DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Pressianov (US-5225673) in view of Diamondis (US-5489780).
4. Regarding claim 1:
Pressianov discloses a compact radiation detection apparatus (column 1 discloses a known apparatus for determining the potential alpha energy of radon daughters in the air) comprising: a filter unit having a cylindrical shape and comprising a filter provided on at least a portion of an outer circumferential surface thereof (column 3 line 19 teaches an endless aerosol filter band 6, 7 shaped as a cylinder); a pump assembly coupled to one end of the filter unit, the pump assembly being configured to provide negative pressure to the filter unit (column 4 lines 12-13 teaches that the pump 1 sucks in air through the pipe 2 through both filters 6 and 7); and a detector assembly coupled to another end of the filter unit (column 4 lines 23-27 teaches the detector 15 has been placed in the seat 14 so that the sensitive surface of detector 15 is turned towards the respective filter 6), the detector assembly being configured to detect radiation emitted from aerosol (column 4 lines 23-24 teaches that the radioactive radiations of the aerosols irradiates the detector 15), collected in the filter of the filter unit according to negative pressure formed by the pump assembly (column 2 lines 15-17 teaches that in the zone of sucking-in there are deposited on the filters 6, 7 or 19, 20 aerosols which contain radon and thoron daughters), in an inner space in the filter unit.
Pressianov fails to disclose that the detector assembly being configured to detect radiation in an inner space in the filter unit.
However, Diamondis discloses that the detector assembly being configured to detect radiation in an inner space in the filter unit (column 7 lines 41-42 teaches an alpha particle detector, fig. 1 element 31 mounted within chamber, fig. 1 element 23. Column 7 lines 4 teaches a filter enclosure, fig. 1 element 11. As shown in fig. 1, the detector, fig. 1 element 31, is in the inner space of the filter enclosure, fig. 1 element 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis to include that the detector assembly being configured to detect radiation in an inner space in the filter unit. Such modification would ensure that radon daughter product contaminants are prevented from corrupting the radon measurement process carried out within detection chamber (as taught in Diamondis lines 34-37).
5. Regarding claim 3:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 1. Pressianov further discloses that wherein the pump assembly and the detector assembly are detachably coupled to the one end and the other end of the filter unit (Column 4 lines 43-48 teaches pulling out the pipe 2 from the filter unit. Column 4 lines 35-38 teaches that the support 13 is disassembled, and new detectors are placed in their seats).
6. Claims 2, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier (US-5124936).
7. Regarding claim 2:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 1. Pressianov further discloses that wherein the filter unit further comprises a cylindrical filter housing configured to support the filter against internal negative pressure (column 3 line 20 teaches that the filter band 6 is connected rigidly to the periphery of a small cylindrical wheel 8. Column 3 line 24-25 teaches that the filter band 7 is connected rigidly to the periphery of a small cylindrical wheel 11. Column 3 lines 28-30 teaches that on the outer side of both endless aerosol filter bands 6 and 7 there is disposed a cylindrical support 13 fixed. The small cylindrical wheels 8 and 11, along with the cylindrical support 13, here corresponds to the cylindrical filter housing to support the filter).
Pressianov fails to disclose that wherein the filter is one of a membrane filter, a pre-filter, a HEPA filter, and a medium filter.
However, Pelletier discloses that wherein the filter is one of a membrane filter, a pre-filter, a HEPA filter, and a medium filter (column 17 lines 56 teaches that the filter medium is an SM-5 membrane filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier to include that wherein the filter is one of a membrane filter, a pre-filter, a HEPA filter, and a medium filter. Such modification would allow for an even particle deposition over the entire surface of the filter and capturing particles at least as large as 10 microns Mass Median Aerodynamic Diameter (as taught in Pelletier column 17 lines 51-55).
8. Regarding claim 6:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 1. Pressianov further discloses that wherein the detector assembly (column 4 lines 23-24 teaches that the radioactive radiations of the aerosols irradiate the detector 15) comprises: a detector (column 4 lines 23-24 teaches that the radioactive radiations of the aerosols irradiate the detector 15).
Pressianov in view of Diamondis fails to disclose a multichannel analyzer configured to generate radiation spectrum information from output of the detector.
However, Pelletier discloses a multichannel analyzer configured to generate radiation spectrum information from output of the detector (column 18 lines 1-5 teaches that signals from the detector are transmitted to the CPU/MCA assembly, fig. 12 element 128. The CPU/MCA processes the signals. Claim 1 teaches producing an alpha spectrum from the detection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier, to include a multichannel analyzer configured to generate radiation spectrum information from output of the detector. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to much such modification to process signals from the detector (as taught in column 18 lines 1-5).
9. Regarding claim 9:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 1. Pressianov in view of Diamondis fails to disclose that wherein the detector assembly further comprises a connector configured to transmit output from a multichannel analyzer to an outside.
However, Pelletier discloses that wherein the detector assembly further comprises a connector (column 17 line 13 teaches a connector panel) configured to transmit output from a multichannel analyzer (column 18 lines 1-5 teaches that signals from the detector are transmitted to the CPU/MCA assembly, fig. 12 element 128. The CPU/MCA processes the signals) to an outside (column 17 lines 13-15 teaches that the connector panel also includes a RS-232 port 132 for allowing data to be transferred to an external processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier, to include that wherein the detector assembly further comprises a connector configured to transmit output from a multichannel analyzer to an outside. Such modification would allow for data to be transferred to an external processing unit (as taught in column 17 lines 13-15).
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin (CN 212134962 U).
11. Regarding claim 4:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 1. Pressianov further discloses that wherein the pump assembly (column 4 lines 12-13 teaches that the pump 1 sucks in air through the pipe 2) comprises: a vacuum pump (column 4 lines 12-13 teaches that the pump 1 sucks in air through the pipe 2. Since the pump 1 sucks in air, it constitutes a vacuum pump);
Pressianov in view of Diamondis fails to disclose a circuit board having a driving circuit formed thereon to drive the vacuum pump; and a battery.
However, Lin discloses a circuit board having a driving circuit formed thereon to drive the vacuum pump (pg. 2 teaches that the vacuum pump (30) is controlled by the ARM controller, which corresponds to the driving circuit); and a battery (pg. 2 teaches the working modes of the alternating current and a lithium battery power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin to include a circuit board having a driving circuit formed thereon to drive the vacuum pump; and a battery. Such modification would allow for a portable radon thorium analyzer integrated in a suitcase structure, realizing miniaturization of the instrument, integration and modularization (as taught in Lin the abstract section).
12. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin, further in view Conrad (US 10791889), further in view of Askem (US 11173240).
13. Regarding claim 5:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 4. Pressianov further discloses the pump assembly (column 4 lines 12-13 teaches that the pump 1 sucks in air through the pipe 2) comprises a pump housing (as shown in fig. 1, pump 1 is illustrated as a rectangular box, which corresponds to the pump housing)
Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin fails to disclose a first fastening portion formed to be fastened to one end of the filter unit, an air inlet portion formed in the first fastening portion, and an air outlet portion formed in a lower side thereof.
However, Conrad discloses a first fastening portion formed to be fastened to one end of the filter unit (column 39 lines 55-56 teaches that the pre-motor filter housing 134 may be connected to the suction motor housing 125. Column 49 lines 9-11 teaches that the suction motor housing 125 maybe separable from the pre-motor filter housing 134, which corresponds to the filter unit), an air inlet portion formed in the first fastening portion (column 49 lines 25-26 teaches the suction motor housing inlet 300), and an air outlet portion (column 25 line 61 teaches an air outlet 116) formed in a lower side thereof (as shown in fig. 12, the air outlet 116 is on the lower side of the suction motor housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin, further in view of Conrad to include a first fastening portion formed to be fastened to one end of the filter unit, an air inlet portion formed in the first fastening portion, and an air outlet portion formed in a lower side thereof. Such modification would allow keeping the suction motor separate from the filter housing to remove the dirty components in a single module before re-attaching the components (as taught in Conrad column 48 lines 54-55). Placing the air outlet toward the lower end helps reduce the overall size of the apparatus, and may help facilitate positioning the suction motor in desired location while still exhausting air from a lower portion of the apparatus (as taught in Conrad column 20 lines 11-16).
Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin, further in view of Conrad, fails to disclose that wherein the pump housing supports and fixes the vacuum pump, the circuit board, and the battery in an inner space thereof.
However, Askem discloses that wherein the pump housing supports and fixes the vacuum pump, the circuit board, and the battery in an inner space thereof (column 6 lines 43-47 teaches a components housing or storage area for components like the control circuitry 12A, negative pressure source 12C, power source 12E. Column 7 lines 16 -17 teaches that the power source (Askem labels the power source as 12D, but it clearly is connected to the control circuitry 12A as shown in fig. 3, so the power source 12D actually corresponds to the power source 12E as shown in fig. 1) can include one or more power supplies, such as batteries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Lin, further in view of Conrad, further in view of Askem to include that wherein the pump housing supports and fixes the vacuum pump, the circuit board, and the battery in an inner space thereof. Such modification would allow for an integrated system where the control circuitry can tune the transfer of power to the negative pressure source to operate the negative pressure source at an optimum or near optimum power level (as taught in Askem column 4 lines 17-24).
14. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier, further in view of Bao, L., Zha, G., Li, J., Guo, L., Dong, J., & Jie, W. (2019). CdZnTe quasi-hemispherical detector for gamma–neutron detection. Journal of Nuclear Science and Technology, 56(5), 454–460. https://doi.org/10.1080/00223131.2019.1592722 (hereinafter referred to as Bao).
15. Regarding claim 7:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier, discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 6. Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier fails to disclose that wherein the detector is a CZT quasi- hemispherical detector.
However, Bao discloses that wherein the detector is a CZT quasi- hemispherical detector (pg. 454 teaches a quasi-hemispherical CdZnTe detector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier, to include that wherein the detector is a CZT quasi- hemispherical detector. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to achieve a more efficient detection in the low gamma-ray energy region compared with the coplanar grid structure (as taught in Bao pg. 454).
16. Regarding claim 8:
Pressianov in view of Diamondis, further in view of Pelletier, further in view of Bao discloses the compact radiation detection apparatus according to claim 7. Pressianov fails to disclose that wherein the detector is supported and fixed such that a center of a surface of the detector is located near a center of the filter unit on a central axis of the filter unit having a cylindrical shape.
However, Diamondis discloses that wherein the detector is supported and fixed such that a center of a surface of the detector is located near a center of the filter unit on a central axis of the filter unit (as shown in fig. 1, the photodiode detector is placed near a center of the filter enclosure 11 on a central axis of the filter enclosure 11) having a cylindrical shape (column 6 lines 61-62 teaches that the filter enclosure 11 may be configured in a generally cylindrical shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pressianov in view of Diamondis to include that wherein the detector is supported and fixed such that a center of a surface of the detector is located near a center of the filter unit on a central axis of the filter unit having a cylindrical shape. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to allow for a symmetrical exposure to the filter enclosure to optimize the collection efficiency to detect the alpha particle emissions.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571) 272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881