DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (US-20200212026-A1; Son).
Regarding claim 1, Son discloses a display device 100 comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2, 110; ¶37) having pixels (Fig. 1, unit PX; ¶35-36) each including a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1, within unit PX; ¶35-36); a plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 1, 140; ¶36) on the plurality of sub-pixels and each including one or more n-type electrodes (Fig. 2, 145; ¶53) and a p-type electrode (Fig. 2, 144; ¶53); a first connection electrode (Fig. 2, 162; ¶38) on each of the plurality of light-emitting elements of the plurality of sub-pixels and including a concave portion (Fig. 2, 155a; ¶63) that overlaps the one or more n-type electrodes; and a second connection electrode (Fig. 2, 161; ¶37) on each of the plurality of light-emitting elements of the plurality of sub-pixels and including a convex portion (Fig. 2, between 156A/156B; ¶63) that overlaps the p-type electrode, wherein the concave portion and the convex portion extend in a first direction (Fig. 2, Y direction into the page) in each of a first subset of the plurality of sub-pixels, and wherein the concave portion and the convex portion extend in a second direction (Fig. 2, Y direction out of the page) different from the first direction in each of a second subset of the plurality of sub-pixels.
Claim(s) 10,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US-20230045160-A1; Kim).
Regarding claim 10,Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: self-assembling a plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 8e, 1050; ¶78) on an assembling substrate (Fig. 8e, 161a; ¶78) on which a plurality of assembling electrodes (Fig. 8e, 161c; ¶89) is formed; transferring the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 8e, 1050; ¶78) on the assembling substrate to a donor (Fig. 10a, 400; ¶129); and transferring the plurality of light-emitting elements of the donor to a plurality of sub- pixels (defined by light emitting elements) of a display panel (Fig. 1, 100; ¶50), wherein the self-assembling of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 14, 1050; ¶158-161) includes forming an electric field (¶159) by applying voltages to the plurality of assembling electrodes (Fig. 14, 1010; ¶158-161), and self- assembling the plurality of light-emitting elements on the plurality of assembling electrodes with the electric field.
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of assembling electrodes (Fig. 14, 1010; ¶158-161) comprises: a plurality of first assembling electrodes (Fig. 14, 1010 of 1011R-1011G; ¶158-161) extending in a first direction and including a first-first assembling electrode and a first-second assembling electrode; and a plurality of second assembling electrodes (Fig. 14, 1010 of 1011R-1011G; ¶158-161) extending in the first direction and including a second-first assembling electrode disposed adjacent to the first-first assembling electrode, and a second-second assembling electrode disposed adjacent to the first-second assembling electrode, wherein the first-first assembling electrode and the second-first assembling electrode are disposed in a staggered manner such that a gap extending in the first direction is formed between the first-first assembling electrode and the second-first assembling electrode, (clear from drawings) and wherein the first-second assembling electrode is disposed to face the second-second assembling electrode such that a gap extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction is formed between the first-second assembling electrode and the second-second assembling electrode.
Due the stagger there is a second gap extending perpendicularly to the first gap tracking with the bus 1030.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US-20210090928-A1; Yang) in view of Kim et al. (US-10573626-B1; Kim) .
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses the method of claim 11, but is silent on wherein each of a subset of the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises: an n-type semiconductor layer having a top surface with an elliptical shape; a pair of n-type electrodes at two opposite ends of the n-type semiconductor layer in a major axis direction on a top surface of the n-type semiconductor layer; a light-emitting layer on the n-type semiconductor layer; a p-type semiconductor layer on the light-emitting layer; a p-type electrode on the p-type semiconductor layer, and wherein the self-assembling of the subset of the light-emitting elements includes performing self-assembling so that one of the pair of n-type electrodes overlaps the plurality of first assembling electrodes, and the other one of the pair of n-type electrodes overlaps the plurality of second assembling electrodes.
Kim discloses light-emitting elements comprises: an n-type (first conductivity type) semiconductor layer (Fig. 11ab, 353; column 15 lines 1-21) having a top surface with an elliptical shape; a pair of n-type electrodes (Fig. 11ab, 352; column 15 lines 1-21) at two opposite ends of the n-type semiconductor layer in a major axis direction on a top surface of the n-type semiconductor layer; a light-emitting layer (Fig. 11ab, 354; column 15 lines 1-21) on the n-type semiconductor layer; a p-type (second conductivity type) semiconductor layer (Fig. 11ab, 355; column 15 lines 1-21) on the light-emitting layer; a p-type electrode (Fig. 11ab, 356; column 15 lines 1-21) on the p-type semiconductor layer, and wherein the self-assembling of the subset of the light-emitting elements includes performing self-assembling so that one of the pair of n-type electrodes overlaps the plurality of first assembling electrodes (Fig. 9c, 261c; column 8 lines 40-50), and the other one of the pair of n-type electrodes overlaps the plurality of second assembling electrodes. (Fig. 9c, 261c; column 8 lines 40-50)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the configuration of Kim for making a high efficiency display with reduced processing error.
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 12, but is silent on wherein the pair of n-type electrodes is aligned in the second direction in each of some of the light-emitting elements that are assembled on the first- first assembling electrode and the second-first assembling electrode, and wherein the pair of n-type electrodes is aligned in the first direction in each of the subset of the light-emitting elements that are self-assembled on the first-second assembling electrode and the second-second assembling electrode .
However this is simply rearranging the orientation of the structure taught by the art. A mere reversal or rotating of essential working parts involves only routine skill in the art.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the electrodes to optimize how space is used on the display panel without degrading output.
5. Claim(s) 15,17-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-10573626-B1; Kim) in view of Zhao et al. ( CN-111952330-A; Zhao).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a display device (Fig.1, 100; column 4) comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2, 110; column 4) including a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1, A defined by led of figs 10b/11b; column 4) ; a plurality of light-emitting elements (Fig. 11B, not labeled; column 15 lines 1-27) on the plurality of sub-pixels and each including one or more n-type electrodes (Fig. 11B, 352; column 15 lines 1-27) and a p-type electrode (Fig. 11B, 356; column 15 lines 1-27); and a first connection electrode (Fig. 10B, 121; column 14 lines 1-17) overlapping the one or more n-types electrodes, and a second connection electrode (Fig. 10B, 141; column 14 lines 1-17) overlapping the p-type electrode on each of the plurality of light- emitting elements, but is silent on wherein the second connection electrode overlaps the p-type electrode in different directions in at least two of the plurality of sub-pixels.
Zhao discloses wherein the second connection electrode (Fig. 8, 9) overlaps the p-type electrode (Fig. 8, 11) in different directions in at least two of the plurality of sub-pixels (defined by each light emitting component).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the connection electrodes to optimize how space is used on the display panel without degrading output.
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1, A defined by led of figs 10b/11b; column 14-15) are paired and the p-type electrode (Fig. 10B, 141; column 14 lines 1-17) in each sub-pixel in a given pair of sub-pixels is overlapped in one of the different directions.
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the p-type electrode (Fig. 10B, 141; column 14 lines 1-17) in at least two adjacent sub-pixels (Fig. 1,10B, A defined by led of figs 10b/11b; column 14-15) are overlapped in a same direction.
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the p-type electrode (Fig. 8, 11 Zhao) in any two adjacent sub-pixels (defined by each light emitting component) of the plurality of sub-pixels are overlapped in the different directions.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the connection electrodes to optimize how space is used on the display panel without degrading output.
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1,10B, A defined by led of figs 10b/11b; column 14-15) are paired and a light emitting element on sub-pixels of each pair of sub-pixels has a same number of n-type electrodes. (Fig. 11B, 352; column 15 lines 1-27)
Regarding claim 21, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 20, wherein when the sub-pixels (Fig. 1,10B, A defined by led of figs 10b/11b; column 14-15) of a given pair of sub- pixels has two n-type electrodes (Fig. 11B, 352; column 15 lines 1-27), but is silent on the two n-type electrodes in a first one of the sub-pixels of the given pair are oriented in a first direction and the two-n-type electrodes in a second one of the sub-pixels of the given pair are oriented in a second direction that is different from the first direction.
However this is simply rearranging the orientation of the structure taught by the art. A mere change in the orientation or position of essential working parts involves only routine skill in the art.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the electrodes to optimize how space is used on the display panel without degrading output.
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 21, but is silent on wherein the first direction and the second direction are different than a respective one of the different directions in which the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode overlap the p-type electrode in the first one of the sub-pixels and the second one of the sub-pixels.
However this is simply rearranging the orientation of the structure taught by the art. A mere change in the orientation or position of essential working parts involves only routine skill in the art.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to change the orientation of the electrodes to optimize how space is used on the display panel without degrading output.
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the one or more n-type electrodes (Fig. 11B, 352; column 15 lines 1-27) have one of a circular shape or an elliptical shape (Fig. 11A is a plan view of 11B; column 15 lines 1-27).
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, further comprising: a light-emitting layer (Fig. 11B, 354; column 15 lines 1-27) between the one or more n-type electrodes (Fig. 11B, 352; column 15 lines 1-27) and the p-type electrode (Fig. 11B, 356; column 15 lines 1-27) of each of the plurality of light emitting-elements.
Regarding claim 25, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the one or more n-type electrodes (Fig. 11B, 352; column 15 lines 1-27) and the p-type electrode (Fig. 11B, 356; column 15 lines 1-27) are electrically connected.(to wiring)
Regarding claim 26, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein each of the one or more n-type electrodes (Fig. 11AB, 352; column 15 lines 1-27) can have one a circular shape or an elliptical shape.
Regarding claim 27, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of light emitting elements (Fig.10B, array of light emitting elements; column 14-15) include a first light emitting element, a second light emitting element, and a third light emitting elements.
Regarding claim 28, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 27, wherein the first light emitting (Fig.10B, array of light emitting elements; column 14-15) element has a circular shape. (clear from drawing)
Regarding claim 29, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 27, wherein the second light emitting element (Fig.10B, array of light emitting elements; column 14-15) and the third light (Fig.10B, array of light emitting elements; column 14-15) emitting element have an elliptical shape. (clear from drawing)
A circular shape is also elliptical.
5. Claim(s)30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-10573626-B1; Kim) in view of Zhao et al. ( CN-111952330-A; Zhao) and further in view of Son et al. (US-20200212026-A1; Son).
In view of
Regarding claim 30, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 15, but is silent on further comprising: a driving transistor; and at least one insulating layer on the driving transistor.
Son discloses a display device comprising a driving transistor Fig. 2, 120;¶37) and an insulating layer (Fig. 2, 132; ¶38) thereon.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to the claimed driving transistor and claimed insulation layer because the device would not work without a driving transistor, and to prevent shorting or damaging the transistor.
Regarding claim 31, Kim in view of Zhao and Son discloses the display device of claim 30, wherein the at least one insulating layer (Fig. 2, 132; ¶38 Son) includes a first insulating portion and a second insulating portion separated by the first connection electrode. (Fig. 2, 162; ¶38 Son)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to the claimed insulation layer configuration of Son because to prevent shorting connection layers.
Regarding claim 32, Kim in view of Zhao discloses the display device of claim 30, further comprising: a bonding layer; and a planarization layer, wherein the bonding layer (Fig. 2, 133; ¶38 Son) and the planarization layer (Fig. 2, 150; ¶38 Son) have a step-wise structure.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to the claimed planarization and adhesive layer configuration of Son to add stability to the package.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9,14,16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Son is silent on how many subs-pixels are in a pixel. US-20220208115-A1 discloses a pixel comprises three pairs of sub-pixels but is silent on the configuration of a connection electrode as claimed in claim 1.US-20210202678-A1 discloses a pixel comprises two pairs of sub-pixels in different orientations but is silent on connection electrode configuration. CN-111952330-A, cited in the IDS, discloses a pixel comprising two pairs of sub-pixels. A first pixel pair of sub-pixels comprises interconnect lines extending in a first direction. A second pair of sub-pixels comprises interconnect lines extending in a direction different from the first. CN-111952330-A is silent on a third pair of sub-pixels comprising interconnections
Regarding claim 2, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " wherein the concave portions extend in different direction in the pair of first sub-pixels, the pair of second sub-pixels, and the pair of third sub-pixels.”, as recited in Claim 2, with the remaining features.
The art discloses partitions formed on the assembly substrate and placing the light emitting elements between partitions.
Regarding claim 14, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: "wherein a shape of each of the plurality of light emitting elements corresponds to a shape of each of a plurality of holes in the assembling substrate.”, as recited in Claim 14, with the remaining features.
Regarding claim 16, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " wherein the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode have a U-shape where the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode overlap the p-type electrode on each of the plurality of light- emitting elements.”, as recited in Claim 16, with the remaining features.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899