Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/23/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, term “the plurality of jet passages” is believed to be in error for - - the plurality of axially extending jet passages - -; and term “the one or more secondary jet nozzles” is believed to be in error for - - the one or more respective secondary jet nozzles - -
Regarding claim 14, recitation “… define fluid connections between the one or more secondary jet passages and the inner third fluid passage to supply a portion of the first fluid into the inner third fluid passage to mix with the third fluid within the float swirler” is believed to be in error for - - define fluid connections between the one or more secondary jet passages and the inner third fluid passage to supply [[a]]the second portion of the first fluid into the inner third fluid passage to mix with the third fluid within the float swirler - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, recitation “the liquid fuel comprises a mixture with water as a component of the liquid fuel” is unclear whether term “a mixture” refers to i) the previously claimed combination of Jet-A, diesel, and JP8 in claim 8; or ii) a mixture of water and any one of the Jet-A, diesel, or JP8.
Regarding claim 16 and its dependent, term “The fuel injector nozzle assembly turbine engine of claim 14” lacks antecedent basis and is unclear whether i) claim 16 depends on claim 1, which claims a fuel injector nozzle assembly; or ii) claim 16 depends on claim 1, which claims a turbine engine.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 16, recitation “The fuel injector nozzle assembly turbine engine of claim 14” fails to include all the limitations of claim 14, which claim 16 depends, because claim 14 claims the turbine engine, not the fuel injector nozzle assembly turbine engine.
Regarding claim 17, recitation “The turbine engine of claim 16” fails to include all the limitations of claim 16, which claim 17 depends, because claim 16 claims the fuel injector nozzle assembly turbine engine, not the turbine engine.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CARLISLE 3285007.
Regarding claim 1, CARLISLE teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector nozzle assembly (16) for a turbine engine (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a center body (annotated Fig. 2) defining a plurality of axially extending jet passages (24 and 28, which are axially extending along the nozzle axis, see annotated Fig. 2) and a jet nozzle (23) arranged at an end of the center body (see Fig. 2), the center body defining a nozzle axis (annotated Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of axially extending jet passages comprises a primary jet passage (24) fluidly coupled to the jet nozzle (23) and one or more secondary jet passages (28);
an intermediate housing body (annotated Fig. 2) arranged radially outward from the center body (see annotated Fig. 2);
an outer housing body (annotated Fig. 2) arranged radially outward from the intermediate housing body (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a float swirler (25 and 26, 25 engaged with the outer housing body and surrounded by swirler 26) arranged radially outward from the outer housing body (see Figs. 1-3 and col. 1, l. 70 to col. 2, l. 5);
wherein:
the center body (annotated Fig. 2) is a solid body structure (a solid structure as shown in annotated Fig. 2; and according to Oxford dictionary, solid means hard, not in the form of a liquid or gas, additionally, the center body of CARLISLE shows a closed forward end similar to that of the Applicant’s disclosure and therefore is interpreted as a solid body) configured to prevent airflow through the center body (at the closed inlet end, the center boy prevent airflow enters the center body at the closed inlet end, see annotated Fig. 2);
a first fluid passage (annotated Fig. 2) fluidly coupled to a second end of the center body (an end opposite from nozzle 23, see annotated Fig. 2) and is configured to (by having two conduits 33 and 34) supply a first fluid (liquid fuel, col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3) into the plurality of jet passages (24 and 28) within the center body (see annotated Fig. 2), wherein a first portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage (via conduit 33) into the primary jet passage (24) and ejected through the jet nozzle (20) at the first end of the center body (see Fig. 2) and a second portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage (via conduit 34) into the one or more secondary jet passages (28), wherein each of the one or more secondary jet passages (28) is fluidly coupled to a respective secondary jet nozzle (27, see Fig. 2 and col. 2, ll. 18-25);
a second fluid passage (annotated Fig. 2) partially defined between the intermediate housing body (annotated Fig. 2) and the outer housing body (annotated Fig. 2) is configured to supply a second fluid (gaseous fuel, col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3) different from the first fluid (liquid fuel, col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3); and
a plurality of third fluid passages (comprising the inner and outer third fluid passages, see annotated Fig. 2) configured to supply a third fluid (air, col. 2, ll. 28-30) through the float swirler (25 and 26), the plurality of third fluid passages comprising an inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 2) defined within the float swirler (see Fig. 2) and an outer third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 2) defined within the float swirler and radially outward from the inner third fluid (see annotated Fig. 2), wherein the third fluid (air) is different from the first fluid (liquid fuel) and the second fluid (gaseous fuel),
wherein the one or more secondary jet nozzles (27) are angled at least partially radially outward (at the exit of 27 adjacent to 23, see Fig. 2) relative to the nozzle axis (annotated Fig. 2) and define fluid connections between the one or more secondary jet passages (28) and the inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 2) to supply the second portion of the first fluid (provided by 34, 28 and 27) into the inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 2) to mix with the third fluid within the float swirler (Fig. 2 and col. 2, ll. 15-20).
Regarding claim 3, CARLISLE further teaches wherein the first fluid is a first fuel (liquid fuel, col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3), the second fluid is a second fuel (gaseous fuel, col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3), and the third fluid is air (air, col. 2, ll. 28-30).
Regarding claim 10, CARLISLE further teaches wherein the second fluid is a gaseous fuel (col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3).
Claims 1, 5-7, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vinson 4854127.
Regarding claim 1, Vinson teaches the invention as claimed: A fuel injector nozzle assembly (Figs. 1-3) for a turbine engine (title) comprising:
a center body (comprising 78, 80, 72, and 70, see Fig. 3) defining a plurality of axially extending jet passages (76 and the secondary jet passages in annotated Fig. 3, which are extending axially along the nozzle axis, see annotated Fig. 3) and a jet nozzle (62) arranged at a first end (where piece 80 is, see Fig. 3) of the center body, the center body defining a nozzle axis (annotated Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of axially extending jet passages comprises a primary jet passage (76) fluidly coupled to the jet nozzle (62, see Fig. 3) and one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3);
an intermediate housing body (86) arranged radially outward from the center body (comprising 78, 80, 72, and 70; see Fig. 3);
an outer housing body (50) arranged radially outward from the intermediate housing body (86; see Fig. 3); and
a float swirler (45 in Fig. 1 attached to 50, see Figs. 1-3) arranged radially outward from the outer housing body (50);
wherein:
the center body (78, 80, 72, and 70, see Fig. 3) is a solid body structure (each of 78, 80, 72, and 70 is solid; and according to Oxford dictionary, solid means hard, not in the form of a liquid or gas, additionally, the center body of Vinson shows a closed forward end similar to that of the Applicant’s disclosure and therefore is interpreted as a solid body) configured to prevent airflow through the center body (at 70 part, because 70 does not have any hollow structures/passages/holes, see Fig. 3);
a first fluid passage (36 in Fig. 1, which is a injector stem passage where two conduits 40 and 42 are placed in, also see Fig. 3) fluidly coupled to a second end (an end opposite from nozzle 62, see Fig. 1) of the center body and is configured (by placing two conduits 40 and 42) to supply a first fluid (the fuel provided from 43, see Fig. 1) into the plurality of jet passages (76 and the secondary jet passages in annotated Fig. 3) with in the center body (see Fig. 3), wherein a first portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage (via conduit 40) into the primary jet passage (76) and ejected through the jet nozzle (62) at the first end of the center body (see Fig. 3) and a second portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage (via conduit 42) into the one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3), wherein each of the one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3) is fluidly coupled to a respective secondary jet nozzle (64, see Fig. 3 and col. 4, ll. 28-33);
a second fluid passage (54) partially defined between (at where 90 is in Fig. 3) the intermediate housing body (86) and the outer housing body (50, see Fig. 3) is configured to supply a second fluid (the air flow flowing through annulus 54, see Figs. 1 and 3 and col. 4, ll. 55-60) different from the first fluid (the fuel provided from 43, see Fig. 1; two fluids flow through different locations/paths, see Fig. 3); and
a plurality of third fluid passages (the inner and outer third fluid passages, annotated Fig. 3) configured to supply a third fluid (the air flow flowing through 45) through the float swirler (see Figs. 1-3 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), the plurality of third fluid passages comprising an inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3) defined within the float swirler (45, see annotated Fig. 3) and an outer third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3) defined within the float swirler (45) and radially outward from the inner third fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the third fluid is different from the first fluid and the second fluid (three fluids flow through different locations/paths, see Fig. 3),
wherein the one or more secondary jet nozzles (64) are angled at least partially radially outward relative to the nozzle axis (see annotated Fig. 3) and define fluid connections between one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3) and the inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3) to supply the second portion of the first fluid (provided by 42) into the inner third fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 3) to mix with the third fluid within the float swirler (col. 4, ll. 44-48 and col. 5, ll. 9-14).
Regarding claim 5, Vinson further teaches wherein each of the one or more respective secondary jet nozzles (64) extends through the second fluid passage (54, see Fig. 3) such that the second fluid (the air flow flowing through annulus 54) and the first fluid (the fuel in 64 that provided by 42) are fluidly separate (in the marked section in annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Vinson further teaches wherein the second fluid passage (54) comprises at least one vane (96, see Fig. 3 and col. 4, ll. 55-60) extending between the intermediate housing body (86) and the outer housing body (50) and each of the one or more respective secondary jet nozzles (64) passes through a respective vane of the at least one vanes (see Fig. 3 and col. 4, ll. 55-60).
Regarding claim 7, Vinson further teaches wherein the at least one vane (96) is arranged to impart a swirl to the second fluid (the air flow flowing through 54) as the second fluid passes through the second fluid passage (54, see Fig. 3 and col. 4, ll. 55-60).
Regarding claim 12, Vinson further teaches wherein the third fluid is air (annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1) received from a compressor (col. 3, ll. 14-20, col. 5, ll. 5-10, and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Vinson further teaches wherein the inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1) is configured to dispense a mixture of the third fluid (the air flowing through the inner third fluid passage) and the second portion of the first fluid (the fuel provided by the one or more secondary jet passages and 64, see annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1) and the outer third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1) is configured to dispense only the third fluid (because 64 only provide fuel to inner third fluid passage, see annotated Fig. 3 in claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, Vinson teaches the invention as claimed: A turbine engine (title and abstract) comprising:
a compressor section (see Fig. 1 and col. 3, ll. 14-18) and a combustor section (16, see Fig. 1), wherein the combustor section comprises:
a fuel injector nozzle assembly (including fuel nozzle 47 and swirler 45, as shown in Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a center body (comprising 78, 80, 72, and 70, see Fig. 3) defining a plurality of axially extending jet passages (76 and the secondary jet passages in annotated Fig. 3, which are extending axially along the nozzle axis, see annotated Fig. 3) and a jet nozzle (62) arranged at a first end (where piece 80 is, see Fig. 3) of the center body, the center body defining a nozzle axis (annotated Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of axially extending jet passages comprises a primary jet passage (76) fluidly coupled to the jet nozzle (62, see Fig. 3) and one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3);
an intermediate housing body (86) arranged radially outward from the center body (comprising 78, 80, 72, and 70; see Fig. 3);
an outer housing body (50) arranged radially outward from the intermediate housing body (86; see Fig. 3); and
a float swirler (45 in Fig. 1 attached to 50, see Figs. 1-3) arranged radially outward from the outer housing body (50);
wherein:
the center body (78, 80, 72, and 70, see Fig. 3) is a solid body structure (each of 78, 80, 72, and 70 is solid; and according to Oxford dictionary, solid means hard, not in the form of a liquid or gas, additionally, the center body of Vinson shows a closed forward end similar to that of the Applicant’s disclosure and therefore is interpreted as a solid body) configured to prevent airflow through the center body (at 70 part, because 70 does not have any hollow structures/passages/holes, see Fig. 3);
a first fluid passage (36 in Fig. 1, which is a injector stem passage where two conduits 40 and 42 are placed in, also see Fig. 3) fluidly coupled to a second end (an end opposite from nozzle 62, see Fig. 1) of the center body and is configured (by placing two conduits 40 and 42) to supply a first fluid (the fuel provided from 43, see Fig. 1) into the plurality of jet passages (76 and the secondary jet passages in annotated Fig. 3) with in the center body (see Fig. 3), wherein a first portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage (via conduit 40) into the primary jet passage (76) and ejected through the jet nozzle (62) at the first end of the center body (see Fig. 3) and a second portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage (via conduit 42) into the one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3), wherein each of the one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3) is fluidly coupled to a respective secondary jet nozzle (64, see Fig. 3 and col. 4, ll. 28-33);
a second fluid passage (54) partially defined between (at where 90 is in Fig. 3) the intermediate housing body (86) and the outer housing body (50, see Fig. 3) is configured to supply a second fluid (the air flow flowing through annulus 54, see Figs. 1 and 3 and col. 4, ll. 55-60) different from the first fluid (the fuel provided from 43, see Fig. 1; two fluids flow through different locations/paths, see Fig. 3); and
a plurality of third fluid passages (the inner and outer third fluid passages, annotated Fig. 3) configured to supply a third fluid (the air flow flowing through 45) through the float swirler (see Figs. 1-3 and col. 5, ll. 5-10), the plurality of third fluid passages comprising an inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3) defined within the float swirler (45, see annotated Fig. 3) and an outer third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3) defined within the float swirler (45) and radially outward from the inner third fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 3), wherein the third fluid is different from the first fluid and the second fluid (three fluids flow through different locations/paths, see Fig. 3),
wherein the one or more secondary jet nozzles (64) are angled at least partially radially outward relative to the nozzle axis (see annotated Fig. 3) and define fluid connections between one or more secondary jet passages (annotated Fig. 3) and the inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3) to supply a portion of the first fluid (which is the second portion of the first fluid provided by 42) into the inner third fluid passage (see annotated Fig. 3) to mix with the third fluid within the float swirler (col. 4, ll. 44-48 and col. 5, ll. 9-14).
Regarding claim 18, Vinson further teaches the claimed limitation, see rejection for claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 19, Vinson further teaches the claimed limitation, see rejection for claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 20, Vinson further teaches wherein the third fluid is air (annotated Fig. 3 in claim 14) received from the compressor section (col. 3, ll. 14-20, col. 5, ll. 5-10, and Fig. 1) and wherein the inner third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3 in claim 14) is configured to dispense a mixture of the third fluid (the air flowing in the inner third fluid passage) and the second portion of the first fluid (the fuel provided by the one or more secondary jet passages and conduits 64, see annotated Fig. 3 in claim 14) and the outer third fluid passage (annotated Fig. 3 in claim 14) is configured to dispense only the third fluid (because 64 only provide fuel to inner third fluid passage, see annotated Fig. 3 in claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARLISLE 3285007.
Regarding claim 4, CARLISLE further teaches wherein the first fuel is a liquid fuel and the second fuel is a gaseous fuel (col. 2, ll. 45-50 and Figs. 1-3).
CARLISLE does not teach said gaseous fuel comprising up to 100% hydrogen.
However, it is notes “inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims”, MPEP 2115 [R-07.2015], in this case, the gaseous fuel is considered the material or article worked upon and by claiming the gaseous fuel comprising up to 100% hydrogen does not impart patentability to the claims.
Regarding claim 11, CARLISLE does not teach wherein the gaseous fuel comprises hydrogen.
However, it is notes “inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims”, MPEP 2115 [R-07.2015], in this case, the gaseous fuel is considered the material or article worked upon and by claiming the gaseous fuel comprising hydrogen does not impart patentability to the claims.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vinson 4854127.
Regarding claim 8, Vinson further teaches wherein the first fluid (from 43) is a liquid fuel (liquid hydrocarbon fuel that needs to be atomized via the fuel injector nozzle assembly, see col. 4, ll. 18-32, col. 1, ll. 52-60).
Vinson does not teach said liquid fuel comprising Jet-A, diesel, or JP8 or a combination thereof.
However, it is notes “inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims”, MPEP 2115 [R-07.2015], in this case, the liquid fuel is considered the material or article worked upon and by claiming the liquid fuel comprising Jet-A, diesel, or JP8, or a combination thereof does not impart patentability to the claims.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vinson 4854127 in view of Berger 20220213837.
Regarding claim 9, Vinson does not teach wherein the liquid fuel comprises a mixture with water as a component of the liquid fuel.
However, Berger teaches a water delivery system (18, see Fig. 2) configured to provide water to a fuel injector nozzle assembly (fuel injector 14), wherein the fuel injector nozzle assembly configured to inject a mixture of water and a liquid fuel ([0025]) to a combustor (4) in order to reduce emissions ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide Vinson with Berger’s water delivery system, such that the liquid fuel comprises a mixture with water as a component of the liquid fuel in order to reduce emissions (Berger, [0004]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the 102 rejection for claims 1 and 14 bases on Vinson, on pp. 11-12, Applicant argues, “… With reference to FIG. 8 of the application, as an illustrative example, a first fluid passage (808) supplies a first fluid to a primary jet passage (824) and one or more secondary jet passages (826). A first portion of the first fluid is direct injected via a primary jet nozzle (828) and a second portion of the first fluid is mixed with a third fluid within an inner third
fluid passage (812a) of a float swirler via a set of secondary jet nozzles (830). A second fluid that is different from the first fluid is supplied into a second fluid passage (810). A third fluid, different from the first and second fluids, is supplied via the inner third fluid passage (812a) for mixing with the first fluid and via an outer third fluid passage. Applicant respectfully submits that none of the prior art of record provide teaching of suggestion of such a fuel injector nozzle. With respect to Vinson, Applicant submit that the reference fails to provide teaching of the different fluid paths.”.
Examiner does not agree because: i) claims 1 and 14 merely requires that “a second fluid different from the first fluid” and “the third fluid is different from the first fluid and the second fluid”, which are broad and interpreted as three fluids that flow through three different locations/paths, and Vinson teaches such three fluids that are different from each other by flowing through three different locations/paths, see rejection above; and ii) it is noted, “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims”, MPEP 2145(VI), in this case, claims 1 and 14 does not claim three fluids are three different types of fluids as disclosed, and thus, the rejection based on Vinson is valid.
Regarding the 102 rejection for claims 1 and 14 bases on Vinson, on pp. 12, Applicant argues, “As a first matter, Vinson fails to provide teaching or suggestion of supplying both a primary jet passage and one or more secondary jet passages from a "first fluid passage "which supplies a first portion into the primary jet passage and a second portion into the one or more secondary jet passages. Rather, Vinson explicitly teaches separate primary fuel pipe 40 and secondary fuel pipe 42. (Vinson, FIG. 3; 3:34-58). Vinson teaches that a "control system 43 is effective for regulating total fuel flow and for regulating the division of fuel between primary and secondary fuel pipes 40, 42." (Vinson, 3 :41-43) ( emphasis
added). It is noted that Office relies upon element 36 as allegedly teaching the claimed "first fluid passage." (Office Action, p 11). However, element 36 of Vinson is explicitly referring to a "fuel injector, one of which is shown generally at 36." (Vinson, 3:34-36). Element 36 is not a fluid passage, but rather houses two separate and distinct fuel pipes 40, 42. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Vinson fails to teach the claimed first fluid passage as recited and arranged in independent claims I and 14. As shown in FIGS. I and 3 of Vinson, a control system 43 is configured to supply and regulate a flow of fuel through primary and secondary fuel pipes 40, 42. (Vinson, FIG. 3; 3:34-58). There is no common supply within the fuel injector to supply first and second portions as claimed, rather Vison teaches a control system 43 that supplies fuel through two completely separate fuel pipes 40, 42. Accordingly, the structure of Vinson fails to anticipate the claimed fuel injector nozzle”.
Examiner does not agree because: i) even though element 36 of Vinson is called fuel inject in col. 3, ll. 34-36, however, in the Office Action mailed 12/29/2025, the first fluid passage is interpreted as a common fluid passage where two conduits 40 and 42 are placed therein in order to respective provide a first portion of the first fluid (via 40) and a second portion of the first fluid (via 42) to the primary jet passage (76) and the one or more secondary passages (84 and 82 or the passage marked in Vinson’s annotated Fig. 3 above), see p. 11 in the Office Action mailed 12/29/2025, and further clarification in the rejection above; ii) claims 1 and 14 does not require the first fluid passage is a single passage that provide all of the first fluid to the upstream end of the center body, wherein a first portion of the first fluid enters the primary jet passage at an inlet of the primary jet passage at the upstream end of the center body and a second portion of the first fluid enters the one or more secondary jet passages at a respective inlet of the one or more secondary jet passage at the upstream end of the center body as disclosed in Fig. 8; and iii) it is noted, “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims”, MPEP 2145(VI), in this case, claims 1 and 14 does not claim the limitations that Applicant argues upon, and thus, the rejection based on Vinson is valid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryon 20240247806 teaches a fuel injector nozzle assembly for a turbine engine comprising: a center body defining a plurality of axially extending jet passages and a jet nozzle arranged at a first end of the center body, the center body defining a nozzle axis, wherein the plurality of axially extending jet passages comprises a primary jet passage fluidly coupled to the jet nozzle and one or more secondary jet passages; wherein: the center body is a solid body structure configured to prevent airflow through the center body; a first fluid passage fluidly coupled to a second end of the center body and is configured to supply a first fluid into the plurality of jet passages within the center body, wherein a first portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage into the primary jet passage and ejected through the jet nozzle at the first end of the center body and a second portion of the first fluid is directed from the first fluid passage into the one or more secondary jet passages, wherein each of the one or more secondary jet passages is fluidly coupled to a respective secondary jet nozzle; a second fluid passage partially defined between the intermediate housing body and the outer housing body is configured to supply a second fluid; and a third fluid passage configured to supply a third fluid through the float swirler, wherein the one or more secondary jet nozzles are angled at least partially radially outward relative to the nozzle axis and define fluid connections between the one or more secondary jet passages and the third fluid passage to supply the second portion of the first fluid into the third fluid passage to mix with the third fluid within the float swirler, wherein each of the one or more respective secondary jet nozzles extends through the second fluid passage such that the second fluid and the first fluid are fluidly separate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JINGCHEN LIU/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741