DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments filed 27 July 2026. Claims 1-32 are pending in this application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim(s) 1, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Lee et. al (US 2024/0292677 A1) (of record.)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 7A, 8) A display device ([0178] FIG. 8 is a cross-sectional view of a display device) comprising:
a separator ([0207] separator SPR) including a first opening (See Fig. 7A, showing openings in the separator SPR);
a first light-emitting device ([0261] light emitting portions EP1) disposed in the first opening (See Fig. 7A, showing the light emitting potion EP1 in an opening in the separator SPR)
and including a first electrode ([0215] the first electrode EL1 may be an anode of the light emitting element LD) and a second electrode ([0154] second electrodes EL2_1, … (hereinafter, referred to as cathodes)) disposed on the first electrode (EL1); ([0105] The light emitting element LD may include an anode (or a first electrode) and a cathode (or a second electrode))
a dummy conductive pattern ([0181] second dummy layer UP2) disposed on the separator ([0241] In an upper portion of the separator SPR, a dummy layer UP may be disposed. The dummy layer UP may include … a second dummy layer UP2…), including a same material as the second electrode, and spaced apart from the second electrode (EL2); ([0241] The second dummy layer UP2 and the second electrode EL2 may be formed through the same process and may include the same material)
and a sensing electrode ([0252] The sensing layer ISL may include a plurality of conductive layers and a plurality of insulation layers. The plurality of conductive layers may include a first sensing conductive layer MTL1 and a second sensing conductive layer MTL2) arranged on the dummy conductive pattern (UP2) and the separator (SPR) to overlap the separator (SPR) in a plan view, (See Fig. 8, showing the first MTL1 and second MTL2 sensing electrodes overlapping with the second dummy layer UP2 and the separator SPR)
wherein a width of the sensing electrode (MTL2) is equal to or less than a width of the separator (SPR), (See Fig. 8)
and wherein the sensing electrode (MTL2) overlaps the dummy conductive pattern (UP2) in the plan view. (See Fig. 8, showing the first MTL1 and second MTL2 sensing electrodes overlapping with the second dummy layer UP2 and the separator SPR)
Regarding Claim 31, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 8) an encapsulation layer ([0179] an encapsulation layer ECL) covering the first light-emitting device, the second light-emitting device, and the separator, ([0249] he encapsulation layer ECL may cover the light emitting element LD and may cover the separator SPR.)
wherein the sensing electrode is arranged on the encapsulation layer. ([0251] According to some embodiments, the sensing layer ISL may be formed on the encapsulation layer ECL)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 10-14, 16-17, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akimoto et. al (US 2018/0039360 A1) (of record).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7A, 8) wherein the separator (SPR) further includes a second opening (See Fig. 7A),
wherein the display device further includes a second light emitting device ([0261] light emitting portions … EP2) disposed in the second opening and including a first electrode ([0215] the first electrode EL1 may be an anode of the light emitting element LD) and a second electrode ([0154] second electrodes … EL2_2,) disposed on the first electrode (EL1), ([0217] The middle layer IML may be located between the first electrode EL1 and the second electrode EL2)
wherein the sensing electrode includes:
a first sensing electrode (0252] The sensing layer ISL may include a plurality of conductive layers and a plurality of insulation layers. The plurality of conductive layers may include a first sensing conductive layer MTL1);
and a second sensing electrode ([0252] The sensing layer ISL may include a plurality of conductive layers and a plurality of insulation layers. The plurality of conductive layers may include … a second sensing conductive layer MTL2),
However, Lee fails to disclose:
a first sensing electrode (MTL1) extending in a first direction;
and a second sensing electrode (MTL2,) extending in a second direction different from the first direction and insulatively intersecting the first sensing electrode,
wherein the first sensing electrode includes a first mesh line extending in the first direction and the second direction and the second sensing electrode includes a second mesh line extending in the first direction and the second direction.
Akimoto discloses (as shown in Figs. 7-8) wherein the sensing electrode includes (200): a first sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by the plurality of first touch electrodes 202 ) extending in a first direction; (See Fig. 7A, showing the first touch electrode 202 extending in the D-D’ direction)
and a second sensing electrode ([0039] As described above, the touch sensor 200 is configured by …and the plurality of second touch electrodes 204.) extending in a second direction different from the first direction (See Fig. 7A, showing the second touch electrode 204 extending in the C-C’ direction)
and insulatively intersecting the first sensing electrode (202), (See Figs. 7B and 7C, showing the first touch electrodes 202 and second touch electrodes 204 separated by the interlayer insulating film 246)
wherein the first sensing electrode (202) includes a first mesh line extending in the first direction and the second direction ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250.) (See Fig. 7A)
and the second sensing electrode (204) includes a second mesh line extending in the first direction and the second direction. ([0077] the second touch electrodes 204 according to the present embodiment is a mesh wiring having a lattice form) (See Fig. 7A)
Lee discloses that the first and sensing electrodes can be driven in a capacitive manner ([0257] The sensor may be driven in a capacitive manner, and may be driven in any one of a mutual-cap capacitive manner or a self-cap capacitive manner). Lee further teaches that the sensing electrodes can have a mesh shape. ([0258] Each of the first sensing conductive layer MTL1 and the second sensing conductive layer MTL2 … may have a metal mesh shape formed of an opaque conductive material) However, Lee does not disclose how the first and second touch electrodes are laid out to achieve the capacitive touch sensor. Akimoto discloses a projective touch capacitance sensor ([0033] Thus, a so-called projective capacitive touch sensor 200 is fabricated by the first touch electrodes 202 and the second touch electrodes 204). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the sensor layout in Akimoto with the device in Lee in order to achieve a functioning capacitive touch sensor.
Regarding Claim 3, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7-8) wherein, in a plan view, the first mesh line (202) has the same shape as a portion of the separator (168) corresponding thereto and the second mesh line (204) has the same shape as a portion of the separator (168) corresponding thereto. ([0077] In other words, each possesses openings 250 arranged in a matrix form, and the wirings of the first touch electrodes 202 and the second touch electrodes 204 overlap with the partition wall 168.)
Regarding Claim 4, Lee further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7A, 8) transistors electrically connected to each of the second electrode (EL2_1) of the first light-emitting device (EP1) and the second electrode (EL2_2) of the second light-emitting device (EP2). ([0221] That is, the second electrode EL2 may be electrically connected to the connection transistor TR through the connection line portion CLP.) ([0180] FIG. 8 illustrates a cross-section of any one region among regions in which one light emitting portion is located)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7A, 8) a first connection line ([0148] The connection line portion CLP may include a first connection line portion CLP1 connected to the first light emitting portion EP1) including a first driver connection part connected to a transistor ([0222] the driving connection part CD may be a portion of the connection line CLP that is connected to the pixel driver PDC) electrically connected to the first light-emitting device and a first emission connection part spaced apart from the first driver connection part in a plan view ([0149] Each of the first connection wiring portions CLP1 may include a first emission connection part CE1, a first driving connection part CD1 spaced apart from the first emission connection part CE1) and connected to the second electrode (EL2_1) of the first light-emitting device; ([0154] The first, second, and third emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be connected to the second electrodes EL2_1, EL2_2, and EL2_3)
and a second connection line ([0148] a second connection line portion CLP2 connected to the second light emitting portion EP2) including a second driver connection part connected to a transistor electrically connected to the second light-emitting device and a second emission connection part spaced apart from the second driver connection part in a plan view ([0150] Each of the second connection wiring portions CLP2 may include a second emission connection part CE2, a second driving connection part CD2 spaced apart from the second emission connection part CE2) and connected to the second electrode (EL_2) of the second light-emitting device. ([0154] The first, second, and third emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be connected to the second electrodes EL2_1, EL2_2, and EL2_3)
Regarding Claim 6, Lee further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7A, 8)
wherein the first light-emitting device (EP1) includes a first emission part configured to emit first-color light, ([0127] For example, the first light emitting portion EP1 may be a portion which emits red light)
wherein the first emission connection part (CE1) is spaced apart from the first emission part (EP1) in a plan view, ([0154] When viewed on a plane, the first, second, and third emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be spaced apart from the light emitting portions EP1, EP2, and EP3, thereby not overlapping the light emitting portions EP1, EP2, and EP3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for:
the first emission part (EP1) and the first emission connection part (CE1) are at least partially surrounded by at least one of the first mesh line or the second mesh line.
Lee teaches the separator (SPR) surrounds the first emission part (EP1) and the first emission connection part (CE1) (See Fig. 7A, showing the separator SPR surrounding the first emission part (EP1) and the first emission connection part (CE1)). Akimoto teaches that the mesh sensing electrodes overlap the partition. ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250. This wiring is formed over the sealing film 180 and the organic insulating film 190 so as to overlap with the partition wall 168 and be arranged along the partition wall 168 (see below for further details).) Therefore, it would be obvious for the sensing electrodes, which overlap the separator, to surround the first emission part and first connection part since the separator surrounds the first emission part and first connection part.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee further discloses (as shown in Figs. 7A, 8) wherein the first mesh line (MTL_2) and the second mesh line (MTL_2) have a curved shape at a portion adjacent to the first emission connection part (EP1) and the second emission connection part (CE1). (See Fig. 7A, showing the separator SPR has a curved edge adjacent to the first emission connection part (EP1) and the second emission connection part (CE1))
Regarding Claim 10, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in An. Fig. 4A) wherein the first sensing electrode (202) includes first sensing patterns ([0047] diamond electrodes 240) arranged in the first direction and first intermediate patterns ([0047] connection regions 242) arranged between the first sensing patterns, (See An. Fig. 7A)
wherein the second sensing electrode (204) includes second sensing patterns ([0047] diamond electrodes 240) arranged in the second direction and second intermediate patterns ([0049] bridge wiring 248) arranged between the second sensing patterns, (See An. Fig. 7A)
wherein the first sensing patterns (240), the first intermediate patterns (240), and the second sensing patterns (240) are arranged on the same layer, ([0047] Here, the first touch electrode 202 and the second touch electrode 204 may exist in the same layer.)
and the second intermediate patterns (248) are arranged on a different layer from the layer on which the second sensing patterns (240) are disposed. ([0049] An interlayer insulating film 246 is provided over the first touch electrode 202, and a bridge wiring 248 is formed over the interlayer insulating film 246.)
Regarding Claim 11, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 4A) wherein the first sensing patterns (240) and the first intermediate patterns (242) constitute the first mesh line and the second sensing patterns (240) constitute the second mesh line. ([0046] The first touch electrode 202 and the second touch electrode 204 both have a mesh form)
Regarding Claim 12, Akimoto (as shown in Fig. 4A) wherein an outer periphery portion of the first mesh line constituting an outer periphery of each of the first sensing patterns (240) surrounds a portion of the first emission connection part (CE1) or a portion of the second emission connection part. (See Fig. 4A, showing the separator SPR surrounding the first emission connection part CE1) ([0071] The first touch electrode 202 is a mesh wiring having the openings 250. This wiring is formed over the sealing film 180 and the organic insulating film 190 so as to overlap with the partition wall 168 and be arranged along the partition wall 168 (see below for further details).)
Regarding Claim 13, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 4A) a first insulating layer ([0049] An interlayer insulating film 246), a second insulating layer ([0076] An organic protection film 266), and a third insulating layer ([0076] cover film 268) sequentially laminated on the separator,
wherein the first sensing patterns, the first intermediate patterns, and the second sensing patterns are arranged on the second insulating layer and covered by the third insulating layer,
wherein the second intermediate patterns (248) are arranged on the first insulating layer ([0049] An interlayer insulating film 246 is provided over the first touch electrode 202, and a bridge wiring 248 is formed over the interlayer insulating film 246) and covered by the second insulating layer, ([0070] The second layer 112 includes the first touch electrodes 202, the second touch electrodes 204, the interlayer insulating film 246, the bridge wirings 248, the first wirings 206, the second wirings 216, and the like.) ([0076] An organic protection film 266 may be disposed as a protection film between the circular polarizing plate 260 and the second layer 112.)
and wherein the second sensing patterns (204) and the second intermediate patterns (248) are connected through a contact hole formed in the second insulating layer.([0049] The bridge wiring 248 is electrically connected to two adjacent diamond electrodes 248 of the second touch electrode 204 in openings 244 formed in the interlayer insulating film 246. Therefore, it is possible to recognize the bridge wiring 248 as the connection region 242 of the second touch electrode 204)
Regarding Claim 14, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 8) a connection line ([0068] first connection member 177);
wherein the connection line (177) includes a emission connection part connected to the light-emitting device, ([0154] The first, second, and third emission connection parts CE1, CE2, and CE3 may be connected to the second electrodes EL2_1, EL2_2, and EL2_3)
Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Figs. 1A-B, 7A, 12)
wherein the first light-emitting device includes a 1-1st light-emitting device and a 1-2nd light-emitting device arranged spaced apart from each other with the second light-emitting device disposed therebetween, ([0077] In other words, the sub-pixels 130, 132, and 134 are each arranged in a region overlapping with the opening 250 of the first touch electrodes 202 or the second touch electrodes 204, but do not overlap with the mesh wirings of the first touch electrode 202 and the second touch electrode 204.) (See An. Fig. 1B)
Akimoto fails to disclose a 1-1st connection line, a 1-2nd connection line, and a 2-1st connection line,
wherein the 1-1st connection line includes a 1-1st emission connection part connected to the 1-1st light-emitting device,
the 1-2nd connection line includes a 1-2nd emission connection part connected to the 1-2nd light-emitting device,
and the 2-1st connection line includes a 2-1st emission connection part connected to the second light-emitting device,
and wherein the 1-1st emission connection part and the 1-2nd emission connection part are spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the 2-1st emission connection part disposed therebetween.
Regarding Claim 16, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1A-B, 7A, 12) wherein a portion of the first mesh line (202) is arranged between the 1-1st emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part, (See An. Fig. 7A, showing a portion of the first touch electrodes 202 and a portion of the second touch electrodes 204 are between the light emitting devices 1-1 and 2-1)
and a portion of the second mesh line (204) is arranged between the 1-2nd emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part. (See An. Fig. 7A)
Regarding Claim 17, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1A-B, 7A, 12) wherein a portion of the first mesh line (202) and a portion of the second mesh line (202) are arranged spaced apart from each other between the 1-1st emission connection part and the 2-1st emission connection part. (See An. Fig. 7A, showing there is a gap between the first (202) and second (204) touch electrodes)
Regarding Claim 21, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 1A-B, 7A, 12) a 3-1st light-emitting device spaced apart from the 1-2nd light-emitting device in the first direction; (See An. Fig. 1B)
a fourth light-emitting device spaced apart from the second light-emitting device in the first direction; (See An. Fig. 1B)
a 3-2nd light-emitting device spaced apart from the 1-1st light-emitting device in the first direction (See An. Fig. 1B) and spaced apart from the 3-1st light-emitting device in the second direction with the fourth light-emitting device disposed therebetween; (See An. Fig. 1B, showing the fourth light emitting device in between the 3-1 and 3-2 light emitting devices in the second direction)
it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Akimoto in view of Bang to have:
a 3-1st connection line, a 3-2nd connection line, and a 2-2nd connection line (on the fourth light emitting device), ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
wherein the 3-1st connection line includes a 3-1st emission connection part connected to the 3-1st light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
the 2-2nd connection line includes a 2-2nd emission connection part connected to the fourth light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
and the 3-1st connection line includes a 3-1st emission connection part connected to the 3-2nd light-emitting device, ([0068] The first connection member 177 may connect the drain electrode 175 and a pixel electrode 191)
in order to reduce the resistance of each of the light emitting devices.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Lee to have:
wherein the 2-1st emission connection part and the 2-2nd emission connection part are spaced apart from each other in the second direction with the 2-2nd emission connection part disposed therebetween.
Since the fourth light-emitting device is between the 3-1 and 3-2 light emitting devices (as shown in An. Fig. 1B)
Regarding Claim 22, Akimoto further discloses (as shown in Fig. 7A, 12) wherein the 1-1st and 1-2nd light-emitting devices respectively include 1-1st and 1-2nd emission parts that provide first-color light, the second and fourth light-emitting devices respectively include 2-1st and 2-2nd emission parts that provide second-color light having a different color from the first-color light, and the 3-1st and 3-2nd light-emitting devices respectively include 3-1st and 3-2nd emission parts that provide third-color light having a different color from the first-color light and the second-color light, (See Fig. 12, showing Red, Blue, and Green subpixels in each mesh unit)
wherein the 1-1st emission part and the 1-2nd emission part are spaced apart in the second direction with the 2-1st emission part disposed therebetween, (See Ann. Fig. 1B, showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 1-1st light emitting device spaced apart from the showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 1-2nd emitting device spaced apart with the diamond electrode 240 containing the 2-1st light emitting device in the second (up-down) direction)
the 3-1st emission part and the 3-2nd emission part are spaced apart in the second direction with the 2-2nd emission part disposed therebetween, (See Ann. Fig. 1B, showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 3-1st light emitting device spaced apart from the showing the diamond electrode 240 containing the 3-2nd emitting device spaced apart with the diamond electrode 240 containing the 2-2nd light emitting device in the second (up-down) direction)
and the 1-1st, 2-1st, and 1-2nd emission parts are spaced apart from the 3-2, 2-2nd, and 3-1st emission parts respectively in the first direction, (See An. Fig. 2B, showing the part of the diamond electrodes 240 containing the 1-1st, 2-1st, and 1-2nd light emitting devices separated from the part of the diamond electrodes 240 containing the 1-1st, 2-1st, and 1-2nd light emitting devices)
and wherein the 1-1st and 3-2nd emission connection parts are spaced apart from the 1-1st and 3-2 emission parts respectively in the second direction, (See An. Fig. 2B)
and the 1-2nd and 3-1st emission connection parts are spaced apart from the 1-2nd and 3-1st emission parts respectively in an opposite direction to the second direction. (See An. Fig. 2B)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-9, 15, 18-20, 23-25, 29-30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 8-9, 15, 18-20, 23-25, 29-30 were previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter. They still maintain allowable subject matter for the same reasons.
Claim 26-28, 32 allowed.
Regarding Claim 26, Claim 6 was previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter. Claim 26 has been properly rewritten in independent form. Therefore Claim 26 is allowed for the same reasons it was previously indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Regarding claims 27-28, Claims 27-28 depend from Claim 26 and are allowed for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 32, Claim 32 was previously allowed and remains allowed for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893