DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed 20 December 2023. Claims 1-32 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Akimoto et. al (US 2018/0039360 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Akimoto discloses (as shown in Figs. 7-8) A display device ([0055] A schematic cross-sectional view of the display device 100 is shown in FIG. 8) comprising:
a separator ([0063] The partition wall 168) including a first opening; (See An. Fig. 8, showing a first opening in the partition wall 168)
a first light-emitting device ([0063] The light-emitting element 160) disposed in the first opening (See An. Fig. 8, showing the first light emitting element 160 in the first opening) and including a first electrode ([0063] second electrode (opposing electrode) 166.) disposed on the first electrode (160); ([0063] The light-emitting element 160 is structured by the first electrode (pixel electrode) 162, a functional layer 164, and a second electrode (opposing electrode) 166.)
and a sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by the plurality of first touch electrodes 202 and the plurality of second touch electrodes 204.) arranged on the separator (168) to overlap the separator (168) in a plan view, ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250. This wiring is formed over the sealing film 180 and the organic insulating film 190 so as to overlap with the partition wall 168 and be arranged along the partition wall 168 (see below for further details).)
wherein a width of the sensing electrode (200) is equal to or less than a width of the separator (168). (See Fig. 8, showing the first touch electrodes 202 have a smaller width than the partition wall 168)
Regarding Claim 2, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7-8) wherein the separator (168) further includes a second opening, (See An. Fig. 8, showing a second opening in the partition wall 168)
wherein the display device (100) further includes a second light emitting device ([0063] The light-emitting element 160) disposed in the second opening (See An. Fig. 8, showing the second light emitting element 160 in the second opening) and including a first electrode ([0063] second electrode (opposing electrode) 166.) disposed on the first electrode (160); ([0063] The light-emitting element 160 is structured by the first electrode (pixel electrode) 162, a functional layer 164, and a second electrode (opposing electrode) 166.)
wherein the sensing electrode includes (200): a first sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by the plurality of first touch electrodes 202 ) extending in a first direction; (See Fig. 7A, showing the first touch electrode 202 extending in the D-D’ direction)
and a second sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by …and the plurality of second touch electrodes 204.) extending in a second direction different from the first direction (See Fig. 7A, showing the second touch electrode 204 extending in the C-C’ direction)
and insulatively intersecting the first sensing electrode (202), (See Figs. 7B and 7C, showing the first touch electrodes 202 and second touch electrodes 204 separated by the interlayer insulating film 246)
wherein the first sensing electrode (202) includes a first mesh line extending in the first direction and the second direction ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250.) (See Fig. 7A)
and the second sensing electrode (204) includes a second mesh line extending in the first direction and the second direction. ([0077] the second touch electrodes 204 according to the present embodiment is a mesh wiring having a lattice form) (See Fig. 7A)
Regarding Claim 3, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7-8) wherein, in a plan view, the first mesh line (202) has the same shape as a portion of the separator (168) corresponding thereto and the second mesh line (204) has the same shape as a portion of the separator (168) corresponding thereto. ([0077] In other words, each possesses openings 250 arranged in a matrix form, and the wirings of the first touch electrodes 202 and the second touch electrodes 204 overlap with the partition wall 168.)
Regarding Claim 31, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7-8) further comprising an encapsulation layer ([0066] A sealing film (passivation film) 180) covering the first light-emitting device (160), the second light-emitting device (160), and the separator (168), ([0066] A sealing film (passivation film) 180 is provided over the light-emitting element 160.) (See Fig. 8)
wherein the sensing electrode is arranged on the encapsulation layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16-17, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bang et. al (US 2020/0161398 A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Akimoto discloses (as shown in Figs. 1A-B, 7A, 12)
wherein the first light-emitting device includes a 1-1st light-emitting device and a 1-2nd light-emitting device arranged spaced apart from each other with the second light-emitting device disposed therebetween, ([0077] In other words, the sub-pixels 130, 132, and 134 are each arranged in a region overlapping with the opening 250 of the first touch electrodes 202 or the second touch electrodes 204, but do not overlap with the mesh wirings of the first touch electrode 202 and the second touch electrode 204.) (See An. Fig. 1B)
Akimoto fails to disclose a 1-1st connection line, a 1-2nd connection line, and a 2-1st connection line,
wherein the 1-1st connection line includes a 1-1st emission connection part connected to the 1-1st light-emitting device,
the 1-2nd connection line includes a 1-2nd emission connection part connected to the 1-2nd light-emitting device,
and the 2-1st connection line includes a 2-1st emission connection part connected to the second light-emitting device,
and wherein the 1-1st emission connection part and the 1-2nd emission connection part are spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the 2-1st emission connection part disposed therebetween.
Bang discloses (as shown in Fig. 2) a connection line ([0068] first connection member 177);
wherein the connection line (177) includes a emission connection part connected to the light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
Bang teaches that the connection member 177 reduces the resistance between the transistor and the light-emitting device, which allows for the light emitting element to be driven at a higher frequency. ([0068] The first connection member 177 reduces resistance between the drain electrode 175 and the pixel electrode 191 such that a light emitting element that may be driven at a high frequency, while having high luminance, may be provided.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for each of the light emitting devices to have a connection member in order to reduce resistance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Akimoto in view of Bang to have:
a 1-1st connection line, a 1-2nd connection line, and a 2-1st connection line, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
wherein the 1-1st connection line includes a 1-1st emission connection part connected to the 1-1st light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
the 1-2nd connection line includes a 1-2nd emission connection part connected to the 1-2nd light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
and the 2-1st connection line includes a 2-1st emission connection part connected to the second light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
in order to reduce the resistance of each of the light emitting devices.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Akimoto in view of Bang to have:
wherein the 1-1st emission connection part and the 1-2nd emission connection part are spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the 2-1st emission connection part disposed therebetween.
Since the second light-emitting device is between the 1-1 and 1-2 light emitting devices (as shown in An. Fig. 1B)
Regarding Claim 16, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1A-B, 7A, 12) wherein a portion of the first mesh line (202) is arranged between the 1-1st emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part, (See An. Fig. 7A, showing a portion of the first touch electrodes 202 and a portion of the second touch electrodes 204 are between the light emitting devices 1-1 and 2-1)
and a portion of the second mesh line (204) is arranged between the 1-2nd emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part. (See An. Fig. 7A)
Regarding Claim 17, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1A-B, 7A, 12) wherein a portion of the first mesh line (202) and a portion of the second mesh line (202) are arranged spaced apart from each other between the 1-1st emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part. (See An. Fig. 7A, showing there is a gap between the first (202) and second (204) touch electrodes)
Regarding Claim 21, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1A-B, 7A, 12) a 3-1st light-emitting device spaced apart from the 1-2nd light-emitting device in the first direction; (See An. Fig. 1B)
a fourth light-emitting device spaced apart from the second light-emitting device in the first direction; (See An. Fig. 1B)
a 3-2nd light-emitting device spaced apart from the 1-1st light-emitting device in the first direction (See An. Fig. 1B) and spaced apart from the 3-1st light-emitting device in the second direction with the fourth light-emitting device disposed therebetween; (See An. Fig. 1B, showing the fourth light emitting device in between the 3-1 and 3-2 light emitting devices in the second direction)
it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Akimoto in view of Bang to have:
a 3-1st connection line, a 3-2nd connection line, and a 2-2nd connection line (on the fourth light emitting device), ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
wherein the 3-1st connection line includes a 3-1st emission connection part connected to the 3-1st light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
the 2-2nd connection line includes a 2-2nd emission connection part connected to the fourth light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
and the 3-1st connection line includes a 3-1st emission connection part connected to the 3-2nd light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
in order to reduce the resistance of each of the light emitting devices.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Akimoto in view of Bang to have:
wherein the 2-1st emission connection part and the 2-2nd emission connection part are spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the 2-2nd emission connection part disposed therebetween.
Since the fourth light-emitting device is between the 3-1 and 3-2 light emitting devices (as shown in An. Fig. 1B)
Regarding Claim 22, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 7A, 12) wherein the 1-1st and 1-2nd light-emitting devices respectively include 1-1st and 1-2nd emission parts that provide first-color light, the second and fourth light-emitting devices respectively include 2-1st and 2-2nd emission parts that provide second-color light having a different color from the first-color light, and the 3-1st and 3-2nd light-emitting devices respectively include 3-1st and 3-2nd emission parts that provide third-color light having a different color from the first-color light and the second-color light, (See Fig. 12, showing Red, Blue, and Green subpixels in each mesh unit)
wherein the 1-1st emission part and the 1-2nd emission part are spaced apart in the second direction with the 2-1st emission part disposed therebetween, (See Ann. Fig. 1B, showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 1-1st light emitting device spaced apart from the showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 1-2nd emitting device spaced apart with the diamond electrode 240 containing the 2-1st light emitting device in the second (up-down) direction)
the 3-1st emission part and the 3-2nd emission part are spaced apart in the second direction with the 2-2nd emission part disposed therebetween, (See Ann. Fig. 1B, showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 3-1st light emitting device spaced apart from the showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 3-2nd emitting device spaced apart with the diamond electrode 240 containing the 2-2nd light emitting device in the second (up-down) direction)
and the 1-1st, 2-1st, and 1-2nd emission parts are spaced apart from the 3-2, 2-2nd, and 3-1st emission parts respectively in the first direction, (See An. Fig. 2B, showing the part of the diamond electrodes 240 containing the 1-1st, 2-1st, and 1-2nd light emitting devices separated from the part of the diamond electrodes 240 containing the 1-1st, 2-1st, and 1-2nd light emitting devices)
and wherein the 1-1st and 3-2nd emission connection parts are spaced apart from the 1-1st and 3-2 emission parts respectively in the second direction, (See An. Fig. 2B)
and the 1-2nd and 3-1st emission connection parts are spaced apart from the 1-2nd and 3-1st emission parts respectively in an opposite direction to the second direction. (See An. Fig. 2B)
Claim(s) 4-7, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Choi et. al (US 2024/0138202 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Akimoto fails to disclose transistors ([0057] A transistor 140) electrically connected to each of the second electrode ([0063] second electrode (opposing electrode) 166) of the first light-emitting device (160) and the second electrode ([0063] second electrode (opposing electrode) 166) of the second light-emitting device (160).
Choi discloses (as shown in Figs. 4A, 5) transistors ([0152] transistor TR) electrically connected to each of the second electrode ([0137] second electrodes EL2_1) of the first light-emitting device ([0144] The first to third light emitting devices LD1, LD2, and LD3 (FIG. 4A) may include the first to third cathodes EL2_1, EL2_2, and EL2_3, respectively.) and the second electrode ([0137] second electrodes … EL2_2) of the second light-emitting device ([0144] The first to third light emitting devices LD1, LD2, and LD3 (FIG. 4A) may include the first to third cathodes EL2_1, EL2_2, and EL2_3, respectively.). ([0152] Accordingly, a location of each of the driver connection parts CD1, CD2, and CD3 may correspond to a location of a transistor TR (FIG. 5 ) of each of the pixel drivers PDC1, PDC2, and PDC3 physically connected to each of the connection wirings CN-a)
Choi teaches that connecting to the cathode (second electrode) allows the driver design to be simplified by allowing the initialization operation of the cathode and the compensation threshold voltage of the driving transistor to be performed by a single power voltage. ([0108] The initialization operation of the cathode and the compensation operation for the threshold voltage of the driving transistor may be performed based on a single power voltage. Thus, a driver design may be simplified.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the transistor connected to the second electrode instead of the first electrode in order to simplify driver design.
Regarding Claim 5, Choi further discloses (as seen in Figs. 4A, 5) a first connection line ([0153] first connection wiring CN1) including a first driver connection part connected to a transistor (TR) electrically connected to the first light-emitting device ([0153] first light emitting device LD1) and a first emission connection part spaced apart from the first driver connection part in a plan view and connected to the second electrode (EL2_1) of the first light-emitting device; ([0031] wherein each of the first connection wiring and the second connection wiring may include an emission connection part electrically connected to the at least one corresponding light emitting device, and a driver connection part electrically connected to the at least one corresponding transistor, wherein the emission connection part of the first connection wiring may be electrically connected to the second electrode of the first light emitting device)
and a second connection line ([0153] The second connection wiring CN2) including a second driver connection part connected to a transistor (TR) electrically connected to the second light-emitting device ([0153] second light emitting device LD2) and a second emission connection part spaced apart from the second driver connection part in a plan view and connected to the second electrode (EL2_2) of the second light-emitting device. ([0031] wherein each of the first connection wiring and the second connection wiring may include an emission connection part electrically connected to the at least one corresponding light emitting device, and a driver connection part electrically connected to the at least one corresponding transistor, … wherein the emission connection part of the second connection wiring may be electrically connected to the second electrode of the second light emitting device.)
Regarding Claim 6, Akimoto further discloses (as seen in Figs. 7A, 8, 12)
wherein the first light-emitting device includes a first emission part configured to emit first-color light, ([0041] In the arrangement exemplified in FIG. 3A, three sub-pixels 130, 132, and 134 may be configured to provide colors different from one another. For example, light-emitting elements giving the three primary colors of red, green, and blue can be provided in the sub-pixels 130, 132, and 134, respectively, by which arbitrary color can be produced in each pixel 120.)
Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 4A, 5) wherein the first emission connection part is spaced apart from the first emission part in a plan view, ([0156] In an embodiment, the first to third emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be respectively disposed at non-overlapping positions with the emitting parts EP1, EP2, and EP3 in a plan view.)
and wherein the first emission part (EP1) and the first emission connection part (CE1) are at least partially surrounded by at least one of the first mesh line or the second mesh line. (See Fig. 4A, showing the separator SPR partially surrounding the first emission part (EP1) and the first emission connection part (CE1))
Regarding Claim 7, Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 8, 11) wherein the separator (SPR) has a curved shape at a portion adjacent to the first emission connection part and the second emission connection part. ([0253] Referring back to FIG. 8 , the separator SPR may further include a sub-isolation portion SP-S extending from the second isolation portion SP2 so as to have a curvature.)
Choi teaches that the separator having a curvature improves isolation. ([0253] In an embodiment, the separator SPR including the sub-isolation portion SP-S formed to have the curvature may have improved isolation ability.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the separator have curvature in order to improve isolation. Since the mesh lines in Akimoto overlap the separator ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250. This wiring is formed over the sealing film 180 and the organic insulating film 190 so as to overlap with the partition wall 168 and be arranged along the partition wall 168 (see below for further details).), it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for the mesh lines to also have curvature.
Regarding Claim 10, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in An. Fig. 4A) wherein the first sensing electrode (202) includes first sensing patterns ([0047] diamond electrodes 240) arranged in the first direction and first intermediate patterns ([0047] connection regions 242) arranged between the first sensing patterns, (See An. Fig. 7A)
wherein the second sensing electrode (204) includes second sensing patterns ([0047] diamond electrodes 240) arranged in the second direction and second intermediate patterns ([0049] bridge wiring 248) arranged between the second sensing patterns, (See An. Fig. 7A)
wherein the first sensing patterns (240), the first intermediate patterns (240), and the second sensing patterns (240) are arranged on the same layer, ([0047] Here, the first touch electrode 202 and the second touch electrode 204 may exist in the same layer.)
and the second intermediate patterns (248) are arranged on a different layer from the layer on which the second sensing patterns (240) are disposed. ([0049] An interlayer insulating film 246 is provided over the first touch electrode 202, and a bridge wiring 248 is formed over the interlayer insulating film 246.)
Regarding Claim 11, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 4A) wherein the first sensing patterns (240) and the first intermediate patterns (242) constitute the first mesh line and the second sensing patterns (240) constitute the second mesh line. ([0046] The first touch electrode 202 and the second touch electrode 204 both have a mesh form)
Regarding Claim 12, Akimoto in view of Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 4A) wherein an outer periphery portion of the first mesh line constituting an outer periphery of each of the first sensing patterns (240) surrounds a portion of the first emission connection part (CE1) or a portion of the second emission connection part. (See Fig. 4A, showing the separator SPR surrounding the first emission connection part CE1) ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250. This wiring is formed over the sealing film 180 and the organic insulating film 190 so as to overlap with the partition wall 168 and be arranged along the partition wall 168 (see below for further details).)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-9, 15, 18-20, 23-30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8, Akimoto in view of Choi fails to disclose wherein the first mesh line (202) and the second mesh line (204) include portions facing each other with one of the first emission connection part and the second emission connection part disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 depends from Claim 8 and contain allowable subject matter for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 15, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 12) wherein the 1-1st light-emitting device includes a 1-1st emission part that provides first-color light, the 1-2nd light-emitting device includes a 1-2nd emission part that provides the first-color light, and the second light-emitting device includes a 2-1st emission part that provides second-color light having a different color from the first-color light, (See Fig. 12, showing each portion of the mesh contains subpixels (130, 132, 134) of each color.)
However, Akimoto in view of Bang fails to disclose wherein the 1-1st emission part and the 1-2nd emission part are spaced apart in the second direction with the 2-1st emission part disposed therebetween, and wherein the 1-1st emission connection part is spaced apart from the 1-1st emission part in the second direction and the 1-2nd emission connection part is spaced apart from the 1-2nd emission part in an opposite direction to the second direction.
Regarding Claim 18, Akimoto in view of Bang further discloses wherein the first sensing electrode (202) includes first sensing patterns ([0045] As shown in FIG. 1B, the first touch electrodes 202 and the second touch electrodes 204 each possess a plurality of square regions (diamond electrode) 240) arranged in the first direction and first intermediate patterns ([0045] connection regions 242) arranged between the first sensing patterns,
Akimoto in view of Bang fails to disclose wherein the first intermediate patterns (242) include a first intermediate line extending in the first direction and a second intermediate line extending in the first direction and facing the first intermediate line in the second direction.
Regarding Claims 19-20, Claims 19-20 depend from Claim 18 and contain allowable subject matter for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 23, Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 4A) wherein a portion of the mesh line (MTL1, MTL2) intersects a portion of the connection part (CN) (See Fig. 4A, showing a portion of the connection part CN intersects the separator (on which the mesh lines are overlayed in Akimoto))
However, Akimoto in view of either Bang or Choi fails to disclose wherein a portion of the first mesh line intersects a portion between the 1-1st emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part and a portion between the 3-2nd emission connection part and the 2-2nd emission connection part, and wherein a portion of the second mesh line intersects a portion between the 1-2nd emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part or a portion between the 3-1st emission connection part and the 2-2nd emission connection part.
Regarding Claim 24, Akimoto in view of either Bang or Choi fails to disclose wherein, in a plan view, the first mesh line (202) and the second mesh line (204) each extend in one direction between the second electrode of the first light-emitting device and the second electrode of the second light-emitting device, and the first mesh line and the second mesh line face each other in the one direction.
Other relevant prior art includes Lee et. al (Us 2022/0206633 A1): Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 3, 8) the first mesh line and the second mesh line ([0071] Each of the first upper electrodes 331 and the second upper electrodes 332 may include … the second electrode region 330b separated from the first electrode regions 330a, as illustrated in FIG. 8.) (See Fig. 8, showing the second electrode region 330b separated from the first electrode regions 330a forms a mesh)
each extend in one direction between the second electrode of the first light-emitting device and the second electrode of the second light-emitting device ([0071] Each of the first upper electrodes 331 and the second upper electrodes 332 may include the first electrode regions 330a overlapping with the emission areas EA), (See Fig. 8, showing the second electrode regions 330b of both second upper electrodes 331 and 332 are between adjacent first electrode regions 330a in different regions.)
However, Lee fails to disclose the first mesh line and the second mesh line face each other in the one direction.
Instead, Lee discloses that they face each other In the perpendicular direction of extension.
Furthermore, Lee does not teach that the mesh lines overlap the separators. ([0061] The second electrode region 330b may be separated from the first electrode regions 330a. For example, separating partitions 175 may be disposed between the first electrode regions 330a and the second electrode region 330b.) Therefore, it would not be obvious to use the mesh pattern in Lee in place of the mesh pattern in Akimoto to achieve the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 25, Akimoto in view of either Bang or Choi fails to disclose the first mesh line and the second mesh line are spaced apart and face each other with the second electrode of the first light-emitting device disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 26, Akimoto in view of either Bang or Choi fails to disclose wherein, in a plan view, the first mesh line and the second mesh line each extend in one direction between the second electrode of the first light-emitting device and the second electrode of the second light-emitting device, and the first mesh line and the second mesh line face each other in a direction intersecting the one direction.
Other relevant prior art includes Lee et. al (Us 2022/0206633 A1): Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 3, 8) the first mesh line and the second mesh line ([0071] Each of the first upper electrodes 331 and the second upper electrodes 332 may include … the second electrode region 330b separated from the first electrode regions 330a, as illustrated in FIG. 8.) (See Fig. 8, showing the second electrode region 330b separated from the first electrode regions 330a forms a mesh)
each extend in one direction between the second electrode of the first light-emitting device and the second electrode of the second light-emitting device ([0071] Each of the first upper electrodes 331 and the second upper electrodes 332 may include the first electrode regions 330a overlapping with the emission areas EA), (See Fig. 8, showing the second electrode regions 330b of both second upper electrodes 331 and 332 are between adjacent first electrode regions 330a in different regions.)
and the first mesh line (331) and the second mesh line (332) face each other in a direction intersecting the one direction. (See Fig. 8)
However, Lee does not teach that the mesh lines overlap the separators. ([0061] The second electrode region 330b may be separated from the first electrode regions 330a. For example, separating partitions 175 may be disposed between the first electrode regions 330a and the second electrode region 330b.) Therefore, it would not be obvious to use the mesh pattern in Lee in place of the mesh pattern in Akimoto to achieve the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 27-28, Claims 27-28 depend from Claim 26 and contain allowable subject matter for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 29, Choi further discloses (as shown in Fig. 7B) a dummy conductive pattern arranged on the separator ([0226] A dummy layer UP may be disposed on the separator SPR.), including the same material as the second electrode, ([0226] The second dummy layer UP2 and the second electrode EL2 may be formed in the same process and may include a same material or a similar material.)
wherein at least a portion of an outer surface of the separator has a smaller internal angle than an inner surface of the separator. ([0231] The separator SPR-a as shown in FIG. 7B differs from the separator SPR as shown in FIG. 7A in that a second angle θ2 a of the second side face R_S2 a is different from the first angle θ1.)
However, Choi fails to teach that the dummy conductive pattern UP is electrically connected to a power supply line.
Regarding claim 30, Claim 30 depends from Claim 29 and contains allowable subject matter for the same reasons.
Claim 32 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 32, The closest Prior Art is Akimoto et. al (US 2018/0039360 A1) in view of Choi et. al (US 2024/0138202 A1).
Akimoto discloses (as shown in Figs. 7, 8) A display device comprising ([0055] A schematic cross-sectional view of the display device 100 is shown in FIG. 8): transistors ([0057] A transistor 140);
light-emitting devices ([0063] The light-emitting element 160) arranged on the transistors (140); (See An. Fig. 8, showing the second light emitting element 160 on the transistors 140)
a first sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by the plurality of first touch electrodes 202 ) extending in a first direction; (See Fig. 4A)
and a second sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by …and the plurality of second touch electrodes 204.) extending in a second direction (See Fig. 4A)
and insulatively intersecting the first sensing electrode(202), (See Figs. 7B and 7C, showing the first touch electrodes 202 and second touch electrodes 204 separated by the interlayer insulating film 246)
However, Akimoto fails to disclose:
connection lines connecting the transistors and the light-emitting devices (160) respectively;
wherein the connection lines each include: a driver connection part connected to a corresponding transistor among the transistors (140);
and an emission connection part spaced apart from the driver connection part in a plan view and connected to a corresponding light-emitting device among the light-emitting devices (160),
wherein the first sensing electrode (202) and the second sensing electrode (202) are spaced apart from each other between adjacent emission connection parts among the emission connection parts of the connection lines.
Choi discloses (as shown in ) connection lines ()[0151] he connection wirings CN-a) connecting the transistors and the light-emitting devices respectively; ([0151] Each of the connection wirings CN-a may connect each of the first to third pixel drivers PDC1, PDC2, and PDC3 to each of the first to third light emitting devices LD1, LD2, and LD3 (FIG. 4A))
wherein the connection lines (CN-a) each include: a driver connection part ([0151] each of the driver connection parts CD1, CD2, and CD3 may be provided at the other end of each of the connection wirings CN-a) connected to a corresponding transistor among the transistors; ([0152] In an embodiment, each of the driver connection parts CD1, CD2, and CD3 may be connected to a drain of the sixth transistor T6 as shown in FIG. 2A or a drain of the first transistor T1 as shown in FIG. 2B.)
and an emission connection part ([0151] Each of the emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be provided at one end of each of the connection wirings CN-a) spaced apart from the driver connection part (CD) in a plan view ([0151] Each of the emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be provided at one end of each of the connection wirings CN-a while each of the driver connection parts CD1, CD2, and CD3 may be provided at the other end of each of the connection wirings CN-a.)
and connected to a corresponding light-emitting device among the light-emitting devices, ([0152] Each of the emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may refer to a portion of each of the connection wirings CN-a connected to each of the light emitting devices.)
However, Choi fails to disclose wherein the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode are spaced apart from each other between adjacent emission connection parts among the emission connection parts of the connection lines.
Furthermore, it would not be obvious based on the combination of Akimoto and Choi to have the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode are spaced apart from each other between adjacent emission connection parts among the emission connection parts of the connection lines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following Prior Art is Prior Art that contains disclosures similar to Choi et. al (US 2024/0138202 A1) (appears to be other applications based on variations on the same design) and thus are pertinent for the same reasons as Choi et. al (US 2024/0138202 A1). Each of these applications appear as if they may be eligible for exceptions under 35 USC 102b(2)(C) for common ownership. Please note that priority may need to be perfected in order to overcome potential 102a(1) rejections.
Lee et. al (US 2024/0292677 A1)
Lee et. al (US 2024/0224648 A1)
Kang et. al (US 2024/0138203 A1)
Hong et. al (US 2024/0147780 A1)
Hong et. al (US 2024/0138200 A1)
Park et. al (US 2024/0155897 A1)
Park et. al (US 2024/0290267 A1)
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893