DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
FIG. 7 contains an unlabeled, curved arrow at the top right of element 122.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
FIG. 3: reference character 117
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the system comprising: the charged-particle microscope apparatus includes a charged particle beam…” is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Suggested correction: “the system comprising: the charged-particle microscope apparatus, wherein the charged-particle microscope apparatus includes a charged particle beam…”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. The relevant claims limitations are as follows:
Claims 3 and 10: “an imaging element that images the light emitting element”;
Claims 3 and 10: “an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron”;
Claims 3 and 10: “an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron”;
Claims 4 and 11: “an element that detects light emission in a third detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the third emitted electron”.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing the claimed functions are as follows:
A CCD camera (paragraph 0078);
A photomultiplier (paragraphs 0022, 0031);
A photomultiplier (paragraphs 0022, 0031);
A photomultiplier (paragraphs 0022, 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the system" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the system” to mean “the processor system”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the amount detected by the first detector” in lines 33-34. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the amount detected by the first detector” to mean “[[the]]an amount of the second emitted electron detected by the first detector”.
Claims 2-7 are rejected because of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the amount detected by the first detector” in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the amount detected by the first detector” to mean “[[the]]an amount of the third emitted electron detected by the first detector”.
Claims 5-6 are rejected because of their dependence on claim 4.
Claim 7 recites the limitations “the first image” in line 2 and “the second image” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the first image” to mean “[[the]]a first image”, and “the second image” to mean “[[the]]a second image”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the amount detected by the first detector” in lines 34-35. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the amount detected by the first detector” to mean “[[the]]an amount of the second emitted electron detected by the first detector”.
Claims 9-15 are rejected because of their dependence on claim 8.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the amount detected by the first detector” in lines 16-17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the amount detected by the first detector” to mean “[[the]]an amount of the third emitted electron detected by the first detector”.
Claims 12-14 are rejected because of their dependence on claim 11.
Claim 14 recites the limitations “the first image” in line 2 and “the second image” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted “the first image” to mean “[[the]]a first image”, and “the second image” to mean “[[the]]a second image”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirasaki et al. (WO Patent No. 2021053824 A1), hereinafter Shirasaki (English machine translation provided), in view of Zeidler et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,645,740 B2), hereinafter Zeidler.
Regarding claim 1, Shirasaki discloses a processor system (FIGs. 1, 2) that is able to communicate with a charged-particle microscope apparatus (FIG. 1), the system comprising:
the charged-particle microscope apparatus includes
a charged particle beam irradiation system that includes at least one charged particle source (FIG. 1, element 101), and irradiates a first region on a sample surface (page 4, paragraph 4) with a first charged particle beam generated using the charged particle source (FIG. 1, first charged particle beam 251) while irradiating a second region on the sample surface (page 4, paragraph 4) with a second charged particle beam generated using the charged particle source (FIG. 1, second charged particle beam 251),
a detection system including
a correction detector (FIG. 1, element 110) that detects a first emitted electron emitted from the first region and a second emitted electron emitted from the second region (page 5, paragraph 1),
a first detector (FIG. 4A, element 301_1) that detects the first emitted electron through a part of the correction detector and outputs a first signal (page 6, paragraph 6), and
a second detector (FIG. 4A, element 301_2) that detects the second emitted electron through a part of the correction detector and outputs a second signal (page 6, paragraph 6), and
a controller that generates a first pixel (FIG. 4B, first pixel 351_1) corresponding to a first position within the first region based on the first signal (page 7, paragraph 2) and generates a second pixel (FIG. 4B, second pixel 351_2) corresponding to a second position within the second region based on the second signal (page 7, paragraph 2), wherein
the processor system includes one or more memory resources (FIG. 2, elements 122, 123) and one or more processors (FIG. 2, element 121), and
the processor
(A) stores the first intensity and an output of the correction detector (FIG. 10) acquired from the charged-particle microscope apparatus in the memory resource (page 5, last paragraph),
(B) specifies a first crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraphs 4-6) from the second emitted electron (FIG. 12, second emitted electron 281_2) to the first signal, regarding the amount detected by the first detector (FIG. 12, first detector 301_1), based on the output of the correction detector (page 13, paragraphs 4-6), and
(C) corrects the first intensity based on the first crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraph 3).
Shirasaki fails to disclose generating a first brightness of the first pixel and generating a second brightness of the second pixel; storing the first brightness; and correcting the first brightness.
However, Zeidler discloses generating a first brightness of the first pixel and generating a second brightness of the second pixel (column 19, lines 15-25);
storing the first brightness (column 19, lines 15-25); and
correcting the first brightness (column 19, lines 15-25, equalization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki to include generating a first brightness of the first pixel and generating a second brightness of the second pixel; storing the first brightness; and correcting the first brightness, based on the teachings of Zeidler that correcting the image brightness enables more accurate data analysis (Zeidler, column 2, lines 32-36).
Regarding claim 2, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler as applied to claim 1 discloses the processor system according to claim 1, including generating the first brightness of the first pixel and generating the second brightness of the second pixel (Zeidler; see claim 1 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the controller generates a first image including the first pixel as generation of the first pixel (FIG. 4B, first image 351_1 comprising first pixel 351_1), and generates a second image including the second pixel as generation of the second pixel (FIG. 4B, second image 351_2 comprising pixel 351_2).
Regarding claim 8, Shirasaki discloses a correction method in a processor system (FIGs. 1, 2) that is able to communicate with a charged-particle microscope apparatus (FIG. 1), wherein
the charged-particle microscope apparatus includes
a charged particle beam irradiation system that includes at least one charged particle source (FIG. 1, element 101), and irradiates a first region on a sample surface (page 4, paragraph 4) with a first charged particle beam generated using the charged particle source (FIG. 1, first charged particle beam 251) while irradiating a second region on the sample surface (page 4, paragraph 4) with a second charged particle beam generated using the charged particle source (FIG. 1, second charged particle beam 251),
a detection system including
a correction detector (FIG. 1, element 110) that detects a first emitted electron emitted from the first region and a second emitted electron emitted from the second region (page 5, paragraph 1),
a first detector (FIG. 4A, element 301_1) that detects the first emitted electron through a part of the correction detector and outputs a first signal (page 6, paragraph 6), and
a second detector (FIG. 4A, element 301_2) that detects the second emitted electron through a part of the correction detector and outputs a second signal (page 6, paragraph 6), and
a controller that generates a first pixel (FIG. 4B, first pixel 351_1) corresponding to a first position within the first region based on the first signal (page 7, paragraph 2) and generates a second pixel (FIG. 4B, second pixel 351_2) corresponding to a second position within the second region based on the second signal (page 7, paragraph 2), wherein
the processor system includes one or more memory resources (FIG. 2, elements 122, 123) and one or more processors (FIG. 2, element 121), and
the correction method executed by the processor comprises
(A) storing the first intensity and an output of the correction detector (FIG. 10) acquired from the charged-particle microscope apparatus in the memory resource (page 5, last paragraph),
(B) specifying a first crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraphs 4-6) from the second emitted electron (FIG. 12, second emitted electron 281_2) to the first signal, regarding the amount detected by the first detector (FIG. 12, first detector 301_1), based on the output of the correction detector (page 13, paragraphs 4-6), and
(C) correcting the first intensity based on the first crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraph 3).
Shirasaki fails to disclose generating a first brightness of the first pixel and generating a second brightness of the second pixel; storing the first brightness; and correcting the first brightness.
However, Zeidler discloses generating a first brightness of the first pixel and generating a second brightness of the second pixel (column 19, lines 15-25);
storing the first brightness (column 19, lines 15-25); and
correcting the first brightness (column 19, lines 15-25, equalization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki to include generating a first brightness of the first pixel and generating a second brightness of the second pixel; storing the first brightness; and correcting the first brightness, based on the teachings of Zeidler that correcting the image brightness enables more accurate data analysis (Zeidler, column 2, lines 32-36).
Regarding claim 9, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler as applied to claim 8 discloses the correction method according to claim 8, including generating the first brightness of the first pixel and generating the second brightness of the second pixel (Zeidler; see claim 8 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the controller generates a first image including the first pixel as generation of the first pixel (FIG. 4B, first image 351_1 comprising first pixel 351_1), and generates a second image including the second pixel as generation of the second pixel (FIG. 4B, second image 351_2 comprising pixel 351_2).
Regarding claim 15, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler as applied to claim 8 discloses the correction method according to claim 8.
In addition, Shirasaki discloses a correction program that causes a processor system to execute the correction method (page 5, last paragraph).
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirasaki in view of Zeidler as respectively applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Riedesel et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,896,800 B2), hereinafter Riedesel.
Regarding claim 3, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler as applied to claim 1 discloses the processor system according to claim 1.
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that an output of the correction detector includes a captured image for correction (FIG. 6, captured image 355), and
specifying the first crosstalk amount in the (B) includes specifying an amount of the second emitted electron included in the first detection range based on the captured image for correction (paragraph spanning the end of page 7 to the beginning of page 8).
Shirasaki in view of Zeidler fails to disclose that the correction detector includes a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with the first emitted electron and a collision position with the second emitted electron, and an imaging element that images the light emitting element, the captured image for correction is captured using the imaging element, the first detector includes an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron, and the second detector includes an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron.
However, Riedesel discloses that the correction detector includes
a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with the first emitted electron and a collision position with the second emitted electron (column 9, lines 25-30), and
an imaging element that images the light emitting element (column 11, lines 10-16),
the captured image for correction is captured using the imaging element (column 11, lines 12-14),
the first detector (column 11, lines 54-65, first detector 296) includes an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron (column 11, lines 50-65), and
the second detector (column 11, lines 54-65, second detector 297) includes an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron (column 11, lines 50-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki in view of Zeidler to include that the correction detector includes a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with the first emitted electron and a collision position with the second emitted electron, and an imaging element that images the light emitting element, the first detector includes an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron, and the second detector includes an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron, based on the teachings of Riedesel that this enables easy determination of required system adjustments (Riedesel, column 3, lines 47-58).
Regarding claim 4, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 3 discloses the processor system according to claim 3, including the first and second detection ranges of the light emitting element (Riedesel; see claim 3 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the charged particle beam irradiation system further irradiates a third region on the sample surface (page 4, paragraph 4) with a third charged particle beam (FIG. 1, third charged particle beam 251),
the detection system further includes a third detector (FIG. 4A, element 301_3) that detects a third emitted electron emitted from the third region (page 5, paragraph 1) through a part of the correction detector and outputs a third signal (page 6, paragraph 6),
the processor
(D) specifies a second crosstalk amount from the third emitted electron to the first signal based on an output of the correction detector (page 13, paragraphs 4-6), regarding the amount detected by the first detector (FIG. 11, row A) and
(E) corrects the first intensity based on the second crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraph 3), and
specifying the second crosstalk amount in the (D) includes specifying an amount of the third emitted electrons included in the first detection range based on the captured image for correction (paragraph spanning the end of page 7 to the beginning of page 8).
In addition, Riedesel discloses that the third detector (column 11, lines 54-65, third detector 298) includes an element that detects light emission in a third detection range of the light emitting element for detecting the third emitted electron (column 11, lines 50-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel to include that the third detector includes an element that detects light emission in a third detection range of the light emitting element for detecting the third emitted electron, based on the additional teachings of Riedesel that this enables easy determination of required system adjustments (Riedesel, column 3, lines 47-58).
Regarding claim 5, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 4 discloses the processor system according to claim 4, including the first, second, and third detection ranges of the light emitting element (Riedesel; see claims 3-4 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the captured image for correction (FIG. 5B, image 355) has
a first image region (FIG. 5B, region 356_1) corresponding to the first detection range (page 7, paragraph 4),
a second image region (FIG. 5B, region 356_2) corresponding to the second detection range (page 7, paragraph 4), and
a third image region (FIG. 5B, region 356_3) corresponding to the third detection range (page 7, paragraph 4), and
the processor
in the (B), specifies the first crosstalk amount to a value greater than zero when a first light emitting region extending from the second image region into the first image region exists (FIG. 7C: non-zero values outside of the diagonal of the matrix), and
in the (D), specifies the second crosstalk amount to a value greater than zero when a second light emitting region extending from the third image region into the first image region exists (FIG. 7C: non-zero values outside of the diagonal of the matrix).
Regarding claim 6, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 5 discloses the processor system according to claim 5, including storing the brightness and correcting the brightness (Zeidler; see claim 1 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the processor
(F) stores the second intensity acquired from the charged-particle microscope apparatus (FIG. 10) in the memory resource (page 5, last paragraph), and
(G) corrects the second intensity based on at least the first crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler as applied to claim 8 discloses the correction method according to claim 8.
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that an output of the correction detector includes a captured image for correction (FIG. 6, captured image 355), and
specifying the first crosstalk amount in the (B) includes specifying an amount of the second emitted electron included in the first detection range based on the captured image for correction (paragraph spanning the end of page 7 to the beginning of page 8).
Shirasaki in view of Zeidler fails to disclose that the correction detector includes a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with the first emitted electron and a collision position with the second emitted electron, and an imaging element that images the light emitting element, the captured image for correction is captured using the imaging element, the first detector includes an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron, and the second detector includes an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron.
However, Riedesel discloses that the correction detector includes
a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with the first emitted electron and a collision position with the second emitted electron (column 9, lines 25-30), and
an imaging element that images the light emitting element (column 11, lines 10-16),
the captured image for correction is captured using the imaging element (column 11, lines 12-14),
the first detector (column 11, lines 54-65, first detector 296) includes an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron (column 11, lines 50-65), and
the second detector (column 11, lines 54-65, second detector 297) includes an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron (column 11, lines 50-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki in view of Zeidler to include that the correction detector includes a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with the first emitted electron and a collision position with the second emitted electron, and an imaging element that images the light emitting element, the first detector includes an element that detects light emission in a first detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the first emitted electron, and the second detector includes an element that detects light emission in a second detection range of the light emitting element in order to detect the second emitted electron, based on the teachings of Riedesel that this enables easy determination of required system adjustments (Riedesel, column 3, lines 47-58).
Regarding claim 11, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 10 discloses the correction method according to claim 10, including the first and second detection ranges of the light emitting element (Riedesel; see claim 10 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the charged particle beam irradiation system further irradiates a third region on the sample surface (page 4, paragraph 4) with a third charged particle beam (FIG. 1, third charged particle beam 251),
the detection system further includes a third detector (FIG. 4A, element 301_3) that detects a third emitted electron emitted from the third region (page 5, paragraph 1) through a part of the correction detector and outputs a third signal (page 6, paragraph 6),
the correction method executed by the processor further comprises
(D) specifying a second crosstalk amount from the third emitted electron to the first signal based on an output of the correction detector (page 13, paragraphs 4-6), regarding the amount detected by the first detector (FIG. 11, row A) and
(E) correcting the first intensity based on the second crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraph 3), and
specifying the second crosstalk amount in the (D) includes specifying an amount of the third emitted electrons included in the first detection range based on the captured image for correction (paragraph spanning the end of page 7 to the beginning of page 8).
In addition, Riedesel discloses that the third detector (column 11, lines 54-65, third detector 298) includes an element that detects light emission in a third detection range of the light emitting element for detecting the third emitted electron (column 11, lines 50-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel to include that the third detector includes an element that detects light emission in a third detection range of the light emitting element for detecting the third emitted electron, based on the additional teachings of Riedesel that this enables easy determination of required system adjustments (Riedesel, column 3, lines 47-58).
Regarding claim 12, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 11 discloses the correction method according to claim 11, including the first, second, and third detection ranges of the light emitting element (Riedesel; see claims 10-11 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the captured image for correction (FIG. 5B, image 355) has
a first image region (FIG. 5B, region 356_1) corresponding to the first detection range (page 7, paragraph 4),
a second image region (FIG. 5B, region 356_2) corresponding to the second detection range (page 7, paragraph 4), and
a third image region (FIG. 5B, region 356_3) corresponding to the third detection range (page 7, paragraph 4),
the correction method executed by the processor further comprises
in the (B), specifying the first crosstalk amount to a value greater than zero when a first light emitting region extending from the second image region into the first image region exists (FIG. 7C: non-zero values outside of the diagonal of the matrix), and
in the (D), specifying the second crosstalk amount to a value greater than zero when a second light emitting region extending from the third image region into the first image region exists (FIG. 7C: non-zero values outside of the diagonal of the matrix).
Regarding claim 13, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 12 discloses the correction method according to claim 12, including storing the brightness and correcting the brightness (Zeidler; see claim 8 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the correction method executed by the processor further comprises
(F) storing the second intensity acquired from the charged-particle microscope apparatus (FIG. 10) in the memory resource (page 5, last paragraph), and
(G) correcting the second intensity based on at least the first crosstalk amount (page 13, paragraph 3).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as respectively applied to claims 3 and 11 above, and further in view of Kikuchi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0329085 A1), hereinafter Kikuchi.
Regarding claim 7, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 3 discloses the processor system according to claim 3, including generating the first brightness of the first pixel and generating the second brightness of the second pixel (Zeidler; see claim 1 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the controller generates the first image including the first pixel as generation of the first pixel (FIG. 4B, first image 351_1 comprising first pixel 351_1), and generates the second image including the second pixel as generation of the second pixel (FIG. 4B, second image 351_2 comprising pixel 351_2).
Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel fails to disclose that an imaging period of the captured image for correction imaged by the imaging element of the correction detector is a period matching a period of the first signal corresponding to the first image by the first detector or a period of detection of the first signal corresponding to the first pixel.
However, Kikuchi discloses that an imaging period of the captured image for correction imaged by the imaging element of the correction detector is a period matching a period of the first signal corresponding to the first image by the first detector or a period of detection of the first signal corresponding to the first pixel (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel to include that an imaging period of the captured image for correction imaged by the imaging element of the correction detector is a period matching a period of the first signal corresponding to the first image by the first detector or a period of detection of the first signal corresponding to the first pixel, based on the teachings of Kikuchi that matching time periods improves the precision of crosstalk correction (Kikuchi, paragraph 0126).
Regarding claim 14, Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel as applied to claim 11 discloses the correction method according to claim 11, including generating the first brightness of the first pixel and generating the second brightness of the second pixel (Zeidler; see claim 8 supra).
In addition, Shirasaki discloses that the controller generates the first image including the first pixel as generation of the first pixel (FIG. 4B, first image 351_1 comprising first pixel 351_1), and generates the second image including the second pixel as generation of the second pixel (FIG. 4B, second image 351_2 comprising pixel 351_2).
Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel fails to disclose that an imaging period of the captured image for correction imaged by the imaging element of the correction detector is a period matching a period of the first signal corresponding to the first image by the first detector or a period of detection of the first signal corresponding to the first pixel.
However, Kikuchi discloses that an imaging period of the captured image for correction imaged by the imaging element of the correction detector is a period matching a period of the first signal corresponding to the first image by the first detector or a period of detection of the first signal corresponding to the first pixel (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Shirasaki in view of Zeidler and Riedesel to include that an imaging period of the captured image for correction imaged by the imaging element of the correction detector is a period matching a period of the first signal corresponding to the first image by the first detector or a period of detection of the first signal corresponding to the first pixel, based on the teachings of Kikuchi that matching time periods improves the precision of crosstalk correction (Kikuchi, paragraph 0126).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kasai (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0134288 A1), hereinafter Kasai, teaches a controller that generates a first brightness of a first pixel and a second brightness of a second pixel; and a processor that stores the first brightness and an output of a correction detector acquired from a charged-particle microscope apparatus in a memory resource, specifies a first crosstalk amount from the second emitted electron to the first signal based on the output of the correction detector, and corrects the first brightness based on the first crosstalk amount.
Fang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0301811 A1), hereinafter Fang, teaches a processor system that is able to communicate with a charged-particle microscope apparatus, the system comprising: the charged-particle microscope apparatus includes a charged particle beam irradiation system that includes at least one charged particle source, and irradiates a first region on a sample surface with a first charged particle beam generated using the charged particle source while irradiating a second region on the sample surface with a second charged particle beam generated using the charged particle source, a detection system including a correction detector that detects a first emitted electron emitted from the first region and a second emitted electron emitted from the second region, a first detector that detects the first emitted electron through a part of the correction detector and outputs a first signal, and a second detector that detects the second emitted electron through a part of the correction detector and outputs a second signal, and a controller that generates an image comprising pixels, wherein the processor corrects crosstalk generated in the images.
Iwanaka et al. (WO Patent No. 2021176513 A1), hereinafter Iwanaka (English machine translation provided), teaches reducing crosstalk in a processor system comprising a charged-particle microscope, wherein the processor system includes a correction detector including a light emitting element that emits light at a collision position with a first emitted electron and a collision position with a second emitted electron, and an imaging element that images the light emitting element.
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881