 20170055378 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yoo (US 20140327128 A1).
As to Claim 14, the obvious modification of Uneme in view of Zhou discloses:
wherein the second manifold cover (bottom case 64 of Uneme) includes the inlet or the outlet formed on a first side thereof (both supply 68a and discharge 68b disposed on bottom side of bottom case 64), and the first circulation hole 65a of the first fin plate (top or bottom plate 65 of Uneme) and the second circulation hole 65a of the second fin plate (top or bottom 65 of Uneme) are formed on a second side thereof (through-holes 65a are disposed on inner side of cases 64).
Uneme and Zhou do not disclose:
wherein each of the first manifold cover and the second manifold cover includes the inlet or the outlet formed on a first side thereof.
However, Yoo discloses:
wherein each of the first manifold cover (first lid 300; see Fig. 5B) and the second manifold cover (second lid 302) includes the inlet or the outlet formed on a first side thereof (Par. 0024 “Both lids 300, 302 have a port 304, 306. For example, the port 304 in the first lid 300 can be the inlet port and the port 306 in the second lid 302 can be the outlet port or vice-versa”; both ports 304, 306 disposed on outer side of lid 300 or 302; corresponds to supply 68a and discharge 68b of Uneme disposed on outer side of bottom case 64);
in order to ensure the fluid flows in series within the molded body 108 (Par. 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Uneme in view of Zhou as further suggested by Yoo e.g., providing:
wherein each of the first manifold cover and the second manifold cover includes the inlet or the outlet formed on a first side thereof;
in order to ensure the fluid flows in series within the cooling apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant suggests “the plurality of power modules 21 of Uneme are disposed in parallel in the internal space of the case” (Remarks, Pg. 7) and “the heat generating devices 190 of Uneme are disposed in parallel to manifold insert 240 of Zhou” (Remarks, Pg. 8).
In response, Examiner notes that the rejection of claim 2 (now incorporated into claim 1) in the non-final office action of 08/13/2025 relied on Zhou, Fig. 12 to teach the power modules disposed in series. (see Fig. 12 of Zhou, Par. 0085).
Applicant also suggests “Uneme does not disclose the fins, wherein a direction of extension of the plurality of cooling channel portions and a direction of extension of the cooling fins intersect perpendicularly, as is presently claimed” (Remarks, Pg. 8) and “Zhou does not disclose the fins, wherein a direction of extension of the plurality of cooling channel portions and a direction of extension of the cooling fins intersect perpendicularly, as is presently claimed. At best, a direction of extension of the manifold insert 240 of Zhou and a direction of extension of the fins 174 of Zhou are aligned in parallel” (Remarks, Pg. 9).
In response, Examiner notes that the rejection of claim 1 above depicts the extension direction of fins 174 of Zhou perpendicular and intersecting the extension direction of manifold insert 140 (e.g., channels 142,144).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835