DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 & 25-27 in the reply filed on 04/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27, 10-12 & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “the surface and the micro-component” which lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Correction is required.
Claims 10-12 & 14-15 are rejected for being dependent on claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 & 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cok (US Pub. 2021/0039380).
Regarding claim 1, Cok teaches a method of micro-transfer printing (Para [0057]), comprising:
providing a stamp 30 (Fig. 1A);
providing a micro-component source substrate 10 comprising a micro-component 20 (Fig. 1A);
contacting the stamp 30 to the micro-component 20 to adhere the micro-component 20 to the stamp 30 (see Fig. 7); and
detaching the micro-component 20 from the micro-component source substrate 10 by moving the stamp, at least partially in a horizontal direction DH parallel to a surface of the micro-component source substrate 10 (Para [0048 & Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the moving comprises moving the stamp in a vertical direction DV orthogonal to the surface before moving the stamp in the horizontal direction (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Cok teaches the method of claim 2, wherein moving the stamp in the vertical direction comprises moving the stamp toward the surface (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 4, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the moving comprises moving the stamp in a vertical direction orthogonal to the surface at a same time as moving the stamp in the horizontal direction (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]: Cok’s apparatus would have been capable of this functionality).
Regarding claim 5, Cok teaches the method of claim 4, wherein moving the stamp in the vertical direction comprises moving the stamp toward the surface (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the moving comprises moving the stamp in a vertical direction orthogonal to the surface after moving the stamp in the horizontal direction (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Cok teaches the method of claim 6, wherein moving the stamp in the vertical direction comprises moving the stamp toward the surface (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein moving the stamp in the vertical direction comprises moving the stamp away from the surface (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein moving the stamp in the horizontal direction comprises a rotation of the stamp about a vertical axis extending in a vertical direction orthogonal to the surface (Fig. 1A-Fig. 1C & Fig. 7-8 and Para [0048]).
With respect to claims 2-9, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 27, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the micro-component 20 is disposed over a cavity 12 in the surface and the micro-component is connected to the micro-component source substrate 10 with a tether 14 (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 10, Cok teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the tether 24 extends horizontally in a tether direction away from an anchor portion 16/11 of the micro-component source substate toward the micro-component and moving the stamp 30 comprises moving the stamp in the tether direction to stretch the tether (Fig. 1A & Fig. 7-8 and associated text).
Regarding claim 11, Cok teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the tether 14 extends horizontally in a tether direction away from an anchor portion 16-11 of the micro-component source substrate 10 toward the micro-component 20 and moving the stamp 30 in the horizontal direction comprises moving the stamp orthogonal to the tether direction (Fig. 1A & Fig. 7-8 and associated text).
Regarding claim 12, Cok teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the tether 14 extends in a tether direction away from an anchor 16/11 of the micro-component source substrate 10 toward the micro- component 20 and the horizontal direction parallel to the surface is orthogonal to the tether direction and moving the stamp 30 in the horizontal direction comprises a rotation about a vertical axis extending in the vertical direction that stretches a leading edge of the tether moving in the orthogonal direction and compresses a trailing edge of the tether (the stamp is movable in the claimed direction/rotation).
Regarding claim 13, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein moving the stamp 30 in the horizontal direction comprises rotating the stamp 30 about a vertical axis extending in a vertical direction orthogonal to the surface and a horizontal translation of the micro-component over the surface (Fig. 1A & Fig. 7-8 and associated text).
Regarding claim 14, Cok teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the tether extends laterally from an edge of the micro-component 20 to an anchor portion 16/11 of the micro-component source substrate 10 (Fig. 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 15, Cok teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the tether 14 extends from a bottom of the micro-component to the micro-component source substrate 10 (Fig. 1A-1C).
With respect to claims 10-12 & 14-15, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 16, Cok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the stamp 30 comprises a rigid back 32 and a stamp post (one of the 34) extending away from the rigid back and wherein a distal end of the stamp post contacts the micro-component 20 (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 25, Cok teaches a method of micro-transfer printing, comprising: providing a micro-component source wafer 10 comprising a micro-component 20 disposed over a cavity 12 in a surface of the micro-component source wafer 10 and connected to the micro- component source wafer 10 (Fig. 1A); and
detaching the micro-component 20 from the micro-component source wafer 10 by moving the micro-component 20 at least in a horizontal direction parallel to the surface (Fig. 7-8 and respective text).
Regarding claim 26, Cok teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the micro-component 20 is connected to the micro-component source wafer 10 with a tether 14 and detaching the micro- component 20 from the micro-component source wafer 10 fractures or separates the tether 14 (Fig. 1A and respective text).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Moore et al. (US Pub. 2021/0193500).
Regarding claim 17, Cok is silent on the method of claim 16, wherein the stamp comprises a pedestal disposed on the rigid back or on a bulk layer on the rigid back and a proximal end of the post is in contact with the pedestal or the bulk layer. However, Moore discloses wherein a stamp 10 comprises a pedestal 14 disposed on a rigid back 12 or on a bulk layer on the rigid back and a proximal end of a post 16 is in contact with the pedestal 14 or the bulk layer (see Fig. 1A & 1C). This has the advantage of efficiently and safely picking up and moving ultra-thin and fragile devices with high precision and without damage to said devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Cok with the stamp 10, as taught by Moore, so as to safely pick up and move ultra-thin and fragile micro components with high precision.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818