DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the prior art cited fails to teach the claims as amended. Applicants’ arguments are persuasive, but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 16 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stottlemyer (PGPUB 2016/0269524) in view of Hughes et al. (PGPUB 2010/0088086), hereinafter referenced as Hughes.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 16, Stottlemyer discloses a smart sensor, system and method, hereinafter referenced as a system, comprising:
a computer processor (fig. 1, element 106);
a microphone (figure 1, element 116); and
a memory storing a voice control module (figure 1, element 108), wherein the voice control module is configured to:
resolve a first voice command based on a first user input received by the microphone (receive an electrical signal of the spoken audio received via the microphone; p. 0057);
determine a first identity of a first registered user (identify voice profile 174D) of a plurality of registered users based on the first voice command (identify the speaker using the voice profiles of 174A-D representing a plurality of users; p.0036-0037),
wherein the resolving the first voice command includes determining a first instruction (process the command, for example, call mom; p. 0036-0037) based on the first user data using the cloud-based cognitive computing system (remote telematics server 162 over communications network 156; p. 0046); and
access first user data associated with the first registered user on a first user device associated with the first registered user based on the determining the first identity of the first registered user (identify the speaker using the voice profiles of 174A-D representing a plurality of users; p.0036-0037); and
access a vocabulary set associated with the first user data (maintaining and using vocabulary for training speech recognition (vocabulary 176; p. 0031-0034, 0044-0052),
wherein the smart sensor is configured to carry out the first instruction based on the first user data (process the command, for example, call mom; p. 0036-0037), but providing a system that performs tone analysis, speech rate analysis and speech volume analysis of the first voice command, wherein, in carrying out the first instruction, the smart sensor outputs a response using the vocabulary set and adjusts a speech rate and a speech volume of the outputted response based on the speech rate analysis and the speech volume analysis of the first voice command.
Hughes discloses a system wherein the smart sensor is configured to carry out the first instruction based on the first user data using the server (p. 0020);
performing tone analysis, speech rate analysis and speech volume analysis of the first voice command; and
accessing a vocabulary set associated with the first user data and wherein, in carrying out the first instruction, the smart sensor outputs a response using the vocabulary set and adjusts a speech rate and a speech volume of the outputted response based on the speech rate analysis and the speech volume analysis of the first voice command (Parsing the user's response to identify three key factors or parameters: pacing of speech; volume of speech; and gender of speech. These factors are saved in databases as part of the user profile. Pacing of speech is saved as words per second. Volume is saved as a decibel level, and gender is saved as male or female as a function of the speaker's (user's) frequency range. Thereafter, for the remainder of the transaction any voice generated responses to the user are modified to utilize the identified and saved parameters. For the rest of the call, pacing is set of words per second rate matching that of the user. Volume is set within a decibel level range having predetermined upper and lower limits chosen as a function of the saved user's decibel level. Gender of the saved user parameter is used to select voice response gender; p. 0008, 0018-0023), to personalize automated spoken interactions by adapting the system’s responses to characteristics of the user’s speech.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to improve the user’s experience.
Regarding claim 9, Stottlemyer discloses a system wherein the memory stores a cognitive module that is configured to perform a cognitive analysis based on the first voice command; and
wherein the carrying out the first instruction is performed based on the cognitive analysis (voice recognition techniques; p. 0023, 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 22, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Hughes discloses a smart sensor wherein the voice control module is configured to: receive a user preference identifying the vocabulary set from a plurality of predefined vocabulary sets and generate the response to the first voice command using the vocabulary set (presenting users with predetermined language usage alternatives, presenting multiple predefined language choices, receiving a selection, storing the selected preference and adapting subsequent responses according to the preference; p. 0007-0008, 0019-0020).
Claim(s) 2, 4-8, 11, 13-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stottlemyer in view of Hughes and in further view of Shimy et al. (PGPUB 2011/0069940), hereinafter referenced as Shimy.
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 17, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Stottlmyer teaches a module configured to:
resolve a second voice command based on a second user input received by the microphone (receive a command for the occupant of device 152A of figure 2A; p. 0027-0028 and 0036-0037); and
determine a second identity of a second registered user from the plurality of registered users based on the second voice command (identify the speaker using the voice profiles of 174A-D representing a plurality of users; p.0036-0037),
wherein the resolving the second voice command includes determining a second instruction (process the command; p. 0036-0037); and
access second user data associated with the second registered user on a second user device associated with the second registered user based on the determining the second identity of the second registered user (identify the speaker using the voice profiles of 174A-D representing a plurality of users; p.0036-0037),
wherein the smart sensor is configured to carry out the second instruction based on the second user data (process the command; p. 0036-0037), but does not specifically teach wherein the first user data comprises a first subscription to a first tier of services, a second user data comprises a second subscription to a second tier of services, and the first tier of services and the second tier of services are different from each other.
Shimy discloses a system wherein the first user data comprises a first subscription to a first tier of services (adult subscription), a second user data comprises a second subscription to a second tier of services (child subscription), and the first tier of services and the second tier of services are different from each other (p. 0129, 0164), to tailor output data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to create a personalized experience.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Shimy discloses a system wherein the first tier of services comprise credentials for a first streaming service and the second tier of services comprise credentials for a second streaming service (p. 0033-0037).
Regarding claim 5, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Shimy discloses a system wherein the second instruction is the same as the first instruction, and the first instruction and the second instruction are carried out simultaneously at different locations (p. 0139).
Regarding claim 6, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Shimy discloses a system wherein a location of the first user is detected using a motion sensor (tracking the movement of users; p. 0088-0092).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Stottlemyer discloses a system wherein the memory further stores a peer interaction module that is configured to communicate with an additional smart sensor via wireless communication in a mesh network (connect smart devices to create a single network, such as Zigbee; p. 0020-0027).
Regarding claim 8, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Stottlemyer discloses a system wherein the first instruction comprises playing a first audio file at the smart sensor based on the first user data, and the second instruction comprises playing a second audio file at the additional smart sensor based on the second user data (provide one more output; p. 0022-0023, 0036-0037).
Regarding claim 14, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above in the combination of claims 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 15, it is interpreted and rejected for similar reasons as set forth above. In addition, Stottlemyer discloses a system wherein the first instruction comprises playing a first audio file the smart sensor based on the first user data, and the second instruction comprises playing a second audio file at the additional smart sensor based on the second user data (provide one more output; p. 0022-0023, 0036-0037).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stottlemyer in view of Hughes and in further view of Toiyama (PGPUB 2017/0069321).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Stottlemyer in view of Hughes disclose a system as described above, but does not specifically teach a system wherein the second instruction is different from the first instruction, and the first instruction and the second instruction are carried out simultaneously.
Toiyama discloses a system wherein the second instruction is different from the first instruction, and the first instruction and the second instruction are carried out simultaneously (plurality of users simultaneously utter voice commands to microphones and perform a plurality of processes; p. 0045-0057, 0066, 0070-0072), to allow flexibility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to provide a system that is tailored to a plurality of user’s needs.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stottlemyer in view of Hughes and in further view of Lang et al. (PGPUB 2017/0242653), hereinafter referenced as Lang.
Regarding claim 21, Stottlemyer in view of Hughes disclose a system as described above, but does not specifically teach a system configured to determine, using speech recognition, that the first voice command is received from a minor user; and responsive to the determination that the first voice command is received from the minor user, apply one or more user preferences selected from a group consisting of: filtering search results based on explicit content, preventing playback of content identified as containing explicit language, and preventing playback of age-restricted content.
Lang discloses a configured to:
determine, using speech recognition, that the first voice command is received from a minor user (distinguish an adult’s voice from a child’s voice, to prevent a child from using commands to listen to content inappropriate for the child; p. 0461, 0475, 0483); and
responsive to the determination that the first voice command is received from the minor user, apply one or more user preferences selected from a group consisting of: filtering search results based on explicit content, preventing playback of content identified as containing explicit language, and preventing playback of age-restricted content (distinguish an adult’s voice from a child’s voice, to prevent a child from using commands to listen to audio inappropriate for the child; p. 0461, 0475), thereby preventing children from accessing inappropriate media through spoken commands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to permit data output control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Gupta discloses a method and system for updating and customizing recognition vocabulary.
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657