CTNF 18/389,449 CTNF 85976 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 8, 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al (US 2016/0272332) in view of Hoke et al (US 2014/0217080) . Regarding claim 1, Ishida discloses, windshield device 10 includes a heater 12 that is incorporated into the windshield 11 ([0021]), the heater 12 is a conductive member having a predetermined electric resistance and configured to generate Joule's heat by energized by the controller 13 ([0027]), as the heater 12, a transparent or substantially transparent thin film made of an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), gold, silver, or the like can be used ([0034], corresponding to "a transparent metallic layer" of claim 11), a temperature sensor 15 is also incorporated into the layered body ([0028], corresponding to "a glass temperature sensor" of claim 11), the controller 13 includes a dew-point temperature acquisition unit 131 ([0040]), the dew-point temperature acquisition unit 131 receives an altitude, an ambient air temperature, and an ambient air humidity as information indicating the outside state of the cockpit 2 ([0043], corresponding to "a temperature outside" and "a humidity value of humidity outside" of claim 11), the dew-point temperature acquisition unit 131 is configured to acquire the dew-point temperature of the inside of the cockpit 2 using information on the inside and outside states of the cockpit 2 ([0042], corresponding to "calculate a dew point" of claim 11), the controller 13 includes a power control unit 132 ([0040]), the power control unit 132 sets a control function that is defined in accordance with a dewpoint temperature acquired using the information on the inside and outside states of the cockpit 2 that have an influence on the dew-point temperature of the inside of the cockpit 2, then the power control unit 132 supplies the heater 12 with an input power acquired by applying to the index temperature line a detected temperature detected by the temperature sensor 15 ([0051], corresponding to "periodically apply voltage" of claim 11 ). Ishida also discloses, the calculations must be performed based on the number of occupants but Ishida fails to disclose an occupant detection system. Hoke discloses a vehicle glass heating system having occupancy sensors 318 for determining which seats of the vehicle are occupied. ([0024]) The number of occupants, based on the occupancy sensors, is used to determine the fogging probability using an algorithm and adjust the climate control appropriately. (See Paragraph [0027]) Hoke also discloses a cabin humidity sensor (312, Paragraph [0024]), glass temperature sensor 316 (See Paragraph [0017]), Exterior temperature sensor 304 (See Paragraph [0024]) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Ishida in view of Hoke to provide the occupant detection system to determine the fogging probability using an algorithm and adjust the climate control appropriately. Regarding claim 2, Ishida discloses the glass is configured as a windshield. (See Title) Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to configure the window as whichever window in the vehicle one desires to control. Regarding claim 4, Fig 1B shows the heating layer comprising ITO being sandwiched between two glass layers 11. (See Paragraphs [0044]-[0046]) Regarding claim 8 a dew point is acquired and a voltage or current is applied to the heater and operated accordingly. (See Paragraph [0050], [0088], [0089]) Regarding claim 9, Ishida fails to disclose receiving a weather report including a dew point. Ishida discloses using the dew point in it’s calculation. Hoke discloses receiving a weather report for the area local to the vehicle. (See Paragraph [0024]) A weather report would include dew point information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to adapt Ishida in view of Hoke to provide the weather report including dew point information to provide more accurate information for the control algorithm. Regarding claim 10, the heater is controlled until the glass temperature is greater than the dew point temperature, by a predetermined margin. (See Paragraph [0088]) Regarding claim 11, Ishida discloses, windshield device 10 includes a heater 12 that is incorporated into the windshield 11 ([0021]), the heater 12 is a conductive member having a predetermined electric resistance and configured to generate Joule's heat by energized by the controller 13 ([0027]), as the heater 12, a transparent or substantially transparent thin film made of an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), gold, silver, or the like can be used ([0034], corresponding to "a transparent metallic layer" of claim 11), a temperature sensor 15 is also incorporated into the layered body ([0028], corresponding to "a glass temperature sensor" of claim 11), the controller 13 includes a dew-point temperature acquisition unit 131 ([0040]), the dew-point temperature acquisition unit 131 receives an altitude, an ambient air temperature, and an ambient air humidity as information indicating the outside state of the cockpit 2 ([0043], corresponding to "a temperature outside" and "a humidity value of humidity outside" of claim 11), the dew-point temperature acquisition unit 131 is configured to acquire the dew-point temperature of the inside of the cockpit 2 using information on the inside and outside states of the cockpit 2 ([0042], corresponding to "calculate a dew point" of claim 11), the controller 13 includes a power control unit 132 ([0040]), the power control unit 132 sets a control function that is defined in accordance with a dewpoint temperature acquired using the information on the inside and outside states of the cockpit 2 that have an influence on the dew-point temperature of the inside of the cockpit 2, then the power control unit 132 supplies the heater 12 with an input power acquired by applying to the index temperature line a detected temperature detected by the temperature sensor 15 ([0051], corresponding to "periodically apply voltage" of claim 11 ). Regarding claim 12, Ishida discloses the glass is configured as a windshield. (See Title) It would have been obvious to configure the window as whichever window in the vehicle one desires to control. Regarding claim 13, the controller uses pulse width modulation or duty cycle (frequency input) to control the heater. (See Paragraph [0061]) Regarding claim 14, Ishida fails to disclose receiving a weather report including a dew point. Ishida discloses using the dew point in its calculation. Hoke discloses receiving a weather report for the area local to the vehicle. (See Paragraph [0024]) A weather report would include dew point information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to adapt Ishida in view of Hoke to provide the weather report including dew point information to provide more accurate information for the control algorithm . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al (US 2016/0272332) in view of Hoke et al (US 2014/0217080) and Saad et al (US 2019/0373681) . The teachings of Ishida have been discussed above. Ishida fails to disclose, regarding claims 5, the control module is configured as a pulse-electro thermal deicing (PETD) control module, and configured to control electrical current to the transparent metallic layer to deice the glass. Saad discloses a system for controlling the heating of a windshield in a vehicle. Where the controller 22 is a PETD system. (See Paragraphs [0007], [0029], [0037]) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the PETD control module for controlling current to the heating layer for using less power while simulating continuous heating. Regarding claim 6, Ishida fails to disclose comprising bus bars electrically connected to the transparent metallic layer and the control module, the bus bars configured to distribute electrical current across the transparent metallic layer. Saad discloses, providing current to the heating element using busbars. It would have been obvious to adapt Ishida in view of Saad to provide the busbars as these are obvious variants of electrical heating systems. Busbars provide a more efficient and economical installation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al (US 2016/0272332) in view of Hoke et al (US 2014/0217080) and Boss et al (US 2020/0156593) . The teachings of Ishida have been discussed above. Ishida fails to disclose, the control module is further configured to: receive inputs from an ice/frost sensor configured to sense a condition of ice and frost present on the glass; and operate a wiper to wipe the glass when the inputs from the ice/frost sensor indicate that the condition of the ice or frost is suitable for being cleared by the wiper. Boss discloses an ice sensor 155 configured to sense a condition of ice. (See Paragraph [0046]) The controller 140 uses data from the ice sensor and moves the wiper to clear the ice. It would have been obvious to a person have ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Ishida in view of Boss to provide the control module is further configured to: receive inputs from an ice/frost sensor configured to sense a condition of ice and frost present on the glass; and operate a wiper to wipe the glass when the inputs from the ice/frost sensor indicate that the condition of the ice or frost is suitable for being cleared by the wiper as well as determining a thickness of the ice . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 16-20 are allowed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN W JENNISON whose telephone number is (571)270-5930. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ibrahime Abraham can be reached at 571-270-5569. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/10/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/389,449 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/389,449 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/389,449 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/389,449 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/389,449 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/389,449 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761