DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are amended. Claims 9 and 11 are withdrawn. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 12-16 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objection of June 02, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1-2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of June 02, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-8, 10, and 12-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hayashi (US 2020/0144166 A1).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner suggests the Applicant more clearly define the width of the non-wetting layer with respect to the above-lying pillar components as shown in Fig. 7 of the Instant Application (e.g. wherein the width of the non-wetting layer in a horizontal direction is greater than the width of the silver plated spot in a horizontal direction; wherein the width of the non-wetting layer in a horizontal direction is greater than the width of the solder in a horizontal direction; wherein the width of the non-wetting layer in a horizontal direction is greater than the width of the base in a horizontal direction). The Examiner is available at the number below for an interview to discuss ideas at the Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baello (US 2019/0326245 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 2020/0144166 A1).
Claim 1, Baello discloses an integrated circuit package (packaged integrated circuit 1000 is an integrated circuit package, hereinafter, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10), comprising:
a leadframe (package substrate 209/309/409/809/909/1009/1109 includes a leadframe, hereinafter, leadframe 209/309/409/809/909/1009/1109, [0045], Fig. 10) including a first plurality of leads (pillar bumps 210/310/410/610/910/1010 include a first plurality of leads, hereinafter, first plurality of leads 610_1/1010_1, [0045], Fig. 10) and a second plurality of leads (pillar bumps 210/310/410/610/910/1010 include a second plurality of leads, hereinafter, second plurality of leads 610_2/1010_2, [0045], Fig. 10), wherein each lead of the first and second plurality of leads 1010 has an upper surface (each lead of the first and second plurality of leads 1010 has an upper surface, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10);
at least one first silver spot (solder layer 645 is includes silver and is at least one first silver spot, hereinafter, at least one first silver spot 645_1, [0034], Figs. 6N and 10) on the upper surface of each lead of the first plurality of leads 1010_1 (the at least one first silver spot 645_1 is on the upper surface of each lead of the first plurality of leads 1010_1, [0034], Figs. 6N and 10), wherein each first silver spot 645_1 has a first size and first shape in plan (the first plurality of leads 610_1 includes a first silver spot 645_1 which has a first size and first shape in plan (i.e. round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm), [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10);
at least one second silver spot (solder layer 645 is includes silver and is at least one second silver spot, hereinafter, at least one second silver spot 645_2, [0034], Figs. 6N and 10) on the upper surface of each lead of the second plurality of leads 1010_2 (the at least one second silver spot 645_2 is on the upper surface of each lead of the second plurality of leads 1010_2, [0034], Figs. 6N and 10), wherein each second silver spot 645_2 has a second size and second shape in plan (the second plurality of leads 610_2 includes a second silver spot 645_2 which has a second size and second shape in plan (i.e. oval bump feature 753 with a length between 100 and 400 µm and a width between 50 and 200 µm), [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10);
an integrated circuit die (integrated circuit die 103/203/303/403/603/803/903/1003, [0045], Figs. 6N and 10) having a front surface including a first plurality of interconnection pads (integrated circuit die 103/203/303/403/603/803/903/1003 has a front surface including bond pad 623 is a first plurality of interconnection pads, hereinafter, first plurality of interconnection pads 623_1, [0027], Figs. 6N and 10) and a second plurality of interconnection pads (integrated circuit die 103/203/303/403/603/803/903/1003 has a front surface including bond pad 623 is a second plurality of interconnection pads, hereinafter, second plurality of interconnection pads 623_2, [0027], Figs. 6N and 10);
a first pillar (pillar 641 is a first pillar, hereinafter, first pillar 641_1, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10) mounted to each interconnection pad 623 of the first plurality of interconnection pads 623_1 (first pillar 641_1 is mounted to each interconnection pad 623 of the first plurality of interconnection pads 623_1, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10), wherein the first pillar 641_1 has a third size and third shape in plan (first pillar 641_1 has a third size and third shape in plan, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10);
a second pillar (pillar 641 is a second pillar, hereinafter, second pillar 641_2, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10) mounted to each interconnection pad 623 of the second plurality of interconnection pads 623_2 (second pillar 641_2 is mounted to each interconnection pad 623 of the second plurality of interconnection pads 623_2, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10), wherein the second pillar 641_2 has a fourth size and fourth shape in plan (second pillar 641_2 has a fourth size and fourth shape in plan, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10);
wherein the integrated circuit die 103/203/303/403/603/803/903/1003 is mounted in flip chip orientation to the leadframe 209/309/409/809/909/1009/1109 with the first pillar 641_1 soldered to the at least one first silver spot 645_1 and the second pillar 641_1 soldered to the second silver spot 645_2 (integrated circuit die 1003 is mounted in flip chip orientation to the leadframe 1009 with the first pillars 641_1 soldered to the at least one first silver spot 645_1 and the second pillars 641_1 soldered to the at least one second silver spot 645_2, [0020], Fig. 10); and
a resin body (mold compound 1033 is formed of a resin and is a resin body, hereinafter, resin body 1033, [0045], Fig. 10) encapsulating the integrated circuit die 1003 mounted to the leadframe 1009 (resin body 1033 encapsulates the integrated circuit die 1003 mounted to the leadframe 1009, [0045], Fig. 10).
Baello does not explicitly disclose a non-solder wetting layer in contact with the upper surface of each lead of the first and second plurality of leads of the leadframe, said non-solder wetting layer surrounding the first silver spot and the second silver spot.
However, Hayashi discloses a non-solder wetting layer in contact with the upper surface of each lead of the first and second plurality of leads of the leadframe (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 in contact with the upper surface of each lead of the first and second plurality of leads 102 of the leadframe 100, [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit die 1003 is mounted in flip chip orientation to the leadframe 1009 with the first pillars 641_1 soldered to the at least one first silver spot 645_1 and the second pillars 641_1 soldered to the at least one second silver spot 645_2, [0020], Fig. 10), said non-solder wetting layer surrounding the first silver spot and the second silver spot (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, non-solder wetting layer 631 surrounds the at least one first silver spot 645_1 and at least one second silver spot 645_2, [0027], Figs. 6N and 10). The combination to utilize a non-solder wetting layer in contact with the leads of the leadframe and surrounding the silver spots allows for improvement in the bondability and to prevent the misalignment of the chip is a technology for providing Ag plating with which solder exhibits high wettability to the bonding surface as well as the wet solder is allowed to spread across the desired area, so that electronic components such as an IC chip can be bonded reliably to the lead (Hayashi, [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a non-solder wetting layer in contact with the leads of the leadframe and surrounding the silver spots to allow for improvement in the bondability and to prevent the misalignment of the chip is a technology for providing Ag plating with which solder exhibits high wettability to the bonding surface as well as the wet solder is allowed to spread across the desired area, so that electronic components such as an IC chip can be bonded reliably to the lead (Hayashi, [0088]).
Claim 5, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 2.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein said non-solder wetting layer 631 is formed using at least one of a chemical process, a heating process and a sputtering process (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, non-solder wetting layer 631 is formed using a chemical process (i.e. electroplating or electroless plating), [0030], Figs. 6A and 6N).
Claim 6, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello discloses wherein the first plurality of leads 1010_1 provide electrode contacts at a side and bottom of the resin body 1033 (leads 1121 are electrode contacts at a side and bottom of the resin body 1033 which are configured to receive the first plurality of leads 1010_1, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11).
Baello does not explicitly disclose the resin body for a flat no leads type package.
However, Baello discloses the resin body 1033 may alternatively be configured to be a quad flat no-lead (QFN) package. The combination to utilize a package configured as a flat no leads type package allows for surface mounting to a system board (Baello, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a package configured as a flat no leads type package to allow for surface mounting to a system board (Baello, [0045]).
Claim 7, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein the second plurality of leads 1010_2 provide electrode contacts at a side and bottom of the resin body 1033 (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, leads 1121 are electrode contacts at a side and bottom of the resin body 1033 which are configured to receive the second plurality of leads 1010_2, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11).
Baello does not explicitly disclose the resin body for a flat no leads type package.
However, Baello discloses the resin body 1033 may alternatively be configured to be a quad flat no-lead (QFN) package. The combination to utilize a package configured as a flat no leads type package allows for surface mounting to a system board (Baello, [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a package configured as a flat no leads type package to allow for surface mounting to a system board (Baello, [0045]).
Claim 8, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein the first size (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, the first plurality of leads 610_1 includes a first silver spot 645_1 which has a first size in plan (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, first size 645_1 is round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm), [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10) is larger than the third size (first pillar 641_1 has a third size in plan (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, third size 641_1 is round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm), wherein the first size is larger than the third size, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10) and the first shape (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, first shape 645_1 is round pillar bump feature 751, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10) and third shape are the same (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, third shape 641_1 is round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm and is the same as the first shape 645_1, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10).
Claim 10, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein the second size (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, the second plurality of leads 610_2 includes a second silver spot 645_2 which has a second size in plan (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, second size 645_2 is round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm), [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10) is larger than the fourth size (second pillar 641_2 has a fourth size in plan (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, fourth size 641_1 is round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm), wherein the second size is larger than the fourth size, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10) and the second shape (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, second shape 645_2 is round pillar bump feature 751, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10) and fourth shape are the same (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, fourth shape 641_2 is round pillar bump feature 751 with a diameter between 50 and 150 µm and is the same as the second shape 645_2, [0041], Figs. 6N, 7A-7B, and 10).
Claim 12, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein the second plurality of leads 610_2/1010_2 (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, second plurality of leads 610_2/1010_2 are oval shaped and are oval lands 1141 wherein second plurality of leads 610_2/1010_2 include the leads which include oval lands 1141, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11) comprise segment leads (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, leads 1121 are segment leads, hereinafter, segment leads 1121, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11) extending longitudinally in a first direction between opposed first and second sides of the resin body 1033 (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, second plurality of leads 610_2/1010_2 comprises segment leads 1121 extending longitudinally in a first direction (i.e. horizontal x-direction) between opposed first and second sides of the resin body 1033, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11), wherein the first and second sides extend in a second direction (i.e. vertical y-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, first and second sides extend in the y-direction, wherein the y-direction is perpendicular to the x-direction, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11).
Claim 13, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 12.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein the resin body 1033 further includes opposed third and fourth sides extending in the first direction (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, resin body 1033 further includes opposed third and fourth sides extending in the x-direction, [0046], Figs. 10 and 11), and wherein the first plurality of leads 610_1/1010_1 comprise end leads arranged in two groups with a first one of said two groups arranged along the third side and a second one of said two groups arranged along the fourth side (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, first plurality of leads 610_1/1010_1 comprise end leads arranged in two groups with a first one of said two groups arranged along the third side and a second one of said two groups arranged along the fourth side, [0047], Figs. 10 and 11).
Claim 16, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello/Hayashi discloses wherein then integrated circuit die 103/203/303/403/603/803/903/1003 further includes a third plurality of interconnection pads (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit die 103/203/303/403/603/803/903/1003 includes bond pad 623 is a first plurality of interconnection pads, hereinafter, first plurality of interconnection pads 623_1, [0027], Figs. 6N and 10) on the front surface (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, first plurality of interconnection pads 623_1 is on the front surface, [0027], Figs. 6N and 10), and further comprising a third pillar (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, pillar 641 is a third pillar, hereinafter, third pillar 641_3, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10 mounted to each interconnection pad 623 of the third plurality of interconnection pads 623_3 (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, third pillar 641_3 is mounted to each interconnection pad 623 of the third plurality of interconnection pads 623_3, [0040], Figs. 6N and 10).
Baello does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a size and a shape of the third pillar is different from a corresponding size and shape of each of the first and second pillars.
However, Baello discloses wherein at least one of a size and a shape of the third pillar is different from a corresponding size and shape of each of the first and second pillars as shapes other than the circular and ovular pillars may be used, including other sizes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to vary, through routine experimentation, “the result effective variable of pillar cross-sectional shape and size (result effective at least insofar as pillar cross-sectional shape and size determines the current that will be carried by the pillar bump between a particular signal and the integrated circuit (Baello, [0041])) in order to optimize the functionality of the device (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), see MPEP §2144.05).
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed pillar cross-sectional shape and size or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baello in view of Hayashi, and further in view of Yatagawa (US 2021/0375550 A1).
Claim 3, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 1.
Baello does not explicitly disclose wherein said non-solder wetting layer is an oxide layer.
However, Yatagawa discloses wherein said non-solder wetting layer is an oxide layer (Yatagawa, covering layer 8 is less wettable than a surface of an adjacent plating layer by solder, hereinafter, non-solder wetting layer 8, wherein non-solder wetting layer 8 is formed of an oxide film (i.e. oxide layer), [0069], Fig. 1; Baello, non-solder wetting layer 631, [0030], Figs. 6N and 10; Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Yatagawa, including the specific material of copper oxide, to the teachings of Baello.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as the material of the covering layer is less wettable than a surface of an adjacent plating layer by solder (Yatagawa, [0069]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 4, Baello/Hayashi/Yatagawa discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10; Yatagawa, electronic component 1A, [0069], Fig. 1) of claim 3.
Baello/Hayashi/Yatagawa discloses wherein said oxide layer is a brown oxide layer (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Yatagawa, non-solder wetting layer 8 is formed of a copper oxide film (i.e. brown oxide), [0069], Fig. 1; Baello, non-solder wetting layer 631, [0030], Figs. 6N and 10).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baello in view of Hayashi, and further in view of Gupta (US 2018/0190608 A1).
Claim 14, Baello/Hayashi discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Bello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10) of claim 13.
Baello/Hayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein end surfaces of the segment leads are exposed from the resin body at the first and second sides, and wherein end surfaces of the end leads are exposed from the resin body at the third and fourth sides.
However, Gupta discloses wherein end surfaces of the segment leads are exposed from the resin body at the first and second sides (Gupta, end surfaces of the segment leads 102 are exposed from the resin body 112 at the first and second sides, [0022], Figs. 1A and 1B; Baello, resin body 1033, Figs. 10 and 11), and wherein end surfaces of the end leads 102 are exposed from the resin body 1033 at the third and fourth sides (Gupta, end surfaces of the end leads 102 are exposed from the resin body 1033 at the third and fourth sides, [0022], Figs. 1A and 1B; Baello, resin body 1033, Figs. 10 and 11). The combination to utilize segment leads specifically configured such that end surfaces are exposed from the resin body at chosen sides enables connection of desired input/output (I/O) terminals between the flip-chip semiconductor die and the underlying PCB (Gupta, [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize segment leads specifically configured such that end surfaces are exposed from the resin body at chosen sides to enable connection of desired input/output (I/O) terminals between the flip-chip semiconductor die and the underlying PCB (Gupta, [0028]).
Claim 15, Baello/Hayashi/Gupta discloses the integrated circuit package (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Baello, integrated circuit package 1000, [0045], Fig. 10; Gupta, packaged semiconductor device 100, [0025], Figs. 1A and 1B) of claim 14.
Baello/Hayashi/Gupta discloses wherein end surfaces of some of the end leads are exposed from the resin body at the first and second sides (Hayashi, non-solder wetting layer 25 surrounds the first silver spot 23L (i.e. left-hand side) and the second silver spot 23R (i.e. right-hand side), [0048] and [0052], Figs. 6 and 7; Gupta, end surfaces of some of the end leads 102 are exposed from the resin body 1033 at the first and second sides, [0022], Figs. 1A and 1B; Baello, resin body 1033, Figs. 10 and 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nangia (US 2023/0102688 A1) discloses a (QFN) no lead package 300 further including a semiconductor die 301 that is flip-chip mounted through post connects 315 and electrically connected to conductive bond pads 325 by solder.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812